Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 3 of 4 1 2 3 4
#3550148 - 04/04/12 02:05 AM Re: DRM Revival 2.0 [Re: SteveGee]  
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,104
LugnutUSA Offline
Member
LugnutUSA  Offline
Member

Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,104
VA, USA
It's because I'm currently downloading ALL THE BANDWIDTHS!


Active Sims: rFactor 1 & 2
#3550159 - 04/04/12 02:40 AM Re: DRM Revival 2.0 [Re: LugnutUSA]  
Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 22,094
citizen guod Offline
Lifer
citizen guod  Offline
Lifer

Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 22,094
Originally Posted By: LugnutUSA
It's because I'm currently downloading ALL THE BANDWIDTHS!


So YOU'RE the one huh? hahaha


Wisdom is knowing what's enough
#3550237 - 04/04/12 08:05 AM Re: DRM Revival 2.0 [Re: SteveGee]  
Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 796
Staniol Offline
Member
Staniol  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 796
Hungary
Doug,
the version on SimHQ is different from the standard release?
I wont even try it from Europe, searching for other links...


Freedom of speech is our birth right, but the privilege of being heard needs to be gained.
#3550463 - 04/04/12 04:38 PM Re: DRM Revival 2.0 [Re: SteveGee]  
Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 22,094
citizen guod Offline
Lifer
citizen guod  Offline
Lifer

Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 22,094
It's the version 2.0 + the 2.0a update.


Wisdom is knowing what's enough
#3550629 - 04/04/12 07:55 PM Re: DRM Revival 2.0 [Re: SteveGee]  
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,144
jdbecks Offline
Room Clear!
jdbecks  Offline
Room Clear!
Member

Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,144
England
how do I install this? I copyied the files into my rfactor directory and the game crashes when I try to select the series.

#3550974 - 04/05/12 11:48 AM Re: DRM Revival 2.0 [Re: SteveGee]  
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,104
LugnutUSA Offline
Member
LugnutUSA  Offline
Member

Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,104
VA, USA
I actually managed to complete a lap last night without getting the car pointed in the wrong direction (first time ever). A 7:47 isn't going to set the world on fire but I'm pretty happy with it. biggrin


Active Sims: rFactor 1 & 2
#3551912 - 04/06/12 06:36 PM Re: DRM Revival 2.0 [Re: SteveGee]  
Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,144
jdbecks Offline
Room Clear!
jdbecks  Offline
Room Clear!
Member

Joined: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,144
England
anyone help to why it keeps crashing to desktop when I try to select the series?

#3552042 - 04/06/12 10:35 PM Re: DRM Revival 2.0 [Re: jdbecks]  
Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 22,094
citizen guod Offline
Lifer
citizen guod  Offline
Lifer

Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 22,094
Originally Posted By: jdbecks
anyone help to why it keeps crashing to desktop when I try to select the series?


Sorry JD, missed your earlier post.

Since others are not having the same problem, something unique to your installation. In no specific order of checking...

1) Did you have the track and/or mod installed before in an earlier version? Check for old install residue.

2) Does it still CTD with another track?

3) Any error message at all on the screen?

4) Select another series (SSTCC or something else). Run it. No CTD?

5) Check the file paths from the original download. Make sure you install matches and all the files are included.

6) Expand the download to your desktop, go into rFactor and manuall drop each sub-folder into place. Y to overwrite.

7) Rerun "rF config.exe" in the rFactor folder.

8) Are you using JSGME? If yes, check that all the files are copied over.

9) Always a good idea, and cannot hurt your machine... download and run the DirectX9 redist (not the runtime update) from June 2010. Available here: http://www.microsoft.com/download/en/details.aspx?id=8109

10) If all else fails...

Install rFactor v1255 (leaving your original install alone) from the 1 GB download here: http://rfactor.net/web/rf1/downloads/ as a second installation in a different folder name. For example, if your single rFactor installation is C:\Program Files (86x)\rFactor\ ...create a NEW installation called C:\Program Files (86x)\rFactorNEW\ ...or some other similar name. Creating a second install is 100% legit and ISI has no problem with it, as long as you have a legit licensed version on the computer already. It doesn't ask you for new registration information because it references the Trymedia info in a system folder. Then try to install ONLY the DRM revivial download and see if it works okay. THEN add the track and check it.


Wisdom is knowing what's enough
#3552049 - 04/06/12 10:54 PM Re: DRM Revival 2.0 [Re: SteveGee]  
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,468
SteveGee Offline
Member
SteveGee  Offline
Member

Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,468
Planet Earth
There are quite a few mods that don't "play well" with others. If you've got the HD space, I'd recommend another install for EVERY mod. I know that sounds like a lot of HD space, but in reality it's not that much.

I've got one install off of my rF DVD that I never even touch anymore except to copy my Player file into the new installs. I use the rFLite install mentioned above and install it into a different named diretory, such as "Rfactor DRM" for this mod, just to keep them in alphabetical order when I add things in Windows Explorer. The Rf Lite install comes with 1 car and 1 track and you can load any mod onto that track to make sure it is installed correctly.

I ALWAYS run the DX install that comes with rF Lite (it doesn't overwrite anything outside of the rF directories) and ALWAYS run the rF Config program after the install. So far, I've never had a mod that didn't work right the first time.

If you're having problems only when trying to load a track, be sure and delete the .HAT file for that track before loading, found in the UserData/LOG/HAT directory, before trying again. It slows the loading process down just a bit the first time, but ensures a clean track load and speeds back up every time thereafter you load the track.


"Sometimes I wonder whether the world is being run by smart people who are putting us on, or by imbeciles who really mean it."
"Politicians are like dirty diapers. They need to be changed often and for the same reason."

Mark Twain

"I do not suffer from insanity. I enjoy every, single minute of it."
#3552137 - 04/07/12 02:12 AM Re: DRM Revival 2.0 [Re: SteveGee]  
Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 22,094
citizen guod Offline
Lifer
citizen guod  Offline
Lifer

Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 22,094
The DRM Revival server will be offline until right after Sunday's SSTCC event.


Wisdom is knowing what's enough
#3552965 - 04/08/12 11:05 PM Re: DRM Revival 2.0 [Re: SteveGee]  
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,237
saghen Offline
Member
saghen  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,237
USA
I just took a spin around Charade/Clermont-Ferrand in the BMW 320. It was quite fun. Has anybody considered this track? We ran this track quite a long time ago (Porsche Cup days), but I don't think we've run it since (or at least I haven't).

While not in Germany, this track existed at the same time as these cars. You can find the track here. http://www.rfactorcentral.com/detail.cfm?ID=Charade%202006

More information about the track here. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Charade_Circuit

And a couple of screenshots to get you interested. winkngrin



#3553076 - 04/09/12 04:59 AM Re: DRM Revival 2.0 [Re: citizen guod]  
Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 22,094
citizen guod Offline
Lifer
citizen guod  Offline
Lifer

Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 22,094
Originally Posted By: guod
The DRM Revival server will be offline until right after Sunday's SSTCC event.


Server back online.

SimHQ Motorsports 6
Password: GreenHeel

Details on downloading files:
http://simhq.com/forum/ubbthreads.php/topics/3548975/Re_DRM_Revival_2_0.html#Post3548975


Wisdom is knowing what's enough
#3553078 - 04/09/12 05:04 AM Re: DRM Revival 2.0 [Re: saghen]  
Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 22,094
citizen guod Offline
Lifer
citizen guod  Offline
Lifer

Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 22,094
Originally Posted By: saghen
I just took a spin around Charade/Clermont-Ferrand in the BMW 320. <snip> More information about the track here. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Charade_Circuit


Good idea!


Wisdom is knowing what's enough
#3555475 - 04/13/12 08:09 AM Re: DRM Revival 2.0 [Re: SteveGee]  
Joined: May 2010
Posts: 1,791
Pumbaa666 Offline
Ze Warthog that is faster then a Cheetah
Pumbaa666  Offline
Ze Warthog that is faster then a Cheetah
Member

Joined: May 2010
Posts: 1,791
South Australia
Clermont-Ferrand is AWESOME and would be a great part of the series...

Just set a 7:19.5 on my first clean lap of the Nordschleife...

Last edited by Pumbaa666; 04/13/12 08:52 AM.

"The motivation is high, I enjoy taking the smile off other peoples faces"

Mark Webber
#3555526 - 04/13/12 11:59 AM Re: DRM Revival 2.0 [Re: Pumbaa666]  
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,104
LugnutUSA Offline
Member
LugnutUSA  Offline
Member

Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,104
VA, USA
Originally Posted By: Pumbaa666
Just set a 7:19.5 on my first clean lap of the Nordschleife...


I know what I'm doing this weekend.



Active Sims: rFactor 1 & 2
#3555638 - 04/13/12 03:25 PM Re: DRM Revival 2.0 [Re: SteveGee]  
Joined: May 2010
Posts: 1,791
Pumbaa666 Offline
Ze Warthog that is faster then a Cheetah
Pumbaa666  Offline
Ze Warthog that is faster then a Cheetah
Member

Joined: May 2010
Posts: 1,791
South Australia
readytoeat

That 19.5 was in the M1...

I just went out in the 320 and DAMN that thing is made for this track... new PB of 3:15.5

I'm now going to try the Capri biggrin


"The motivation is high, I enjoy taking the smile off other peoples faces"

Mark Webber
#3555661 - 04/13/12 04:00 PM Re: DRM Revival 2.0 [Re: SteveGee]  
Joined: May 2010
Posts: 1,791
Pumbaa666 Offline
Ze Warthog that is faster then a Cheetah
Pumbaa666  Offline
Ze Warthog that is faster then a Cheetah
Member

Joined: May 2010
Posts: 1,791
South Australia
Well that Capri is a blast....

I think it's a culmination of the extra grunt and extra track time giving me confidence to push around here... Either way it led to a new PB of 7:08.1

Next up.... The Porsche


"The motivation is high, I enjoy taking the smile off other peoples faces"

Mark Webber
#3555694 - 04/13/12 04:52 PM Re: DRM Revival 2.0 [Re: SteveGee]  
Joined: May 2010
Posts: 1,791
Pumbaa666 Offline
Ze Warthog that is faster then a Cheetah
Pumbaa666  Offline
Ze Warthog that is faster then a Cheetah
Member

Joined: May 2010
Posts: 1,791
South Australia
I think it's definitely got something to do with the amount of laps I'm putting in...

7:02.3 in the Porsche after blowing the engine countless times before getting though half of the first lap...


"The motivation is high, I enjoy taking the smile off other peoples faces"

Mark Webber
#3555699 - 04/13/12 04:56 PM Re: DRM Revival 2.0 [Re: SteveGee]  
Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 22,094
citizen guod Offline
Lifer
citizen guod  Offline
Lifer

Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 22,094
Which layout? There are 3 loaded on the server.


Wisdom is knowing what's enough
#3555720 - 04/13/12 05:18 PM Re: DRM Revival 2.0 [Re: citizen guod]  
Joined: May 2010
Posts: 1,791
Pumbaa666 Offline
Ze Warthog that is faster then a Cheetah
Pumbaa666  Offline
Ze Warthog that is faster then a Cheetah
Member

Joined: May 2010
Posts: 1,791
South Australia
Originally Posted By: guod
Which layout? There are 3 loaded on the server.


The one without the new track at all... It was the first to load up...


"The motivation is high, I enjoy taking the smile off other peoples faces"

Mark Webber
Page 3 of 4 1 2 3 4

Moderated by  RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Justice for Maddie
by RossUK. 06/04/20 11:11 AM
Perhaps My Final Flight
by FishTaco. 06/04/20 02:59 AM
Blue Angel's will transition to the Rhino
by CyBerkut. 06/02/20 12:41 PM
The pancake chef...
by Mr_Blastman. 05/31/20 06:33 PM
DOSBox/MS-DOS6
by MarkG. 05/31/20 02:14 PM
Question for gun lovers
by Blade_RJ. 05/30/20 02:54 PM
The Last British Destroyer Commander of WWII
by F4UDash4. 05/30/20 12:43 PM
I'm down to one game.....
by PanzerMeyer. 05/29/20 02:19 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0