Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#3489929 - 01/08/12 12:44 PM List of buyables?  
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,428
Skiddmark Offline
Member
Skiddmark  Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,428
Glenville WV USA
Is there one? Including the cost amounts? I don't have the game yet but I'm pretty sure I will try it. I D/L'd the free ROF ICE once from somewhere but it didn't work and froze my system. Got rid of that one!
And is there a wide screen setting (like 16:9)?

My specs:
Computer = PHENOMX3
MOBO: ASUS M4A78 Plus
OS = Microsoft Windows XP SP3 Home Edition (5.1,build 2600)
Processor = AMD 8750 triple core 2.4GHz
RAM = 3328 MB
DirectX 9.0c
Nvidia GeForce GS 250, 512MB
Realtek HD audio
Graphics driver: nv4_disp.dll, version 6.14.011.8618, 6/10/2009
Disk Drives: HL-DT-ST DVDRRW GSA-H21L, ASUS CD-S480/
Monitor:Proscan 32" LCD TV in VGA mode.

Last edited by Skiddmark; 01/08/12 12:59 PM. Reason: add question

Computer = PHENOMX3
MOBO: ASUS M4A78 Plus
OS = Microsoft Windows XP SP3 Home Edition (5.1,build 2600)
Processor = AMD 8750 triple core 2.4GHz
RAM = 3328 MB
DX 9.0c
Nvidia GeForce GS 250, 512MB
Realtek HD audio
Disk Drives:
Floppy's: D: HL-DT-ST DVDRRW GSA-H21L, E: ASUS CD-S480/A5
HD's: C:ST3250310AS 250Gb
F: Maxtor 6L250S0 250Gb
H: SM_USB20 flash drive 4Gb
Monitor: Proscan 32" LCD TV in VGA mode.
Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#3489960 - 01/08/12 01:55 PM Re: List of buyables? [Re: Skiddmark]  
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 3,105
Brigstock Offline
Senior Member
Brigstock  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 3,105
London, England
IMO your GFX is a little weak to get the best out of RoF

For pricing you just need to visit the RoF store. You get generous discounts on bulk buys and every now and again there is a sale.

My advice is get the free game and chose a couple of a/c you like and then populate your hanger when there is a sale on.

Widescreen = yes in any res your monitor GFX support.

#3489975 - 01/08/12 02:46 PM Re: List of buyables? [Re: Skiddmark]  
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,256
Bandy Offline
Member
Bandy  Offline
Member

Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,256
Wishing I was in the La Cloche
Rise of Flight Store, but they always have a great 1/2 price sale every now and then...

You may have simply had a bad download the first time. The 'free game download' is not the ICE (Iron Cross Edition) version, which has about 9 flyable aircraft. The free version has the SPAD XIII and the Albatros DVa, so not bad for free and to see how it plays on your system.

Give it a try, it is free afterall. You may not be able to turn all the 'bling' on, but you'll still have plenty of fun, IMHO...

Any other questions?


4x2.66 GHz Xeons, XFX 4870 1 GB, 11 GB DDR2 RAM, Win7 Pro x64, 120 GB OCZ Vertex2 (MLC, Sandforce)
26" VIZIO 1920x1200, Logitech FF 3D Pro, CH pedals, Track IR4
#3490038 - 01/08/12 04:57 PM Re: List of buyables? [Re: Skiddmark]  
Joined: Aug 2010
Posts: 10
US95Pickett Offline
Junior Member
US95Pickett  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Aug 2010
Posts: 10
S! all, hiya Skiddmark, actually your cpu and video card are under what RoF recommends hardware wise. Here are the RoF recommended specs:

Operating System Windows XP (SP2)/ Vista (SP1) / Windows 7 (SP1)
CPU Intel Core 2 Quad 2.6 GHz+ or Intel Core i5/i7 2.6 GHz+
GPU 1024 Mb+, GeForce GTX 260+/Radeon HD5850+
RAM 4 Gb+
Sound DirectX 9.0c/11 compatible
Free Hard Drive space 10 Gb+
Internet Connection for Registration, Career Mode, Statistics Tracking, 256 Kb/s - for Multiplayer

As you can see, a quad core 2.6 is recommended and a 1gb video card. However, you should be able to run RoF ok; start out with the graphics settings turned down in the game and gradually turn them up to see what combination of graphics settings will give you the best performance for your system. If you click on the Settings.exe which will probably be located at: C:\Program Files\Rise of Flight\bin_game\release\Settings.exe you can then click on the Graphics tab where you can change your graphics settings for the game. You can also select your screen resolution settings on the Graphics tab. If your monitor screen resolution settings aren't listed, then you can manually set it in the startup.cfg file (you can open it with notepad) which should be located at: C:\Program Files\Rise of Flight\data\startup.cfg Scroll down the file until you find the section: [KEY = graphics] and then look for the sections win_height = and win_width = and enter your monitors screen resolution there, then save the startup.cfg file.

Hope this helps
US95Pickett

Last edited by US95Pickett; 01/08/12 05:00 PM.
#3490102 - 01/08/12 06:27 PM Re: List of buyables? [Re: Skiddmark]  
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,807
dutch Offline
Member
dutch  Offline
Member

Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,807
EURO-zone
Originally Posted By: Skiddmark
Is there one? Including the cost amounts? I don't have the game yet but I'm pretty sure I will try it. I D/L'd the free ROF ICE once from somewhere but it didn't work and froze my system. Got rid of that one!
And is there a wide screen setting (like 16:9)?

My specs:
Computer = PHENOMX3
MOBO: ASUS M4A78 Plus
OS = Microsoft Windows XP SP3 Home Edition (5.1,build 2600)
Processor = AMD 8750 triple core 2.4GHz
RAM = 3328 MB
DirectX 9.0c
Nvidia GeForce GS 250, 512MB
Realtek HD audio
Graphics driver: nv4_disp.dll, version 6.14.011.8618, 6/10/2009
Disk Drives: HL-DT-ST DVDRRW GSA-H21L, ASUS CD-S480/
Monitor:Proscan 32" LCD TV in VGA mode.


First of all my friend RB3d Skiddmark, a warm welcome to the Rise of flight scene, many developers were trying to claim it, but this game is the real RB3d successor. This is what RB4 should be!!!
Your system is way below specs, but, if you take a look at the official forum you will find lots of people who are running on dual core and low profile Vcards. Try to get the adjustment from them. http://riseofflight.com
Your CPU, according to Jay Dolan RoF is using 3cores, so maybe this would not be the bottleneck. Try to unlock the 4th core, some can be put into a X4.
Your Vcard, this could be the problem here, start, all graphic settings on low or uncheck them. Go one step lower in monitor resolution like from 1920x1080 to 1080x720.




Last edited by dutch; 01/08/12 06:29 PM.
#3490173 - 01/08/12 08:30 PM Re: List of buyables? [Re: Skiddmark]  
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 3,105
Brigstock Offline
Senior Member
Brigstock  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 3,105
London, England
How rude of me, yes welcome Skiddmark. Good to see another RB3D'er in here
S!

#3490393 - 01/09/12 03:53 AM Re: List of buyables? [Re: Skiddmark]  
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,428
Skiddmark Offline
Member
Skiddmark  Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,428
Glenville WV USA
Yes, I noticed a couple of old friends here, nice to see you! It's very comforting to get such informative and really helpful replies as above. Definitely a carry over from all the great people from RB3D (which I still play regularly Smile2 ).
Oh, I'll have more questions alright, when I get it up and running.


Computer = PHENOMX3
MOBO: ASUS M4A78 Plus
OS = Microsoft Windows XP SP3 Home Edition (5.1,build 2600)
Processor = AMD 8750 triple core 2.4GHz
RAM = 3328 MB
DX 9.0c
Nvidia GeForce GS 250, 512MB
Realtek HD audio
Disk Drives:
Floppy's: D: HL-DT-ST DVDRRW GSA-H21L, E: ASUS CD-S480/A5
HD's: C:ST3250310AS 250Gb
F: Maxtor 6L250S0 250Gb
H: SM_USB20 flash drive 4Gb
Monitor: Proscan 32" LCD TV in VGA mode.
#3490523 - 01/09/12 12:48 PM Re: List of buyables? [Re: Skiddmark]  
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 839
Laser Offline
Member
Laser  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 839

Welcome Skiddmark! smile

(BTW I heard Greybeard is somewhere in the IL-2 forums)

#3490663 - 01/09/12 04:28 PM Re: List of buyables? [Re: Skiddmark]  
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,428
Skiddmark Offline
Member
Skiddmark  Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,428
Glenville WV USA
Hi, Gabi, nice to see ya cheers
I've tried Il2 a few times trying to get into it - somehow it just doesn't seem to have the "feel" to me. I'd have to overcome a large "acceptance curve", I guess!


Computer = PHENOMX3
MOBO: ASUS M4A78 Plus
OS = Microsoft Windows XP SP3 Home Edition (5.1,build 2600)
Processor = AMD 8750 triple core 2.4GHz
RAM = 3328 MB
DX 9.0c
Nvidia GeForce GS 250, 512MB
Realtek HD audio
Disk Drives:
Floppy's: D: HL-DT-ST DVDRRW GSA-H21L, E: ASUS CD-S480/A5
HD's: C:ST3250310AS 250Gb
F: Maxtor 6L250S0 250Gb
H: SM_USB20 flash drive 4Gb
Monitor: Proscan 32" LCD TV in VGA mode.

Moderated by  Avimimus, RacerGT, Wklink 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
IJN Kaga found.
by NH2112. 10/19/19 10:32 PM
Grouch (Joker Parady)
by Arthonon. 10/19/19 02:19 PM
Nike vs B-17
by KraziKanuK. 10/18/19 08:30 PM
Grouch
by Chaz. 10/18/19 01:49 PM
How to pi$$ off Londoners...
by Chucky. 10/17/19 12:16 PM
Video game map size comparison
by DM. 10/17/19 09:45 AM
Happy Thanksgiving
by No105_Archie. 10/13/19 05:15 PM
Happy Birthday US Navy
by oldgrognard. 10/13/19 04:31 PM
American Civil War photos
by KraziKanuK. 10/12/19 04:18 AM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0