Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#34679 - 12/26/02 06:17 PM SAR 4 Final Verdict?  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered

Been anxious to see what the final opinions are on this one? I had some real issues with SAR3 which was a shame I had some wild Hard Drive issues running SAR3 under XP Pro.
Hate to blame software but the problem wasn't there prior to SAR3 install and disappeared after I removed it.

The SAR4 Demo played pretty well for me. So how is it? Worth the $40?

Thanks..

------------------

Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#34680 - 12/26/02 07:39 PM Re: SAR 4 Final Verdict?  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered

I've got Vietnam:MedEvac which is supposed to be based on the SAR 4 engine.

MedEvac is great from a graphics and realistic control perspective. I have no prior experience with the search/rescue series of games so my opinion is fairly unspoiled.

But I can tell you that I have been looking for SAR 4 since playing MedEvac. Probably just as good!

[This message has been edited by progrmr (edited 12-26-2002).]

#34681 - 12/26/02 08:19 PM Re: SAR 4 Final Verdict?  
Zero G Offline
Zero G  Offline

Canada
A friend of mine and I have been playing a full real campaign in SAR 4. If you crash and die then you have to start over again [Linked Image] We take turns being pilot and C/P (C/P puts out the medic teams and strechers etc while the pilot stays flying.)

There are a few odd things in it that I wish they would patch up the two biggest being that with all the other real flight dynamics the sim is in serious need of translational lift. It is so bad having you best climb rate at a hover rather then 60ish knots. The other is that all of the helos should have a good 20% more power then they do (this may be right if they added ETL since that would give them 20-25% more lift. Right now climbing over mountains to make a rescue is a real pain in the butt.