Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#3456681 - 03/01/08 12:05 PM Flying Corps Gold Video Driver Select ?  
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 310
juvat Offline
Member
juvat  Offline
Member

Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 310
Hi Fellas,

I've had FCG for quite a while. I know how to switch the display mode from rowan software to directx.

My problem is, when I get to the screen after selecting directx then res 1024x768, the little inset screen is all black so I cannot see the word "accept" so I can mouse click it. I tried brightening the screen, guessing where the word would be then clicking madly in that area. No go.

Is there a way I can manually change the setting via a config file or anything? I'm willing to use a hex editor if it's buried in an exe somewhere.

This started being an issue after recently re-installing WinXp. After that FCG wouldn't start so I re-installed it; which it defaults to rowan software mode. Following that, FCG has been locking up on me about 30min into play(something I'll have to deal with after I get the display looking good again}. I currently have an sapphire x1950-512agp installed.

You all have any ideas?

You all take care,

JimB

My PC Info:
MoBo: MSI Neo-V
OS: WinXP- Pro- Sp2
Dx: Dx9c
Proc: AMD64 3700+
Graphics: Sapphire ATI Radeon X1950Pro- 512
Ram: 2g
PSU: True Power 2.0 430w
X-Fi Xtreme Gamer


WinXpProSp3x86/Win8.1ProX64 dual boot,Gigabyte 790FXTA-UD5 rev1,Phenom II x4 965BE 3.4mhz,
8g (4x2 Ballistix DDR3 PC3-10600 8-8-8-24 BLT2KIT2G3D1337DT1TX0),
Asus HD5850 HD5850VoltageTweak,SB X-Fi Xgamer. Logitech Xtreme3dPro.
Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#3456682 - 03/02/08 03:49 AM Re: Flying Corps Gold Video Driver Select ? [Re: juvat]  
Joined: Sep 2002
Posts: 1,143
Birdbrain Offline
Member
Birdbrain  Offline
Member

Joined: Sep 2002
Posts: 1,143
Tallahassee, Florida
Ursus's FCG web site is long gone, but fortunately someone saved his FCG on XP tips at the Aerodrome. See here: http://www.theaerodrome.com/forum/334173-post3.html

Hope this helps. I take a different approach, keeping several old PC's to run old games on.


As ever,
Birdbrain
#3456683 - 03/02/08 08:44 AM Re: Flying Corps Gold Video Driver Select ? [Re: Birdbrain]  
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 310
juvat Offline
Member
juvat  Offline
Member

Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 310
Hi Birdbrain,

Thank you for posting. I had kept Ursus' tips on file. All of it good stuff, yet none of it with any tips on a manual method of setting the display driver.

I have an old Presario 4782 that has Win98. I suspect the psu went out 'cause one day it just powered off all by itself and has refused to power up since. I went out and bought parts I needed and built my own desktop and shelved the presario. I guess I ought to pull it down and trouble-shoot it.

Just frustrating because FCG was running fine on this rig till I had to do the re-installs.

Another trick I might try{truthfully I dread it} is to remove this x1950 vid card and install my good ole 3dfx V5500, start up FCG, set the display driver to use directx, maybe fly 1 flight, boot-out, shut down, re-install the x1950.... ppphew, that wore me out just typing the procedure.

Hopefully someone can post if theres a way to set the fcg display setting manually.

JimB


WinXpProSp3x86/Win8.1ProX64 dual boot,Gigabyte 790FXTA-UD5 rev1,Phenom II x4 965BE 3.4mhz,
8g (4x2 Ballistix DDR3 PC3-10600 8-8-8-24 BLT2KIT2G3D1337DT1TX0),
Asus HD5850 HD5850VoltageTweak,SB X-Fi Xgamer. Logitech Xtreme3dPro.
#3456684 - 03/05/08 04:48 PM Re: Flying Corps Gold Video Driver Select ? [Re: juvat]  
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,804
McGonigle Offline
Emeritus Motorius
McGonigle  Offline
Emeritus Motorius
Senior Member

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,804
Copenhagen, Denmark
Ursus' FCG site seems still to be online. \:\)


Jens C. Lindblad


Sent from my Desktop
#3456685 - 03/05/08 08:57 PM Re: Flying Corps Gold Video Driver Select ? [Re: McGonigle]  
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 917
I B Spectre Offline
Member
I B Spectre  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 917
Florida, USA
I dug out an old document I'd compiled quite sometime ago from various forums about how to get Flying Corp Gold to run under WinXP. Here's an excerpt I hope might help:

If FCG won't run or you get a black screen on startup you should try to replace the file smackw32.dll in the rowan\fly directory with a newer version that can be downloaded. This fix is often required on newer systems (or maybe newer versions of direct x?). I should say at this point that I have patched to FC111-y patch and some, maybe all, new-ish spec computers may need to replace the smackw32.dll file, which comes on the disc, with a later one. Without this, the sim wouldnt run. It is very simple to replace. Either copy the one from the Mig Alley directory and paste into FCG directory or find one to download.

Last edited by I B Spectre; 03/05/08 08:59 PM.
#3456686 - 03/06/08 03:45 PM Re: Flying Corps Gold Video Driver Select ? [Re: juvat]  
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 310
juvat Offline
Member
juvat  Offline
Member

Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 310
Hi,
Thought I'd give a little update.

It was great news that Ursus' site is back up. Was it up all along, or had moved?

My fcg is to the point where it will not run. Continually asks to put the cd into "D" drive. I do have it in "D" drive. Re-checked and made my dvd/cd drive "D" and it is. FCG even shows in explorer as in "D" drive and I can browse the cd.So I've uninstalled and re-installed numerous times for no effect. Used the install methods from Ursus, and also used the win app compat tool kit(it comes with fc, not gold, install and run procedures). Went so far as manually erasing fcg from the registry.

Then one morning I come into my office and my monitor is blank, and my vid card fans are running full blast. Restarted my pc, no display. Disconnected the monitor cable and the vid cards dongle, plugged the monitor into my laptop and the monitor worked fine. Got my spare monitor and plugged it into the pc; no display. So I guess my x1950pro-512 went-out on me. It was probably a miracle it had been working at all. Was 20watts and 2 rail amps short as recommended on the box for psu.

So, Uninstalled ati drivers, and installed my v5500 and amigamerlin3.11. Went through the same fcg re-install and it still won't run.

So, uninstalled my v5500 and its am driver. Installed my visiontek radeon x1600xt-256. Thats what I'm running on now.

Installed fcg on my "g" drive because its fat32. Fcg still no start. Double-click on Winfly.exe or Wfly.exe I get no response. Double click on Fly.exe I get flashing black screens then back to desktop. Double click on wststb.exe or winstall I get the option screen to fly, uninstall, cancel; click on fly and I end up at desktop.

Performed the no-cd procedures and still get the above results.

In the past I had gotten lucky by opening meditor.exe(this always opens), and can run a mission from it. But, now I can open it and when I select run, it acts like its compiling to run the mis with the little dos window, then quits back to the editor. Usually following compiling it starts up FCG.

AAAHHH well...,

Taking a break off it. I purchased the 3rd wire ww1 sim FE some time ago and have been enjoying short flights in it. Maybe later I'll try and install my original Flying Corps. This is the one that is not "gold". Made for dos.

JimB

Well, I restarted the pc after I logged off here, stuck in the Flying Corps cd and the fly, uninstall, cancel screen came up. I selected fly, very briefly heard the engine sound, then the screen froze and I heard the winxp error sound. Alt tab to desktop and here's the error:

Application error: g:\rowan\fly\wfly.exe
An privileged instruction was executed at address 00402ad2
Click on ok to terminate the application

I checked event manager and it shows nothing for application or system

Just wanted to add that tidbit,

By again,

JimB

geeezzz...Ok, I selected ok to terminate the app for the above error and got this notice:

dwwin.exe - Application Error
The exception Breakpoint
A breakpoint has been reached.
(0x80000003) occured in the application at location 0x7c901230.
Click ok to terminate
Click cancel to debug

Thats all,

JimB

Last edited by juvat; 03/06/08 04:08 PM. Reason: Another error screen followed the first

WinXpProSp3x86/Win8.1ProX64 dual boot,Gigabyte 790FXTA-UD5 rev1,Phenom II x4 965BE 3.4mhz,
8g (4x2 Ballistix DDR3 PC3-10600 8-8-8-24 BLT2KIT2G3D1337DT1TX0),
Asus HD5850 HD5850VoltageTweak,SB X-Fi Xgamer. Logitech Xtreme3dPro.
#3456687 - 03/06/08 04:43 PM Re: Flying Corps Gold Video Driver Select ? [Re: juvat]  
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,804
McGonigle Offline
Emeritus Motorius
McGonigle  Offline
Emeritus Motorius
Senior Member

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,804
Copenhagen, Denmark
I've had luck installing FCG on XP Home and XP Pro by running the Winststb.exe (in the fly directory) - in Win 95 compatibility mode, all checkmarks except the very last one set to on.

After that, I applied the patch and finally the smacker32.dll from Mig Alley.


Jens C. Lindblad


Sent from my Desktop
#3456688 - 03/06/08 07:03 PM Re: Flying Corps Gold Video Driver Select ? [Re: McGonigle]  
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 310
juvat Offline
Member
juvat  Offline
Member

Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 310
Hi,

I tried it and no go.
Thought I'd be clever and copied the whole fcg cd to my hd, placed the ma smacker in it, unzipped the y patch into it and installed from there-no good. Installed, just won't run. I even have a smacker newer than that one.

drat,

I guess I'm out of the fcg flying scene permanent....

Can't fly mig alley, takes about 45 minutes to run after selecting a mission, BoB2 takes forever to run as well after selecting a mission. No more Rowan for me it seems. As though there's a hex on me with my fav Rowan sims.

JimB

Last edited by juvat; 03/06/08 07:05 PM.

WinXpProSp3x86/Win8.1ProX64 dual boot,Gigabyte 790FXTA-UD5 rev1,Phenom II x4 965BE 3.4mhz,
8g (4x2 Ballistix DDR3 PC3-10600 8-8-8-24 BLT2KIT2G3D1337DT1TX0),
Asus HD5850 HD5850VoltageTweak,SB X-Fi Xgamer. Logitech Xtreme3dPro.
#3456689 - 03/06/08 07:18 PM Re: Flying Corps Gold Video Driver Select ? [Re: juvat]  
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,804
McGonigle Offline
Emeritus Motorius
McGonigle  Offline
Emeritus Motorius
Senior Member

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,804
Copenhagen, Denmark
As brilliant as Rowan Sims are (were?) they always seemed temperamental to me. On my older rig, the drive wouldn't read the FCG CD, on this rig its not an issue.

If you hadn't just recently reinstalled XP, I'd have suggested that as an option, but with an almost fresh install you're probably not going to get any closer to success.

On this rig, I can't run Mig Alley and I've given up trying to figure out why. There's only so many hours in a day.

I do share your pain.


Jens C. Lindblad


Sent from my Desktop
#3456690 - 03/07/08 04:01 AM Re: Flying Corps Gold Video Driver Select ? [Re: McGonigle]  
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 4,558
Eugene Offline
Senior Member
Eugene  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 4,558
Oregon
McGonigle, what video card and driver do you have? This might be a long shot, but perhaps the problem is connected to NVidia drivers,everything after 93.xx. Newer ones run it either not at all, or extremely slowly/poorly/major graphic anomalies. IF that is your situation, and if you really want to get MiG Alley going again, you could try one of those earlier drivers.


Eugene

CoreDuo G620
ASUS P8Z68-V PRO
GeForce 1060
Creative Z
Win10
16 gig RAM
Cougar
#3456691 - 03/07/08 03:39 PM Re: Flying Corps Gold Video Driver Select ? [Re: Eugene]  
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,804
McGonigle Offline
Emeritus Motorius
McGonigle  Offline
Emeritus Motorius
Senior Member

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,804
Copenhagen, Denmark
Thanks Eugene \:\)

I did try the earlier Nvidia drivers suggested in other threads, to no avail.

Since then I've switched to ATI and have recently re-installed XP, so I might try installing MA again, and see how it goes.


Last edited by McGonigle; 03/07/08 03:40 PM.

Jens C. Lindblad


Sent from my Desktop
#3456692 - 03/08/08 07:38 PM Re: Flying Corps Gold Video Driver Select ? [Re: McGonigle]  
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 4,558
Eugene Offline
Senior Member
Eugene  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 4,558
Oregon
Good luck, McGonigle! If you have time, report back on your success or not.

I've had better luck in the past with ATI in terms of compatability and quality of the visual appearance in-game. USAF, M1TP2 etc - all ran, and do not on newest Nvidia drivers. Falcon looks better, and especially the case with Red Viper (although Falcon/RV does run and with the latest drivers in NVidia of course). Just no comparison. But the performance of the 8800 GT is just too good to go back!


Eugene

CoreDuo G620
ASUS P8Z68-V PRO
GeForce 1060
Creative Z
Win10
16 gig RAM
Cougar

Moderated by  RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
11 th day on lockdown
by carrick58. 03/30/20 12:26 AM
Drug combo working. Covid. Dr Zelenko NYC hospital.
by TerribleTwo. 03/29/20 12:27 PM
HILARIOUS videos found on YouTube.
by NoFlyBoy. 03/28/20 09:59 PM
Stuka!
by RedToo. 03/28/20 04:56 PM
social distancing
by KraziKanuK. 03/27/20 07:30 PM
How to correctly wash your hands properly.
by NoFlyBoy. 03/25/20 12:58 PM
Humble Bundle Driving Deal
by F4UDash4. 03/25/20 11:00 AM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0