Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#3398730 - 09/27/11 05:42 PM Torpedo bombers  
Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 8
johndw52 Offline
Junior Member
johndw52  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Sep 2011
Posts: 8
Sorry if this was asked before? Any functional American Torpedo Bombers?

Thanks,
johndw

Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#3399044 - 09/28/11 02:47 AM Re: Torpedo bombers [Re: johndw52]  
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 942
8 L.E.I.N. Offline
Member
8 L.E.I.N.  Offline
Member

Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 942
Detroit, Michigan USA
JohnD,

TBD and TBF-1 so far.

#3399874 - 09/29/11 06:39 AM Re: Torpedo bombers [Re: johndw52]  
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,739
zerocinco Offline
Member
zerocinco  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,739
Tchepone, Laos
The bombers function but the American torpedoes have been tuned to be as bad as they were in reality. The Japanese torpedoes are deadly.

#3424149 - 11/02/11 11:07 PM Re: Torpedo bombers [Re: johndw52]  
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 17
navy81 Offline
Junior Member
navy81  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 17
Virginia Beach. VA
TBD's are as slow as ever (and anyone who read about them, knows just how slow they were).
However, I have noted that I cannot get a Mk 13 Torpedo on the TBD. They are on the AI aircraft, and on the TBF's, and I checked the weapons.ini for the TBD - it's there (Anti-ship). On the loadout page, it shows as being available (left side), but not available to load. Good news is that I can drop a "paratrooper"... Not sure where that came from, but I suspect it has something to do with settings somewhere. burnout

Any thoughts?

BTW - Having a great time flying these slow, lumbering beasts - compared to the Scooters, Huns, 'Truders, Phantoms and others from YAP (but those are awesome too).

Thanks guys.
Cheers.

Deke
Navy 81

#3424203 - 11/03/11 12:08 AM Re: Torpedo bombers [Re: johndw52]  
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,739
zerocinco Offline
Member
zerocinco  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,739
Tchepone, Laos
Ah...you are using the create a mission thingamajiggy. That doesn't always work with RS or YAP stuff. Since Rising Sun is story/mission based, we do things that don't always work with the original game. But then, there's no WWII version of Strike Fighters anyway.

If you want to carry and deploy one, fly the mission from Midway. That should give you all the targets you need...and one balky torpedo.

#3424489 - 11/03/11 11:52 AM Re: Torpedo bombers [Re: johndw52]  
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 17
navy81 Offline
Junior Member
navy81  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 17
Virginia Beach. VA
You nailed it John.
I'll give Midway a try -


Moderated by  RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
How to pi$$ off Londoners...
by Chucky. 10/17/19 12:16 PM
Video game map size comparison
by DM. 10/17/19 09:45 AM
Happy Thanksgiving
by No105_Archie. 10/13/19 05:15 PM
Happy Birthday US Navy
by oldgrognard. 10/13/19 04:31 PM
American Civil War photos
by KraziKanuK. 10/12/19 04:18 AM
“Masters of Air”
by PanzerMeyer. 10/11/19 10:51 PM
WW2 still finding bodies
by Alicatt. 10/10/19 04:10 PM
That moment in time....
by Bill_Grant. 10/09/19 01:35 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0