Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#3411982 - 10/17/11 02:15 PM Two Stage Trigger for Falcon BMS script  
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 346
sobe Offline
Member
sobe  Offline
Member

Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 346
Bend, OR USA
In the new Falcon BMS, there is a need for a two stage trigger and I was wondering how you can script that in CH Manger as the trigger on the joystick does not have an indent.
Thanks
Sobe.


Trackir4, Win10 Pro 64Bit, Intel(R) Core™ i5-2500 3.30 GHz 6M Intel Smart Cache LGA115 , GigaByte GA-Z68XP-UD4 Intel Z68 Chipset, DDR3 8GB Ram,AMD Radeon HD 6950 2GB GDDR5 16X PCIe Video Card, Main Monitor 1 on left 1920x1080 Monitor 2 on right 1280x1024
Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#3412561 - 10/18/11 03:42 AM Re: Two Stage Trigger for Falcon BMS script [Re: sobe]  
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 2,477
HomeFries Offline
Air Dominance Project
HomeFries  Offline
Air Dominance Project
Member

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 2,477
BMS models both trigger detents. It will enable the AVTR for 30 seconds after trigger1 release (and pickle for that matter) if you have AVTR set to semi-automatic. Likewise, trigger1 will manually activate the laser when appropriate.


-Home Fries

"Pacifism is a shifty doctrine under which a man accepts the benefits of the social group without being willing to pay - and claims a halo for his dishonesty."
- Robert A. Heinlein

The average naval aviator, despite the sometimes swaggering exterior, is very much capable of such feelings as love, affection, intimacy, and caring. These feelings just don't involve anyone else.

#3412610 - 10/18/11 05:21 AM Re: Two Stage Trigger for Falcon BMS script [Re: sobe]  
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 5
SleepyCanuck Offline
Junior Member
SleepyCanuck  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 5
Canada
Hello Sobe,

Here is what I suggest:

1. in the cms scrip file include the following line between "scrip" and "endscrip":

cms.b1 = js1.b1

2. in the cms tab open up button 1 and program in the function for stage 1 of the trigger.

What should happen in th sim is that when you pull the trigger the stage 1 command will be sent as well as what ever normally happens when the trigger is pulled (ie stage two) ... both things happen at the same time.

You could treat it like a shifted function aswell ... in that case the scrip would be something like this:

cms.b1 = js1.b1 and js2.b4

... and if you did not want the trigger to actually fire something then add this to the same script:

cms.b2 = js1.b1 and not js2.b4 (cms tab: program button 2 to be CH Device 1, button 1)

Just a few thoughts on the ways this can be handled.

Cheers

#3413041 - 10/18/11 05:45 PM Re: Two Stage Trigger for Falcon BMS script [Re: sobe]  
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 2,477
HomeFries Offline
Air Dominance Project
HomeFries  Offline
Air Dominance Project
Member

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 2,477
Sorry, sobe. Misread your question.


-Home Fries

"Pacifism is a shifty doctrine under which a man accepts the benefits of the social group without being willing to pay - and claims a halo for his dishonesty."
- Robert A. Heinlein

The average naval aviator, despite the sometimes swaggering exterior, is very much capable of such feelings as love, affection, intimacy, and caring. These feelings just don't involve anyone else.

#3413359 - 10/19/11 12:31 AM Re: Two Stage Trigger for Falcon BMS script [Re: sobe]  
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 346
sobe Offline
Member
sobe  Offline
Member

Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 346
Bend, OR USA
Okay. I think that I found the solution. The game has callbacks for the first trigger indent and for the second trigger indent. So I simply coded the first trigger indent as the unshifted trigger and the second trigger indent as the shifted trigger. So far so good.
Sobe


Trackir4, Win10 Pro 64Bit, Intel(R) Core™ i5-2500 3.30 GHz 6M Intel Smart Cache LGA115 , GigaByte GA-Z68XP-UD4 Intel Z68 Chipset, DDR3 8GB Ram,AMD Radeon HD 6950 2GB GDDR5 16X PCIe Video Card, Main Monitor 1 on left 1920x1080 Monitor 2 on right 1280x1024
#3413735 - 10/19/11 03:26 PM Re: Two Stage Trigger for Falcon BMS script [Re: sobe]  
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 2,477
HomeFries Offline
Air Dominance Project
HomeFries  Offline
Air Dominance Project
Member

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 2,477
sobe, I would do it the other way around, though if possible I would assign unshifted trigger to both detent 1 and 2. Then I should program shifted trigger to activate only detent 1 for lasing.

With the cougar (and for that matter the real thing), TG1 is pressed on the way to TG2, and is held down simultaneously with TG2. Assigning both buttons emulates this.


-Home Fries

"Pacifism is a shifty doctrine under which a man accepts the benefits of the social group without being willing to pay - and claims a halo for his dishonesty."
- Robert A. Heinlein

The average naval aviator, despite the sometimes swaggering exterior, is very much capable of such feelings as love, affection, intimacy, and caring. These feelings just don't involve anyone else.

#3414181 - 10/20/11 12:59 AM Re: Two Stage Trigger for Falcon BMS script [Re: sobe]  
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 346
sobe Offline
Member
sobe  Offline
Member

Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 346
Bend, OR USA
sobe, I would do it the other way around, though if possible I would assign unshifted trigger to both detent 1 and 2. Then I should program shifted trigger to activate only detent 1 for lasing.

With the cougar (and for that matter the real thing), TG1 is pressed on the way to TG2, and is held down simultaneously with TG2. Assigning both buttons emulates this.
_________________________
-Home Fries

Home Fries
I was able to fire the gun with just the detent 2 programed for the shifted trigger so I am not sure what you suggested is correct. However, I understand your theory and will try it this weekend. I can program unshifted TG as indent1 + indent2 and shifted TG as only detent1. I will keep you advised.
Sobe


Trackir4, Win10 Pro 64Bit, Intel(R) Core™ i5-2500 3.30 GHz 6M Intel Smart Cache LGA115 , GigaByte GA-Z68XP-UD4 Intel Z68 Chipset, DDR3 8GB Ram,AMD Radeon HD 6950 2GB GDDR5 16X PCIe Video Card, Main Monitor 1 on left 1920x1080 Monitor 2 on right 1280x1024
#3414515 - 10/20/11 03:13 PM Re: Two Stage Trigger for Falcon BMS script [Re: sobe]  
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 2,477
HomeFries Offline
Air Dominance Project
HomeFries  Offline
Air Dominance Project
Member

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 2,477
Trigger detent 2 will fire the cannon without the aid of detent 1, so what you have will work. However, having detent 1 simultaneously depressed gives you the AVTR functionality as well (i.e. guncam) should you wish it (i.e. set AVTR to auto). Not a critical item; just a detail.


-Home Fries

"Pacifism is a shifty doctrine under which a man accepts the benefits of the social group without being willing to pay - and claims a halo for his dishonesty."
- Robert A. Heinlein

The average naval aviator, despite the sometimes swaggering exterior, is very much capable of such feelings as love, affection, intimacy, and caring. These feelings just don't involve anyone else.


Moderated by  RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Roy Cross is 100 Years Old
by F4UDash4. 04/23/24 11:22 AM
Actors portraying US Presidents
by PanzerMeyer. 04/19/24 12:19 PM
Dickey Betts was 80
by Rick_Rawlings. 04/19/24 01:11 AM
Exodus
by RedOneAlpha. 04/18/24 05:46 PM
Grumman Wildcat unique landing gear
by Coot. 04/17/24 03:54 PM
Peter Higgs was 94
by Rick_Rawlings. 04/17/24 12:28 AM
Whitey Herzog was 92
by F4UDash4. 04/16/24 04:41 PM
Anyone can tell me what this is?
by NoFlyBoy. 04/16/24 04:10 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0