Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#3384477 - 09/07/11 10:58 AM UMD not work  
Joined: Aug 2010
Posts: 24
peko Offline
Junior Member
peko  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Aug 2010
Posts: 24
I use the new HOTAS WARTHOG Throttle
and my old improved Cougar joystick (FSSB, real simulator).

UMD not working. I find no fault. Hardware, software
or my error? Please help.

Code:
include "target.tmh"

//program startup
int main()
{
if(Init(&EventHandle)) return 1; // declare the event handler, return on error

SetKBRate(25, 33);

//SetShiftButton(&HCougar, S3, &Throttle, PSF, PSB, IOTOGGLE+UDTOGGLE);
//SetShiftButton(&HCougar, S3, &Throttle, PSF, PSB, 0);
SetShiftButton(&HCougar, S3, &Throttle, PSB, PSF);

//-------------------------------------Output-------
MapKeyIO(&HCougar, S1,
                     PULSE+'1',       //  1  OK
                     PULSE+'2');      //  2  OK
                    
MapKeyUMD(&HCougar, S2,
                      PULSE+'1',     //   2  incorrect
                      PULSE+'2',     //   2  OK
                      PULSE+'3');    //   2  incorrect
                      
MapKeyIOUMD(&HCougar, H2U,
                        PULSE+'1',   //   3  incorrect
                        PULSE+'2',   //   4  incorrect
                        PULSE+'3',   //   3  OK
                        PULSE+'4',   //   4  OK
                        PULSE+'5',   //   3  incorrect
                        PULSE+'6');  //   4  incorrect
//---------------------------
MapKey(&Throttle, BSF,
                     PULSE+'U');     //   U  OK
MapKeyR(&Throttle, BSF,
                      PULSE+'C');    //   C  OK
MapKey(&Throttle, BSB,
                     PULSE+'D');     //   D  OK
MapKeyR(&Throttle, BSB,
                      PULSE+'C');    //   C  OK
}

//event handler
int EventHandle(int type, alias o, int x)
{
    DefaultMapping(&o, x);
	
	//add event handling code here
}

Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#3385337 - 09/08/11 08:48 AM Re: UMD not work [Re: peko]  
Joined: Oct 2010
Posts: 83
Nicu Offline
Junior Member
Nicu  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Oct 2010
Posts: 83
<Throttle> is addressing the Warthog throttle, and not the Cougar throttle.
Cougar throttle and joystick are both addressed by <HCougar>, so you need to replace &Throttle with &HCougar in SetShiftButton().

#3385347 - 09/08/11 09:25 AM Re: UMD not work [Re: peko]  
Joined: Aug 2010
Posts: 24
peko Offline
Junior Member
peko  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Aug 2010
Posts: 24
Hi Nico,

thanks for reply, but I use a HOTAS WARTHOG Throttle and my Cougar joystick.

I've tried her tip. Unfortunately without success.

#3385366 - 09/08/11 10:02 AM Re: UMD not work [Re: peko]  
Joined: Oct 2010
Posts: 83
Nicu Offline
Junior Member
Nicu  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Oct 2010
Posts: 83
I see in your code that you map UMD shift on PSB/PSF switch, but then you test BSB/BSF with MapKey.
1 - maybe you expect the UMD to be activated by BSB/BSF, instead PSB/PSF
2 - maybe your PSB/PSF switch is physically damaged

#3385479 - 09/08/11 01:42 PM Re: UMD not work [Re: peko]  
Joined: Aug 2010
Posts: 24
peko Offline
Junior Member
peko  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Aug 2010
Posts: 24
Nico,

It works

that was my fault, I have not seen it. Thank you very much.

#3385514 - 09/08/11 03:07 PM Re: UMD not work [Re: peko]  
Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 104
Dimebug Offline
Member
Dimebug  Offline
Member

Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 104
France
when you have this kind of doubt/error, you can create a script file with the TARGET GUI and then compare.


Guillaume "Dimebug" Leleve
#3395351 - 09/22/11 01:25 PM Re: UMD not work [Re: peko]  
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 80
Hrvoje Offline
Junior Member
Hrvoje  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: May 2005
Posts: 80
Can somebody clarify to me how to use UMD layers...WHat is procedure to activate for example NAV, AG, AA mode?ž
Do you have to move BS switch to front/back or middle and then also activate button S3 for switchng the stick to different layer?

#3398553 - 09/27/11 01:33 PM Re: UMD not work [Re: peko]  
Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 104
Dimebug Offline
Member
Dimebug  Offline
Member

Joined: Sep 2010
Posts: 104
France
there's several way to do it, it's up to you.

usually, what you do is select a 3 positions switch, one position for U layer, the center one for Middle Layer and the other one for the D layer.

If you use the boat switch, as the switch for selection, once moved into one position, the layer will be activated.


If you can't use a switch that keeps his position once actuated, you have the possibility to use the toggle option. To activate a layer, you must press a button, to leave this layer, you must repress the button or press the other direct layer button.

The IO layer (S3) is a sub layer, inside each layer, you can access the I and the O layer. This gives you 6 possible different output per single button position (as a button as 2 positions (ON and OFF), in fact, you have 12 possibilities):

When pressing one single button, you can have the following layer, with a different action programmed in each layer.

UI Up layer sublayer activated
UO Up layer sublayer desactivated
MI Middle Layer sublayer activated
MO Middle layer sublayer desactivated
DI Down layer sublayer activated
DO Down layer sublayer desactivated

If you want to manage AA, AG and nav mapping using layers, you must define the buttons positions that control UMD layers and and use a MapKey per this button position to send the simulator keystroke combination to set the choosen mode each time the layer selector button is pressed.

This allow you to have a complete different mapping for AA, AG and Nav, each specialized mapping is stocked in one layer. In fact you use the same switch ton control layers and modes of the simulator.



Last edited by Dimebug; 09/27/11 01:37 PM.

Guillaume "Dimebug" Leleve

Moderated by  RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
CD WOFF
by Britisheh. 03/28/24 08:05 PM
Carnival Cruise Ship Fire....... Again
by F4UDash4. 03/26/24 05:58 PM
Baltimore Bridge Collapse
by F4UDash4. 03/26/24 05:51 PM
The Oldest WWII Veterans
by F4UDash4. 03/24/24 09:21 PM
They got fired after this.
by Wigean. 03/20/24 08:19 PM
Grown ups joke time
by NoFlyBoy. 03/18/24 10:34 PM
Anyone Heard from Nimits?
by F4UDash4. 03/18/24 10:01 PM
RIP Gemini/Apollo astronaut Tom Stafford
by semmern. 03/18/24 02:14 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0