Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#3362971 - 08/09/11 06:12 PM Will LB2 work well in XP  
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 420
SlapStik Offline
Member
SlapStik  Offline
Member

Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 420
Concord, NC
Hi,

I have an extra older PC sitting around, maybe 6 year old or so home built, and I was thinking it should be powerful enough to run LB2 and Janes F-18 but my question is which OS should I use?

I have all of them back to Win 98 but I think the easiest to install would be XP if it will work well with the 2 Janes Sims, any thoughts?? Fyi, I have newer box for DCS A-10 and the newer crop of software.

Thanks,
Doug


DFord8 aka SlapStik
Intel i7 2600K SB, DDR3 1600 8 gb ram, Win7 64,
EVGA GTX 570 1280gb, Intel 80gb SSD.
TM Warthog #1547, MFD pack, CH PP & TIR4


Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#3362991 - 08/09/11 06:38 PM Re: Will LB2 work well in XP [Re: SlapStik]  
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 420
SlapStik Offline
Member
SlapStik  Offline
Member

Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 420
Concord, NC
Now that I think about it, a better question would be which is the best/ easiest to use since I will be doing a fresh OS install just for Jane's.


DFord8 aka SlapStik
Intel i7 2600K SB, DDR3 1600 8 gb ram, Win7 64,
EVGA GTX 570 1280gb, Intel 80gb SSD.
TM Warthog #1547, MFD pack, CH PP & TIR4


#3363027 - 08/09/11 07:07 PM Re: Will LB2 work well in XP [Re: SlapStik]  
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 5,600
Recluse Offline
Mediocrity Above All!
Recluse  Offline
Mediocrity Above All!
Hotshot

Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 5,600
Randolph, NJ
Both Sims will work in both OS's but there are occasional compatibility issues.

If you are comfortable with having a Win 98 box, this would probably get you the BEST performance and fewest hassles.


Long system spec sig follows:






PowerSpec G436
Lian Li ATX 205
MSI Z490 Plus Motherboard
Intel Core i7 10700K 3.8 GHz
32 GB RAM DDR4 1600
Nvidia RTX3070

Windows 10 Professional 64 Bit

Flight Gear:

Cougar Hotas S/N 26453
Thrustmaster RCS Rudder Pedals

#3363577 - 08/10/11 12:28 PM Re: Will LB2 work well in XP [Re: SlapStik]  
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 420
SlapStik Offline
Member
SlapStik  Offline
Member

Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 420
Concord, NC
Sounds like a challenge but may be fun! Thanks for your response!


DFord8 aka SlapStik
Intel i7 2600K SB, DDR3 1600 8 gb ram, Win7 64,
EVGA GTX 570 1280gb, Intel 80gb SSD.
TM Warthog #1547, MFD pack, CH PP & TIR4



Moderated by  RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
A man walks into a Bar
by KRT_Bong. 03/29/23 10:53 AM
Most famous sports athlete by country?
by PanzerMeyer. 03/29/23 10:43 AM
Question to Americans and maybe germans
by Blade_RJ. 03/28/23 03:48 PM
Steam Dropping W7, W8 Support FWIW
by Allen. 03/28/23 10:59 AM
My trip to Washington DC
by PanzerMeyer. 03/27/23 02:17 AM
Amazon Is Shutting Down DPReview
by Arthonon. 03/24/23 06:08 PM
Aliens dark descent
by Blade_RJ. 03/24/23 02:12 AM
Flawless AI Lipsync/Language Manipulation
by F4UDash4. 03/22/23 08:15 PM
Possibly the weirdest RPG ever
by WangoTango. 03/22/23 05:36 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0