Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#3341996 - 07/14/11 09:28 PM Still a very stuttery game for me  
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 314
nats Offline
Member
nats  Offline
Member

Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 314
Pocklington UK
Well I've just upgraded from a dual core computer to a six core, mainly for RoF and FSX more than this game it has to be said.

Ran CoD out of interest with everything set on High except trees on medium and god was it a stutter fest. Tried my usual testing mission which is the Blenheim takeoff mission but using a Hurricane instead of the Blenheim - it took at least 1 minute for all the textures etc to load smoothly enough to look around the cockpit. Once everything settled down I took off and regular slight stuttering remained until I was a medium height.

I don't know what they have done to the panning either but the cockpit fixed views are right rubbish - the smooth panning they had before this patch was far better.

I then tried the London sightseeing tour for a laugh - game wouldn't load properly for ages, plane nearly crashed whilst all the textures etc were loading (probably took a good minute again to load), extremely long stutters all the time until it sort of settled down after about a minute when I could actually fly around a bit but stutters still remained.

I can fly RoF very smoothly on High settings and FSX over Seattle with everything set very high perfectly smoothly. When I look at how much FSX has to model in the Seattle area and then I look at CoD theres really no comparison. CoD is a good dogfighting game when it is smooth but the developers must get rid of all these slow loading textures etc - its just killing the gameplay.

Last edited by nats; 07/14/11 09:28 PM.

"It's life, Jim, but not as we know it!"

AMD Phenom II X6 (6x2.8Ghz Six Core) 12GB DDR3 RAM Nvidea Ti550 1Gb Graphics Card MS Sidewinder Forcefeedback 2 Joystick Windows 10 64bit

Games that I am playing:
Elite: Dangerous
Making History: The Great War
Strike Fighters II: Europe
Hearts of Iron 3
Fallout 4
Waterloo
Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#3342002 - 07/14/11 09:31 PM Re: Still a very stuttery game for me [Re: nats]  
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,818
BKHZ_Furbs Offline
Senior Member
BKHZ_Furbs  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,818
what OS did you use before your upgrade?

#3342008 - 07/14/11 09:37 PM Re: Still a very stuttery game for me [Re: nats]  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
anon
Unregistered


You did make sure steam had patched it to the latest version yes?

#3342014 - 07/14/11 09:42 PM Re: Still a very stuttery game for me [Re: nats]  
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 314
nats Offline
Member
nats  Offline
Member

Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 314
Pocklington UK
Same as this one 64bit Windows 7 - I didn't need to reinstall my OS at all it was all recognised after the new motherboard and processor/ram installation. Only thing I had to install was the new motherboard drivers.

Yes its all patched up.

My Windows Experience Ratings (for whats its worth) are 7.4 for processor and memory, 7.3 for graphics, 5.5 for hard disk - so its not a particularly slow computer now (processor and memory used to be 5.5 when I had my old dual core).

Like I say my FSX and RoF seem to be much better than they were (haven't tried the new RoF career yet though - that will be the test as that was why I upgraded to start with - as I was getting a lot of slow down during dogfights in the new career). Its only CoD seems to have gone backwards - although I have to say I used to play with most things set on low/medium before. I am sure if I went to medium graphics rather than high it would be faster. But that's not very indicative of efficient programming if I have to play CoD on a six core on only medeium detail to get it smooth over land is it? I am sure than with every patch actually this game seems to be getting worse in terms of speed/smoothness.

Last edited by nats; 07/14/11 09:53 PM.

"It's life, Jim, but not as we know it!"

AMD Phenom II X6 (6x2.8Ghz Six Core) 12GB DDR3 RAM Nvidea Ti550 1Gb Graphics Card MS Sidewinder Forcefeedback 2 Joystick Windows 10 64bit

Games that I am playing:
Elite: Dangerous
Making History: The Great War
Strike Fighters II: Europe
Hearts of Iron 3
Fallout 4
Waterloo
#3342024 - 07/14/11 09:56 PM Re: Still a very stuttery game for me [Re: nats]  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
anon
Unregistered


Sorry, but I'd not trust that install to perform properly without a proper re-install of windows.

#3342028 - 07/14/11 10:00 PM Re: Still a very stuttery game for me [Re: nats]  
Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 468
SsSsSsSsSnake Offline
Member
SsSsSsSsSnake  Offline
Member

Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 468
Leicester UK
im with Dano on this 1 although if FSX is running well then should be ok, but just to be 100% certain if it was me id reinstall but it can be a pain loading everything but it does feel nice and fresh like after a good dump:)


ssssssssssssssssssssssssss
2600kI7.Corsair G60 liquid cooler.8gig corsair dominator,GTX580.64gig Crucial M4 ssd Win7 os.OCZ 120gig games SSD.Hazro 27" 2560x1440.
CH Fighter stick, CH pro throttle.CH rudder pedals.
#3342030 - 07/14/11 10:02 PM Re: Still a very stuttery game for me [Re: nats]  
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 638
ATAG_Bliss Offline
Member
ATAG_Bliss  Offline
Member

Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 638
Yep, I've never upgraded (new cpu, mb, ram) without a full clean install of the OS. Some of the windows updates (especially for win 7) that are automatically installed are hardware dependent. Not saying that stuff like that will necessarily corrupt your system if previously installed, but it sure can't help.

#3342039 - 07/14/11 10:11 PM Re: Still a very stuttery game for me [Re: nats]  
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 314
nats Offline
Member
nats  Offline
Member

Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 314
Pocklington UK
The windows updates are mostly rubbish security related. I can't remember ever seeing a windows update that had anything to do with the processor, motherboard or ram.

I cant see it making a difference but I will see how it goes with RoF - if that is smooth (and FSX) then they are mainly all I am bothered about, not too concerned with CoD which is pretty dull in comparison really.

I have to admit I should probably do a clean reinstall of Windows if I could be bothered.


"It's life, Jim, but not as we know it!"

AMD Phenom II X6 (6x2.8Ghz Six Core) 12GB DDR3 RAM Nvidea Ti550 1Gb Graphics Card MS Sidewinder Forcefeedback 2 Joystick Windows 10 64bit

Games that I am playing:
Elite: Dangerous
Making History: The Great War
Strike Fighters II: Europe
Hearts of Iron 3
Fallout 4
Waterloo
#3342042 - 07/14/11 10:16 PM Re: Still a very stuttery game for me [Re: nats]  
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,453
NineLives Offline
Member
NineLives  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,453
Shropshire UK
It's your graphics card. COD will eat it alive. It's 3 year old technology and whilst it will play ROF and FSX ok it won't with COD. (even though you could argue ROF looks just as good as COD - it's down to the coding)

I got a 560Ti and it now plays fine with just a bit of stutter but your card will be like my old 8800GT and not up to it. Looks like you will need another upgrade.

For the record here is your card compared to mine. Compare the clocks and fill rates.

ATi
Series: Radeon HD 4k
GPU: RV770
Release Date: 2008-06-25
Interface: PCI-E 2.0 x16
Core Clock: 625 MHz
Shader Clock: 625 MHz
Memory Clock: 993 MHz (1986 DDR)
Memory Bandwidth: 63.552 GB/sec
FLOPS: 1000 GFLOPS
Pixel Fill Rate: 10000 MPixels/sec
Texture Fill Rate: 25000 MTexels/sec



nVidia
Series: GeForce GTX 500
GPU: GF114
Release Date: 2011-01-25
Interface: PCI-E 2.0 x16
Core Clock: 822 MHz
Shader Clock: 1644 MHz
Memory Clock: 2004 MHz (4008 DDR)
Memory Bandwidth: 128.256 GB/sec
FLOPS: 1262.592 GFLOPS
Pixel Fill Rate: 26304 MPixels/sec
Texture Fill Rate: 52608 MTexels/sec

#3342060 - 07/14/11 10:45 PM Re: Still a very stuttery game for me [Re: nats]  
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 18,568
Ajay Online smile
newbie
Ajay  Online Smile
newbie
Veteran

Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 18,568
Brisbane OZ
A minute to load seems a bit off Nats.


My il2 page
Seelowe Campaign
Cliffs of Dover page
CloD
My Models
Tanks/Planes/Ships


#3342080 - 07/14/11 11:21 PM Re: Still a very stuttery game for me [Re: nats]  
Joined: Jul 2011
Posts: 17
DrDag Offline
Junior Member
DrDag  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jul 2011
Posts: 17
From my personal experience I have to agree, I was using an I7 920 with 6 gb ddr3 1600 and a nvidia 280gtx. I only could play it on lower settings. When i upgraded to a 580gtx with 3 gig it made a quantum leap concerning performance. The amount of VRam seems to make quite a bit of an impact.

regards,
Dag

#3342100 - 07/14/11 11:55 PM Re: Still a very stuttery game for me [Re: nats]  
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,979
Buddye1 Offline
Member
Buddye1  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,979
South East,Texas,USA
I agree,you are bottle necking on your video card.

How much video memory do you have?

I also have an old video card but it is a dual core GPU (1.8GB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 295) and I run COD on mostly high settings at good FPS everywhere witout studder (actually very smooth dog fighting) but the dog fighting is messed up by really bad AI.

Last edited by Buddye1; 07/14/11 11:59 PM.

Intel I7 920 processor (2.66GHz, 8MB cache), 6GB DDR3 Triple Channel @1333MHz, 1.8GB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 295, Sound Blaster X-Fi PCI Sound Card, Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit , CH Fighter Stick & Pedals ,TrackIR4 Pro thanks to BobII crew.
#3342118 - 07/15/11 01:04 AM Re: Still a very stuttery game for me [Re: nats]  
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 18,538
piper Offline
Veteran
piper  Offline
Veteran

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 18,538
Raleigh,NC
> but the dog fighting is messed up by really bad AI.

Buddye1, you fixed Rowan's BoBII marvelously (AI). Maybe you should reach out to these folks too.
Be a hell of a lot different from that old code, but the algorithms would be the same.

#3342130 - 07/15/11 01:27 AM Re: Still a very stuttery game for me [Re: nats]  
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 118
Danosh33 Offline
Member
Danosh33  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 118
I have a 2gb 6970 and it still runs crap, Nats don't bother spending more money on a graphics card mate for Clod this game has massive issues that I don't think can be fixed by throwing money at hardware.

#3342280 - 07/15/11 08:38 AM Re: Still a very stuttery game for me [Re: nats]  
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 314
nats Offline
Member
nats  Offline
Member

Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 314
Pocklington UK
I would have concerns about buying a new graphics card for CloD. My main reason for upgrading was FSX and RoF I was just interested to know what was wrong with CloD. Obviously FSX and RoF need more processing power and slightly less graphics performance whereas CloD may be the other way. But after spending £250 upgrading I am not buying anything else. CloD will just have to go on the shelf if the developers cant get it any more optimised than this.

I guess its good for dogfighting ME109s at high level and the odd bomber interception but I don't think its ever going to be a decent BOB sim along the lines of Rowan's BOB is it? I will just have to accept I wasted my money and move on this time I think. I never really liked IL2 games so I suppose I don't know really why I am that bothered about it not playing well on my computer.

Its not a bad game for flying around Hurricanes and Spitfires over rather dated terrain if that's your cup of tea - personally I prefer the graphics of both RoF and FSX.


"It's life, Jim, but not as we know it!"

AMD Phenom II X6 (6x2.8Ghz Six Core) 12GB DDR3 RAM Nvidea Ti550 1Gb Graphics Card MS Sidewinder Forcefeedback 2 Joystick Windows 10 64bit

Games that I am playing:
Elite: Dangerous
Making History: The Great War
Strike Fighters II: Europe
Hearts of Iron 3
Fallout 4
Waterloo
#3342289 - 07/15/11 09:24 AM Re: Still a very stuttery game for me [Re: nats]  
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 13,361
Freycinet Offline
Veteran
Freycinet  Offline
Veteran

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 13,361
Originally Posted By: nats
I guess its good for dogfighting ME109s at high level and the odd bomber interception but I don't think its ever going to be a decent BOB sim along the lines of Rowan's BOB is it? I will just have to accept I wasted my money and move on this time I think. I never really liked IL2 games so I suppose I don't know really why I am that bothered about it not playing well on my computer.

Its not a bad game for flying around Hurricanes and Spitfires over rather dated terrain if that's your cup of tea - personally I prefer the graphics of both RoF and FSX.


It definitely seems that you have some more general misgivings about this sim as well. I guess it is just not for you. Luckily there is also RoF, which is marvellous!

CoD runs fine for me on high settings, but I have a new video card and I think that an SSD with plenty of space for virtual ram helps as well.


My Il-2 CoD movie web site: www.flightsimvids.com
#3342293 - 07/15/11 09:40 AM Re: Still a very stuttery game for me [Re: nats]  
Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 350
15/JG52_Genie Offline
Member
15/JG52_Genie  Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 2005
Posts: 350
Doha, Qatar
go here

\Steam\steamapps\common\il-2 sturmovik cliffs of dover\parts\core\GUI

delete ubi logo movie..

that keeps ATI card in slow mode because of some bug...

#3342294 - 07/15/11 09:53 AM Re: Still a very stuttery game for me [Re: nats]  
Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,858
kilosierra Offline
Member
kilosierra  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,858
The very north of Germany
I think my system is fairly powerful, but it stutters still a lot. Meanwhile the CPUs are far from running on high load, average 30 to 40%.

I still hope they will increase the performance.


i7 6700k @ 4,0 GHz
GTX1070
Asus Z170 Pro Gamer
16 GB RAM
500 GB Crucial CT500MX200 SSD
Toshiba DT01ACA300 HDD
Samsung SyncMaster BX2450 LED
W10 64
#3342313 - 07/15/11 11:56 AM Re: Still a very stuttery game for me [Re: nats]  
Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 29
Point Blank Offline
Junior Member
Point Blank  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Feb 2008
Posts: 29
Is SLI working yet, or planned to ever work?

#3342333 - 07/15/11 12:43 PM Re: Still a very stuttery game for me [Re: nats]  
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,768
KRT_Bong Offline
It's KRT not Kurt
KRT_Bong  Offline
It's KRT not Kurt
Senior Member

Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 3,768
Gulf Coast of Florida
ATI Radeon HD4850 512MB Graphics Card, that is your problem, you need a 1GB card or better, check my specs, I can run everything maxed and I'll get stutters over London but with a few settings on medium where they don't really have to be high and it works like a charm, and I run RoF all the way.


Windows 7 64 SP1
Gigabyte 970A DS3P FX
AMD FX6300 Vishera 3.5 Ghz
GeForce 650 Ti 2Gb
8Gb Kingston 1600Mhz
Logitech G930

#3342741 - 07/15/11 10:38 PM Re: Still a very stuttery game for me [Re: KRT_Bong]  
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 314
nats Offline
Member
nats  Offline
Member

Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 314
Pocklington UK
Originally Posted By: KRT_Bong
ATI Radeon HD4850 512MB Graphics Card, that is your problem, you need a 1GB card or better, check my specs, I can run everything maxed and I'll get stutters over London but with a few settings on medium where they don't really have to be high and it works like a charm, and I run RoF all the way.


You could well be right but I cant afford another graphics card nor more ram at the moment maybe once the game is fixed. At the moment its just not worth it.


"It's life, Jim, but not as we know it!"

AMD Phenom II X6 (6x2.8Ghz Six Core) 12GB DDR3 RAM Nvidea Ti550 1Gb Graphics Card MS Sidewinder Forcefeedback 2 Joystick Windows 10 64bit

Games that I am playing:
Elite: Dangerous
Making History: The Great War
Strike Fighters II: Europe
Hearts of Iron 3
Fallout 4
Waterloo
#3342963 - 07/16/11 09:38 AM Re: Still a very stuttery game for me [Re: nats]  
Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,858
kilosierra Offline
Member
kilosierra  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,858
The very north of Germany
Or you could through money at your PC only to find out, it`s still not running fluid.

I get an average of 40 fps (min 13, max 60, but that might due to Vsync on) in the Black Death track, which should be cool for a sim, but the game stutters too much for really enjoying it.


i7 6700k @ 4,0 GHz
GTX1070
Asus Z170 Pro Gamer
16 GB RAM
500 GB Crucial CT500MX200 SSD
Toshiba DT01ACA300 HDD
Samsung SyncMaster BX2450 LED
W10 64
#3342987 - 07/16/11 11:17 AM Re: Still a very stuttery game for me [Re: kilosierra]  
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 1,601
ATAG_Snapper Offline
Member
ATAG_Snapper  Offline
Member

Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 1,601
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Originally Posted By: kilosierra
Or you could through money at your PC only to find out, it`s still not running fluid.

I get an average of 40 fps (min 13, max 60, but that might due to Vsync on) in the Black Death track, which should be cool for a sim, but the game stutters too much for really enjoying it.


Kilosierra, did you do the Launcher.exe tweak? That cured the stutters on my system.

1. Right click on Launcher.exe
2. Select (left click) on Compatability tab
3. Select "Disable desktop composition"
4. Click on "Apply"


-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
My system: i7 4770K @ 3.5 MHZ, Win 10 64-bit, 24 Gig DDR3, Gigabyte GTX 970 4 Gig, Thrustmaster Warthog HOTAS, CH Quadrant, Saitek Combat Pedals, Track IR 5, LG 55” 4K LED TV
#3343018 - 07/16/11 12:53 PM Re: Still a very stuttery game for me [Re: nats]  
Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,858
kilosierra Offline
Member
kilosierra  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2008
Posts: 1,858
The very north of Germany
Hi Snappers,

yup, but no joy for me. THX for helping anyway.


i7 6700k @ 4,0 GHz
GTX1070
Asus Z170 Pro Gamer
16 GB RAM
500 GB Crucial CT500MX200 SSD
Toshiba DT01ACA300 HDD
Samsung SyncMaster BX2450 LED
W10 64
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Anyone use VoiceAtttack?
by bones. 02/21/20 01:50 PM
Fanatical Platinum Bundle
by Red2112. 02/21/20 12:21 PM
Raising the Kursk
by CyBerkut. 02/20/20 11:09 PM
Borderlands the movie?
by PanzerMeyer. 02/20/20 07:41 PM
Post script on our fires
by Mad Max. 02/19/20 09:43 PM
Our current approaching storm
by Ajay. 02/19/20 12:35 PM
Just a little feel good flying thing
by Nixer. 02/18/20 12:37 AM
Now, This is Cool (Even if it WAS a Dog)
by vonBaur. 02/18/20 12:37 AM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0