Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#3341514 - 07/14/11 08:32 AM Will this run on a laptop?  
Joined: Jul 2011
Posts: 2
RedStar Offline
Junior Member
RedStar  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jul 2011
Posts: 2
Of course it won't, you say.

But I mean, will it run on a proper gaming laptop, like the ASUS G53SX? Core i7 2.0 GHz, 8 GB of DDR3 RAM and a GeForce GTX 560M with 2 GB of GDDR5. Would it run CoD smoothly, barely or not at all?

Why I ask: I have a buy myself a new laptop anyway, so I am trying to decide between going for a more simple laptop AND getting an upgrade to my home computer, OR putting all the money into one all-purpose laptop like the above mentioned ASUS machine.

Thanks for your input!

-- Roland

Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#3341518 - 07/14/11 08:47 AM Re: Will this run on a laptop? [Re: RedStar]  
Joined: May 2011
Posts: 588
Bokononist Offline
Currently using: Occams Electric Shaver
Bokononist  Offline
Currently using: Occams Electric Shaver
Member

Joined: May 2011
Posts: 588
Liverpool, UK (Cornish exile)
I personally would go for the better desktop, in fact I'm in the process of building one as we speak. I personally couldn't afford a laptop capable of playing CloD, but yes, people here do play CloD on laptops, why you would want to I've no idea but it seems you can. I think a lot of it is down to the resolution you try to play it at, but at the mo the 560m is about the best mobile gaming solution is it not?


"Tiger got to hunt, bird got to fly; Man got to sit and wonder, 'Why, why, why?' Tiger got to sleep, bird got to land; Man got to tell himself he understand." - A calypso.

i5 2500K@4.5Ghz | MSI P67A-GD53 | 8G DDR3 Corsair@1600 | Gainward GLH 460x2 SLI oc | Seagate Barracuda 1TB HDD | Antec Truepower New 750W PSU | Win 7 64bit | Black Widow HOTAS | Freetrack 2.2/PS3 eyetoy

#3341521 - 07/14/11 09:16 AM Re: Will this run on a laptop? [Re: RedStar]  
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 13,361
Freycinet Offline
Veteran
Freycinet  Offline
Veteran

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 13,361
I say go for an ok laptop and then keep a good desktop as well. It can play on a laptop but I don't think it will look good. You might as well cover your flightsimming needs with Il-2 Classic when you're on the road and then play CoD as it is meant to be played at home. I mean, you will really need peripherals such as a stick, rudder and TrackIR to get any fun out of CoD, and I don't think you'd lug those around with you.

"Jack of all trades, master of none"...


My Il-2 CoD movie web site: www.flightsimvids.com
#3341664 - 07/14/11 02:43 PM Re: Will this run on a laptop? [Re: RedStar]  
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 15
topgum49 Offline
Junior Member
topgum49  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 15
France/Germany
Hi Redstar,
On my own, I took the decision for a (powerfull) Notebook-desktopreplacement , even when it seems to be more expensive first, but runnig/effording two PCs (NB&Desktop+Monitor)isn't that realy cheap . You see my Specs down here, but as far as I know ist the Nvidea gtx485m that I use more powerfull than the gtx560m.
What can you do with it? Well, in the 1920x1080 Fullscreen resolution my settings are
Epi filter, SSAO off, Vysnc on. Anitalaising 8x, (even there's no effect)
Model text high, Buildingtext high; Landscape-Textures high /Textquality middle, Forest low, Effects middle, Damage high
landscapeshading middle, buildingnumber unlimited. Grass, Splins, Shadows on
Your fps are depending where you fly and on which altidude, I can get 20 to 60 fps, but with the 1.0042660???patch it was better.
I found out that clouds, build in the FMB by the weatheroption can seriously bringing down your frames,
See this f.ex. taken by 1024x768 frontprojection-res, (Normaly I would get 80fps there)

Unfortenatly only one of my cores is realy used, also only 1500 instead of the 2000mb graphic memory. But I am also hoping for performance improvements by the developers, espescially the stuttering over industrial areas isn't nice
I am fine with my NB, it gives also space to my homecockpit :-) show us your homecockpit
Hope this helps


MySN P501 Notebook I7 2720@2,3Ghz 8Gig RAM NvideaGTX485m@2Gig
Trustmaster 16000 TIR5 n52teGamepad, Saitek Rudders, -Quadrant& CyborgMOD-elevatortrim
#3341822 - 07/14/11 05:34 PM Re: Will this run on a laptop? [Re: RedStar]  
Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 481
ZG26_Emil Offline
Member
ZG26_Emil  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 481
Cheshire....Ok stockport
Originally Posted By: RedStar
Of course it won't, you say.

But I mean, will it run on a proper gaming laptop, like the ASUS G53SX? Core i7 2.0 GHz, 8 GB of DDR3 RAM and a GeForce GTX 560M with 2 GB of GDDR5. Would it run CoD smoothly, barely or not at all?

Why I ask: I have a buy myself a new laptop anyway, so I am trying to decide between going for a more simple laptop AND getting an upgrade to my home computer, OR putting all the money into one all-purpose laptop like the above mentioned ASUS machine.

Thanks for your input!

-- Roland


Hi Mate I have an ASUS G73S i7 @2 GHz, NVidia 460M, 8 gig ram. It runs okish with alot of stuf on low and medium (if u search my last few posts there is probably one with my settings). I was doing exactly the same as you as I needed a laptop for work and couldn't afford both.

In a nutshell I recon the Graphics card is probably better than mine so, the sound drivers are ancient and asus doesn't seem to have updated them on their website for along time. driver support isn't wonderful and I didn't want to install video drivers that weren't meant for this laptop.

I am more than likely going to buy a desktop because i also need one for my office. That will be for gaming so in hindsight I maybe shouldn't have spent 1600 quid on this....but....it's a lovely machine!


Formerly JG5_Emil
#3341829 - 07/14/11 05:37 PM Re: Will this run on a laptop? [Re: RedStar]  
Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 481
ZG26_Emil Offline
Member
ZG26_Emil  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 481
Cheshire....Ok stockport
by the way. 17" screen is big for a laptop but just not big enough for CLOD in my opinion. So there's another thing to think about.

edited to say...it's not so much the screen size rather that if i'm using the laptop for otherstuff as well as gaming then the laptop is on a desk and the screen is not at the hight I would like it to be. minor issue I suppose and also using TIR isn't as good as with a bigger monitor which would be further away.


Last edited by JG5_Emil; 07/14/11 05:51 PM.

Formerly JG5_Emil
#3341955 - 07/14/11 08:22 PM Re: Will this run on a laptop? [Re: ZG26_Emil]  
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 15
topgum49 Offline
Junior Member
topgum49  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 15
France/Germany
Hi JG52Emil,
yeah, i guess you are right! Even when my 15"1920x1080 display gives fantastic images to me, but most fun I get by turning my outdated projektor on, running with 1024x768 just in front of me. For the Future, I am very curious for video glasses in HDQuality.
Yes, Size does matter;-)

Last edited by topgum49; 07/14/11 08:26 PM.

MySN P501 Notebook I7 2720@2,3Ghz 8Gig RAM NvideaGTX485m@2Gig
Trustmaster 16000 TIR5 n52teGamepad, Saitek Rudders, -Quadrant& CyborgMOD-elevatortrim
#3342077 - 07/14/11 11:16 PM Re: Will this run on a laptop? [Re: RedStar]  
Joined: Jul 2011
Posts: 2
RedStar Offline
Junior Member
RedStar  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jul 2011
Posts: 2
Big thanks for all your input!

I've decided to go for a simpler laptop (Acer Aspire 5750G) and a new graphics card for my desktop (Radeon HD 6970). I get more bang for the buck this way, and I am only flying at home anyway.


Moderated by  RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Anyone use VoiceAtttack?
by bones. 02/21/20 01:50 PM
Fanatical Platinum Bundle
by Red2112. 02/21/20 12:21 PM
Raising the Kursk
by CyBerkut. 02/20/20 11:09 PM
Borderlands the movie?
by PanzerMeyer. 02/20/20 07:41 PM
Post script on our fires
by Mad Max. 02/19/20 09:43 PM
Our current approaching storm
by Ajay. 02/19/20 12:35 PM
Just a little feel good flying thing
by Nixer. 02/18/20 12:37 AM
Now, This is Cool (Even if it WAS a Dog)
by vonBaur. 02/18/20 12:37 AM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0