Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#3338944 - 07/10/11 03:59 PM Should I get  
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 301
RockEye Offline
Member
RockEye  Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 301
oklahoma city
Ok, I have been looking at the screen shots and reading the forums. The sim looks pretty but does it still studder and pause a lot. Is the game fixed. I know there will be some bugs but are there any game changers

Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#3338948 - 07/10/11 04:11 PM Re: Should I get [Re: RockEye]  
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 1,601
ATAG_Snapper Offline
Member
ATAG_Snapper  Offline
Member

Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 1,601
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
View these videos by Freycinet and judge for yourself:


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YDcCr4y0Tms&feature=youtube_gdata_player


-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
My system: i7 4770K @ 3.5 MHZ, Win 10 64-bit, 24 Gig DDR3, Gigabyte GTX 970 4 Gig, Thrustmaster Warthog HOTAS, CH Quadrant, Saitek Combat Pedals, Track IR 5, LG 55” 4K LED TV
#3338963 - 07/10/11 04:37 PM Re: Should I get [Re: RockEye]  
Joined: May 2011
Posts: 588
Bokononist Offline
Currently using: Occams Electric Shaver
Bokononist  Offline
Currently using: Occams Electric Shaver
Member

Joined: May 2011
Posts: 588
Liverpool, UK (Cornish exile)
My system runs it fine now on medium to high settings, mostly medium. I still get the occasional stutter or pause tbh but very infrequently. I has improved immensly since the initial release. My system isn't very high spec compared to Feycinets (check my sig) so I guess it's partly a question of how good your graphics card is.
Why dont you post your specs and someone with a similar system could give you a better answer.


"Tiger got to hunt, bird got to fly; Man got to sit and wonder, 'Why, why, why?' Tiger got to sleep, bird got to land; Man got to tell himself he understand." - A calypso.

i5 2500K@4.5Ghz | MSI P67A-GD53 | 8G DDR3 Corsair@1600 | Gainward GLH 460x2 SLI oc | Seagate Barracuda 1TB HDD | Antec Truepower New 750W PSU | Win 7 64bit | Black Widow HOTAS | Freetrack 2.2/PS3 eyetoy

#3339015 - 07/10/11 06:38 PM Re: Should I get [Re: RockEye]  
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 811
commorange Offline
Member
commorange  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 811
Troy, OH
Originally Posted By: RockEye
Ok, I have been looking at the screen shots and reading the forums. The sim looks pretty but does it still studder and pause a lot. Is the game fixed. I know there will be some bugs but are there any game changers


Suggest you read all the reviews and also look through the many threads on this forum. The video referred to

is very nice, but it only shows the game being played in a optimum conditions for the game. A few pages down there is

a thread titled "disappointment" , suggest you look at that one. Right now, most peoples' opinions I have read

say the game is a failure. Its got a lot of bugs because it was released too early. I have the game and hope the

devs can fix it but it does not look good imo. Some people can enjoy the game right now and dont mind the bugs.

But for me they are too annoying and just kill the experience. From my own playing the game I will give a short list

of some of the problems but this list is by no means inclusive of all:

Aircraft performance (airspeed) cannot come close to the actual aircraft especially at altitudes

Poor A. I. , predictable and not challenging

Poorly done sounds, also sounds non existent in online play. Its been reported sound is being redone and will take

months to get into the game.

Stuttering, snapping jerking and pausing frame rates very erratic, often not smooth. Game plays best when flying

over the channel as the pretty videos of certain people show. Over some land areas and over cities its quite a

different story, however.

The campaign is a complete joke. Its a Battle of Britain campaign in name only. Enough said there.

Some people dont like colours used in the landscape.. small issue for me but for some a big deal.

You can fly through trees without crashing. A very infuriated thing when playing online. Players can and do exploit

this.

The game was expected to have some kind of realistic weather and other features that were hyped early on have been

left out.

I am sure other players can give more pros and cons.. suggest you get a lot of perspectives from others.


my system: Intel Core I7 920 @ 3570ghz
Asus P6T MB
6 GB OCZ DDR3 RAM , dram freq 680 mhz, NB freq 2720 mhz
Radeon HD 4870 w/ 1 Gb vram
OS.. Windows 7 professional 64 bit
WD 2 TB hard disk drive etc.

#3339041 - 07/10/11 07:18 PM Re: Should I get [Re: RockEye]  
Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 314
robtek Offline
Member
robtek  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 314
When yor regard your money as spent for some fun now and lots of fun in the future, buy!
When you expect a faultless software , don't!
Imho, the most negative reviews and opinions come from disappointed people with high expectations,
they concentrate on what isn't working (sorrily quite a few things) and ignore in their postings what is working,
about 95% of the sim!
But, the devs ARE working on it, so the future IS bright, imo!

#3339046 - 07/10/11 07:26 PM Re: Should I get [Re: RockEye]  
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 2,094
HarryR Offline
Member
HarryR  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 2,094
UK
Yes. Two words. 'Spitfire' 'Achtung!!'

Last edited by HarryR; 07/10/11 07:28 PM.

To..
#3339055 - 07/10/11 07:41 PM Re: Should I get [Re: RockEye]  
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,818
BKHZ_Furbs Offline
Senior Member
BKHZ_Furbs  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,818
Yes, my high expectations in a sim from 2011...

Sound.
Not getting kicked from servers or servers not crashing after a hour.
menus that work.
CO-OPs.
Aircraft that have a FM like the real thing.
FSAA

Yes, my high expectations from a sim that claims to represent the Battle of Britain...

A actual campaign where i can join a sqd or at least put my pilots name in somewhere.
A campaign where my stats are recorded as well as my missions.
Not spitgirl.
A landscape that looks like Britain.


But...somethings COD does fantastic.

Aircraft are beautiful and perfectly modeled.
Cockpits are a work of art, best in any sim anywhere.
lighting is fantastic.
Ground models could fit in a ground sim they are so detailed.
Smallish fighting over the coast looks awesome and sometimes like real footage
DM is prob the best ever seen in a flight sim.
Great CEM, really good fun to learn and use.

That's how i honestly feel.

If you wont miss the cash and are willing to take a chance on the bugs being fixed then go for it.


Last edited by BKHZ_Furbs; 07/10/11 07:42 PM.
#3339069 - 07/10/11 08:15 PM Re: Should I get [Re: RockEye]  
Joined: May 2006
Posts: 3,655
HeinKill Offline
Senior Member
HeinKill  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: May 2006
Posts: 3,655
Cloud based
DOWNLOADABLE PDF CLIFFS OF DOVER REVIEW
Optimised for iPAD viewing!

http://www.freewebs.com/heinkill/cliffsofdoverreview.htm

"Probably the best review of CloD I've yet read. Very balanced and fair." Rattlehead, 1C Forums.

"I consider this review good work- I'd recommend it to everyone wondering if to buy or not. Subjective in a sense that makes perfect sense, using common sense." DocW, SimHQ Forums.


[Linked Image]
#3339076 - 07/10/11 08:33 PM Re: Should I get [Re: robtek]  
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 811
commorange Offline
Member
commorange  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 811
Troy, OH
[quote=robtekImho, the most negative reviews and opinions come from disappointed people with high expectations,
they concentrate on what isn't working (sorrily quite a few things) and ignore in their postings what is working,
about 95% of the sim!
[/quote]

95% of this sim is working right?? Dude you have got to be kidding. Who else thinks that?

I would like to see how many agrees or disagrees. I will be kind and say this game gets about 60 - 65

percent. Where I went to college thats a D .


my system: Intel Core I7 920 @ 3570ghz
Asus P6T MB
6 GB OCZ DDR3 RAM , dram freq 680 mhz, NB freq 2720 mhz
Radeon HD 4870 w/ 1 Gb vram
OS.. Windows 7 professional 64 bit
WD 2 TB hard disk drive etc.

#3339099 - 07/10/11 09:26 PM Re: Should I get [Re: commorange]  
Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 314
robtek Offline
Member
robtek  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 314
Well, thats your opinion, but then you only look at the surface.
The inner workings are there and doing their job, there is a completely new sound made and the defiencies in the FM will be corrected also.
But the necessary changes, while very important, are minuscule regarding to the sim as a whole.

#3339102 - 07/10/11 09:27 PM Re: Should I get [Re: HeinKill]  
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 811
commorange Offline
Member
commorange  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 811
Troy, OH
Originally Posted By: HeinKill
DOWNLOADABLE PDF CLIFFS OF DOVER REVIEW
Optimised for iPAD viewing!

http://www.freewebs.com/heinkill/cliffsofdoverreview.htm




Since other reviewers with equally valid comments are not on the forum to hype their own reviews.

I suggest you also read the following ones, if you are interested in somewhat more objective

perspectives: Eurogamer , UK PC Gamer, Gamespot


my system: Intel Core I7 920 @ 3570ghz
Asus P6T MB
6 GB OCZ DDR3 RAM , dram freq 680 mhz, NB freq 2720 mhz
Radeon HD 4870 w/ 1 Gb vram
OS.. Windows 7 professional 64 bit
WD 2 TB hard disk drive etc.

#3339106 - 07/10/11 09:39 PM Re: Should I get [Re: RockEye]  
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 839
IV/JG7trumps Offline
Member
IV/JG7trumps  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2004
Posts: 839
Perth australia
There is no point reading too much into a y of the reviews unless they are of the current build, this game bas varied in performance so much with each patch, some good but also some bad. A review of the game played in initial release will be quite different as to what we are now playing, and being as steam will update it to current spec upon installation is not valid.


Craig


The problem with the World is stupidity. I'm not saying there should be a capital punishment for stupidity, but why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself?
#3339137 - 07/10/11 10:17 PM Re: Should I get [Re: RockEye]  
Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 314
robtek Offline
Member
robtek  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 314
Commorange, not everybody has to share your negativity, so why are you trying to implement your pov so vigorously?
3 posts here already, are you afraid somebody could be happy with what is already working?

#3339169 - 07/10/11 11:06 PM Re: Should I get [Re: robtek]  
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 811
commorange Offline
Member
commorange  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 811
Troy, OH
Originally Posted By: robtek
Commorange, not everybody has to share your negativity, so why are you trying to implement your pov so vigorously?
3 posts here already, are you afraid somebody could be happy with what is already working?



Robtek its called being able to be critical. You say the game is 95 percent working. Who is kidding who?

If you want to gush nectar all over the place about this game, fine. Just dont expect questionable

remarks to go unquestioned. My first post was my opinion to a poster that was asking for opinions. My third

post was to provide alternatives to a poster hyping his own review. My other post was a response to your

95% comment. By the way I dont agree with the person that said those older reviews are no longer valid because

most of the issues I have with this game have yet to be fixed. Do you think this game will ever be fixed if

everyone just gushes happiness over it? I will make you this promise, when the devs patch CoD and make it

right I will give them due credit, kudo's and laurels. I sincerely hope that happens. So far I dont see it

happening and that isnt negativity thats just the truth.

Last edited by commorange; 07/10/11 11:08 PM.

my system: Intel Core I7 920 @ 3570ghz
Asus P6T MB
6 GB OCZ DDR3 RAM , dram freq 680 mhz, NB freq 2720 mhz
Radeon HD 4870 w/ 1 Gb vram
OS.. Windows 7 professional 64 bit
WD 2 TB hard disk drive etc.

#3339182 - 07/10/11 11:26 PM Re: Should I get [Re: RockEye]  
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 839
IV/JG7trumps Offline
Member
IV/JG7trumps  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2004
Posts: 839
Perth australia
He is just making a pre- emtive strike before frey turns up smile it must get bloody frustrating trying to convince the people that can and do find some measure of value, and enjoyment out of the game that they are wrong. I am pretty sure even the most strident of fanboys will acknowledge the issues as well as the positives, when commenting on the game. I really fail to understand why anyone who has written a product off so completely would spend so much time hanging about in the forums?
Sort of reminds me of little boys who pretend they don't have a crush on a girl by calling her names!

Craig


The problem with the World is stupidity. I'm not saying there should be a capital punishment for stupidity, but why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself?
#3339196 - 07/10/11 11:52 PM Re: Should I get [Re: RockEye]  
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 18,568
Ajay Offline
newbie
Ajay  Offline
newbie
Veteran

Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 18,568
Brisbane OZ
Rockeye are you the old Rockeyehp? Just wondering smile

Sim was fairly grim for me post the latest patch as it was crashing constantly.Being win7 and 4gb ram i have managed to get ot working very well now with the 3g switch , no crashes since then. Check this thread 3G SWITCH

I have not tried online yet , maybe later once i have my CEM skills down pat so i cant comment on that side.

Have been making a few missions and with 24 88s v 12 hurris, 12 109s ,4 spits , 6 tankers,2 minesweepers,8 herds of cows,4 flocks of seagulls and over 1300 added objects game is running fine.Too much flak seems to be the only slow down so have reduced my airfield protection from 12 88mm's to 4 ,dont know if it is a sound or graphic issue(flak explosions).All settings max except forest low ,shadows low.

AI needs some work, some silly manuevers etc.Game does look very nice , thats an in the eye of the beholder thingy though obviously, cockpits are glorious.The fmb is a fun thing though we do not have a manual so its a bit of a find it as you go with some things, the weather system is still to be fully implemented and should be a cool thing once finalised.Plenty of stuff working in there atm and plenty of potential for the future.

Check out heinkill's thread for a campaign overview as well, he seems to be having a heap of fun in there.

As for your main question, i have not really experienced any of the stuttery pausy problem since release except over London which now with the 3g switch as mentioned above is also fine.

If you like sims and your preference is WW11 then get your feet wet and judge it yourself smile For me its a no brainer.


My il2 page
Seelowe Campaign
Cliffs of Dover page
CloD
My Models
Tanks/Planes/Ships


#3339214 - 07/11/11 12:38 AM Re: Should I get [Re: RockEye]  
Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 301
RockEye Offline
Member
RockEye  Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 2002
Posts: 301
oklahoma city
Well, thank you for your replies. I think I will hold off until things are worked out

#3339260 - 07/11/11 02:00 AM Re: Should I get [Re: RockEye]  
Joined: Oct 1999
Posts: 33
DarkAngel Offline
Junior Member
DarkAngel  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Oct 1999
Posts: 33
Herrick, Tasmania
Personally my biggest gripe with CoD is the lack of content. Its inability to live up to the developers promises aside there just isn't enough to it. For something that was supposed to be better than IL2 in this regards it has fallen woefully short. I guess also because of the games obvious problems there aren't a lot of people making content for it that i have seen. If they had just put in the sort of campaign that IL2 had it would have been better.

#3339339 - 07/11/11 04:42 AM Re: Should I get [Re: IV/JG7trumps]  
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 811
commorange Offline
Member
commorange  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 811
Troy, OH
Originally Posted By: IV/JG7trumps
He is just making a pre- emtive strike before frey turns up smile it must get bloody frustrating trying to convince the people that can and do find some measure of value, and enjoyment out of the game that they are wrong. I am pretty sure even the most strident of fanboys will acknowledge the issues as well as the positives, when commenting on the game. I really fail to understand why anyone who has written a product off so completely would spend so much time hanging about in the forums?
Sort of reminds me of little boys who pretend they don't have a crush on a girl by calling her names!

Craig


Are you really referring to what I have posted in this thread?

If so you fail to understand it because you havent even got a clue what I said. Maybe you should try actually

reading what someone posts. Did you even read it at all? Most likely you just read the part that suited your

agenda to paint me as a frustrated little boy just because I dont agree with you. Please show me where I said I had

written off this game? Its interesting that you want to paint me as being a frustrated little boy and YOU are the

one that is making it personal.


my system: Intel Core I7 920 @ 3570ghz
Asus P6T MB
6 GB OCZ DDR3 RAM , dram freq 680 mhz, NB freq 2720 mhz
Radeon HD 4870 w/ 1 Gb vram
OS.. Windows 7 professional 64 bit
WD 2 TB hard disk drive etc.

#3339401 - 07/11/11 08:48 AM Re: Should I get [Re: RockEye]  
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 13,361
Freycinet Offline
Veteran
Freycinet  Offline
Veteran

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 13,361
trumps, the haters obviously don't have a life, or they'd be out there living it instead of wasting it commenting on a sim they detest so deeply.


My Il-2 CoD movie web site: www.flightsimvids.com
#3339412 - 07/11/11 09:06 AM Re: Should I get [Re: RockEye]  
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 839
IV/JG7trumps Offline
Member
IV/JG7trumps  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2004
Posts: 839
Perth australia
Why do you always feel that people are making this a personal issue against you? I don't know you, let alone care for you, there is no reason to get personal! It's ok that you don't like the game, fair enough! What most people do when they don't like something is put it down and move on to something else, not obsess about it. That's just not healthy bud, it's how people end up all bitter and twisted!

Cheers
Craig


The problem with the World is stupidity. I'm not saying there should be a capital punishment for stupidity, but why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself?
#3339424 - 07/11/11 09:35 AM Re: Should I get [Re: RockEye]  
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 389
falstaff Offline
Member
falstaff  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 389
Freycinet said:

Quote:
trumps, the haters obviously don't have a life, or they'd be out there living it instead of wasting it commenting on a sim they detest so deeply.


Ah, back to form so soon? smile

And the H word...just like ol' times... smile

Ben

#3339427 - 07/11/11 09:49 AM Re: Should I get [Re: RockEye]  
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 587
MIG77 Offline
Member
MIG77  Offline
Member

Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 587
Finland
For original question: Yes, I think you should buy it. CloD has is problems and it is not perfect game, but it can be very fun still. Also generally, you should always support simulator genre wink


You can get used to everything, but icicle in the a**. It melts before you get used to it.
#3339433 - 07/11/11 09:59 AM Re: Should I get [Re: RockEye]  
Joined: Apr 2011
Posts: 507
JG52Krupi Offline
Member
JG52Krupi  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2011
Posts: 507
180
If you post your specs we could make a better judgement.

But regardless I would say buy it, okay the ground colors are slightly off but by no means bad, no hedges they would be nice but atm it's not a huge problem.

Stutters are very rare for me but low fps 30-40 on channel map and the sound bug is killing immersion for me, that said i have a lot of fun on the dogfight servers that use the smaller map (40-50fps).

So it has its problems but it is still very fun, until shoulder shooters take your kill frown ;), that proved to me that it was worth the money and I am sure it will be improved upon.

Try not to let the haters, some of which don't even own the game o.O, sway your opinion.

#3339438 - 07/11/11 10:24 AM Re: Should I get [Re: Freycinet]  
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 1,089
Tree Offline
Member
Tree  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 1,089
Derby, England
Originally Posted By: Freycinet
trumps, the haters obviously don't have a life, or they'd be out there living it instead of wasting it commenting on a sim they detest so deeply.


lol, sorry Frey but this did make me have a little chuckle, the bit about about not having a life, you have an enormous post count on here and you are reeling off videos of CLOD like some kind of mini series, nothing wrong with that of course but it does rather suggest that outside of CLOD and these forums your life is somewhat limited in itself.

I imagine you on this... biggrin


#3339440 - 07/11/11 10:42 AM Re: Should I get [Re: RockEye]  
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 839
IV/JG7trumps Offline
Member
IV/JG7trumps  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2004
Posts: 839
Perth australia
LOL Tree, does that stup come with a joystick or do ya need to run your own?


The problem with the World is stupidity. I'm not saying there should be a capital punishment for stupidity, but why don't we just take the safety labels off of everything and let the problem solve itself?
#3339442 - 07/11/11 10:45 AM Re: Should I get [Re: Tree]  
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 13,361
Freycinet Offline
Veteran
Freycinet  Offline
Veteran

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 13,361
Originally Posted By: Tree
and you are reeling off videos of CLOD like some kind of mini series


Nothing wrong with doing a lot with CoD when you LIKE the sim. But really sorry to constantly obsess about it when you cannot stand it, as is the case with you and others.


My Il-2 CoD movie web site: www.flightsimvids.com
#3339443 - 07/11/11 10:48 AM Re: Should I get [Re: Freycinet]  
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 1,089
Tree Offline
Member
Tree  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 1,089
Derby, England
Originally Posted By: Freycinet
Originally Posted By: Tree
and you are reeling off videos of CLOD like some kind of mini series


Nothing wrong with doing a lot with CoD when you LIKE the sim. But really sorry to constantly obsess about it when you cannot stand it, as is the case with you and others.


Ahhh, come on Frey, I didn't want to upset you just having a little chuckle. I like your videos and Im genuinely pleased you are enjoying the game.

#3339445 - 07/11/11 10:50 AM Re: Should I get [Re: IV/JG7trumps]  
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 1,089
Tree Offline
Member
Tree  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 1,089
Derby, England
Originally Posted By: IV/JG7trumps
LOL Tree, does that stup come with a joystick or do ya need to run your own?


lol, I think you have to run your own, but Im told you have to fiddle about with it to get it working correctly.

#3339471 - 07/11/11 11:47 AM Re: Should I get [Re: RockEye]  
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 10,618
Ming_EAF19 Offline
Babelfish Immune
Ming_EAF19  Offline
Babelfish Immune
Veteran

Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 10,618
London
Feels good in there. Not the one to rule them all we expected disappointingly (but it has its moments) and some minor wrinkles. Must have a GSOH. You must I mean Smile2

Ming


'You are either a hater or you are not' Roman Halter
#3339745 - 07/11/11 07:03 PM Re: Should I get [Re: IV/JG7trumps]  
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 811
commorange Offline
Member
commorange  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 811
Troy, OH
Originally Posted By: IV/JG7trumps
Why do you always feel that people are making this a personal issue against you? I don't know you, let alone care for you, there is no reason to get personal! It's ok that you don't like the game, fair enough! What most people do when they don't like something is put it down and move on to something else, not obsess about it. That's just not healthy bud, it's how people end up all bitter and twisted!

Cheers
Craig


The fact of the matter is I do like the game and am critical of it because I want to to be fixed. You know that because it is clearly evident in my postings. But yet you insist on making me a hater. Maybe you should look in the mirror first.


my system: Intel Core I7 920 @ 3570ghz
Asus P6T MB
6 GB OCZ DDR3 RAM , dram freq 680 mhz, NB freq 2720 mhz
Radeon HD 4870 w/ 1 Gb vram
OS.. Windows 7 professional 64 bit
WD 2 TB hard disk drive etc.

#3339769 - 07/11/11 07:38 PM Re: Should I get [Re: RockEye]  
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,024
Chivas Offline
Senior Member
Chivas  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,024
B.C. Canada
Originally Posted By: RockEye
Well, thank you for your replies. I think I will hold off until things are worked out


If your a WW2 aircombat sim fan, and can afford it...its definitely worth a relatively small investment in the future of the genre. COD still needs alot of work but your investment now will go along way to help guarantee that COD will be fixed and finished, never mind the years of subsequent addons.


Intel core I7 4790K @ 4.4
Asus Maximus Hero VII Motherboard
16 gigs DDR3 2133
EVGA GTX980Ti
Oculus Rift
LG 37" LCD
BLack Mamba III Joystick
Cougar Throttle/X55 Throttle/Saitek Levers
Saitek Pro Rudder pedals
Voice Activation Controls
#3339784 - 07/11/11 07:57 PM Re: Should I get [Re: RockEye]  
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 389
falstaff Offline
Member
falstaff  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 389
Freycinet said:

Quote:
Nothing wrong with doing a lot with CoD when you LIKE the sim. But really sorry to constantly obsess about it when you cannot stand it, as is the case with you and others.


But it may not be your decision to make, who does what with it....

Equally, let others say they can or cannot stand it. Again, not your decision to make.

As with the *Haters* thing....I'd say the greatest evidence of hate is in your posts. And the greatest degree of obsession too.

smile

Ben

#3339831 - 07/11/11 09:03 PM Re: Should I get [Re: RockEye]  
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,493
malibu43 Online content
Member
malibu43  Online Content
Member

Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,493
SoCal
Not to hijack this thread, but I was wondering how CloD would run for me. It seemed somewhat related to the original purpose of the thread.

My specs are in my sig below.

Thanks.


Sager NP8671 17.3" Notebook, i74720HQ (3.6GHz), GTX 970M (3.0GB), 8GB DDR3 RAM, 1TB 7200RPM HD, TrackIR 4, CH HOTAS and rudder pedals
#3339906 - 07/11/11 10:38 PM Re: Should I get [Re: RockEye]  
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 18,568
Ajay Offline
newbie
Ajay  Offline
newbie
Veteran

Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 18,568
Brisbane OZ
Just going by your specs it should run better than on mine malibu.

i5 @ 3.33
win7 32
gtx460 1gb
4 gb


My il2 page
Seelowe Campaign
Cliffs of Dover page
CloD
My Models
Tanks/Planes/Ships


Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Anyone use VoiceAtttack?
by bones. 02/21/20 01:50 PM
Fanatical Platinum Bundle
by Red2112. 02/21/20 12:21 PM
Raising the Kursk
by CyBerkut. 02/20/20 11:09 PM
Borderlands the movie?
by PanzerMeyer. 02/20/20 07:41 PM
Post script on our fires
by Mad Max. 02/19/20 09:43 PM
Our current approaching storm
by Ajay. 02/19/20 12:35 PM
Just a little feel good flying thing
by Nixer. 02/18/20 12:37 AM
Now, This is Cool (Even if it WAS a Dog)
by vonBaur. 02/18/20 12:37 AM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0