Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#3295378 - 05/15/11 07:05 AM JF15 constant crashes  
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 13
x-ray Offline
Junior Member
x-ray  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 13
Got a constant crashes after about 20-30 min of playing frown
Running on Windows XP SP3 with compatibility mode enabled. The game itself is patched to latest version (1.17f).
Tried to use glide, direct3d, software render mode. Tried to rename Msvcrt.dll/Msvcrtd.dll in game directory (because the latest version of c runtime exist in windows folder). Nothing helps frown
Does anyone encounter such game behavior? Any ideas how to fix this?
Thanks.


* Shine on you crazy diamond...
http://vedmysh.livejournal.com/
Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#3295551 - 05/15/11 03:09 PM Re: JF15 constant crashes [Re: x-ray]  
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 13
x-ray Offline
Junior Member
x-ray  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 13
I guess i found and fix the problem.

After some debugging i found the problematic code in f15.exe. Looks like the developers used FormatMessageA kernel call to format some localized text messages. The message tables itself is also in exe resources. Somehow the message id's 0x298 and 0x299 (possible others, dont know) caused a crash in ntdll.dll on my system:

Error in f15.exe, 1.0.0.1, ntdll.dll, 5.1.2600.6007, at address 0x0002556b.

Here is the call stack from the debugger:

Call stack of main thread
Address Stack Procedure / arguments Called from Frame
0023EE10 7C927113 ntdll.7C926EFE ntdll.7C92710E 0023EE0C
0023EE48 7C928EA4 ntdll._snwprintf ntdll.7C928E9F 0023EE44
0023EE4C 0B590036 wstr = 0B590036
0023EE50 00007FE5 count = 7FE5 (32741.)
0023EE54 0023F1C0 format = "%hs"
0023EE58 00000001 <%hs> = 00000001 ???
0023F208 7C834ADC ntdll.RtlFormatMessage kernel32.7C834AD6 0023F204
0023F2A4 7C82F7CA ? kernel32.7C8349D8 kernel32.7C82F7C5 0023F2A0
0023F2EC 0044ED32 kernel32.FormatMessageA F15.0044ED2C 0023F2E8
0023F2F0 00000000 Flags = 0|0
0023F2F4 00000000 pSource = NULL
0023F2F8 00000298 MessageId = 298
0023F2FC 00000409 LanguageId = 409 (LANG_ENGLISH)
0023F300 0023F9C8 Buffer = 0023F9C8
0023F304 00000400 BufSize = 400 (1024.)
0023F308 0023F310 Arguments = 0023F310
0023F314 00474522 F15.0044ED00 F15.0047451D
0023FDC8 00473636 F15.00474170 F15.00473631
0023FDDC 004A1ACC F15.004735F0 F15.004A1AC7
0023FEA4 004EDEDE F15.004A0BB0 F15.004EDED9
0023FEC0 0051A57A F15.004EDA50 F15.0051A575
0023FEDC 004464FB ? F15.0051A3C0 F15.004464F6
0023FEFC 004B657B F15.004462E0 F15.004B6576
0023FF30 0055DF6E ? F15.004B6350 F15.0055DF69
0023FFC4 7C817077 Includes F15.0055DF6E kernel32.7C817074 0023FFC0

So i just made a 'dirty' patch to prevent code at 0047451D to call 0044ed00 and no later FormatMessage occur. My guess i just block some text output, no any significant changes to gameplay.

In game i complete one mission and it looks ok. Tomorrow i will test this fix more and drop a link to a 'fixed' exe if administration dont mind.



Last edited by x-ray; 05/15/11 03:13 PM.

* Shine on you crazy diamond...
http://vedmysh.livejournal.com/
#3296099 - 05/16/11 10:35 AM Re: JF15 constant crashes [Re: x-ray]  
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 13
x-ray Offline
Junior Member
x-ray  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 13
Confirmed, this fixed exe works perfectly for me.
Since there is no objection responce from moderators i will post the link.

http://www.mediafire.com/?bye6o0hanvp451y

This is original 1.17f (Eng) exe with my patch applied.

Replace your f15.exe only if you have in game crashes.

Difference between original module (use fc or diff to validate):

0007391D: E8 90
0007391E: DE 90
0007391F: A7 90
00073920: FD 90
00073921: FF 90
00073927: 74 EB


* Shine on you crazy diamond...
http://vedmysh.livejournal.com/
#3296779 - 05/17/11 01:45 AM Re: JF15 constant crashes [Re: x-ray]  
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 17,733
Joe Offline
Veteran
Joe  Offline
Veteran

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 17,733
Bridgewater, NJ
Fixed .exe is fine. Thanks for the support.

#3296829 - 05/17/11 03:13 AM Re: JF15 constant crashes [Re: x-ray]  
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 897
Phoenix Offline
Member
Phoenix  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2005
Posts: 897
Hey Xray,

May I asked what debugger you attached to the executable? (Tried to sort out some problems with some old Janes titles previously, and they crashed when I hooked debuggers to them) Thanks and brilliant fix!

#3296899 - 05/17/11 07:14 AM Re: JF15 constant crashes [Re: x-ray]  
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 13
x-ray Offline
Junior Member
x-ray  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 13
Welcome.

Sure. OllyDbg 1.10 with JIT debugging enabled, so i just clicked button on conventional crash dialog. Also i switched rendering to 'software' in game.

I guess to debug fullscreen windows games probably heavy artillery like syser or softice should be used.


* Shine on you crazy diamond...
http://vedmysh.livejournal.com/
#3312377 - 06/07/11 01:58 AM Re: JF15 constant crashes [Re: x-ray]  
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 20
DonLduk Offline
Junior Member
DonLduk  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 20
Great!
I will give it a shot in the campaign mission where it always crashed after fence-in.

Did you game crash happen at a particular time of the game (heavy action?) or randomly between 20-30 minutes?

UPDATE:
I just flew a campaign mission with heavy AAA, (it usually crashed in those conditions, i got this far in the campaign by editing the missions and removing AAA from nearby areas, funny...) and the game didn't crash !!! it continued going perfectly !
thanks for your work.


Last edited by DonLduk; 06/07/11 03:08 AM.
#3340714 - 07/12/11 11:42 PM Re: JF15 constant crashes [Re: x-ray]  
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 13
arbz Offline
Junior Member
arbz  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 13
Thanks for the fixed exe. However, I'm still getting random CTD's about half an hour into a mission.

#3340730 - 07/12/11 11:59 PM Re: JF15 constant crashes [Re: x-ray]  
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 4,564
Eugene Offline
Senior Member
Eugene  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 4,564
Oregon
That is some fancy detective work, x-ray.


Eugene
i9-9600K
GeForce 2080ti
Creative Z
Win10
32 gig RAM
Cougar
#3348077 - 07/22/11 08:41 AM Re: JF15 constant crashes [Re: arbz]  
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 13
x-ray Offline
Junior Member
x-ray  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 13
Originally Posted By: arbz
Thanks for the fixed exe. However, I'm still getting random CTD's about half an hour into a mission.


CTD means crashes ?


* Shine on you crazy diamond...
http://vedmysh.livejournal.com/
#3348197 - 07/22/11 12:57 PM Re: JF15 constant crashes [Re: x-ray]  
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 2,625
M@verick Offline
XBL: GrizzlyBear83 PSN: GrizzlyBear1983
M@verick  Offline
XBL: GrizzlyBear83 PSN: GrizzlyBear1983
Senior Member

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 2,625
Gothenburg, Sweden
Thanks for the exe, I'm running it on an XP-laptop and it works perfectly now. smile


Xbox Live: GrizzlyBear83
PSN: GrizzlyBear1983
#3348241 - 07/22/11 01:55 PM Re: JF15 constant crashes [Re: x-ray]  
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 17,733
Joe Offline
Veteran
Joe  Offline
Veteran

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 17,733
Bridgewater, NJ
Originally Posted By: x-ray
Originally Posted By: arbz
Thanks for the fixed exe. However, I'm still getting random CTD's about half an hour into a mission.


CTD means crashes ?
CTD = "crash to desktop"

#3351432 - 07/26/11 06:29 AM Re: JF15 constant crashes [Re: x-ray]  
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 13
x-ray Offline
Junior Member
x-ray  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 13
M@verick welcome.

Joe, thanks smile

So, arbz, if you post here detailed information from crash dialog i will try to look into the 'exe for the source of evil (i assume you have 1.17f english version)

Last edited by x-ray; 07/26/11 06:30 AM.

* Shine on you crazy diamond...
http://vedmysh.livejournal.com/
#3360938 - 08/07/11 07:47 AM Re: JF15 constant crashes [Re: x-ray]  
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 13
arbz Offline
Junior Member
arbz  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 13
It seems to be more stable after enabling Win95 compatibility mode.

#3463274 - 11/27/11 11:23 PM Re: JF15 constant crashes [Re: x-ray]  
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,527
WileECoyote Offline
Member
WileECoyote  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,527
Argentina
Anybody has a new link for this? I'm being constantly redirected to realtor.com and don't seem to be able to actually start the download.

Thanks.


When you're feeling sad, just remember that somewhere in the world, there's someone pushing a door that says "pull".
#3463309 - 11/28/11 12:47 AM Re: JF15 constant crashes [Re: x-ray]  
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 104
khriztian Offline
Member
khriztian  Offline
Member

Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 104
Santiago, Chile.
Here is the fixed exe
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=TIO3LOXU

cheers.

#3463415 - 11/28/11 04:18 AM Re: JF15 constant crashes [Re: x-ray]  
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,527
WileECoyote Offline
Member
WileECoyote  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,527
Argentina
Perfect. Thank you khriztian, and thank you x-ray for the work on this!


When you're feeling sad, just remember that somewhere in the world, there's someone pushing a door that says "pull".
#3563879 - 04/28/12 10:17 AM Re: JF15 constant crashes [Re: x-ray]  
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 58
Doomer Offline
Junior Member
Doomer  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 58
After six long years I got back into this great sim thanks to x-rays work. Armed with the fixed EXE, dgVoodoo 1.40 and HOTAS Warthog, first two Iraq campaigns missions worked great.

The problem came during the third one. After landing, I exited the mission and got a blank screen. About 20 seconds later I got two errors. First was this:

Faulting application f15.exe, version 1.0.0.1, faulting module skunkutl.dll, version 1.0.0.1, fault address 0x000048d0.

Second one:

Event Source: ati2mtag
The driver ati2dvag for the display device \Device\Video0 got stuck in an infinite loop.

Had to reboot to get my resolution back to normal. After getting back in there, I found that the airport runways and fuel dumps etc were already destroyed(by me, before the crash!). Also after every crash ordnance that was loaded to planes seems to disappear, so I ran out of FLIR pods already.

I tried the logging version of DgVoodoo 1.40 and then ran about dozen different missions and exiting them trying to reproduce it. No luck. Guess I'll start over and try dgVoodoo 1.50 beta2.

#3563938 - 04/28/12 02:15 PM Re: JF15 constant crashes [Re: x-ray]  
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 957
damson Offline
Member
damson  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 957
Hiding in the bushes
@Doomer

You can try nGlide available here - it has good 3dfx emulation and the interface is much simpler than that of dgVoodoo or zeckensack's wrapper.

#3564242 - 04/29/12 02:18 AM Re: JF15 constant crashes [Re: Doomer]  
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 315
Timc Offline
Member
Timc  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 315
Fort Pierce, Florida
I also recommend nGlide as a Glide wrapper. It is super easy to install and use.

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Actors portraying US Presidents
by PanzerMeyer. 04/19/24 12:19 PM
Dickey Betts was 80
by Rick_Rawlings. 04/19/24 01:11 AM
Exodus
by RedOneAlpha. 04/18/24 05:46 PM
Grumman Wildcat unique landing gear
by Coot. 04/17/24 03:54 PM
Peter Higgs was 94
by Rick_Rawlings. 04/17/24 12:28 AM
Whitey Herzog was 92
by F4UDash4. 04/16/24 04:41 PM
Anyone can tell me what this is?
by NoFlyBoy. 04/16/24 04:10 PM
10 Years ago MV Sewol
by wormfood. 04/15/24 08:25 PM
Pride Of Jenni race win
by NoFlyBoy. 04/15/24 12:22 AM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0