Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
#3278388 - 04/24/11 07:40 AM Printable map ?  
Joined: Apr 2011
Posts: 7
tmahring Offline
Junior Member
tmahring  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Apr 2011
Posts: 7
Is there a printable version of the map, detailed enough for inflight navigation ?

Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#3278392 - 04/24/11 07:58 AM Re: Printable map ? [Re: tmahring]  
Joined: Apr 2011
Posts: 5
Jarsalla Offline
Junior Member
Jarsalla  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Apr 2011
Posts: 5
Finland
http://forum.1cpublishing.eu/showthread.php?t=19339

download from the russian link or send me a PM

Last edited by Jarsalla; 04/24/11 07:59 AM.

Formerly known as Stuka here when B-17 Flying Fortress II was released back in the year 2000, followed by BOB and IL-2. Since those days I have forgotten my password and my email has changed, doH!
#3278413 - 04/24/11 10:18 AM Re: Printable map ? [Re: tmahring]  
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 29
Deathwing67 Offline
Junior Member
Deathwing67  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 29
Originally Posted By: tmahring
Is there a printable version of the map, detailed enough for inflight navigation ?


A2A have some lovely detailed RAF 1938 maps available to download. They are perfect for BoBII WoV navigation, and (as long as the terrain is historically accurate and everything's in the right place) then they should be fine for CoD too.

http://www.a2asimulations.com/store/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=1&products_id=24

#3278426 - 04/24/11 11:52 AM Re: Printable map ? [Re: tmahring]  
Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 77
xnomad Offline
Junior Member
xnomad  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jun 2010
Posts: 77
Sydney, Australia
I guess that's a no as the Russian link doesn't seem to work (can anyone else actually get the file to download) and it doesn't look detailed enough for navigation. The BOB one is $18.


i5-2500K / P67A-UD3-B3 / GTX 560TI 1GB 900MHz OC
2 x 4GB DDR3 1600MHz RAM / Samsung 500GB Spinpoint F3 7200rpm / Antec TP 750 PSU / Win 7 HP 64bit / TrackIR 5 / MSFFB2 / CH Pro Throttle / CH Pro Pedals
#3278486 - 04/24/11 02:39 PM Re: Printable map ? [Re: tmahring]  
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 29
Deathwing67 Offline
Junior Member
Deathwing67  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 29
Apologies, I should have mentioned that the A2A maps cost $18 to download.
They are however, very detailed, large scale, authentic to the period, and worth every penny IMO. I printed out the two covering most of the SE England on my cheapo inkjet and stuck the sheets together:

#3278516 - 04/24/11 03:30 PM Re: Printable map ? [Re: tmahring]  
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 1,100
jocko- Offline
Member
jocko-  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2001
Posts: 1,100
Georgetown, ON Canada
If you use Kegety's SFS mod and set up a dump folder you can extract all the tiles used by the game for the map view, they are in tga format, and are 256x256. If some bright spark knows how to assemble them all I would think a RoF style pdf map could be made.

Sample tile in jpg format:




When I played the Manston portion of the RAF career I took a screen shot of the area and added a layer with airfield symbology and place names like a RL 1940 map I have (that I don't use given it's age):



Smaller than actual size due to Photobucket compressing it.


Cheers!

jocko-

417 RCAF
#3278535 - 04/24/11 03:46 PM Re: Printable map ? [Re: Deathwing67]  
Joined: May 2010
Posts: 3,812
JAMF Offline
Frugalite & P-38 fan
JAMF  Offline
Frugalite & P-38 fan
Senior Member

Joined: May 2010
Posts: 3,812
The Netherlands
Originally Posted By: Deathwing67
.... authentic to the period,..
So they are not that well suited for CoD, with their unauthentic in-game map.

#3278700 - 04/24/11 08:20 PM Re: Printable map ? [Re: tmahring]  
Joined: Apr 2011
Posts: 10
LLv26_Ozz Offline
Junior Member
LLv26_Ozz  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Apr 2011
Posts: 10
Im working on map from the game. Found things to help automate some stuff but still lots of stuff to do manually.
When I get that whole map made (width is about 11000 pix) then biggest work is to get those airfields (+airfield names) in correct places.

When all that is done I have BIG pic from the game map. I thought TO convert it to PDF so for everyone can easily print and clue those pages together.
BUT Im wondering the size? How many pages u wanna clue together? Or should I make some more accurate maps from some parts of the map or what?
OK lets found out how big that will be when I get that done and then we will think sizes etc...

Accuracy of the map is a bit too accurate...? But lets thing that when I have done this.


AND SORRY ABOUT MY ENGLISH... ITS A BIT RUSTY....


Last edited by LLv26_Ozz; 04/24/11 08:21 PM.
#3278722 - 04/24/11 08:50 PM Re: Printable map ? [Re: jocko-]  
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,737
FearlessFrog Offline
Senior Member
FearlessFrog  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,737
Originally Posted By: jocko-
If you use Kegety's SFS mod and set up a dump folder you can extract all the tiles used by the game for the map view, they are in tga format, and are 256x256. If some bright spark knows how to assemble them all I would think a RoF style pdf map could be made.

Sample tile in jpg format:




When I played the Manston portion of the RAF career I took a screen shot of the area and added a layer with airfield symbology and place names like a RL 1940 map I have (that I don't use given it's age):



Smaller than actual size due to Photobucket compressing it.


You know Jocko, a download version of the Manston area plus a couple of others north/south of that with airfield symbols would be great - we probably don't need much more than that at the moment. Do you have any more examples? smile

#3278761 - 04/24/11 09:55 PM Re: Printable map ? [Re: tmahring]  
Joined: May 2010
Posts: 3,812
JAMF Offline
Frugalite & P-38 fan
JAMF  Offline
Frugalite & P-38 fan
Senior Member

Joined: May 2010
Posts: 3,812
The Netherlands
It would be nice if it was made available as a single image, so some can print it straight to A2, A1 or A0. (420 by 594 mm, 594 by 841 mm and 841 by 1189 mm respectively)

For reference, 16 pages of A4 fit in the A0 size.

#3278769 - 04/24/11 10:11 PM Re: Printable map ? [Re: tmahring]  
Joined: Apr 2011
Posts: 10
LLv26_Ozz Offline
Junior Member
LLv26_Ozz  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Apr 2011
Posts: 10
Now I have map about 11000x10000.
Im working on to get those airfields there.

But now I have to go sleep! (clock is here 1:10)

#3278783 - 04/24/11 10:27 PM Re: Printable map ? [Re: LLv26_Ozz]  
Joined: May 2010
Posts: 3,812
JAMF Offline
Frugalite & P-38 fan
JAMF  Offline
Frugalite & P-38 fan
Senior Member

Joined: May 2010
Posts: 3,812
The Netherlands
Originally Posted By: LLv26_Ozz
But now I have to go sleep! (clock is here 1:10)
G'nite! thumbsup

#3278792 - 04/24/11 10:54 PM Re: Printable map ? [Re: FearlessFrog]  
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 1,100
jocko- Offline
Member
jocko-  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2001
Posts: 1,100
Georgetown, ON Canada
@FearlessFrog: Hehe, yeah I'll see what I can do. What I think would be great is separate pdf map that could be open on a touchscreen display or iPad or something. Then we could move it around and zoom without having to open another window in the game.

There are over 1200 tiles so the entire map is a huge file. I think Ozz is moving in the right direction.


Cheers!

jocko-

417 RCAF
#3278796 - 04/24/11 11:03 PM Re: Printable map ? [Re: LLv26_Ozz]  
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,737
FearlessFrog Offline
Senior Member
FearlessFrog  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,737
Originally Posted By: LLv26_Ozz
Now I have map about 11000x10000.
Im working on to get those airfields there.

But now I have to go sleep! (clock is here 1:10)


If you get to a state of a big image with some decent labels for airfields etc then give us a shout - I can quickly write a mini web app to make it zoomable a la google maps.

#3278914 - 04/25/11 02:19 AM Re: Printable map ? [Re: tmahring]  
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 916
IvanK Offline
Member
IvanK  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 916
Aus
Working on it:)..... no requirement to use ANY SFS extraction stuff either.

Its about 4900 x 4000 pixels.



A higher detail segment



Black lines are the railways. Also includes the standard RAF "Purple" grid

Last edited by IvanK; 04/25/11 09:05 AM.
#3278953 - 04/25/11 03:46 AM Re: Printable map ? [Re: tmahring]  
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 1,100
jocko- Offline
Member
jocko-  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2001
Posts: 1,100
Georgetown, ON Canada
Hey IvanK, nice job adding the railways (iron compass), the purple grid looks just like the one on my RL map. When the map is done will you offer a psd with all the different layers? I'd prefer to add my own airfield dots instead of using the white ones the game uses, I find them too clunky looking.


Cheers!

jocko-

417 RCAF
#3278967 - 04/25/11 04:35 AM Re: Printable map ? [Re: jocko-]  
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 916
IvanK Offline
Member
IvanK  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 916
Aus
The Purple Grid is taken from the RAF map series. The airfield names unfortunately arnt a separate layer. its not Photoshop either just Paintshop pro in PNG format.
I still need to add the French railways.

#3278992 - 04/25/11 06:06 AM Re: Printable map ? [Re: tmahring]  
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,737
FearlessFrog Offline
Senior Member
FearlessFrog  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 4,737
I took a large map image from one post on the Banana forum (here: http://forum.1cpublishing.eu/showpost.php?p=272766&postcount=19 ) and turned it into a 'deep zoom' render with a tiny bit of programming (day off, and what do I do?).

https://s3.amazonaws.com/zoomreadsl/TestPage.html

Obviously a bit raw, and I don't think I can leave it up (costs me money to host and I'm tight) but it's good fun to play with. If you can't get it to work then try updating http://www.microsoft.com/silverlight/ as it uses it.

Hint: Use your scroll wheel smile

PS Still looking for good big map images, so if you are working on one then ping on this thread please.

#3279094 - 04/25/11 11:45 AM Re: Printable map ? [Re: IvanK]  
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 29
Deathwing67 Offline
Junior Member
Deathwing67  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 29



Quick question. Is that map representative of in-game terrain?

#3279105 - 04/25/11 11:59 AM Re: Printable map ? [Re: tmahring]  
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 916
IvanK Offline
Member
IvanK  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 916
Aus
It is the in game terrain .... its taken directly from the FMB map.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3

Moderated by  RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
A cowboy from Texas walks into a bar in Montana
by semmern. 11/28/20 01:46 PM
Kung Fury
by Chucky. 11/26/20 08:12 PM
Need a laugh ?
by WangoTango. 11/26/20 07:02 PM
Fantasy NHL League
by WangoTango. 11/26/20 06:36 PM
Thanksgiving In America!
by Blade_Meister. 11/26/20 03:00 PM
Thanksgiving
by NoFlyBoy. 11/25/20 07:16 PM
Uh oh...
by Nixer. 11/24/20 09:12 PM
meaning of a deck of playing cards
by KraziKanuK. 11/24/20 03:27 PM
Criterion Collection BR/DVD sale
by Patrocles. 11/24/20 03:26 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0