Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#3272820 - 04/18/11 06:34 AM Install questions  
Joined: May 2010
Posts: 128
Richie61 Offline
Member
Richie61  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2010
Posts: 128
New England, USA
So I couldn't hold back anymore and bought Strike Fighters 2 and Rising Sun. I just have to fly the P-40's!

Is there a "read me" of the order of installing?

Also, should I install the "Strike Fighters 2 series Jun 2010 Update" before doing the Rising Sun add-on?

Thanks in advance!


"You win some, lose some, and wreck some."

Dale Earnhardt
Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#3272836 - 04/18/11 07:34 AM Re: Install questions [Re: Richie61]  
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 942
8 L.E.I.N. Offline
Member
8 L.E.I.N.  Offline
Member

Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 942
Detroit, Michigan USA


Whats your OS? I assume Win7 or Vista if you bought the SF2, and users thereof, feel free to chime in here.

#3273052 - 04/18/11 02:23 PM Re: Install questions [Re: Richie61]  
Joined: May 2010
Posts: 128
Richie61 Offline
Member
Richie61  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2010
Posts: 128
New England, USA
My current system is XP, but I bought SF2 (XP-W7). I have a W7 system, but it's my work computer.


"You win some, lose some, and wreck some."

Dale Earnhardt
#3273053 - 04/18/11 02:25 PM Re: Install questions [Re: Richie61]  
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,739
zerocinco Offline
Member
zerocinco  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,739
Tchepone, Laos
The XP installer puts the files in the right places.

There is a READ ME for the WINDOWS 7 INSTALLATION. Installation is simple but not fully automatic since it has one extra step due to the fact that the add-on is being added onto many versions of Thirdwire's game.


SHORT VERSION:

After running the installer, take this folder:

Desktop > RisingSunW7 > Saved Games > Thirdwire folder

Put it here:

Computer > Local Disk (C:) > User folder > "your name folder" > Saved Games folder. Let it over write.

LONG VERSION

1- Double click on the installer named RSW71fz1b...the only one enclosed.
2- You will find ON YOUR DESKTOP a folder named RisingSunW7. Open it.
3- Inside you will find another folder named SAVED GAMES.
Inside that, another called THIRDWIRE. (This is the add-on, NOT the RisingSun folder and not the Saved Games folder either.)
4- You must now locate the folder where it must be dragged. We cannot install it because we do not know it's name.
5- Look in Computer > Local Disk (C:)....your main hard drive.
6- There you will find several folders. One is named USER. Open that.
7- Inside the User folder, again you will find several folders that are named after the Users of your computer. Open the one that is yours. My name is John. My folder's name is JOHN.
8- Inside your folder, locate the one named SAVED GAMES. YOU ARE THERE!!
9- Drop the THIRDWIRE folder from your desktop INTO THAT SAVED GAMES FOLDER. Let it over write.


That's it.

You may wish to remove SF2's airplanes and missions to avoid confusion but that is not necessary.

Last edited by zerocinco; 04/18/11 02:50 PM.
#3273092 - 04/18/11 02:52 PM Re: Install questions [Re: Richie61]  
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,739
zerocinco Offline
Member
zerocinco  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,739
Tchepone, Laos
My post went up before your answer. Installing into XP is simple. It's done by the installer. Under XP, you cannot take advantage of DX10 which SF2 was designed to use.

#3273379 - 04/18/11 06:36 PM Re: Install questions [Re: Richie61]  
Joined: May 2010
Posts: 128
Richie61 Offline
Member
Richie61  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2010
Posts: 128
New England, USA
Zerocinco,

Thanks for the fast reply! I am going to do my XP install tonight. My XP machine is a great computer, but I needed more that the 4 ram for my AutoCAD and Naviswork programs.
May get the W7 version to use at a later date if the XP can't do it.

RE61


"You win some, lose some, and wreck some."

Dale Earnhardt
#3273831 - 04/19/11 03:39 AM Re: Install questions [Re: Richie61]  
Joined: May 2010
Posts: 128
Richie61 Offline
Member
Richie61  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2010
Posts: 128
New England, USA
Here's one for you.

Here's my paths:

C:\Program Files\ThirdWire\Strike Fighters 2
and
C:\Program Files\Strategy First\Strike Fighters - Project 1

Should I have directed the "Rising Sun" install to C:\Program Files\ThirdWire\Strike Fighters 2?


RE61


"You win some, lose some, and wreck some."

Dale Earnhardt
#3273880 - 04/19/11 05:20 AM Re: Install questions [Re: Richie61]  
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,739
zerocinco Offline
Member
zerocinco  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,739
Tchepone, Laos
If you are running on XP and have SFP1, then that is the superior combination.

#3274662 - 04/20/11 12:22 AM Re: Install questions [Re: zerocinco]  
Joined: May 2010
Posts: 128
Richie61 Offline
Member
Richie61  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2010
Posts: 128
New England, USA
Originally Posted By: zerocinco
If you are running on XP and have SFP1, then that is the superior combination.


Oh.
Can I run it with Strike Fighters 2?


"You win some, lose some, and wreck some."

Dale Earnhardt
#3274751 - 04/20/11 02:34 AM Re: Install questions [Re: Richie61]  
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 942
8 L.E.I.N. Offline
Member
8 L.E.I.N.  Offline
Member

Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 942
Detroit, Michigan USA
Originally Posted By: Richie61
Originally Posted By: zerocinco
If you are running on XP and have SFP1, then that is the superior combination.


Oh.
Can I run it with Strike Fighters 2?


Yes, but why would you run it in SF2 on XP when your already running it in SFP1. You using all RS objects and terrain anyways, so I do not see what advantage it would be to run it in SF2 since you cannot use any of the SF2 objects or terrain for the missions and your not taking advantage of DX10 running in XP to begin with.

Perhaps I am missing your point since I only run YAP2 and Rising Sun in XP.

However, yes you can.

#3274755 - 04/20/11 02:41 AM Re: Install questions [Re: 8 L.E.I.N.]  
Joined: May 2010
Posts: 128
Richie61 Offline
Member
Richie61  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2010
Posts: 128
New England, USA
I bought SF2 not SF1. I thought that I would buy SF2 for XP/ Win 7 for now and someday install it on my "work" Win 7 machine.
I guess I will just buy SF Gold for now and look at moving my Rising Sun mod to Win 7 in the future.
Rather give Third Wire my money than "Big Brother" duck


"You win some, lose some, and wreck some."

Dale Earnhardt
#3275140 - 04/20/11 02:43 PM Re: Install questions [Re: Richie61]  
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,739
zerocinco Offline
Member
zerocinco  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 1,739
Tchepone, Laos
One other thing: money. When you buy the XP version, you are always entitled to a free upgrade to Win7.


Moderated by  RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Ratnik shovel mini review
by Crane Hunter. 02/26/20 06:27 AM
Smithsonian Open Access?
by Rick_Rawlings. 02/26/20 05:21 AM
When the live song beats the studio version...
by Zamzow. 02/26/20 03:55 AM
Mussolini speaks in Engish!
by PanzerMeyer. 02/25/20 05:08 PM
Brut force melody hacking
by Red2112. 02/25/20 11:41 AM
I just had a threesome at the doctors!
by Ajay. 02/25/20 04:59 AM
Original Longbow Gold on Win 10?
by TerribleTwo. 02/25/20 12:39 AM
What's the longest movie you've seen in the theater?
by PanzerMeyer. 02/24/20 04:18 PM
'Microjets' are so cool.
by MarkG. 02/24/20 05:41 AM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0