Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#3017632 - 05/24/10 01:38 PM Guys I'm back! AH-64D Longbow 13yrs Later...  
Joined: May 2010
Posts: 249
flightsimer90s Offline
Member
flightsimer90s  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2010
Posts: 249
I had an AH-64D Longbow/Flash point Korea site I made when I was 12yrs old at http://www.reocities.com/TimesSquare/Stadium/6353/longbow.html. Wow i guess geocities sold the pages to some other company but any ways I have lost the log in information for the account anywho. The apache lethal poster on the site was given to me at an air show. I made a promise that I have beaten the original longbow and flash point korea campaigns and missions I will have to beat Longbow 2. I got the game (after a couple of hours) to run great in Windows 7 using the voodoodg wrapper program on this forum and am playing the game in 1600x900 res! on Windows 7.

Good to see the community is still here, good hunting out.

Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#3017637 - 05/24/10 01:44 PM Re: Guys I'm back! AH-64D Longbow 13yrs Later... [Re: flightsimer90s]  
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,403
Flyboy Offline
Senior Member
Flyboy  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,403
England, UK
Hi john84, so I guess you must be 25 now? I'm 26 and have the biggest (well in fact only) active Jane's Longbow series site now. I don't know if you've seen it?

http://digitality.comyr.com/flyboy/lb2/

Are you having any crashes playing LB2 in Windows 7? I mean computer crashes not in-game ones! smile

Yeah I remember your site, but can't remember any of the content. Mine started out on GeoCities too, as one page! If you still have any old content laying around that you'd like to see go to good use, I'd be more than happy to add it to my site. Or if you'd like a sub-section on my site to re-upload your old one, that could be an option too.

Welcome to the forums!

EDIT: I see that the link you provided is actually to an active site. I thought that you had simply mistyped geocities.com. Ah yes, I remember that site well! I see most of the images are missing though.

Last edited by Flyboy; 05/24/10 01:58 PM.
#3017668 - 05/24/10 02:09 PM Re: Guys I'm back! AH-64D Longbow 13yrs Later... [Re: Flyboy]  
Joined: May 2010
Posts: 249
flightsimer90s Offline
Member
flightsimer90s  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2010
Posts: 249
Yeap almost 26.. After LB series I never got LB2, moved into Half-life in 99 when it was still playing on won servers. I have cs source and it is amazing. Played all the HL series and still a huge fan. Have moved into flash point 1985 and the ffur mods that came with it. I guess from flight sim i have moved into FPS. The newest flight sim I tried was Lock On Modern Air Combat. That is an amazing sim. You get to be in an a-10 like on fp1985. I wish Janes made that A-10 sim. and But i still need to beat LB2. TRying to convert my old joystick into something usb compatible, I don't even know what kind of connectors are on it from way back in the day. My summer days are pretty much occupied with work and some RC electric glider flying now, but on bad/rainy days it will be LB2.

Yes, on occasion I have some crashes playing LB2 on windows 7. Also the inverted color screen but when I click a building and exit it goes away.

Last edited by john84; 05/24/10 02:18 PM.
#3175573 - 01/09/11 09:04 PM Re: Guys I'm back! AH-64D Longbow 13yrs Later... [Re: flightsimer90s]  
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 11
1SE_NER Offline
Junior Member
1SE_NER  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 11
USA, Pennsylvania
Hi, new to the forum. Getting my feet wet. Have been flying LB2 for 2 years now. I'm so glad I got it running! It was a gift in 1998. It wasn't until 2008 that mission was on! It's been fun figuring out how to tweak it. I will post a picture later to see if I've done OK.

#3175976 - 01/10/11 01:10 PM Re: Guys I'm back! AH-64D Longbow 13yrs Later... [Re: flightsimer90s]  
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,403
Flyboy Offline
Senior Member
Flyboy  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,403
England, UK
Hi 1SE_NER, welcome to the forums! I'm amused that it's only your feet that have got wet, I can't say the same for me the first time I got into a LB2 mission!

#3179911 - 01/15/11 12:49 AM Re: Guys I'm back! AH-64D Longbow 13yrs Later... [Re: flightsimer90s]  
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 11
1SE_NER Offline
Junior Member
1SE_NER  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 11
USA, Pennsylvania
Thanks for noticing. It's been a "mission" worth tacking on! Here's what it looks like. Could it be better? WinkNGrin
Well I tried. not sure yet how to include a .jpg yet.

Last edited by 1SE_NER; 01/15/11 01:01 AM.
#3180133 - 01/15/11 12:32 PM Re: Guys I'm back! AH-64D Longbow 13yrs Later... [Re: flightsimer90s]  
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,403
Flyboy Offline
Senior Member
Flyboy  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,403
England, UK
To show JPG images here, upload your picture somewhere and copy the link. Then add it below in this way (remove '*' symbols)...

[*img]http://www.link.com/pic.jpg[*/img]

... or alternatively just copy the link here for people to click on.

#3192029 - 01/29/11 12:54 AM Re: Guys I'm back! AH-64D Longbow 13yrs Later... [Re: flightsimer90s]  
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 11
1SE_NER Offline
Junior Member
1SE_NER  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 11
USA, Pennsylvania
Well, here it is..............I just posted my rig.


#3192179 - 01/29/11 07:47 AM Re: Guys I'm back! AH-64D Longbow 13yrs Later... [Re: flightsimer90s]  
Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 22,095
citizen guod Offline
Lifer
citizen guod  Offline
Lifer

Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 22,095
You can host an image at SimHQ. smile

Details here:

http://www.simhq.com/_commentary/all_043a.html



Wisdom is knowing what's enough
#3192277 - 01/29/11 01:21 PM Re: Guys I'm back! AH-64D Longbow 13yrs Later... [Re: flightsimer90s]  
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,403
Flyboy Offline
Senior Member
Flyboy  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,403
England, UK
Looking good, 1SE_NER! smile

#3199146 - 02/05/11 04:02 AM Re: Guys I'm back! AH-64D Longbow 13yrs Later... [Re: Flyboy]  
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 11
1SE_NER Offline
Junior Member
1SE_NER  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 11
USA, Pennsylvania
Can it be improved or is this the best when compared to other installs you've seen? cool

#3199149 - 02/05/11 04:13 AM Re: Guys I'm back! AH-64D Longbow 13yrs Later... [Re: flightsimer90s]  
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,403
Flyboy Offline
Senior Member
Flyboy  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,403
England, UK
Yeah you look as though you've got it to the level it should be. I guess you're using 3DFX mode and a version of the dgVoodoo glide wrapper?

No, it can't really be improved upon. If you haven't already, you can force a higher screen resolution via dgVoodoo and force triple buffering, plus make sure everything in there is set to 32-bit. That's all there is though!


Moderated by  RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
A Question to other fathers
by FishTaco. 09/30/20 05:28 PM
Anyone itching for a new commandos game ?
by Blade_RJ. 09/30/20 04:45 PM
Your cars extended warranty
by KRT_Bong. 09/29/20 03:34 PM
Crack in a Bottle
by Bill_Grant. 09/28/20 01:46 PM
Games that you felt were too long?
by PanzerMeyer. 09/28/20 12:47 PM
Impressive People
by F4UDash4. 09/28/20 01:13 AM
Plimpton 322
by TerribleTwo. 09/27/20 11:27 PM
CATS... IN... SPACE...
by Chef. 09/25/20 11:01 AM
Flight Testing In The Real World
by bolox. 09/23/20 12:42 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0