Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#3108061 - 10/05/10 08:31 PM FCJ Crash Problems  
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 10
Johnnie Offline
Junior Member
Johnnie  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 10
I am able to run a Hells Angels super patch installation fine, but on my current rig I can't get by the end of mission crashes with FCJ. I tried the suggestions given in the FCJ FAQ (different resolutions, etc.) with no joy. Anyone ??

Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#3108175 - 10/05/10 11:47 PM Re: FCJ Crash Problems [Re: Johnnie]  
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 2,399
Smosh Offline
Member
Smosh  Offline
Member

Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 2,399
Gisborne, New Zealand
So where exactly does it crash? On loading a mission? Part way through a mission?

Does it crash if you don't use FCJ?

What are you specs?


Rabbits, break right and climb.
#3108220 - 10/06/10 01:03 AM Re: FCJ Crash Problems [Re: Smosh]  
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 10
Johnnie Offline
Junior Member
Johnnie  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 10
Crashes at end of mission, before results are saved. HASP works fine. Specs: 2.33 dual core, NVidia 7600 GT; XP sp 3.

#3108242 - 10/06/10 01:51 AM Re: FCJ Crash Problems [Re: Johnnie]  
Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 2,399
Smosh Offline
Member
Smosh  Offline
Member

Joined: Feb 2001
Posts: 2,399
Gisborne, New Zealand
Hmm. Haven't come across that issue myself. Does it make any difference if you put FCJ under XP sp2 compatibility?


Rabbits, break right and climb.
#3111110 - 10/09/10 06:44 AM Re: FCJ Crash Problems [Re: Johnnie]  
Joined: Aug 2010
Posts: 27
Wailwulf Offline
Junior Member
Wailwulf  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Aug 2010
Posts: 27
Are you on Win7 and does your HASP use Promise Land 1 terrain? or another terrain such as OTE or Promise Land 2?

For me, my 64bit Win7 machine crashes upon exit/abort of a mission when using Promise Land 1 terrain, which is what comes with FCJ. So, unless HASP is also using PL1, that is your problem.

However with the way PL1 works in its un-adulerated** set up with the lowres.vol file, you may lose some aspects of FCJ by removing all the offending files. frown

PL1 uses these files (and will crash RB3D if one is missing):

lowres.vol from Data folder

3dfall.vol, 3dpatch.vol, 3dspring.vol, & 3dwinter.vol from the 3dPatch folder.

(Copy the above mentioned files to a folder so you can use them later if my solution doesn't help, or a fix is found to this problem.)

You will need to replace the terrain with non-PL1 terrain. PL2 and OTE can be found with vol files (or you can take the vol files from your HASP install) but there will most likely only be three of them, 3dFall.vol, 3dPatch.vol, & 3dWinter.vol. (3dpatch doubles as Spring and Summer if there is no 3dSpring.vol.)

You can get Promise Land 2 (PL2} from this page under the PL1 links
http://www.lsn.se/wallenborg/redbaron3d/links.htm

** Gump took PL1 and re-organized it so each file can work alone, and in the process, removed anything that did not deal with terrain such as sounds. Others such as Jolly and Golgo11 have made tweaked versions based off of the re-organized files by Gump.

#3113287 - 10/12/10 02:10 AM Re: FCJ Crash Problems [Re: Johnnie]  
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,428
Skiddmark Offline
Member
Skiddmark  Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,428
Glenville WV USA
Are you using "PLasv1a" for terrain? PLasv1a is a UOP in it's own right. Some have problems with it when used with other UOP's, most don't. You could try loading HASP AFTER PLasv1a.
Files are cross indexed between DATA/lowres.vol and the #DPatch vols with PLasv1a, and as Wailwulf said there will be problems unless they are all present. Since you apparently prefer PL1 terrain, another possible solution is to unpack PLasv1a to a working folder then COPY "lowres.vol" to DATA and the 3DPatch VOLs to 3DPatch folder in your RB install. This leaves the PL screens and sounds and other stuff behind.
Also note that End of Mission DDT's (Drop To Desktop)are debrief crashes (debrief fails to load)- so be sure to DELETE "debrief.dat" from RB folder before running the game again.


Computer = PHENOMX3
MOBO: ASUS M4A78 Plus
OS = Microsoft Windows XP SP3 Home Edition (5.1,build 2600)
Processor = AMD 8750 triple core 2.4GHz
RAM = 3328 MB
DX 9.0c
Nvidia GeForce GS 250, 512MB
Realtek HD audio
Disk Drives:
Floppy's: D: HL-DT-ST DVDRRW GSA-H21L, E: ASUS CD-S480/A5
HD's: C:ST3250310AS 250Gb
F: Maxtor 6L250S0 250Gb
H: SM_USB20 flash drive 4Gb
Monitor: Proscan 32" LCD TV in VGA mode.
#3118222 - 10/18/10 10:25 PM Re: FCJ Crash Problems [Re: Johnnie]  
Joined: Aug 2010
Posts: 27
Wailwulf Offline
Junior Member
Wailwulf  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Aug 2010
Posts: 27
Skid, I can't get RB3D to exit without crashing with the use of PL1. I even tried a non PL1 terrain with PL1 objects and it crashed. frown It has to do with the color palette from what I am told).

I was told by a friend that he had the same problem with a Voodoo card and there was a fix, but it seems he and no one else remembers what the fix was.


Moderated by  RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Star Wars IX Final trailer
by Chaz. 10/22/19 01:48 AM
CoD MW Article
by Rick_Rawlings. 10/21/19 06:15 PM
Time marches on
by No105_Archie. 10/21/19 03:02 PM
Why Looney Tunes is great for history buffs
by PanzerMeyer. 10/20/19 11:05 PM
IJN Kaga found.
by NH2112. 10/19/19 10:32 PM
Grouch (Joker Parady)
by Arthonon. 10/19/19 02:19 PM
Nike vs B-17
by KraziKanuK. 10/18/19 08:30 PM
Grouch
by Chaz. 10/18/19 01:49 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0