Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#3095033 - 09/16/10 05:56 PM New to RB3D  
Redhornet Offline
Redhornet  Offline

I have been playing IL2 for a few years and now have a hankering to fly the contested skies in WW1 again. I have a copy of RB3D and haven't played it in 9 years and now I'd like to (boxed CD 3D game that I bought in 2000, not RB2). I've read through the 2 treads that are stickied, but lots of the links are invalid and I found much of the info confusing as I have no idea what all the acronyms are, etc.

The last machine RB3D was on was a Pentium 2 with a VooDoo card but now I have a Dell, Intel Pentium 4 2 ghz, 2 gig ram, 70 gig HD, ATI Radeon 9800 gpu, Windows XP SP3 and all USB CH Products HOTAS. Where is there a simple, easy to follow guide for installing RB3D on such a machine?

Also, with regard to mods/patches, is there a mod package that enables me to use TrackIR with RB3D? I'd also love to use the audio/visual enhancement mods too, which are the most recommended ones to use?

Sorry if these requests are a bit to generalized and thanks for any assistance anyone can render!

~S~!

Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#3095338 - 09/17/10 12:48 AM Re: New to RB3D [Re: Redhornet]  
Redhornet Offline
Redhornet  Offline

Really, no one is playing this anymore? Well I kinda expected everyone to have gone to Rise of Flight, but if anyone has suggestions/advice, I'd love to hear it!

#3095492 - 09/17/10 08:51 AM Re: New to RB3D [Re: Redhornet]  
Greybeard Offline
Greybeard  Offline

Italy
Hi RH and welcome to RB3D!

Skidmark is a bit plethoric and keeps sticky that whopping bunch of info outdated without realizing that, instead to help, just confuses newbies; sorry Skid, but someone should have made this understood, soon or later.

Well, this is my advise to get RB3D updated:

1). Start from a clean install of RB3D.

2). Download the most popular Glide Wrapper, suited for RB3D, from here