Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#3038957 - 06/24/10 10:35 PM WoE2, WoV2, WoI2 or SF2?  
Joined: May 2000
Posts: 1,316
schurem Offline
Member
schurem  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2000
Posts: 1,316
Nijmegen, NL, Europe
I saw in TK's online shop there's a whole slew of versions of the game. This i found a little bewildering.

Do all these games use the same core? If not, which one is the latest? What's the deal with mods and such?

I initially went with wings over europe, because that setting appeals the most to me, but i'm thinking about completing the set over time.


Oh! I have slipped the surly bonds of Earth
And danced the skies on laughter-silvered wings,
Sunward I've climbed, and joined the tumbling mirth
Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#3038991 - 06/24/10 11:32 PM Re: WoE2, WoV2, WoI2 or SF2? [Re: schurem]  
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 13,784
PFunk Offline
SimHQ Redneck
PFunk  Offline
SimHQ Redneck
Veteran

Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 13,784
N. Central Texas
OK,

All of the "2" games are meant for Vista/DX10 operating systems. They look better than the older games and run much smoother on newer equipment.

The older games are for XP/DX9 and have many more mods for them than the "2" series. They don't perform as well on Vista system, though.

Bottom line, if you want to run a whole buttload of mods or are running XP, go with the older games. If you want better looking games, and not as many mods available for it, go with the "2" series.

Personally, I've stopped flying them all as LOMAC FC2 is taking up most of my time, but there might be a few people in here who might be able to help you.

pfunk


"A little luck & a little government is necessary to get by, but only a fool places his complete trust in either one." - PJ O'Rourke

www.sixmanfootball.com
#3039036 - 06/25/10 12:31 AM Re: WoE2, WoV2, WoI2 or SF2? [Re: PFunk]  
Joined: May 2000
Posts: 1,316
schurem Offline
Member
schurem  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2000
Posts: 1,316
Nijmegen, NL, Europe
I'm on windows 7, and i understand correctly that all 2- series games are technically equal?


Oh! I have slipped the surly bonds of Earth
And danced the skies on laughter-silvered wings,
Sunward I've climbed, and joined the tumbling mirth
#3039065 - 06/25/10 01:08 AM Re: WoE2, WoV2, WoI2 or SF2? [Re: schurem]  
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 13,784
PFunk Offline
SimHQ Redneck
PFunk  Offline
SimHQ Redneck
Veteran

Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 13,784
N. Central Texas
Yes, they all have the same features, all run on the same engine. They just each have a different planeset. I'd highly recommend that if you're going to go with this series get ALL of the SF2 games and avoid any further purchases of the first games unless you just have to have them all.

I think you'll like the second-gen games better.

pfunk


"A little luck & a little government is necessary to get by, but only a fool places his complete trust in either one." - PJ O'Rourke

www.sixmanfootball.com
#3039269 - 06/25/10 10:01 AM Re: WoE2, WoV2, WoI2 or SF2? [Re: PFunk]  
Joined: May 2000
Posts: 1,316
schurem Offline
Member
schurem  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2000
Posts: 1,316
Nijmegen, NL, Europe
so what about mods then? or yankee air pirate? does it matter to those what version of strike fighters 2 you own?


Oh! I have slipped the surly bonds of Earth
And danced the skies on laughter-silvered wings,
Sunward I've climbed, and joined the tumbling mirth
#3039445 - 06/25/10 03:49 PM Re: WoE2, WoV2, WoI2 or SF2? [Re: schurem]  
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 13,784
PFunk Offline
SimHQ Redneck
PFunk  Offline
SimHQ Redneck
Veteran

Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 13,784
N. Central Texas
Yankee Air Pirate and Yankee Air Pirate 2 will only run on the first-generation Wings Over Vietnam. It will NOT run on SF2: Vietnam.

pfunk


"A little luck & a little government is necessary to get by, but only a fool places his complete trust in either one." - PJ O'Rourke

www.sixmanfootball.com
#3039575 - 06/25/10 06:16 PM Re: WoE2, WoV2, WoI2 or SF2? [Re: PFunk]  
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,460
malibu43 Offline
Member
malibu43  Offline
Member

Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,460
SoCal
FWIW, I think if you buy YAP it comes with a WOV CD, so you don't necessarily need to buy WOV first if you're thinking of getting YAP.

Also, while it's true that there are more mods available for the WoX series than the SF2 series, the newest and highest quality mods (Nato Fighters 4, Vietnam Expansion Pack, Suez and War for Independence) are all for the SF2 series. Most (if not all) new mods (Korean Air War for example) will be for SF2 series only. A good reason to stick with the second gen.

And lastly, I play on a laptop with 1GB RAM and an integrated, 128MB graphics chip, and XP. I'm within the specs for the WoX series but slightly below minimum specs for the SF2 series. If I were to compare out of the box performance, maybe the older series would perform a little better (but I haven't ever done that, so who knows). However, I will say that once I add all the terrain, effects, and environment mods that are pretty much standard must-haves for the TW games, performance is equal to if not a little better with the SF2 series. Mostly medium (some higher, some lower) settings with around 15 - 25 fps. That maybe contrary to what most people have experience, but I just wanted to throw that out there - SF2 may still be the better choice for someone with a low end xp system.


Sager NP8671 17.3" Notebook, i74720HQ (3.6GHz), GTX 970M (3.0GB), 8GB DDR3 RAM, 1TB 7200RPM HD, TrackIR 4, CH HOTAS and rudder pedals
#3040052 - 06/26/10 11:17 AM Re: WoE2, WoV2, WoI2 or SF2? [Re: malibu43]  
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,082
Sony Tuckson Offline
Member
Sony Tuckson  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,082
Belgium
be also aware that fist gen addons can be ported over (this requires some work, but it's quite easy

their quality won't change, but this allow them to be used if you only have SF2x...


AKA "The Pitot Tube Pirate"
#3040973 - 06/27/10 10:04 PM Re: WoE2, WoV2, WoI2 or SF2? [Re: Sony Tuckson]  
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,057
Colonel Kern Offline
Member
Colonel Kern  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,057
Regardless of hardware I would go with SF2. SF2 seems to run better on my lower end machine given the same settings.

If you DO have a high-end machine SF2 will look better than SF1 at higher settings.

While it is true many older mods will not work with SF2 a lot of modders have "dropped support" for SF1 and are working on SF2 mods. There is a freeware mod for SF2:WOV that is really good.

As to which one to buy........ I would look at the planesets and campaigns available for each and decide what interests you. I agree they are all very good but I see no reason to buy all of them at once.


The Colonel

"They're not toys. They're collectables."

Moderated by  RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Why Looney Tunes is great for history buffs
by PanzerMeyer. 10/20/19 11:05 PM
IJN Kaga found.
by NH2112. 10/19/19 10:32 PM
Grouch (Joker Parady)
by Arthonon. 10/19/19 02:19 PM
Nike vs B-17
by KraziKanuK. 10/18/19 08:30 PM
Grouch
by Chaz. 10/18/19 01:49 PM
How to pi$$ off Londoners...
by Chucky. 10/17/19 12:16 PM
Video game map size comparison
by DM. 10/17/19 09:45 AM
Happy Thanksgiving
by No105_Archie. 10/13/19 05:15 PM
Happy Birthday US Navy
by oldgrognard. 10/13/19 04:31 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0