Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#2937269 - 01/11/10 05:00 PM AVG vs LB2 ... Who's winning?  
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 785
IamFritz Offline
Member
IamFritz  Offline
Member

Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 785
I used to use AVG AntiVirus suite until it began interfering with Longbow 2. Then I went out and purchased Panda Anti Virus Suite. Panda sucks. I've gotten nailed by so many viruses, and a year later, I hate it. Wanna go back to AVG. Question is, am I going to have to give up LB2 to provide for my PC? I don't like McAPhee or Norton. Any other suggestions if AVG and LB2 aren't getting along?


Fritz Gunter
iamfritz@hotmail.com
http://www.iamfritz.com <- It's Only Gotten Better

Lenovo Quadcore 3.1 GHZ Proc, 6 GB RAM and NVidia GeForce GT 632 (2 GB Vid RAM) Direct X 11 Windows 7
Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#2937422 - 01/11/10 08:22 PM Re: AVG vs LB2 ... Who's winning? [Re: IamFritz]  
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 365
BirdDogICT Offline
Member
BirdDogICT  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 365
You might consider Kaspersky Internet Security. It's not free, but they update virus definition files daily and you can designate which applications are "trusted" when you install or activate them. Works for me. Significantly less of a hassle than Norton or McAfee and far less overhead.

Last edited by BirdDogICT; 01/11/10 08:24 PM.

There are no accidents and no fatal flaws in the machines; there are only pilots with the wrong stuff.

Tom Wolfe, The Right Stuff,1979.
#2937541 - 01/11/10 11:20 PM Re: AVG vs LB2 ... Who's winning? [Re: BirdDogICT]  
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 246
Subguru Offline
Member
Subguru  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 246
Alabama
I just installed Kaspersky Internet Security this weekend for exactly the reason BirdDog gave. Gave up on McAfee as it kept killing my LB2 exe file.

#2937625 - 01/12/10 01:03 AM Re: AVG vs LB2 ... Who's winning? [Re: Subguru]  
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 785
IamFritz Offline
Member
IamFritz  Offline
Member

Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 785
Panda has sucked. It's been a very mediocre virus stopper, not to mention how many times I've had to reinstall it because some virus targeted IT first.

AVG worked for me. Always did, only reason I left it was because it didn't recognize Longbow and its patches and the mission builder too IIRC. But I've had so much trouble that this die hard LB2 fan is willing to set the discs aside for PC safety.


Fritz Gunter
iamfritz@hotmail.com
http://www.iamfritz.com <- It's Only Gotten Better

Lenovo Quadcore 3.1 GHZ Proc, 6 GB RAM and NVidia GeForce GT 632 (2 GB Vid RAM) Direct X 11 Windows 7
#2938079 - 01/12/10 05:38 PM Re: AVG vs LB2 ... Who's winning? [Re: IamFritz]  
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 8
Malcolm Offline
Junior Member
Malcolm  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 8
Might try Kaspersky - McAfee have just lost themselves a 3-PC user of 6 years standing cos despite many requests/reports their VirusScan is still calling LB2.exe a virus. I wish I could choose to ignore my customers in the same way, but I guess ultimately they don't care about the very small home user, their real target is the corporate market! smile

#2939362 - 01/14/10 02:41 PM Re: AVG vs LB2 ... Who's winning? [Re: Malcolm]  
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,389
Flyboy Offline
Senior Member
Flyboy  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,389
England, UK
I now use AVG. All you have to do is tell it to exclude the LB2 install folder from its resident shield (real-time virus checker that always runs in the background). It shouldn't keep scanning, finding and blocking the LB2.EXE then.

#2944422 - 01/21/10 09:00 PM Re: AVG vs LB2 ... Who's winning? [Re: Flyboy]  
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 7,268
UnderTheRadar Offline
Hotshot
UnderTheRadar  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 7,268
Austin, TX
I like avira. Its free and highly rated. No headaches except for the nightly pop up asking me to buy it.


I have gaming PCs that run everything from MS-DOS 6.22 to Windows 7 64-bit

Win7 Home Prem 64
i5-3570
ASRock HM77
XFX Radeon HD 6950 2 Gig
8 Gigs GSkill DDR3 1600
500 Gig Samsung 840 SSD
1 TB WD Black SATA II HD
Plextor 24x DVD-RW
ViewSonic VA2702w 1920x1080
HP L2206tm 1920x1080 Multi-Touch Screen
Antec Neo 550w PS
Antec Full Tower Case
Warthog 1663 w/ CH Pro Pedals
TIR4 w/ Clip
Logitech G110 KB
Razer Naga
#2944801 - 01/22/10 01:03 PM Re: AVG vs LB2 ... Who's winning? [Re: UnderTheRadar]  
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,389
Flyboy Offline
Senior Member
Flyboy  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,389
England, UK
I used to like Avira, but the virus alert pop-ups (for LB2 and other games - all false positives) just got too much, and even when I told the program not to auto-update - it still did. Oh, and the updates server isn't always working. Just a few little things that didn't sit comfortably with me.

#2946632 - 01/25/10 08:01 AM Re: AVG vs LB2 ... Who's winning? [Re: Flyboy]  
Joined: May 2005
Posts: 897
Phoenix Offline
Member
Phoenix  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2005
Posts: 897
Originally Posted By: UnderTheRadar
I like avira. Its free and highly rated. No headaches except for the nightly pop up asking me to buy it.


You can setup a security policy to disallow that program from running. Or you can just right click "avnotify.exe" go to properties/security/select system/check "read and execute" in the deny column. 15 seconds, problem solved.

quote=Flyboy]I used to like Avira, but the virus alert pop-ups (for LB2 and other games - all false positives) just got too much[/quote]

I hear you. In fact it really loves to go after my sim utilities, must be the scripts they're made with. If you decide on Avira and run your heuristics engine at high, prepare for some false positives. There is however a very straight-forward way to get avira to ignore such things. You can also backup the config file, so your ignored file list will be there if you need to reinstall. On the plus side, Avira protects you and doesn't screw up your OS.

#2948080 - 01/27/10 05:22 PM Re: AVG vs LB2 ... Who's winning? [Re: Phoenix]  
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 785
IamFritz Offline
Member
IamFritz  Offline
Member

Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 785
I am pleased to announce I now have the Free AVG Anti-virus and Longbow 2 running together on my PC.

As many of you know, I had switched to Panda to allow LB2 to work. But Panda sucks. Seriously. I complained to them each of the 20+ times I had to re-install it. Finally, when the license came up, I decided to try AVG again, and it works fine.

Long live Longbow 2.


Fritz Gunter
iamfritz@hotmail.com
http://www.iamfritz.com <- It's Only Gotten Better

Lenovo Quadcore 3.1 GHZ Proc, 6 GB RAM and NVidia GeForce GT 632 (2 GB Vid RAM) Direct X 11 Windows 7
#2948763 - 01/28/10 04:22 PM Re: AVG vs LB2 ... Who's winning? [Re: IamFritz]  
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,389
Flyboy Offline
Senior Member
Flyboy  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,389
England, UK
Hi Fritz, glad you got everything going again. What OS and spec are you running?

#2948792 - 01/28/10 05:03 PM Re: AVG vs LB2 ... Who's winning? [Re: Flyboy]  
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 785
IamFritz Offline
Member
IamFritz  Offline
Member

Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 785
Twin 1200 MHz proc, 2 GB RAM, NVidia 8600GT, Qin XP Pro. The AVG install didn't say a darn thing about LB2. I have a creeping suspicion it may be from Panda maybe leaving some exception list somewhere that included it? But Panda's uninstall told me it was deleting all traces of itself. Whether that's true, I lack the technical prowess to determine for sure. But I just know LB2 is still rocking, and I intend to create a series of anti-"Taliban" missions, maybe some urban CAS as well. Wish there was some allowance for neutral citizens in this game. It'd be awesome to nail some IED baddies.


Fritz Gunter
iamfritz@hotmail.com
http://www.iamfritz.com <- It's Only Gotten Better

Lenovo Quadcore 3.1 GHZ Proc, 6 GB RAM and NVidia GeForce GT 632 (2 GB Vid RAM) Direct X 11 Windows 7
#2949407 - 01/29/10 03:27 PM Re: AVG vs LB2 ... Who's winning? [Re: IamFritz]  
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,389
Flyboy Offline
Senior Member
Flyboy  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,389
England, UK
Oh, I thought you must be using Windows XP because if you had Vista or 7... you may well not be able to run LB2 anymore. frown

So I guess you have got to grips with MissioneerPlus then, as you are talking of doing some missions? I, too, did a couple anti-Taliban missions a while ago. One is called 'APACHE DAWN' and the other is 'RAHIM KALAY'. You can find them on my site if you would like to use them for templates, below:
http://digitality.emenace.com/flyboy/lb2/campmis/ntc-pak.zip

How do you plan on doing 'Urban CAS'? It is impossible to add in infantry in amongst buildings as they are not displayed on the map in M+ and you can't get the resolution for precise placement when you zoom in. Also, in order to specifically place new buildings you need the Longbow 2 Commander tool - which isn't publically available - and hard to use.

I can't play LB2 now, as I have Win7. I'm not TOO fussed though, as there is a new helo project in development that should bring LB2 fans right into the noughties!

Last edited by Flyboy; 01/29/10 03:31 PM.

Moderated by  RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
RIP--James Drury--the Virginian
by Forward Observer. 04/07/20 12:43 AM
HMAS Otama in 1999
by Mad Max. 04/06/20 11:24 PM
Metro Exodus
by PanzerMeyer. 04/06/20 11:53 AM
Jaws actress dies of Coronavirus at 91.
by NoFlyBoy. 04/06/20 01:34 AM
Covid-19 information
by oldgrognard. 04/04/20 03:58 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0