Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#2907209 - 11/24/09 03:45 PM What are the system specs for 1.28C?  
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,057
Colonel Kern Offline
Member
Colonel Kern  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,057
There is really not much in the readme on this topic.

The reason I ask is that my older rig struggles a bit with 1.28C.

P4 2.6Ghz
Gforce 6800GT 256M
2G RAM.
Win XP SP2

I also have a dual boot to Win98 with a 16M Voodoo3 card. In that configuration I have to reduce my RAM to 512M to accomodate Win98.

I will admit I have not done a lot of experimentation with INI parms, etc. Nor have I done a real comparison between native Glide, D3D and Glide wrapper performance.

Thanks for any info.


The Colonel

"They're not toys. They're collectables."
Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#2907285 - 11/24/09 05:14 PM Re: What are the system specs for 1.28C? [Re: Colonel Kern]  
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 4,212
iron mike Offline
Senior Member
iron mike  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 4,212
Maryland, USA
You don't need to reduce your 98box memory. You need to optimize you system for 98. That means using 'highmen.sys'and putting together a 'config.sys and autoexec.bat that allows you to use memory above the 1 gig level. my 98box has at least twice the memory you are using. 98SE has a 2 gig upper limit.

#2907301 - 11/24/09 05:41 PM Re: What are the system specs for 1.28C? [Re: iron mike]  
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,057
Colonel Kern Offline
Member
Colonel Kern  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,057
Originally Posted By: iron mike
You don't need to reduce your 98box memory. You need to optimize you system for 98. That means using 'highmen.sys'and putting together a 'config.sys and autoexec.bat that allows you to use memory above the 1 gig level. my 98box has at least twice the memory you are using. 98SE has a 2 gig upper limit.


Would you mind posting some examples?

I did this due to errors while attempting to start up my win98 partition and was following MS's advice to limit my memory to 512M.


The Colonel

"They're not toys. They're collectables."
#2907334 - 11/24/09 06:30 PM Re: What are the system specs for 1.28C? [Re: Colonel Kern]  
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 4,212
iron mike Offline
Senior Member
iron mike  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 4,212
Maryland, USA
It won't be before 9PM EST. I'm at work and I'll have to looks at my system's config and autoexec.bat first. Win98 is dos 5 & 6 so the highmem memory manager should be there. It is just that I haven't even looked at the commands for 8 years.

#2907359 - 11/24/09 07:06 PM Re: What are the system specs for 1.28C? [Re: iron mike]  
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,057
Colonel Kern Offline
Member
Colonel Kern  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,057
NP. I'm looking through some tech-support type threads here and there. Just to know I may have some options is helpful.

Thanks.


The Colonel

"They're not toys. They're collectables."
#2907369 - 11/24/09 07:20 PM Re: What are the system specs for 1.28C? [Re: Colonel Kern]  
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 4,212
iron mike Offline
Senior Member
iron mike  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 4,212
Maryland, USA
Rgr that. Part of what you need to do is create/modify your autoexec.bat. That instructs you machine how and where to load in memory the drivers and commands need to run the system. You should end up with 600mb then jump into the 1-23 gig range.

#2907576 - 11/25/09 03:32 AM Re: What are the system specs for 1.28C? [Re: iron mike]  
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,751
RAF_Roy Offline
EAW Bodger
RAF_Roy  Offline
EAW Bodger
Senior Member

Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,751
So. California - U.S.A.
You should try the Glide wrapper, but using Win98 with another driver may work also.
It is likely you suffer the problem of some newer cards with some drivers when using D3D mode get the massive slow-down bug. According to what I read that Knegel has posted, the Glide Wrapper fixes the issue.


Roy's || Tally Ho Pages
#2907820 - 11/25/09 02:45 PM Re: What are the system specs for 1.28C? [Re: RAF_Roy]  
Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,057
Colonel Kern Offline
Member
Colonel Kern  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,057
I really need to do some exhaustive testing at this point because I have an ideal situation to test Glide vs. D3D on my rig.

As I said, my Win98 partition is configured with a Voodoo3 card so I am running native Glide over there. My testing last night with a SPAW quick mission maintained a pretty consistant 50+ FPS rate. (This was after I managed to get 1+ Gig of RAM allocated to the Win98 system.

I need to run a similar mission on my XP/6800GT/D3D partition and see what kind of results I get.


The Colonel

"They're not toys. They're collectables."
#2907884 - 11/25/09 04:10 PM Re: What are the system specs for 1.28C? [Re: Colonel Kern]  
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 8,538
Knegel Offline
Hotshot
Knegel  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 8,538
Hi,

if the 6800GT work at all, you should be dissapointed in 3d mode.

EAW + WinXP and rather modern graphiccards very often have trouble with bad slowdowns in 3d mode.

This is most probably driver related. The same sytem in glide mode(with help of Zeckensacks glidewrapper) perform with up to 150 fps(depending to the settings).

Greetings,

Knegel


1st engined flight by Richard Pearse, Waitohi, New Zealand, March 31, 1902. Karl Jatho, 1st flight, 18.August 1903, Hannover-Vahrenheide, real controlled flights.
The Wrights, 1st flight, 17. December 1903. They wasnt the 1st, but still claim this!
#2908026 - 11/25/09 07:47 PM Re: What are the system specs for 1.28C? [Re: Knegel]  
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 9,215
Pobs Offline
Hotshot
Pobs  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 9,215
North Wales, UK
Hi,

I am using a geforce 6800 and get d3d framerates in the high 50's most of the time.. I am using the old 61.41 driver set though...


cheers,



Pobs

#2908373 - 11/26/09 10:02 AM Re: What are the system specs for 1.28C? [Re: Pobs]  
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 8,538
Knegel Offline
Hotshot
Knegel  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 8,538
Whats about closing in to 4-mots??

With more modern systems the fps in 3d mode vary often extreme downward as soon as planes(specialy 4-mots) get in sight.


1st engined flight by Richard Pearse, Waitohi, New Zealand, March 31, 1902. Karl Jatho, 1st flight, 18.August 1903, Hannover-Vahrenheide, real controlled flights.
The Wrights, 1st flight, 17. December 1903. They wasnt the 1st, but still claim this!
#2908581 - 11/26/09 04:43 PM Re: What are the system specs for 1.28C? [Re: Knegel]  
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 9,215
Pobs Offline
Hotshot
Pobs  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 9,215
North Wales, UK
Hi Ralf,

with normal settings it stays around 25 or so, but it can drop to 20 with the 'big squads' ini setting in ..., but only really close to a big formation with full tracer and contrails up...


cheers,


Pobs


Moderated by  RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
IJN Kaga found.
by NH2112. 10/19/19 10:32 PM
Grouch (Joker Parady)
by Arthonon. 10/19/19 02:19 PM
Nike vs B-17
by KraziKanuK. 10/18/19 08:30 PM
Grouch
by Chaz. 10/18/19 01:49 PM
How to pi$$ off Londoners...
by Chucky. 10/17/19 12:16 PM
Video game map size comparison
by DM. 10/17/19 09:45 AM
Happy Thanksgiving
by No105_Archie. 10/13/19 05:15 PM
Happy Birthday US Navy
by oldgrognard. 10/13/19 04:31 PM
American Civil War photos
by KraziKanuK. 10/12/19 04:18 AM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0