Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#2864897 - 09/21/09 11:00 PM SSD worth it for gamers?  
dashavingo Offline
dashavingo  Offline

Long load times drive me nuts, and they seem to be the one thing that's remained just as slow as ever--- while graphics tech et cetera has grown in leaps and bounds. (I've had a computer since the late 80's).

I'm wondering if SSD will finally mean major progress here. Also, given SSD's (currently) low capacity, would it be best used as an OS partition?

Just wondering what the experts (and some of you guys are) think.

Thanks,

d.

Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#2864930 - 09/22/09 12:30 AM Re: SSD worth it for gamers? [Re: dashavingo]  
Allen Offline
Hotshot
Allen  Offline
Hotshot

Ohio USA
Since I do not own SSD nor have I researched it, I am no expert. But, some things about games indicate that speeding up the disks (hard or solid state) will not do much beyond shortening load times.

Games are designed to not use the OS much and not use disk access in a way that hinders FPS. So, any speedup in data transfer due to SSD is unlikely to have any effect on active game play, I speculate.

It might be worth investigating 15000 RPM hard drives vs SSD for relative speedup, capacity, and performance/price. Still, I expect the noticeable improvement would be in initial load times -- not FPS.

FWIW.

Sapphire Pulse RX7900XTX, 3 monitors = 23P (1080p) + SAMSUNG 32" Odyssey Neo G7 1000R curve (4K/2160p) + 23P (1080p), AMD R9-7950X (ARCTIC Liquid Freezer II 420), 64GB RAM@6.0GHz, Gigabyte X670E AORUS MASTER MB, (4x M.2 SSD + 2xSSD + 2xHD) = ~52TB storage, EVGA 1600W PSU, Phanteks Enthoo Pro Full Tower, ASUS RT-AX89X 6000Mbps WiFi router, VKB Gladiator WW2 Stick, Pedals, G.Skill RGB KB, AORUS Thunder M7 Mouse, W11 Pro
#2865051 - 09/22/09 04:44 AM Re: SSD worth it for gamers? [Re: dashavingo]  
Brennus Offline
Urban Legend
Brennus  Offline
Urban Legend
Hotshot

Detroit, MI