Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
#2765869 - 07/08/09 06:05 AM Rof Smackdown! A stress testing mission.  
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 893
Double_Tap Offline
Member
Double_Tap  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 893
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Salute!

Jason at GoGamer asked me to make a mission to stress test his highend rig. He wanted to get 2 doz or more planes into the air at once and see what happened.

Predictably, my rig floundered. **Trouble4U has a high end rig and said that it was no sweat, and he immediately began adding more and more planes.

Anyway, if you want to see what your rig can do and fly in a big furball, then have a crack. It is not a sophisticated mission, just an ugly last-man-standing brawl.

You fly a DVII. If you want to fly the others (providing you have the rights) then just load up the ME and change the DV11 to AI and make the one of your choice the AI the player.

Good luck.

~E!~
D_T
Mission A: Flying the DVII

Smackdown! German

Mission B: Flying the Spad, thanks to Chipwich!

Allied Version

Last edited by No5_Double_Tap; 08/02/09 02:40 AM.

Gigabyte GA-Z77X UDH-3, i7 2600K, 16GB Corsair Dominator DDR3, GeForce GTX 680 2GB.
Saitek Rudder Pedals
Cougar Hotas #08970 U2 #20
Thrustmaster Warthog
TrackIr 4 Pro
Windows 7 64 bit
Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#2765874 - 07/08/09 06:40 AM Re: Rof Smackdown! A stress testing mission. [Re: Double_Tap]  
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 202
Hiccup Offline
Member
Hiccup  Offline
Member

Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 202
Othello, Wa. USA
Ok, so what does one do with this file? What Dir should it be placed in?

#2765880 - 07/08/09 06:51 AM Re: Rof Smackdown! A stress testing mission. [Re: Hiccup]  
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 213
DD_JoeBob Offline
Member
DD_JoeBob  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 213
Salt Lake City, Utah
Unzip and extract to your ROF/ Data/ Missions folder.

Hell of a fight Double Tap, a bit of stuttering at the first but very good indeed.

i7 2.67 Ghz
6 Gig RAM
Gforce 9800 GT

Joe

Last edited by Joe_Shaw; 07/08/09 06:52 AM.

I'm a Chickenhawk and you're my victim, ya gonna come along quiet or do I gotta muss ya up?
#2765881 - 07/08/09 06:52 AM Re: Rof Smackdown! A stress testing mission. [Re: Double_Tap]  
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 149
Highfox Offline
Member
Highfox  Offline
Member

Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 149
Finland
Thanks again Double Tap. Great to see how it looks.
I still haven't completed Warfusee prorperly, I keep running out of amo before I can stop the train smile

#2765882 - 07/08/09 06:53 AM Re: Rof Smackdown! A stress testing mission. [Re: Hiccup]  
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 893
Double_Tap Offline
Member
Double_Tap  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 893
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Extract it into C:\Program Files\Rise of Flight\data\Missions


Gigabyte GA-Z77X UDH-3, i7 2600K, 16GB Corsair Dominator DDR3, GeForce GTX 680 2GB.
Saitek Rudder Pedals
Cougar Hotas #08970 U2 #20
Thrustmaster Warthog
TrackIr 4 Pro
Windows 7 64 bit
#2765884 - 07/08/09 06:55 AM Re: Rof Smackdown! A stress testing mission. [Re: Double_Tap]  
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 893
Double_Tap Offline
Member
Double_Tap  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 893
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Oops, too slow smile

The main thing Highfox is to come home. There will always be more trains. wink


Gigabyte GA-Z77X UDH-3, i7 2600K, 16GB Corsair Dominator DDR3, GeForce GTX 680 2GB.
Saitek Rudder Pedals
Cougar Hotas #08970 U2 #20
Thrustmaster Warthog
TrackIr 4 Pro
Windows 7 64 bit
#2765912 - 07/08/09 08:26 AM Re: Rof Smackdown! A stress testing mission. [Re: Double_Tap]  
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 178
SYN_Speck Offline
Member
SYN_Speck  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 178
Whitegrass, WY, USA
Works pretty good on my system. Stuttery at the initial merge, then smooth.

Map is stuttery too, but it always is regardless of the mission.

Thanks for making the mission, it's fun!

E6600@2.8ghz
Evga 260 GTX 896mb
3 gigs RAM
XP pro

#2765922 - 07/08/09 08:50 AM Re: Rof Smackdown! A stress testing mission. [Re: SYN_Speck]  
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 893
Double_Tap Offline
Member
Double_Tap  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 893
Sunshine Coast, Australia
What FPS are you blokes getting in the mission?


Gigabyte GA-Z77X UDH-3, i7 2600K, 16GB Corsair Dominator DDR3, GeForce GTX 680 2GB.
Saitek Rudder Pedals
Cougar Hotas #08970 U2 #20
Thrustmaster Warthog
TrackIr 4 Pro
Windows 7 64 bit
#2765923 - 07/08/09 08:50 AM Re: Rof Smackdown! A stress testing mission. [Re: SYN_Speck]  
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 298
BULL Offline
Member
BULL  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 298
Originally Posted By: Nachwuchs
Works pretty good on my system. Stuttery at the initial merge, then smooth.

Map is stuttery too, but it always is regardless of the mission.

Thanks for making the mission, it's fun!

E6600@2.8ghz
Evga 260 GTX 896mb
3 gigs RAM
XP pro


Pretty much the same results here.

I enjoyed seeing the sky full of aircraft.

I think a few user made campaigns ( can we do that? ), and missions will really help create the experience we are all looking for.

BULL

#2765926 - 07/08/09 09:00 AM Re: Rof Smackdown! A stress testing mission. [Re: BULL]  
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 893
Double_Tap Offline
Member
Double_Tap  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 893
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Quote:
( can we do that? )


Not that I know of. A string of missions can be nested in a folder, but they would all be exclusive with results having no impact on the following missions.


Gigabyte GA-Z77X UDH-3, i7 2600K, 16GB Corsair Dominator DDR3, GeForce GTX 680 2GB.
Saitek Rudder Pedals
Cougar Hotas #08970 U2 #20
Thrustmaster Warthog
TrackIr 4 Pro
Windows 7 64 bit
#2765943 - 07/08/09 09:54 AM Re: Rof Smackdown! A stress testing mission. [Re: Double_Tap]  
Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 587
MIG77 Offline
Member
MIG77  Offline
Member

Joined: Jul 2009
Posts: 587
Finland
It did run surprisingly well. Some slowdown in start then very playable until I got shot down.

My system:
E8400@3ghz
ATI 4870 512mb
4G mem
Vista 64bit


You can get used to everything, but icicle in the a**. It melts before you get used to it.
#2765954 - 07/08/09 10:32 AM Re: Rof Smackdown! A stress testing mission. [Re: MIG77]  
Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 94
J5_Rumey Offline
Junior Member
J5_Rumey  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jan 2009
Posts: 94
Well killed my system stutter stutter dead, guess need new mobo and processor? Me supid me have superb gfx card but old crap dual core processor...... frown

My system:

Athlon dual 5200+ @2,7ghz
Nvidia 285 gtx 648m 1 gig ddr3
4 gig mem
Vista 32bit
Trackir 5
Creative fataly xfi soundcard
Creative fataly usb headphone

Last edited by J5_Boman; 07/08/09 10:33 AM.

[img]http://i41.photobucket.com/albums/e258/trikke11/J5banners/Rumeycandybanner.jpg[/img]

[img]http://www.jasta5.org/pilotbanners/J5bannercurrent.jpg[/img]
#2765963 - 07/08/09 11:16 AM Re: Rof Smackdown! A stress testing mission. [Re: Double_Tap]  
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 221
intramile Offline
Member
intramile  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 221
Originally Posted By: No5_Double_Tap
What FPS are you blokes getting in the mission?


Thanks for the mission Double_Tap, a blast to try a real furball at last, and I thought it worked well and realistically.

I normally get around 50-60 FPS on 1:1 type dogfights, and just flying around. Vsynch is on, at 60 for my monitor.

Dogfight was 30-50 FPS continuously, very smooth, so very good given all the planes. Several times however the FPS dropped for a second (at most) to 5-10 FPS in a 10 min dogfight. More just an very minor annoyance then anything else. Couldn't really determine what caused that.

i7-920@3.5Ghz
Nvidia GTX295
3Gb 1600Mhz RAM
1680x1050 22" Monitor

Edit: Good system I suppose, but all settings are on high except Landscape at Medium, with AA at 8 and AF at 2. No post effects.

#2813244 - 07/08/09 06:06 PM Re: Rof Smackdown! A stress testing mission. [Re: Double_Tap]  
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,979
Buddye1 Offline
Member
Buddye1  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,979
South East,Texas,USA
Thanks for the mission. I am looking forward to trying it. I will post results after a few trys.


Intel I7 920 processor (2.66GHz, 8MB cache), 6GB DDR3 Triple Channel @1333MHz, 1.8GB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 295, Sound Blaster X-Fi PCI Sound Card, Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit , CH Fighter Stick & Pedals ,TrackIR4 Pro thanks to BobII crew.
#2813348 - 07/08/09 07:31 PM Re: Rof Smackdown! A stress testing mission. [Re: Buddye1]  
Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 10
puffalott Offline
Junior Member
puffalott  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Mar 2009
Posts: 10
thats the best one iv played no probs here ran fine GIVE me more.im running a i7-920 quadcore,6 gigs ram,ati radeon hd 4850,vista 64 bit

#2813361 - 07/08/09 07:44 PM Re: Rof Smackdown! A stress testing mission. [Re: puffalott]  
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 10,618
Ming_EAF19 Offline
Babelfish Immune
Ming_EAF19  Offline
Babelfish Immune
Veteran

Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 10,618
London
Very good thanks Smosh, video of it nearby, can't see how to make the FRAPS fps counter visible overlaying the video but it was 30fps most of the time as you'll see, no stutters and all-action

Ming


'You are either a hater or you are not' Roman Halter
#2813392 - 07/08/09 08:19 PM Re: Rof Smackdown! A stress testing mission. [Re: Ming_EAF19]  
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,979
Buddye1 Offline
Member
Buddye1  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,979
South East,Texas,USA
The Mission ran well on my old quad. Some studder the first 30 seconds or so but after that it ran well until a enemy AI ran into me.

The mission is fun. Thanks again for doing it and taking the time to learn to use the ROF Mission Builder.

Do you have any notes or comments you can share on the Mission Builder?


Intel I7 920 processor (2.66GHz, 8MB cache), 6GB DDR3 Triple Channel @1333MHz, 1.8GB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 295, Sound Blaster X-Fi PCI Sound Card, Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit , CH Fighter Stick & Pedals ,TrackIR4 Pro thanks to BobII crew.
#2813420 - 07/08/09 08:55 PM Re: Rof Smackdown! A stress testing mission. [Re: Buddye1]  
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 2,179
WWBrian Offline
Member
WWBrian  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 2,179
GREAT IDEA Double_Tap!!!

...could be used as a general benchmarking utility as well.


KUDOS!

<S!>


WingWalker (virtual) Combat Squadron

Intel i7 980X @3.8 GHz | ASUS P6X58D Premium | Antec 1200w PSU | 12GB 1600Mhz RAM
SLI - 2x eVGA GTX 580 3072MB vRAM | Dell 3007WFP 30" + 2x Dell 2007FP 20" @ 5388x1600 res.
Corsair Force GT 240GB SSD - O/S drive | Corsair Force 60GB SSD - ROF drive
WD VelociRaptor 300GB - Game drive | WD Black 1TB - Storage drive
CH HOTAS and TrackIR 5 +TCP | Realtek on-board sound | Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit

#2813458 - 07/08/09 09:34 PM Re: Rof Smackdown! A stress testing mission. [Re: Double_Tap]  
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,979
Buddye1 Offline
Member
Buddye1  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,979
South East,Texas,USA
Originally Posted By: No5_Double_Tap


If you want to fly the others (providing you have the rights) then just load up the ME and change the DV11 to AI and make the one of your choice the AI the player.



Hi DT,

Sorry for the question but I just do not see how it works.

I just want to change the players A/C to the Spad13 as that is what I have been training on.

Last edited by Buddye1; 07/08/09 09:36 PM.

Intel I7 920 processor (2.66GHz, 8MB cache), 6GB DDR3 Triple Channel @1333MHz, 1.8GB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 295, Sound Blaster X-Fi PCI Sound Card, Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit , CH Fighter Stick & Pedals ,TrackIR4 Pro thanks to BobII crew.
#2813518 - 07/08/09 11:16 PM Re: Rof Smackdown! A stress testing mission. [Re: Buddye1]  
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 893
Double_Tap Offline
Member
Double_Tap  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 893
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Buddye1,

I do have a few things that I was going to post about the Mission Editor, but since I heard a 150 page manual was on the way I wasn't going to worry about it.

The Beta testers who were keen on learning the ME tended to pool the knowledge and post things on the Beta forum. I posted some rudimentary guides that I could probably put here. They are not a simple cut and paste as the images from ME that I uploaded are stored on the NeoQb server and I cannot link to them.

I will see what i can do tonight.


As far as changing the player a/c here goes:
1) Find the DVII that is designated the player. I think it is in the second group of four from the top. You need to click on the advanced properties tab (the > link to the right of the name) and look at the AI box. It has options of Normal/Ace/Player

2) Change the Player to Normal

3) Find a Spad then change AI form Normal to Player.

Hope that helps,

D_T


Gigabyte GA-Z77X UDH-3, i7 2600K, 16GB Corsair Dominator DDR3, GeForce GTX 680 2GB.
Saitek Rudder Pedals
Cougar Hotas #08970 U2 #20
Thrustmaster Warthog
TrackIr 4 Pro
Windows 7 64 bit
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3

Moderated by  Avimimus, RacerGT, Wklink 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
China is copying airliners too.
by NoFlyBoy. 10/27/20 07:18 PM
Account Deletion
by SamMetcalfe. 10/26/20 12:34 PM
Dr. J. Michael Lane was 84
by Rick_Rawlings. 10/25/20 02:08 AM
“Old” Dunkirk
by oldgrognard. 10/25/20 01:01 AM
Football
by Alicatt. 10/23/20 09:57 PM
Interesting historical blunders
by oldgrognard. 10/22/20 10:33 PM
An old farmer speaks
by KraziKanuK. 10/21/20 04:25 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0