Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 4 of 4 1 2 3 4
#3267855 - 04/12/11 03:26 PM Re: New guy setting up FSX, interesting observations. [Re: maclean525]  
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 183
iam73 Offline
Member
iam73  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 183
Use DX10 if you like 2xFSAA and poor anisotropic filtering.

As far as I'm concerned, I'm using DX9 with 8xMSAA / 16x Anisotropic filtering + ENB Series and it looks WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAY better than the DX10 mode... which never even made it to beta stage by the way... was still alpha when FSX dev was totally dropped.

For what its worth, there's no FPS improvement to be seen with my ATI 6850.

Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#3267955 - 04/12/11 05:30 PM Re: New guy setting up FSX, interesting observations. [Re: iam73]  
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 61
maclean525 Offline
Junior Member
maclean525  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 61
Originally Posted By: iam73
Use DX10 if you like 2xFSAA and poor anisotropic filtering. As far as I'm concerned, I'm using DX9 with 8xMSAA / 16x Anisotropic filtering + ENB Series and it looks WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAY better than the DX10 mode.


"ENB Series" Tell me more!?

#3267982 - 04/12/11 06:09 PM Re: New guy setting up FSX, interesting observations. [Re: iam73]  
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,814
Plainsman Offline
Senior Member
Plainsman  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,814
Vikings Season Ticket Holder
Originally Posted By: iam73
Use DX10 if you like 2xFSAA and poor anisotropic filtering.

As far as I'm concerned, I'm using DX9 with 8xMSAA / 16x Anisotropic filtering + ENB Series and it looks WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAY better than the DX10 mode... which never even made it to beta stage by the way... was still alpha when FSX dev was totally dropped.

For what its worth, there's no FPS improvement to be seen with my ATI 6850.


Sorry, but you are incorrect. I can turn up FSAA and anistropic as high as I want. No DX9 setting can match high graphics settings in DX10. That's just a fact. If you have an Nvidia card. If you have no FPS improvement with DX10 over DX9, then the fault lies with your ATI card. Get rid of it. Get Nvidia. My framerates literally DOUBLE with my Nvidia card. It's a simple test. Keep all graphics settings the same. Keep the same plane, airport, time of day. Change nothing. Just reboot from DX9 to DX10 and back again. 20 FPS in DX9 goes to 40 in DX10. Switch back to DX9 and frames are cut approximately in half again. Real easy and IRREFUTABLE test. DX10 also looks waaaaaaaaaaay better.


You're getting cheated. I've seen articles on the Net that show no significant advantage in frame rates with an ATI card. I think FSX is optimized for Nvidia. Some games are like that. Some games give are optimzed for ATI cards. FSX isn't one of them. Neither is NASCAR Racing 2003 Season. I tried it with comparable cards from ATI and Nvidia and couldn't believe the difference.

Be comforted in the knowledge that your ATI card has advantages in some other games.

Last edited by Plainsman; 04/12/11 06:12 PM.

Acer: XB 280HK 28" 3840 X 2160, 1ms, w/Nvidia GSync
Corsair: White Graphite 760T Full Tower
Corsair: 16GB Vengeance LPX 2800MHz RAM
Corsair: SP2500 2.1 Gaming Speaker System
INTEL: Six-Core, i7 5820K CPU @4.2Hz
ASUS RTX OC 2080
Logitech 920 Wheel and Pedal System with Wheel Stand Pro
Saitek Pro Flight Control System with Wheel Stand Pro
Saitek X55 HOTAS
XBOX One S
Track IR5

#3268153 - 04/12/11 09:07 PM Re: New guy setting up FSX, interesting observations. [Re: maclean525]  
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 3,296
Mark Aisthorpe Offline
Crazy Courier
Mark Aisthorpe  Offline
Crazy Courier
Senior Member

Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 3,296
London UK
Plainsman, what drivers are you using ?
We both run the same cards and my experiences of DX10 are a bit different to yours.

I don't get any noticeable FPS improvement in DX10 over DX9.
Also I've never been able to get FSAA to work athrough nHancer, only through FSX which is 2x.
And the biggie for me is that VSync doesn't work. Does VSync work for you ? I use TrackIR so I cant live without VSync.

Also there's the flickering runways & missing follow me arrows.

So the only things I gain with DX10 are the nicer water that I don't have set high enough to see to keep the FPS up and the cockpit shadows which are usually so basic or jaggie that I'd rather not have them.


Asus Maximus XI Hero
i9-9900K
32Gb Corsair Vengeance Pro DDR4 3200MHz
MSI RTX 2080Ti Ventus
Corsair H115i
Corsair RM850X PSU
Phanteks Evolv X
Asus VG32G Monitor 2560x1440
Win 10
#3268271 - 04/12/11 11:27 PM Re: New guy setting up FSX, interesting observations. [Re: Mark Aisthorpe]  
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,814
Plainsman Offline
Senior Member
Plainsman  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,814
Vikings Season Ticket Holder
Originally Posted By: Mark Aisthorpe
Plainsman, what drivers are you using ?
We both run the same cards and my experiences of DX10 are a bit different to yours.

I don't get any noticeable FPS improvement in DX10 over DX9.
Also I've never been able to get FSAA to work athrough nHancer, only through FSX which is 2x.
And the biggie for me is that VSync doesn't work. Does VSync work for you ? I use TrackIR so I cant live without VSync.

Also there's the flickering runways & missing follow me arrows.

So the only things I gain with DX10 are the nicer water that I don't have set high enough to see to keep the FPS up and the cockpit shadows which are usually so basic or jaggie that I'd rather not have them.


My drivers start with 266, so I'm assuming it's the latest? I'm running at 1920 x 1200 x 32 rez, 16;10. I,too, had some runway flickering with DX10. Then I bought and installed REX2 and downloaded and installed the free REX Overdrive. REX lets you select your airport runway textures, clouds, skies, enhances lighting, and water. You can alter some or all of those things. YOu can select environment "themes." There is only a slight hit to FPS. The bonus discovery is that with REX2 the runway flickering is gone. I didn't expect that. I'll check, but as far as I know, I don't use VSync. Do you have your target frame rate in-game set to "unlimited?" or did you pick a number? I have mine set at unlimited.

I read somewhere that at low to moderate settings, you won't see a framerate increase between DX9 and DX10. But at high to very high settings you will. I snipped the following from a commment at another site:

"As Phil Taylor has rightfully pointed out in the comments section of the video, with bloom enabled and water on 2.X High people should see similar or higher framerates than with lower settings." I followed this advice. I have bloom enabled, water pushed all the way to the right as far as it will go. The funny thing is, on my PC, FSX with DX10 preview checked runs faster at 1920 x 1200 than it did at 1386 x 960. Go figure. I took this advice, turned it up and it's true. At that resolution, 2x AA is all you need to eliminate the last of the jaggies. I'm not a techie, so I don't mind taking advice from others.

Here's some forum posts from another site talking about the framerate issue. I"m not the only one: http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=133237

HEre's a quote from someone on Avsim: "On my system, FSX is about 30% faster in DX10 than it is on DX9 keeping all other settings equal. I'm in the process of benchmarking this in a more sophisticated way than just comparing an FPS here and there. Speed (as recently demonstrated with the ATI Catalyst drivers) is largely a function of the driver more so than the raw hardware. True, hardware is limiting, but a bad driver can truly make rendering speed terrible."

But another poster on Avsim disagreed: "I think you need to qualify this statement a bit. Like maybe on "your system" or exactly what your settings are that are allowing a 30% performance increase.

Using my exact settings under DX10 Preview from DX9 on my system(with bloom off), I can have as much as a 50% performance decrease under DX10 depending on area (30FPS DX9 to 15FPS DX10) just not acceptable. The only bonus is that Light Bloom can be enabled under DX10 Preview and it seems to have little to no effect on FPS."


It seems some are getting no boost in framerates between DX9 and DX10, fewer are getting better frames in DX9, more are getting better frames in DX10. And the variation in the boost in frames if DX10 seems to range from 10% to as much as 100%. I'm getting the 100% increase, fortunately. And the runway flickering is gone (because of REX 2).

FSX has some many sliders for so many options, it's hard to say why I'm getting a 100% boost over DX9. Like I said, I'm not a techie. I haven't tweaked anything because I wouldn't know how. My sliders must be set (accidentally) at just the right positions.


Last edited by Plainsman; 04/12/11 11:34 PM.

Acer: XB 280HK 28" 3840 X 2160, 1ms, w/Nvidia GSync
Corsair: White Graphite 760T Full Tower
Corsair: 16GB Vengeance LPX 2800MHz RAM
Corsair: SP2500 2.1 Gaming Speaker System
INTEL: Six-Core, i7 5820K CPU @4.2Hz
ASUS RTX OC 2080
Logitech 920 Wheel and Pedal System with Wheel Stand Pro
Saitek Pro Flight Control System with Wheel Stand Pro
Saitek X55 HOTAS
XBOX One S
Track IR5

#3268362 - 04/13/11 02:25 AM Re: New guy setting up FSX, interesting observations. [Re: maclean525]  
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 183
iam73 Offline
Member
iam73  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 183
Originally Posted By: maclean525

"ENB Series" Tell me more!?


It's a HDR mod addon originally made for GTA but one build works with FSX:

http://www.enb.fstube.org/node/2

#3268370 - 04/13/11 02:38 AM Re: New guy setting up FSX, interesting observations. [Re: Plainsman]  
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 183
iam73 Offline
Member
iam73  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 183
Originally Posted By: Plainsman

Sorry, but you are incorrect. I can turn up FSAA and anistropic as high as I want.


Well, maybe NVIDIA renders the DX10 PREVIEW mode better, that would make sens as it was halfway developped and maybe ACE were developing on the NVIDIA platform, who knows... it wouldn't be the first mention of NVIDIA handling FSX better anyways

BUT no, you can't crank up FSAA/FSAF as high as you want in DX10 and that's also a fact. DX10 forces the in-game FSAA/FSAF and will override ANYTHING you set out of FSX... quoting Phil Taylor on this:

Quote:

With the introduction of DX10, these settings are only able to be set within the sim. Using nVidia's Control Panel to manage 3D or nHancer will provide nothing further in the way of anti aliasing or anisotropic filtering.

#3468427 - 12/05/11 08:04 PM Re: New guy setting up FSX, interesting observations. [Re: maclean525]  
Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,499
VF-2 John Banks Offline
Member
VF-2 John Banks  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2002
Posts: 2,499
Berlin, Germany
Btw guys, how can i change the initial FOV and make the virtual cockpit a default view? I always hate to be in an external view or anywhere lese but not the VC. And the FOV is always too small. The cockpit and view angly is always off.


Intel Core I7-4790K @ 4x4GHz (oc'ed to 4x4,5 GHz on air)
be quiet! Dark Rock Pro 3 CPU Cooler (250W TDP)
ASUS Z97-C motherboard
ASUS STRIX-GTX970-DC2OC-4GD5
ASUS ROG Xonar Phoebus Solo Soundcard, PCIe
2 x 4GB GEIL DDR3 Value RAM
ANTEC PSU (750W)
Toshiba 37" LCD TV (1920x1080x32)
Win 7 Home Pro (64bit)
240 GB Corsair SSD (Force Series 3)
TrackIR4 Pro
HOTAS Cougar + "Uber NxT advanced" gimbal mod
SIMPED F-16 Pedals
SAITEK Throttle Quadrant
A2 leather jacket & leather gloves
#3528760 - 02/29/12 05:25 PM Re: New guy setting up FSX, interesting observations. [Re: maclean525]  
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 234
LeazesNDR Offline
Member
LeazesNDR  Offline
Member

Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 234
Dont like Microsoft at all.

They took the apha fade out of FSX now we get loads of s****y pop ups no matter how good our gear is, then they stopped supporting FSX.

The miserable sods did the same sort of thing to the Links golf community by removing fog and career mode after initially having them in the game, then they also stopped supporting that as well.

They can whistle for any money from me.

Last edited by LeazesNDR; 02/29/12 05:26 PM.
#3588889 - 06/09/12 02:46 PM Re: Maximum performance and the best looks for FSX! [Tweaks & Links] [Re: Heretic]  
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 465
Mastiff Offline
"just do it"
Mastiff  Offline
"just do it"
Member

Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 465
EL Centro, Cailfornia
yea Im getting over 60 to 100 on my rig FPS, all though it's a CPU more run SIM.

[video:youtube]http://youtu.be/RcnCwufK_H8?hd=1[/video]



71st Eagle Squadron
www.anon6.com - Blogger on DCS Series 71st Mastiff's you-Tube
"any failure you meet is never a defeat; merely a set up for a greater come back"
Asus x-99||i7x5930k||ddr4 16gb2400||GTX980Ti-6gb||
ATX1200Corsair||realteck 5.1||Win8.1x64pro||
TrackIr4Pro/ir||CHfghtrstck||siatekpedals|
|X52ThrteCntrlr||G15Keyboard/RzrMose||
32"LCD||2x7"lilliputs,1x9inc
#3672963 - 10/31/12 05:52 PM Re: Maximum performance and the best looks for FSX! [Tweaks & Links] [Re: Heretic]  
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 5,709
Weird_Crapolla Offline
Hotshot
Weird_Crapolla  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 5,709
St Barth


Flying is the perfect vocation for a man who wants to feel like a boy, but not for one who still is.
Latest upgrades for EAW at Mr Jelly attic
EAW Encyclopedia
#3673217 - 11/01/12 02:32 AM Re: Maximum performance and the best looks for FSX! [Tweaks & Links] [Re: Heretic]  
Joined: May 2000
Posts: 9,710
Legend Offline
Legsie is such a
Legend  Offline
Legsie is such a
Hotshot

Joined: May 2000
Posts: 9,710
Zutphen, NL / ShangHai, China
This looks good, thanks Weird_Crapolla!


There is a theory which states that if ever anyone discovers exactly what the universe is for it will instantly disappear and be replaced by something even more inexplicable.
There is another theory which states that this has already happened.
#3686036 - 11/21/12 01:41 PM Re: Maximum performance and the best looks for FSX! [Tweaks & Links] [Re: Heretic]  
Joined: May 2000
Posts: 9,710
Legend Offline
Legsie is such a
Legend  Offline
Legsie is such a
Hotshot

Joined: May 2000
Posts: 9,710
Zutphen, NL / ShangHai, China
This was posted on AVSim today... apparently Windows 7 "parks" cores that it thinks it won't need in multi-core CPUs to save power. Unpark them to give a nice boost to FSX.

http://forum.avsim.net/topic/391820-how-i-gained-15-fps-and-ultra-smooth-performance-fsx-windows-7/

Didn't try myself yet but it seems interesting enough to do. Best of all, it's free wink


There is a theory which states that if ever anyone discovers exactly what the universe is for it will instantly disappear and be replaced by something even more inexplicable.
There is another theory which states that this has already happened.
#3686256 - 11/21/12 07:57 PM Re: Maximum performance and the best looks for FSX! [Tweaks & Links] [Re: Heretic]  
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,453
NineLives Offline
Member
NineLives  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 2,453
Shropshire UK
To be fair a lot of that has already been mentioned on here apart from the core unlock thingy. I have been using the Bojote tweak tool for ages now and it's a 'must do' for FSX users.
http://www.venetubo.com/fsx.html

He probably noticed most of his improvement from that alone. SP2 was supposed to have modified FSX to use all cores anyway.

Page 4 of 4 1 2 3 4

Moderated by  RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Your game of the year vote so far?
by PanzerMeyer. 10/02/23 05:09 PM
Tech support
by KraziKanuK. 10/02/23 06:35 AM
Anyone here a vet or friends with one?
by Mr_Blastman. 09/30/23 10:59 PM
is microsoft trying to kill hotmail ?
by Blade_RJ. 09/28/23 03:40 PM
September 28th, 1987
by NoFlyBoy. 09/28/23 12:34 PM
Sir Michael Gambon was 82
by F4UDash4. 09/28/23 12:32 PM
This might help some folks with Gaming / Simming
by CyBerkut. 09/26/23 01:58 PM
David McCallum was 90
by F4UDash4. 09/26/23 01:34 AM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0