Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#2652240 - 01/14/09 10:52 AM Remembering Air warrior online -- anyone remember it? *****  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Bledfin
Unregistered

I'm so out of touch with the sim genre. Many years ago I remember admiring Kesmai's Air arrior, which was for me the epitome of online multiplayer air combat for WW2. I saw the SVGA version and was hooked - you were really part of a huge campaing.

Players flew fighters, bombers, drive tanks, anti aircraft guns (flakpanzers) and everyone could conduct huge assault and defence campaigns.

Air Warrior was closed down in 2001 after being purchased by News Corp.

Does anyone premember playing it? The game ran for close on 20 years or so.....

Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#2652604 - 01/14/09 10:38 PM Re: Remembering Air warrior online -- anyone remember it? [Re: ]  
Hardtale Offline
Hardtale  Offline

I started playing it on GEnie, then played it for years as it went from one service to the next (AOL, Gamestorm).

I have a lot of great memories from those days.

Many of the AW vets moved to Aces High and can still be found there playing today.

#2653198 - 01/15/09 10:03 PM Re: Remembering Air warrior online -- anyone remember it? [Re: Hardtale]  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Bledfin
Unregistered

thx HardTale ! I will go and look at Aces High. Great to hear the community somehow lived on.

#2660249 - 01/26/09 01:45 PM Re: Remembering Air warrior online -- anyone remember it? [Re: ]  
Talon Offline
Talon  Offline

Tampa, FL USA
My first online kill was a Spitfire from a P-51. I remember that kill like it was yesterday. My adrenalin was on overdrive during that fight as I realized I was fighting some "live' and not AI. Oh those GEnie days sure bring back memories.

--T

Support simulation in the classroom.
#2692454 - 03/17/09 04:28 AM Re: Remembering Air warrior online -- anyone remember it? [Re: ]  
ebud Offline
ebud  Offline

Orlando