Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 2 1 2
#2634250 - 12/15/08 10:06 AM Re: Just an idea...training... [Re: K6_Scorpion]  
Softball Offline
Softball  Offline

San Diego, CA, USA
Great idea Magnum, don't give up on your enthusiasm. I am really enjoying Black Shark so far, but it is really an eye opener (for me) in terms of a "study sim". When Falcon 4 first came out [1998?] I was extremely intimidated. I was completely lost and had to force myself to RTFM or else. I ended up giving up and left it to collect cobwebs until I had the patience to try it again. In 2001, I found an online squad "Wings of Fury" who flew Janes F-18 and Falcon 4 regularly. I was a pro with Janes F-18 so I fit right in there, but didn't give Falcon 4 a thought as I knew I would just embarrass myself. Thankfully, "Wings of Fury" at the time, had a virtual flight training school 2 nights a week for Falcon 4. I thought to myself, "maybe I can take advantage of this opportunity" and joined in on the virtual flight training schools for Falcon 4. After about a month of meeting up 2 nights a week and having a group of like minded simmers to talk to and learn from, I became a rather seasoned Falcon 4 pilot. If I did not meet this group of people, who took the time out of their life to teach me how to master Falcon 4, I would never have given such a tough "study sim" a chance.

Fast forward to 2008, and now we have Black Shark (THANK YOU ED!). I am having flashbacks of my Falcon 4 intimidation days. Black Shark is the "Falcon 4" of helicopter sims, hands down. I absolutely LOVE Black Shark, I have spent hours upon hours reading, printing, practicing take offs and landing, and reading some more how to fly this beast. After 4 days of attempting to get the hang of Black Shark, I am still as green as ever. I have yet to log a successful "safe" landing, but man it sure is worth trying.