Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#2624785 - 11/28/08 11:43 PM Force Feed Joysticks  
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 10
JSkellington Offline
Junior Member
JSkellington  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 10
First time poster.
Will this game work with force feed joysticks like the Saitek Evo? Will it offer any of the forces? I recall in Red Baron 3d it worked. You could feel a stall starting, etc ...

Thanks

JSkellington

Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#2624921 - 11/29/08 04:37 AM Re: Force Feed Joysticks [Re: JSkellington]  
Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 2,065
TailFlamer Offline
Member
TailFlamer  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2002
Posts: 2,065
Clearwater, Fl. USA
Hi and welcome SimHQ.

I feel sure it will work perfectly.


Scuderia Ferrari Marlboro
FIA Formula One World Championship
#2625014 - 11/29/08 12:14 PM Re: Force Feed Joysticks [Re: TailFlamer]  
Joined: May 2006
Posts: 1,235
tagTaken2 Offline
Member
tagTaken2  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2006
Posts: 1,235
Gone
I think there was a couple of hints earlier that they would look at it, but nothing concrete so far. I really hope so, I have MSFFB2 I'd love to keep using. The more old school the aircraft, the more useful ffb is.

#2625034 - 11/29/08 01:20 PM Re: Force Feed Joysticks [Re: tagTaken2]  
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 6,621
Mogster Offline
Hotshot
Mogster  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 6,621
England
IL2 has an excellent FF implementation, I'm hoping to see something similar from KOTS.


WAS C2D 8500 3.16ghz, 285gtx 1gb, 4gig ram, XP NOW Win7 64, I5 2500K, SSD, 8Gig ram, GTX 570
#2625044 - 11/29/08 02:18 PM Re: Force Feed Joysticks [Re: Mogster]  
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 393
=FB=VikS Offline
Member
=FB=VikS  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 393
I think i did answer it before, but again - no promises for release, but sure for add-onns.
Its all again just about time we have bofore release to finish all things up.


VikS
Flying BARANS Forever!
"All wool - to the front!"
www.barans.ru
www.riseofflight.com
#2625062 - 11/29/08 02:55 PM Re: Force Feed Joysticks [Re: =FB=VikS]  
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 6,621
Mogster Offline
Hotshot
Mogster  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 6,621
England
Yes we have talked about this before Viks, thanks for the reply though, I'm still hoping smile


WAS C2D 8500 3.16ghz, 285gtx 1gb, 4gig ram, XP NOW Win7 64, I5 2500K, SSD, 8Gig ram, GTX 570
#2625922 - 12/01/08 02:35 AM Re: Force Feed Joysticks [Re: Mogster]  
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 284
fearlesslds Offline
Member
fearlesslds  Offline
Member

Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 284
fayetteville
As I fly low overhead you'll get plenty of feedback from the handle of your trench digging shovel .bananadance

Last edited by fearlesslds; 12/01/08 02:43 AM.

scott hill
#2625951 - 12/01/08 03:55 AM Re: Force Feed Joysticks [Re: fearlesslds]  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Benny Moore
Unregistered


As someone who has flown real aircraft, I can speak with some authority when I say that Force Feedback joysticks are so unlike the real thing that they are actually worse than no force feedback.

#2625970 - 12/01/08 04:17 AM Re: Force Feed Joysticks [Re: ]  
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 1,532
Cold_Gambler Offline
Member
Cold_Gambler  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2007
Posts: 1,532
That's your view and you are entitled to it, Benny.

Clearly this is a matter on which some subjectivity is going to come into play.
I also have some experience (C-152, C-172 and crappy Royal Canadian Air Cadet glider Schweizer 2-22 and 2-33) and couldn't disagree more.

I think that the implementation of FFB in both Il2 and MSFS9 (don't have FSX) is quite good and I certainly hope the NeoQB team implement it from the beginning. If we have to wait for the first add-ons, I can live with it.


looks very modernishy-phoney-windows eighty-tabletty like

Asus P8P67 Pro Rev. 3.0 // i5 2500k @4.3 GHz with Noctua NH-D14 // nvidia gtx 780 // 8 GB DDR3 1600 //Win7 home 64 bit //450 GB VelociRaptor //Recon3D Champion
#2626070 - 12/01/08 11:51 AM Re: Force Feed Joysticks [Re: Cold_Gambler]  
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 13,363
Freycinet Offline
Veteran
Freycinet  Offline
Veteran

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 13,363
I wonder if it wouldn't be possible to ask Oleg politely and get the programming bit for FF... - I'm sure he wants to play this sim as much as the rest of us!


My Il-2 CoD movie web site: www.flightsimvids.com
#2626082 - 12/01/08 12:41 PM Re: Force Feed Joysticks [Re: ]  
Joined: May 2006
Posts: 1,235
tagTaken2 Offline
Member
tagTaken2  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2006
Posts: 1,235
Gone
Originally Posted By: Benny Moore
As someone who has flown real aircraft, I can speak with some authority when I say that Force Feedback joysticks are so unlike the real thing that they are actually worse than no force feedback.


That's not really the point, is it?

If we were concerned with the real thing, we'd shoot ourselves everytime the screen went black. The point is that a good FFB stick makes flight sims, particularly combat ones more playable for a number of people, and if it's possible I'd be delighted if RoF implemented FFB.

#2626104 - 12/01/08 01:25 PM Re: Force Feed Joysticks [Re: Freycinet]  
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 6,621
Mogster Offline
Hotshot
Mogster  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 6,621
England
Originally Posted By: Freycinet
I wonder if it wouldn't be possible to ask Oleg politely and get the programming bit for FF... - I'm sure he wants to play this sim as much as the rest of us!


yep

Thought the same myself, aren't Oleg's bunch in the same building or just accross the street? cheers


WAS C2D 8500 3.16ghz, 285gtx 1gb, 4gig ram, XP NOW Win7 64, I5 2500K, SSD, 8Gig ram, GTX 570
#2626112 - 12/01/08 01:39 PM Re: Force Feed Joysticks [Re: tagTaken2]  
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 10,618
Ming_EAF19 Offline
Babelfish Immune
Ming_EAF19  Offline
Babelfish Immune
Veteran

Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 10,618
London
Although RoF is not a direct clone of the licensed Il-2 engine, it's had some tweaks - the controllers' core routines would be the same under if it ain't broke rules

I can speak with some authority

Authority is something that's earned by virtue of one's words or deeds, authority is not something that one can simply claim.

Starting out with modest claims that most people agree with would be a start.

I'll go first.

A force-feedback stick's control authority is more or less realistic depending on the (virtual) plane one is flying I should think, and on the stick's sensitivity etc settings

Ming


'You are either a hater or you are not' Roman Halter
#2626122 - 12/01/08 02:04 PM Re: Force Feed Joysticks [Re: Ming_EAF19]  
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 155
WWTaco Offline
Member
WWTaco  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 155
West Virginia
Just hope my Cougar will work without any problems...


"Many men go fishing all of their lives without knowing that it is not fish they are after."
Henry David Thoreau
#2626129 - 12/01/08 02:19 PM Re: Force Feed Joysticks [Re: WWTaco]  
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 393
=FB=VikS Offline
Member
=FB=VikS  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 393
Originally Posted By: WWTaco
Just hope my Cougar will work without any problems...


its already work w/o problems, as CH, Saitek and other stuff smile


VikS
Flying BARANS Forever!
"All wool - to the front!"
www.barans.ru
www.riseofflight.com
#2626130 - 12/01/08 02:20 PM Re: Force Feed Joysticks [Re: WWTaco]  
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 3,380
FlyRetired Offline
Senior Member
FlyRetired  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 3,380
Instead of force-feedback, maybe what we'll need force lock-up!

Seriously though, I wouldn't be surprised if at high speed, which some of these aircraft we capable of in a dive (est. 280 mph in an SE5a), that force will approach the proverbial stiffened stick for sure (of the controls gentlemen).

A butt-kicker peripheral could also be added for that pucker factor.

#2626146 - 12/01/08 02:53 PM Re: Force Feed Joysticks [Re: Freycinet]  
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 131
PourleMerite Offline
Member
PourleMerite  Offline
Member

Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 131
Gotta have force-feedback.

#2626177 - 12/01/08 03:43 PM Re: Force Feed Joysticks [Re: PourleMerite]  
Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 24,584
Dart Offline
Measured in Llamathrusts
Dart  Offline
Measured in Llamathrusts
Lifer

Joined: Sep 2001
Posts: 24,584
Alabaster, AL USA
The key to force feedback always comes down to refining the settings.

My one foray into force feedback started out as a very negative experience, as the factory defaults were too exaggerated. I toned it down and it was just fine in translating some of the cues of flight.

I suspect that Benny's experience with it was the same one I had out of the box. Gambler probably had his stick adjusted down to a more reasonable setting.

In the end it was sort of like a gimmick to me, and I didn't replace it with another forced feedback stick when it died.


The opinions of this poster are largely based on facts and portray a possible version of the actual events.

More dumb stuff at http://www.darts-page.com

From Laser:
"The forum is the place where combat (real time) flight simulator fans come to play turn based strategy combat."
#2626209 - 12/01/08 04:27 PM Re: Force Feed Joysticks [Re: Dart]  
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 10,618
Ming_EAF19 Offline
Babelfish Immune
Ming_EAF19  Offline
Babelfish Immune
Veteran

Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 10,618
London
MS ForceEdit is around for tweaking the impact of the shuttering cracks on concrete runways for example, allows editing of the dot ffe files in the ForceFeedback folder

Ming


'You are either a hater or you are not' Roman Halter
#2626245 - 12/01/08 05:23 PM Re: Force Feed Joysticks [Re: Ming_EAF19]  
Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 6,621
Mogster Offline
Hotshot
Mogster  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Jan 2002
Posts: 6,621
England
There's also that useful stop gap utility knocking about that turns your MSFF2 into a normal self centre stick if things go pear shaped smile

Meant for Sidewinder wheels but works with sticks as well.

http://www.tocaedit.com/forum/dload.php?action=category&cat_id=33


WAS C2D 8500 3.16ghz, 285gtx 1gb, 4gig ram, XP NOW Win7 64, I5 2500K, SSD, 8Gig ram, GTX 570
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  Avimimus, RacerGT, Wklink 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
CATS... IN... SPACE...
by Chef. 09/25/20 11:01 AM
Flight Testing In The Real World
by bolox. 09/23/20 12:42 PM
MEN ARE JUST HAPPIER PEOPLE
by NoFlyBoy. 09/22/20 11:06 PM
U.S. Space Force funny gaffe
by NoFlyBoy. 09/22/20 02:20 AM
Microsoft have bought Bethesda
by WangoTango. 09/21/20 02:23 PM
Death Stranding
by Chucky. 09/21/20 11:49 AM
The most compelling anti-heroes?
by PanzerMeyer. 09/21/20 03:55 AM
didn't know they did this to airplanes.
by NoFlyBoy. 09/21/20 02:20 AM
B-25 Damaged in Crash Landing
by F4UDash4. 09/20/20 04:48 PM
I will be on vacation
by NoFlyBoy. 09/19/20 05:57 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0