Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#2540391 - 06/27/08 01:11 PM Preserving app installs when reinstalling WinXP  
Dozer Offline
Dozer  Offline

Hello SimHQ, can anyone help me? I'm not experienced in OS installation...

My graphics card died last November, and in the course of replacing it I've also needed to replace the mainboard, CPU, and PSU, and find a soundcard with a gameport. And reinstall WinXP.

I copied to an external hard drive, the entire HDD which WinXP was installed on. I'm about to reformat and partition that drive and make a fresh WinXP install. Is there any way of avoiding needing to reinstall all the applications? Is it possible to recreate registry entries or copy them from the old WinXP installation?

I can't boot WinXP, because I've already replaced the mainboard/CPU - right now I'm using Linux from a liveCD.

Also is it possible to partition a drive as part of the WinXP installation - or do I need to do it some other way? Can Linux create NTFS partitions, or can I just create a partition in any format and then reformat it as NTFS using WinXP? I'm going to keep the OS in its own exclusive partition and keep all other data seperate, from now on - how much space should I set aside for WinXP? I'm installing onto a 60GB drive which I plan to partition.

Thanks!

Dozer
Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#2540560 - 06/27/08 04:45 PM Re: Preserving app installs when reinstalling WinXP [Re: Dozer]  
speedbump Offline
Hotshot
speedbump  Offline
Hotshot

Edgewood TX
The smallest partition I would install XP to is 20Gb. I know some games don't require registry entries to work. That's the killer on what you are wanting to do.

Like all the different versions of Il2, Forgotten Battles and the like. Just burn the folder or copy the folder that Il2:FB is installed in. Then after XP install, just copy it back. I know it works because I've done it. Then just make a shortcut to the executable on your desktop.