Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#2446886 - 02/12/08 05:11 PM Building a F/A-18 cockpit  
VMF-Blaze_UG Offline
VMF-Blaze_UG  Offline

New York Metro Area
I'm actually new to this sight... finally after all of these years my interest has piqued regarding the mystique surrounding Jane's F/A-18...
I really think that your sight is well organised and very interesting to say the least...
I've actually spent a number of years in the Lock On web sight...

So just recently I've been again toying with the idea building a simpit...
I had been following some of the viper builds, but since I was in the US Marine Corps Air Wing my attention has gravitated to this forum...

The first step for me, I decided was to build a Aces II ejection seat, so I began to look more closely at the seats that the F-16 guys had done... I then realized that there is a lot of small differences between the two seats..
I was actually looking into purchasing a kit from Stang but was show the error of my ways by Ghost (and just in the nick of time I might add..)

So time was not wasted anyway because between the photos of Stangs kit and Red Dogs build I think that I have enough of an idea how to put the parts together for mine ... And one other very important tool is that I have the NAVAIRS for the Hornet Aces II seat, this will enable me to make an authentic seat with all of the detail that I think is necessary...Even the rocket motor if I so choose :D.. Just kidding ......

Also one other good thing is that my Bother IN Law is an upholsterer and can make the seat cushions ...

So now I'm trying to find a copy of Janes F-18, after viewing the movies at the beginning of this forum (which are excellent by the way)... I find it appears to be a little more advanced then Falcon 4...

I hopeing to get to know you guys, and I'm sure that they'll be some very interesting events to look forward to in the future ...

~S~

Blaze

Last edited by VMF-Blaze_UG; 02/13/08 03:40 AM.