Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#2329424 - 09/01/07 04:37 PM Red Baron 2 as free download on german Sierra site  
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,105
Heini von Seppel Offline
Member
Heini von Seppel  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 1,105
Cologne, Germoney
Sorry if this is already known.
Look here:

http://www.sierra.com/de/home/games/game...orm-global.html

A 268MB download.

The site also states that there will be a new arcade version out this autumn with 21 aircraft with highly detailed graphics.

Sadly my original installation on a 3.0 CPU runs much too fast, otherwise I would give RB another go.

Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#2329692 - 09/02/07 03:05 AM Re: Red Baron 2 as free download on german Sierra site [Re: Heini von Seppel]  
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,428
Skiddmark Offline
Member
Skiddmark  Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,428
Glenville WV USA
They are releasing a small scale version of RB as a phone vid game called "Red Baron".
They show a picture of the RB3D box art but that's not what you get.


Computer = PHENOMX3
MOBO: ASUS M4A78 Plus
OS = Microsoft Windows XP SP3 Home Edition (5.1,build 2600)
Processor = AMD 8750 triple core 2.4GHz
RAM = 3328 MB
DX 9.0c
Nvidia GeForce GS 250, 512MB
Realtek HD audio
Disk Drives:
Floppy's: D: HL-DT-ST DVDRRW GSA-H21L, E: ASUS CD-S480/A5
HD's: C:ST3250310AS 250Gb
F: Maxtor 6L250S0 250Gb
H: SM_USB20 flash drive 4Gb
Monitor: Proscan 32" LCD TV in VGA mode.
#2329824 - 09/02/07 10:15 AM Re: Red Baron 2 as free download on german Sierra site [Re: Skiddmark]  
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 380
Airway Offline
=FI=Squadron
Airway  Offline
=FI=Squadron
Member

Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 380
Germany
You can patch the downloadable version as Heini von Seppel stated to Red Baron 3 D if you apply the Red Baron Superpatch, available here:

ftp://ftp.sierra.com/pub/patches/pc/rb3d_spr.exe

It includes the glide patch and so from then on you can play Red Baron 3D in Glide and 1024 x 768 resolution.

#2330338 - 09/03/07 08:58 AM Re: Red Baron 2 as free download on german Sierra site [Re: Airway]  
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 500
v.Deutschmark Offline
Member
v.Deutschmark  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 500
Germany
(S!) ALL hi ;-)


Ok all I have come up with a readme for installing this RB2 DE zip;

1 , download the RB2 DE zip
Download RB2;
http://www.sierra.com/de/home/games/game...ames-12115.html
And set it up in a folder any folder that you make, mien was called RB2,
Open the folder and find the ( AUTORUN EXE ) this will setup RB2 on
Your PC C drive correctly and will be a full install of RB2 in German,


2 , Then download and add to the install of RB2 that is now on your C drive
The RB3D super patch exe in English, this will now give your RB2 and
Upgrade to RB3D and in 98 % English,
Download RB3D upgrade;.
ftp://ftp.sierra.com/pub/sierra/redbaron3d/updates/
Note you will also need the 1078 patch that is there at the end of this install,

3 , Download the RB3D fix from Flyberts website here;
http://redbaronplayers.net/multiplay2.htm
And add that to your now RB3D game, this will make your RB3D game up
To a full RB3D CD value also read what is said at the page when you
Download this.

4 , now install the 1078 patch that you have downloaded from step 2,
This is so you will see the servers.

Now you will have on your C drive a full RB3D compatible with RB3D CD
And at this point you can add any other RB enhancements to your game.

Enjoy! ;-)



Cold War website;
http://home.hetnet.nl/~lord.e.frauenfelder/
your friend in the Cold War sky
KoA v. Deutschmark


Last edited by v.Deutschmark; 09/03/07 09:00 AM.
#2330540 - 09/03/07 04:43 PM Re: Red Baron 2 as free download on german Sierra site [Re: v.Deutschmark]  
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 27
8watts Offline
Junior Member
8watts  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 27
This is great! My cd is scratched beyond repair an I coud not get myself to buy one on ebay for $40.00.

I need help though. I keep getting a message saying "RedBaron 3D cd is missing" so I can't start the game.

I suspect I'm missing something in the multiplay2 patch.

I have followed Deutchmark's instructions to the best of my knowledge.

#2330565 - 09/03/07 05:34 PM Re: Red Baron 2 as free download on german Sierra site [Re: 8watts]  
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 839
Laser Offline
Member
Laser  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 839

Click 6 times on the right upper cross on the missing cd dialog.

Regarding multiplayer, if you applied the 1078 patch and you don't see servers, edit mplayer.ini in main RB directory, and

1. comment the west server (place // in front of line)
2. uncomment the east server (remove front //)

Gabi/Laser

#2330650 - 09/03/07 08:04 PM Re: Red Baron 2 as free download on german Sierra site [Re: Laser]  
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 27
8watts Offline
Junior Member
8watts  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 27
thanks i will try that

#2330858 - 09/04/07 03:39 AM Re: Red Baron 2 as free download on german Sierra site [Re: Heini von Seppel]  
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 78
PAW1 Offline
Junior Member
PAW1  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 78
Heini von Seppel, you have just made me a very happy man.

And all you who posted the upgrades stuff... well... ditto.

Cheers (gonna go tinker with it now)

#2331206 - 09/04/07 06:39 PM Re: Red Baron 2 as free download on german Sierra site [Re: PAW1]  
Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 1,043
XabbaRus Offline
Member
XabbaRus  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2000
Posts: 1,043
Got it. Menus are in German but most is in Englsih, wonder if that could be changed with being sent the english menu gifs.

Also Joystick is really sensitive, can't see how I can fix that. Also where if the Full Canvas Jacket site. Seems to have gone.

#2331354 - 09/04/07 09:35 PM Re: Red Baron 2 as free download on german Sierra site [Re: XabbaRus]  
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,961
FastCargo Offline
Member
FastCargo  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,961
Got it to work first time with Glidewrapper even!

Didn't do the multiplayer stuff...not interested in that. But cool!

Thanks for the info!

FastCargo

#2332144 - 09/06/07 01:34 AM Re: Red Baron 2 as free download on german Sierra site [Re: XabbaRus]  
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,428
Skiddmark Offline
Member
Skiddmark  Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,428
Glenville WV USA
Originally Posted By: XabbaRus
Got it. Menus are in German but most is in Englsih, wonder if that could be changed with being sent the english menu gifs.

Also Joystick is really sensitive, can't see how I can fix that. Also where if the Full Canvas Jacket site. Seems to have gone.

FCJ is no longer available unless you get it from someone who will mail you a burned CD.
I don't have it.
Check out the sticky post ".....UOP links" at top of Forum for more info.
The "First Aid Kit" from WoV MAY help with the joystick speed.
http://www.wings-of-valor.net/


Computer = PHENOMX3
MOBO: ASUS M4A78 Plus
OS = Microsoft Windows XP SP3 Home Edition (5.1,build 2600)
Processor = AMD 8750 triple core 2.4GHz
RAM = 3328 MB
DX 9.0c
Nvidia GeForce GS 250, 512MB
Realtek HD audio
Disk Drives:
Floppy's: D: HL-DT-ST DVDRRW GSA-H21L, E: ASUS CD-S480/A5
HD's: C:ST3250310AS 250Gb
F: Maxtor 6L250S0 250Gb
H: SM_USB20 flash drive 4Gb
Monitor: Proscan 32" LCD TV in VGA mode.
#2332638 - 09/06/07 06:33 PM Re: Red Baron 2 as free download on german Sierra site [Re: Skiddmark]  
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 33
Harvester Offline
Junior Member
Harvester  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 33
I could have sworn that the (legal) free download of RB has been around for a while. I can't place the details at the moment though....

#2332745 - 09/06/07 09:30 PM Re: Red Baron 2 as free download on german Sierra site [Re: Harvester]  
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 500
v.Deutschmark Offline
Member
v.Deutschmark  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 500
Germany
(S!) ALL hi ;-)


From Harvester ( I could have sworn that the (legal) free download of
RB has been around for a while.)

Not of RB2 & RB3D, not legal ones anyways
But RB1 the old dose game yes, that you can get as a download from a few sites.




Cold War website;
http://home.hetnet.nl/~lord.e.frauenfelder/
your friend in the Cold War sky
KoA v. Deutschmark

#2334346 - 09/09/07 08:49 PM Re: Red Baron 2 as free download on german Sierra site [Re: v.Deutschmark]  
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 548
Toadvine Offline
Member
Toadvine  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 548
Seattle
I have DL the original Red Baron but I have never been able to get it to run on my XP rig. I would really like to try the game out.

#2334611 - 09/10/07 07:56 AM Re: Red Baron 2 as free download on german Sierra site [Re: Toadvine]  
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 500
v.Deutschmark Offline
Member
v.Deutschmark  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 500
Germany
(S!) ALL hi ;-)


@ Toadvine, you need to run it in dose with a dose prompt box,
Go to the Sierra link in this thread and look at the top you will
See ( Forums ) go to forums and look for (Sierra classics ) go
In that forum and put a post if you have to, but there is info
There about running old dose games on XP, but dont be shocked
When you see the old RB1 you will say to yourself,
( I cant believe this was the beginning of RB2 & RB3D. )




RB3D Cold War website;
http://home.hetnet.nl/~lord.e.frauenfelder/
your friend in the Cold War sky
KoA v. Deutschmark

#2335099 - 09/10/07 11:30 PM Re: Red Baron 2 as free download on german Sierra site [Re: v.Deutschmark]  
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 548
Toadvine Offline
Member
Toadvine  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 548
Seattle
Originally Posted By: v.Deutschmark
(S!) ALL hi ;-)


@ Toadvine, you need to run it in dose with a dose prompt box,
Go to the Sierra link in this thread and look at the top you will
See ( Forums ) go to forums and look for (Sierra classics ) go
In that forum and put a post if you have to, but there is info
There about running old dose games on XP, but dont be shocked
When you see the old RB1 you will say to yourself,
( I cant believe this was the beginning of RB2 & RB3D. )

Oh I have seen it. I played it for a very short time back when I was using Win 98. Since XP though I have never been able to get it to run. But thanks for the tips I will try them out.




RB3D Cold War website;
http://home.hetnet.nl/~lord.e.frauenfelder/
your friend in the Cold War sky
KoA v. Deutschmark

#2336095 - 09/12/07 07:40 AM Re: Red Baron 2 as free download on german Sierra site [Re: FastCargo]  
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 40
Flybert Offline
WingWalkers Staff
Flybert  Offline
WingWalkers Staff
Junior Member

Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 40
California
yes, the menus can be changed by putting the english textures in Simpatch

I could get that together for MMP rather quickly, sure I have those ... need to do this to *fix* DeutchMark's ColdWar MMP anyway (where I'd place them in Multi)

Not so sure I have all the rbshell.vol textures, I see I have all the screens, aces, hanger screens, insignias, have every .dat and other odd file, but frankly don't see quickly that I have any menu buttons from rbshell.vol, where they would be for SP ... Rens might have them, the only person I know that actually extracted all the files from rbshell.vol

#2336096 - 09/12/07 07:46 AM Re: Red Baron 2 as free download on german Sierra site [Re: Flybert]  
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 40
Flybert Offline
WingWalkers Staff
Flybert  Offline
WingWalkers Staff
Junior Member

Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 40
California
and ...

why hasn't this been released in English on the North American site ?!?

NO reference to Red Baron at all searching the Sierra.com site, hasn't been for years, even though the original Red Baron and all the official patched for RBII / RB3D are on the Sierra ftp sites

#2336100 - 09/12/07 08:12 AM Re: Red Baron 2 as free download on german Sierra site [Re: Flybert]  
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 500
v.Deutschmark Offline
Member
v.Deutschmark  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 500
Germany
(S!) ALL hi ;-)


@ Flybert,the reason you are seeing this download of RB2 at
A German Sierra website and no where else is because of the
New movie ( Red Baron ) they are in court over the name
With Vivendi here in Germany, so Vivendi to make their clime a
Little stronger put up this download to show they own the rights to the
Name Red Baron and have for some time, hans the free download
Of RB2 from German Sierra/ Vivendi website, so get it wile you can!
Because once litigations is over Vivendi probably will take the download
Down and it may be a good long wile till we see a legal download of
RB2 & RB3D again , if ever.





RB3D Cold War website;
http://home.hetnet.nl/~lord.e.frauenfelder/
your friend in the Cold War sky
KoA v. Deutschmark

#2336981 - 09/13/07 12:10 PM Re: Red Baron 2 as free download on german Sierra site [Re: v.Deutschmark]  
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 1,334
Greybeard Offline
Member
Greybeard  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2004
Posts: 1,334
Italy
My (unsolicited) opinion is that those guys at Vivendi are a bunch of .... (please fill with a proper definition).

They fight legally for having patented what should be IMHO not allowed to be patented; he is an historical character, commonly known like Julius Caesar or Jesus Christ: you can't "patent" him.

In the meantime they aren't aware that their old game still rocks (e.g.: more than 200 downloads of WFP in twelve days!) and they could get much more money restoring its selling as is or with current UOPs, not to mention an upgrade to nowadays graphics standard!

GB

#2337166 - 09/13/07 04:08 PM Re: Red Baron 2 as free download on german Sierra site [Re: Greybeard]  
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 415
LE Heureux Offline
Red Baron ESC 124
LE Heureux  Offline
Red Baron ESC 124
Member

Joined: May 2001
Posts: 415
NE Colorado USA
Oh, they are aware it has a following. They've even had offers to buy them out. Flybert probably has the details. IIRC it was from his posts that I learned most about the sad history of this beloved game.

I think the problem is that Vivendi is not inclined to waste their time on something unless the profit is significant and the details simple. My brother in law works for one of the US Agr-business giants and he's told me they will sell off/liquidate/whatever even a profitable subsidiary if they can make more money more easily elsewhere.


Au revoir en l'air...S!
Hex
#2337524 - 09/14/07 12:00 AM Re: Red Baron 2 as free download on german Sierra site [Re: LE Heureux]  
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 13,341
Col. Gibbon Offline
A nobody
Col. Gibbon  Offline
A nobody
Veteran

Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 13,341
Hi All.

I thought you guys had the source code for RB, or how did the RB Promised Land mod ever get done?
Sorry for the silly question.

I have a copy of RB 3D, which I've only loaded a few times, but I never really got into it. I'm always to busy with EAW mods, to play any of the other Sims I have. \:\(

I've also seen the Promised Land mod available on most of the P to P sites, but I've never had the time to download it. I mention it because I saw someone was looking for a download for it.


Supports EAW 1.29.exe, Drop in and Play Technology. wink

1.29 download
#2337637 - 09/14/07 07:32 AM Re: Red Baron 2 as free download on german Sierra site [Re: Col. Gibbon]  
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 1,334
Greybeard Offline
Member
Greybeard  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2004
Posts: 1,334
Italy
Hi Colonel and welcome to RB forum on SimHQ.

No, we don't have RB code, it has been almost surely lost forever when Vivendi bought Sierra. The trick, very similar of that of EAW, is RB search first in "Simpatch" folder for files and then extract them from .VOL ones, which are like .CDF in EAW. We just modify files that are even easier in case of texture, since simple .BMP.

You should try it, better after having patched it with the easiest, "one-click" UOP available which is Hell's Angels Super Patch, to make yourself aware of what waste of time is WWI mod in EAW, while there's already a much better one, with characteristics that EAW can't never have, like mission random generation and single aircraft texturing.

GB

#2338435 - 09/15/07 09:33 AM Re: Red Baron 2 as free download on german Sierra site [Re: Greybeard]  
Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 13,341
Col. Gibbon Offline
A nobody
Col. Gibbon  Offline
A nobody
Veteran

Joined: Jun 2001
Posts: 13,341
This is where you will find a link to the FCJ patch, just in case anyone is looking for it. \:\)

http://www.figator.com/search/red+baron/10:10:ad:3,11,15,20,39,41,43,44,55

Thanks Greybeard, for the info on RB. As fow the WWI mod of EAW, this is a bit out of my control now. It started as a bit of a joke, just to see how far I could go building a new 3dz. ;\)


Supports EAW 1.29.exe, Drop in and Play Technology. wink

1.29 download
#2338507 - 09/15/07 01:43 PM Re: Red Baron 2 as free download on german Sierra site [Re: FastCargo]  
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 415
LE Heureux Offline
Red Baron ESC 124
LE Heureux  Offline
Red Baron ESC 124
Member

Joined: May 2001
Posts: 415
NE Colorado USA
Keep the scratched CD as proof of purchase so you can possess copies from other sources without worry.
I tried to D/L the free German version for a similar reason - establish a right to share free copies. After hours downloading I got booted by a server reset. Damn dial-up!

Last edited by LE Heureux; 09/15/07 01:44 PM.

Au revoir en l'air...S!
Hex
#2343647 - 09/23/07 12:47 AM Re: Red Baron 2 as free download on german Sierra site [Re: Heini von Seppel]  
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 12
talmanh Offline
Junior Member
talmanh  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 12
Can Red Baron 2 be played in English from this download (Nostalgia and to see comparison to 3D)

#2344386 - 09/24/07 06:18 AM Re: Red Baron 2 as free download on german Sierra site [Re: talmanh]  
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 500
v.Deutschmark Offline
Member
v.Deutschmark  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 500
Germany
(S!) ALL hi ;-)

From talmanh, (Can Red Baron 2 be played in English from this download )

No! its only in German unless you upgrade to RB3D.



RB3D Cold War website;
http://home.hetnet.nl/~lord.e.frauenfelder/
your friend in the Cold War sky
KoA v. Deutschmark

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
April 8th Solar Eclipse
by NoFlyBoy. 03/03/24 11:40 PM
SimHQ TS down?
by Bohemond. 03/03/24 04:55 PM
'Shogun'; anybody?
by BD-123. 03/02/24 11:18 AM
Fighter ace causes of death
by PanzerMeyer. 02/27/24 06:46 PM
HMS Northumberland
by RedOneAlpha. 02/26/24 09:01 AM
Eagle Cams
by NoFlyBoy. 02/25/24 07:20 PM
For us old farts
by oldgrognard. 02/25/24 02:03 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0