Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#2264336 - 07/21/07 09:33 AM High Res Cockpits?  
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 5
U-Schultz Offline
Junior Member
U-Schultz  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 5
As an original RB3d owner I am getting back into it after a 3 year absence.

Really amazed by all the downloads improving terrain, sky, the UOPS, plane skins, etc, etc. Very impressive especially with the game cranked up on my new computer.

That being said there is one area of the game that the UOP's I have tried apparently are not touching and that is the cockpit. Quite a shocker after seeing how beautiful the rest of the game can be.

Anyone know of any "high-res" cockpits?

Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#2264890 - 07/22/07 02:44 AM Re: High Res Cockpits? [Re: U-Schultz]  
Joined: Sep 2002
Posts: 1,143
Birdbrain Offline
Member
Birdbrain  Offline
Member

Joined: Sep 2002
Posts: 1,143
Tallahassee, Florida
Cockpits have been improved in the Promised Land/Full Canvas Jacket, the Western Front, the Hell's Angels and I think the Revenge of the Jastas patches, as far as which instruments would normally have been available in various aircraft and a generally more realistic appearance. The only exception is that where clocks had been removed in the cause of realism, players asked to have them back. You have to have your Instruments preference set to Authentic to see the realistic cockpits.

As regards higher resolution cockpits, my understanding, according to Pat Wilson, builder of the Western Front Patch, is that the modeling in RB does not allow a higher resolution in the cockpits.

S!


As ever,
Birdbrain
#2265207 - 07/22/07 09:08 AM Re: High Res Cockpits? [Re: Birdbrain]  
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 5
U-Schultz Offline
Junior Member
U-Schultz  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 5
Well, that would explain it then...too bad!

Thanks for the information.

S!

#2265812 - 07/23/07 04:19 AM Re: High Res Cockpits? [Re: U-Schultz]  
Joined: Sep 2002
Posts: 1,143
Birdbrain Offline
Member
Birdbrain  Offline
Member

Joined: Sep 2002
Posts: 1,143
Tallahassee, Florida
The cockpit bitmaps are limited to something like 320x?, I think.


As ever,
Birdbrain
#2265868 - 07/23/07 06:54 AM Re: High Res Cockpits? [Re: Birdbrain]  
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 1,278
Greybeard Offline
Member
Greybeard  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2004
Posts: 1,278
Italy
Cockpits are really where RB should be thoroughly improved also in my opinion.

About HiRez, sure there are limits to size of bitmaps composing F1 view; perhaps some chance there is for F2, being a 3D (virtual cockpit), thus should benefit of property of bmps in RB to "fit" to wireframe model, like already done by some modder with HiRez external textures. I tried with just one... getting weird mirrored view \:\(

Anyway, many improvements could be done, also remaining LoRez: first, getting movable control surfaces, second correcting upper wing and its struts position in respect of cockpit, often too forth.

GB


Moderated by  RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Drug combo working. Covid. Dr Zelenko NYC hospital.
by TerribleTwo. 03/29/20 12:27 PM
HILARIOUS videos found on YouTube.
by NoFlyBoy. 03/28/20 09:59 PM
Stuka!
by RedToo. 03/28/20 04:56 PM
social distancing
by KraziKanuK. 03/27/20 07:30 PM
How to correctly wash your hands properly.
by NoFlyBoy. 03/25/20 12:58 PM
Humble Bundle Driving Deal
by F4UDash4. 03/25/20 11:00 AM
Myheritage colorize b/w photos free
by Chef. 03/24/20 06:11 PM
True HP of the 8 most powerful classic era muscle cars
by Crane Hunter. 03/23/20 05:54 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0