Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
#2143658 - 02/21/07 07:33 PM CNC Machinist - I can make these parts easy.  
Static Offline
Static  Offline

Detroit, Michigan
Hello all. I was browsing through the forums and I stumbled on this page. I am a CNC machinist with just over 20 years experience in the field. Making these panels out of sheet aluminum would be quite easy for me to do. Also I live next to the bone yard in Tucson AZ where they retire most of the Air Force planes. I have never looked into getting anything from the various companies that do demolition to the very old planes or if that is even possible. Anyways ... on to the machining.

First off .... Machining panels is what is considered 2 1/2 dimensional ( the cutter moves in the X Y axis whiles cutting and repositions using the up down Z axis occasionally. Simply put you slap a sheet down and hold it in some fashion. You load the program into the CNC (computer numerical control) machine to cut out the switch locations and cut your piece out. You would engrave the text accordingly and debur (file or smooth sharp edges).
Parts that are panels with text inscribed in them are quite easy to make. Time consuming for the first one but after that it is a simple as loading blanks onto the machine and pushing a start button.
After the panels are made you would want to coat them. I would recommend a professional coating. These can get expensive. There is a very vast market out there for coating aluminum. The company I work for has many parts we send out all the time for coating. I could get a price on coating some stuff with a lower end coating. Also there are very high quality paints out there that wound do fine. Some paints have a type of wrinkle finish when they dry. These may work in some scenarios. Coating is the last of our worries. Thant is the final step.