Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 7 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
#2142199 - 02/19/07 10:30 PM F-18 with no banding/AA slowdowns, XP and Vista!  
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 7
MikeRoz Offline
Junior Member
MikeRoz  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 7
Hi guys. After reading through pages and pages of posts on other forums, and wrestling to get this game running in both XP and Vista, I thought I'd share my experiences, since for me the process was time-consuming and required troubleshooting. This is not meant to be a replacement for the TSH Add-On Installation Guide, but is meant to supplement it.

Moderator's note: I have edited this post for clarity, correctness, and organization.
- Joe


Please note that this process requires the .NET framework. It is recommended that you utilize Windows Update to download all available versions of .NET and any applicable patches.

What you'll need:

A. A fresh install of F/A-18 from the CD.

B. The following items, obtained at the TSH website:
1.01F patch
TSHv1
F-18E Cockpit v2.0
Objects Package Part 1 Ver 1.6
Objects Pacakge Part 2 Ver 1.42
TSHv2 (if you own Jane's F-15)
TSHv3
DirectXTweaker 2005.2 Beta 1K

C. The latest updates to DirectX.
DirectXTweaker requires at least the June 2006 update to the DirectX 9.0c runtime. It is best to just download the latest version available. You can do this here at the Microsoft website.



Procedure
1. Install F/A-18 from the CD. If you're running Vista, you'll need to run the install as an administrator.

2. Install the 1.01F patch from the TSH website. If you're running Vista, you'll need to run the install as an administrator.

3. Run the executable for TSHv1. I can't stress this enough, if you're running Vista, you'll need to run the program as an administrator. Right click on the executable and click "Run as Administrator." If you don't, your files will go into the black hole Vista has for files you try to write to places you aren't authorized to.

4. Run TSHv1 (as an administrator if you're in Vista!) click on the package button, and use the dialog box to find the cockpit zip file you just downloaded.

5. Repeat the above for the Objects Package Part 1 Ver 1.6 .zip file.

6. Repeat the above for the Objects Package Part 2 Ver 1.42 .zip file.

7. Check the boxes for Objects Package Part 1 v1.6, Objects Package Part 2 v1.42, and the F-18 Cockpit v2.0. Click Apply.

8. Install TSHv2 per the instructions in the TSHv2 readme.

9. Extract the contents of the TSHv3 archive to the FA-18 folder.

10. Navigate in Windows Explorer to your /FA-18 folder in Program Files. Right click on the F18.exe executable, and click properties. Go to the compatibility tab, and set it to Windows 2000 compatibility mode. If you're in Vista, check "Run this program as an administrator."

11. Run the DirectX update process if you have not yet done so.

12. Extract the contents of the DirectXTweaker zip to a folder called DXTweaker inside your FA-18 directory. If you're in Vista, right click the DXTControl.exe executable you extracted, click properties, go to compatibility, and check "Run as an Administrator."

13. Run the DXTControl.exe executable. If you're in Vista, and the window looks all black, you may have to close it, turn off Aero. (right click on the desktop, click personalize, click classic appearance properties, click windows classic, and click apply. Don't worry, you can turn Aero back on when we're done here.)

14. Click the New button. Click on the ellipsis by the Path box, and find your F18.exe executable in your FA-18 folder.

15. On the DirectX 9 tab, all boxes should be checked and the drop-down box should say "Default". On the DirectX 8 tab, make sure the box is checked. Same for the legacy tab. On the Options tab, Forward Hook should be checked. The other two boxes should NOT be checked.

16. Click on "Modules to load." Scroll down to and click on "Present Changer." Check the box next to "Present Changer."

17. Leave Width, Height, and Count blank. Format should read A8R8G8B8. Z-Buffer should read "Application." Type should read Application. Quality should be blank, as should Refresh Rate. Set V-Sync to "Off" and Swap to "Application."

18. Go back up to Projects, and click start. Congratulations! You should be able to enjoy FA-18 with a res of up to 1600x1200 and no lag when using AA and switching to Air-to-Air master mode!

Let me know if you encounter any problems, as I easily may have missed something.

Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#2142675 - 02/20/07 04:36 PM Re: F-18 with no banding/AA slowdowns, XP and Vista! [Re: MikeRoz]  
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 17,733
Joe Offline
Veteran
Joe  Offline
Veteran

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 17,733
Bridgewater, NJ
Thanks Mike, very helpful. I have one (major) issue. You say (paraphrasing at some points)

Originally Posted By: MikeRoz
Install of F/A-18 from the CD, patch to 1.01F, install TSHv1.

Now extract the contents of the TSHv3 archive to the FA-18 folder.

Run TSHv1, and Apply the following packages: Objects Package Part 1 v1.6, Objects Package Part 2 (any version), F-18 Cockpit V2.0, and TSH Hi-Res patch V1.2.
This is incorrect. The process you just described has overwritten the TSHv3 executable, which is Bad.

You should not Apply the TSHv1 Hi-res package, regardless of whether or not you do so before or after you install TSHv3. You should particularly not do if after, because the TSHv1 Hi-res package contains its own executable. Applying this package overwrites the existing executable, and if that executable is the TSHv3 executable, that's not good. TSHv3 provides the ability to select all of the resolutions that were available in any version of the TSHv1 Hi-res patch and then some (even higher than 1600x1200).


Go check your install and cross-reference it to the TSHv3 Manual. Following the procedure you have posted, I bet a lot of the TSHv3 functionality doesn't work.

#2142915 - 02/20/07 09:15 PM Re: F-18 with no banding/AA slowdowns, XP and Vista! [Re: Joe]  
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 7
MikeRoz Offline
Junior Member
MikeRoz  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 7
Fixed. Sorry about that - I really haven't had a chance to use any of the TSH features yet besides the higher resolutions.

This isn't meant as a replacement for the TSH install guide - I'm just throwing out there the process by which I got rid of the banding and slowdowns.

#2143478 - 02/21/07 03:35 PM Re: F-18 with no banding/AA slowdowns, XP and Vista! [Re: MikeRoz]  
Joined: May 2006
Posts: 233
The Norwegian Offline
Member
The Norwegian  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2006
Posts: 233
Norway
Originally Posted By: MikeRoz
Fixed. Sorry about that - I really haven't had a chance to use any of the TSH features yet besides the higher resolutions.

This isn't meant as a replacement for the TSH install guide - I'm just throwing out there the process by which I got rid of the banding and slowdowns.


Finally! Really looking forward to use 4*AA. Great work!

But does the HUD symbols still get blurry? And if so, whats the best resolution to use with 4*AA on a 19 CRT?


Core2 Duo 4400
2048 DDR2
HD 2900 PRO
Sharkoon-5,1 USB
Top Gun AfterburnerII
#2144257 - 02/22/07 02:40 PM Re: F-18 with no banding/AA slowdowns, XP and Vista! [Re: The Norwegian]  
Joined: May 2006
Posts: 233
The Norwegian Offline
Member
The Norwegian  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2006
Posts: 233
Norway
And it works beautifully

The only glitches I found are on the water, long black narrow lines.
The external (F8) view: The jet seems to jump just a little from side to side for the first second.
Occasional freezing of the application when using the mission builder.
I simply start FA-18E from the original shortcut and build missions there. I got one occasion of freezing here also, so Im not sure if this maybe is a general bug in XP/FA-18E?

And: The HUD fonts isnt blurry at all with 4*AA. (1280*960) with Large fonts in HUD activated.

I love this tweak, and Ill be flying FA-18E a lot more from now on.


Core2 Duo 4400
2048 DDR2
HD 2900 PRO
Sharkoon-5,1 USB
Top Gun AfterburnerII
#2144307 - 02/22/07 03:44 PM Re: F-18 with no banding/AA slowdowns, XP and Vista! [Re: The Norwegian]  
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 4,465
Bib4Tuna Offline
I will take you to Jabba
Bib4Tuna  Offline
I will take you to Jabba
Senior Member

Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 4,465
NC, USA
Not a big show stopper, but (for quite a while now with DXTweaker), keeps crashing the application on instant action. Oh well, I just play the single missions and campaign then.

Thanks to MikeRoz for refreshing these tweaks and updating them for Vista.

Last edited by Bib4Tuna; 02/23/07 03:13 AM.
#2145058 - 02/23/07 02:45 PM Re: F-18 with no banding/AA slowdowns, XP and Vista! [Re: Bib4Tuna]  
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 17,733
Joe Offline
Veteran
Joe  Offline
Veteran

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 17,733
Bridgewater, NJ
Yeah, that's a known bug. Unfortunately, the JF-18 community was never provided with a fully working version of DXTweaker.


I've been meaning to make a thread like this for a while. Mike, do you mind, if I later find some time to add content here (pics and such), if I edit your top post?

#2146832 - 02/26/07 02:13 PM Re: F-18 with no banding/AA slowdowns, XP and Vista! [Re: Joe]  
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,125
Dirk98 Offline
Member
Dirk98  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,125
Joe, basically that sounds to me as a summary (excluding Vista part) of what was particularized and discussed in that long long DXT thread. Thanks to MikeRoz for bringing it up in one capsule piece.

#2147206 - 02/26/07 10:20 PM Re: F-18 with no banding/AA slowdowns, XP and Vista! [Re: Dirk98]  
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 576
Xander Fulton Offline
Member
Xander Fulton  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 576
Portland, OR
This 'DirectXTweaker' seems like a handy program.

Anyone know if this works in other games? Say, DW?

#2150973 - 03/04/07 04:39 AM Re: F-18 with no banding/AA slowdowns, XP and Vista! [Re: Xander Fulton]  
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 17,733
Joe Offline
Veteran
Joe  Offline
Veteran

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 17,733
Bridgewater, NJ
This is a sticky for now. I will polish it up later with pictures and such.

#2162541 - 03/18/07 12:10 PM Re: F-18 with no banding/AA slowdowns, XP and Vista! [Re: MikeRoz]  
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 33
Joe Airwolf Offline
Junior Member
Joe Airwolf  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 33
Mike,
First and foremost, thank you very much for the upgrades. I appreciate the work that went into this.
I have one problem I hope you can help with.
I use the Saitek x-45 contoller. There is a LONG lag between a joystick keypress and the function being performed.
I ran the DXT controller, and that seemed to go well, but I still have the lag. I wonder if the problem is in the Juni update. It downloaded and unzipped to the f18 folder. However, I couldn't open it to run it, as I can't find it! Basically, I'm asking I need to do something with Juni, or does it autorun when you unzip it.
If I do have to do something, what do I do and how do I find it? If not, then do you have any ideas?
Again, thank you very much for the work that went into this.
Joe

#2163075 - 03/19/07 02:45 AM Re: F-18 with no banding/AA slowdowns, XP and Vista! [Re: Joe Airwolf]  
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 17,733
Joe Offline
Veteran
Joe  Offline
Veteran

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 17,733
Bridgewater, NJ
Controller lag can usually be remedied by changing the executable priority. Either use THSv3, or
- start JF-18
- ALT+TAB to the desktop
- press CTL+ATL+DEL
- select the Processes tab
- right click on F18.exe
- lower the priority

#2163988 - 03/20/07 02:03 AM Re: F-18 with no banding/AA slowdowns, XP and Vista! [Re: Joe]  
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 33
Joe Airwolf Offline
Junior Member
Joe Airwolf  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 33
Thanks, Joe,that did it.
Question: you said "use tsh v3 OR start jf18. " I go in through jf18, but when I click to fly the mission, the tshv3 logo page appears before the mission starts. Is there another, perhaps better way into v3?
Thanks!

#2164308 - 03/20/07 01:58 PM Re: F-18 with no banding/AA slowdowns, XP and Vista! [Re: Joe Airwolf]  
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 17,733
Joe Offline
Veteran
Joe  Offline
Veteran

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 17,733
Bridgewater, NJ
I just meant that if you use TSHv3, you have a Manager where you can select the priority before you start the game. If you do this the executable will start with the selected priority every time.

If you don't have TSHv3 then you have to ALT+TAB everytime you start JF-18 in order to change the priority.

#2164558 - 03/20/07 07:59 PM Re: F-18 with no banding/AA slowdowns, XP and Vista! [Re: Joe]  
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 304
virus Offline
Member
virus  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2001
Posts: 304
Italy
but it is possible to install also the iraq paq?


Vincent "Virus" DThe

#2164608 - 03/20/07 09:26 PM Re: F-18 with no banding/AA slowdowns, XP and Vista! [Re: virus]  
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 17,733
Joe Offline
Veteran
Joe  Offline
Veteran

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 17,733
Bridgewater, NJ
Sure, just install it before TSHv3. Follow the instructions in the Add-On Installation Guide linked in my sig.

#2166431 - 03/22/07 09:37 PM Re: F-18 with no banding/AA slowdowns, XP and Vista! [Re: Joe]  
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,971
EricJ Offline
Me, just me.
EricJ  Offline
Me, just me.
Member

Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,971
Baltimore, MD
Well I seem to be missing something, as I can navigate around the shell, but when I go to fly, I get a CTD when it's starting to load the mission. Something I'm missing? I've done everything at the start of this topic, so I'm scratching my head on this one...


|My Books | Home Page | http://562.combatace.com/ |
- 'Nearly everyone felt the need to express their views on all wars to me, starting with mine. I found myself thinking, I ate the crap sandwich, you didnt, so please dont tell me how it tastes.' - CPT Cole, US Army
- "...parade ground soldiers always felt that way (contempt) about killers in uniform." -Counting The Cost, Hammer's Slammers
#2167629 - 03/24/07 03:45 AM Re: F-18 with no banding/AA slowdowns, XP and Vista! [Re: EricJ]  
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 17,733
Joe Offline
Veteran
Joe  Offline
Veteran

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 17,733
Bridgewater, NJ
Eric,

Ignore this topic for the moment and follow the TSH Add-On Installation Guide in my sig until things are working.

#2168599 - 03/25/07 04:03 PM Re: F-18 with no banding/AA slowdowns, XP and Vista! [Re: Joe]  
Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 70
Rainhilf Offline
Junior Member
Rainhilf  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 70
Buende, Germany
Really good.
Works great with my ATI X1950 graphic board under XP SP2.
Full Antialiasing, no slowdowns in AA-Mode, and clear, good readable HUD-Fonts.
TSH3-Installation.
Only little grid lines in the water are visible, but not so disturbing for me.

#2171357 - 03/28/07 05:29 PM Re: F-18 with no banding/AA slowdowns, XP and Vista! [Re: Rainhilf]  
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 33
Joe Airwolf Offline
Junior Member
Joe Airwolf  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 33
Thanks, Joe,
Here's a question. How do you "turn off" the "wrap- around " cockpit view, like the virtual view in Jane's Apache Longbow.
For awhile I was getting a cleaner version of the original JF-18 view. Then I started getting the wrap-around. I have trouble reading the mfd's, so I prefer the "normal" view.
Thanks.

Page 1 of 7 1 2 3 4 5 6 7

Moderated by  RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
WW2 From the Frontlines
by wormfood. 12/10/23 05:20 AM
Ryan O'Neal (1941-2023)
by NoFlyBoy. 12/09/23 01:29 AM
December 7th.
by NoFlyBoy. 12/07/23 03:43 PM
Ok now this is hilarious
by PanzerMeyer. 12/06/23 06:40 PM
Day one, full stop
by DBond. 12/04/23 11:30 PM
How to defend yourself from cyberbullying?
by Greybeard. 12/04/23 07:45 AM
His Dark Materials season 3
by NH2112. 12/04/23 02:20 AM
"Napoleon" - My review
by PanzerMeyer. 12/03/23 03:25 AM
Hey hey
by Stormtrooper. 12/02/23 12:54 AM
Weapons thread
by Stormtrooper. 12/02/23 12:06 AM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0