Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#1775904 - 09/05/06 05:42 AM What the FAC????????  
pharoah1 Offline
pharoah1  Offline

Unknown
As i was initiating my first campaign, i wanted to try a simple mission, just to get acclimated with things. I selected a FAC mission. Seeing that you don't have to shoot anything, i thought this mission was simple enough for a rookie. As i got to the FAC area, i called to the AWAC crew "FAC IN". My problem was i could not vector any of my strike packages to the targets i selected. I soon was stalked by a MIG-19, i had some ground stores, so i jettisoned them and ran away(hey........i am a rookie give me a break!!). After another flight took care of the MIG, i tried to re-enter the FAC area. I could not access my ground radar. I hit the Backspace key, but only got my gun straffing mode. I could no longer select any ground targets for my attack packages and failed my mission. My questions are:

1)How do you select ground radar with no ground ordinance?

2)How do you call in targets to a attack package when on a FAC mission?

I tried scrolling through the different communication transmissions via the TAB button, but found nothing that would direct my attack package to a target.

Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#1775905 - 09/05/06 03:46 PM Re: What the FAC????????  
ericfa2a Offline
ericfa2a  Offline

France
Hi pahroah1 !! Welcome to Falcon AF !

1°) When you enter in A/G mode, the radar is slaved at your current weapon. As in FAC missions, you only have Rockets and Gun, the radar is in AGR mode to help you aim a ground target.
You must go in Nav mode and then select the GM or GMT radar mode.

2°) There is a doc in your Falcon 4 allied force / docs directory. It explains all you must know to success in FAC missions as the FAC or as the On-Call-CAS.
- Two things :