Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#1728858 - 03/11/06 06:47 PM The Low Down Dirty on Anthology and My System?  
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,169
Dusty Rhodes Offline
Hard, Fair, Play to WIN
Dusty Rhodes  Offline
Hard, Fair, Play to WIN
Member

Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,169
Southern Oregon
Got LB Anthology. I want to make it work on my system (listed below). Can one of you LB Guru's give me a step by step guide to installing Anthology so that it will work on my system (Or a link to an existing install guide for high end machines)? I can get a lower end system once a friend of mine decides to get her a laptop, but until then, all I have to work with is my system (P3 800 MHz machine is what she has).

Thanks very much in advance for help. If someone does make a comprehensive install guide for high end users, Mods, please make it a sticky as it seems that MANY people are reentering the Longbow world!

P.S. Griff will also use this install guide as he has the same system and we want to front/back seat MP.


Dusty Rhodes

Fight Fair! Fight to have fun! Fight to WIN!

Win 7 Pro, Intel i7 4790K OC'd to 4.6 Gigs, EVGA GTX Titan 6 GB Memory and ASUS GTX Titan 6 GB Memory, 32 Gigs Tri Channel Ballistix RAM, Thrustmaster HOTAS Warthog and HOTAS Cougar, TrackIR 5, Cougar MFD's, Saitek Combat Rudder Pedals
Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#1728859 - 03/11/06 07:03 PM Re: The Low Down Dirty on Anthology and My System?  
Joined: May 2000
Posts: 2,536
AV8R Offline
Senior Member
AV8R  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: May 2000
Posts: 2,536
Southern California USA
You can try going to the existing sticky,
at the top of that thread is a link to PositiveGs site.

Go there and try the install for OS that you have.


AV8R
#1728860 - 03/11/06 08:49 PM Re: The Low Down Dirty on Anthology and My System?  
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 6,493
JoeyJoJo Offline
Wurkin' man
JoeyJoJo  Offline
Wurkin' man
Hotshot

Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 6,493
Colorado high-country
I have LBA also, and i just followed +G's steps and got it working with no problems. The only thing you need to do different is you don't need to patch (since it's the latest version). I also skipped the Longbow 1 install since you can't run it in XP

#1728861 - 03/12/06 12:10 AM Re: The Low Down Dirty on Anthology and My System?  
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,169
Dusty Rhodes Offline
Hard, Fair, Play to WIN
Dusty Rhodes  Offline
Hard, Fair, Play to WIN
Member

Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,169
Southern Oregon
EXCELLENT and THANKS a ton!! I'll get to work on this sometime this weekend.


Dusty Rhodes

Fight Fair! Fight to have fun! Fight to WIN!

Win 7 Pro, Intel i7 4790K OC'd to 4.6 Gigs, EVGA GTX Titan 6 GB Memory and ASUS GTX Titan 6 GB Memory, 32 Gigs Tri Channel Ballistix RAM, Thrustmaster HOTAS Warthog and HOTAS Cougar, TrackIR 5, Cougar MFD's, Saitek Combat Rudder Pedals
#1728862 - 03/12/06 07:43 AM Re: The Low Down Dirty on Anthology and My System?  
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,169
Dusty Rhodes Offline
Hard, Fair, Play to WIN
Dusty Rhodes  Offline
Hard, Fair, Play to WIN
Member

Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,169
Southern Oregon
That did the trick AV8R! Thanks a bunchl. Any tips or tricks to get my Dual Core to slow the sim down? I am using the Turbo.exe but that seems to have no effect on it. I need to get her slowed down, otherwise it looks pretty decent and certainly will get me back to the mistress, if I can get my system to slow down for her (God I thought I would never say that I wanted to slow down my system \:D )


Dusty Rhodes

Fight Fair! Fight to have fun! Fight to WIN!

Win 7 Pro, Intel i7 4790K OC'd to 4.6 Gigs, EVGA GTX Titan 6 GB Memory and ASUS GTX Titan 6 GB Memory, 32 Gigs Tri Channel Ballistix RAM, Thrustmaster HOTAS Warthog and HOTAS Cougar, TrackIR 5, Cougar MFD's, Saitek Combat Rudder Pedals
#1728863 - 03/12/06 07:49 AM Re: The Low Down Dirty on Anthology and My System?  
Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,132
Reticuli Offline
Member
Reticuli  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,132
Dayton, OH, USA
You don't need to slow anything down. I don't even think that will fix the throttle axis repeat keypress glitch. Just put sync to monitor in dgVoodoo (60hz) and you'll have no problems with being "too fast" in multiplayer.


The term "necroposting" was invented by a person with no social memory beyond a year. People with a similar hangup are those o.k. with the internet being transient vapor.

http://www.openfuelstandard.org/2011/12/methanol-wins-open-wager.html

Saitek X65 and X52, Glide, Winx3D, and GlovePIE Profiles http://library.avsim.net/search.php?SearchTerm=reticuli&CatID=miscmisc

http://library.avsim.net/register.php

X52 + Silicone Grease = JOY stick
#1728864 - 03/12/06 05:12 PM Re: The Low Down Dirty on Anthology and My System?  
Joined: May 2000
Posts: 2,536
AV8R Offline
Senior Member
AV8R  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: May 2000
Posts: 2,536
Southern California USA
Reticuli (rat) is correct...

The dgVoodoo Glide method has a synch to monitor refresh check box that should govern the world speed to that of the refresh rate of the monitor independant of the CPU speed and type.

As one that owns an Intel hyperthreaded CPU on one of my systems, I found that the TURBO CPU slowdown method, while it can be exacting, the Hyperthread does what its suppose to and fights the CPU slow down methods like Turbo.

If you go to your BIOS you can disable hyperthread. But with dual cores (the next generation of multithreaded support) beyond hyperthreading technology, I dont think you can disable one of the dual cores AFAIK.

Irregardless, this is not safe. GO to the dgVoodoo method and save your system from geting irrecoverably messedup by playing with system speeds.


AV8R
#1728865 - 03/12/06 06:23 PM Re: The Low Down Dirty on Anthology and My System?  
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,169
Dusty Rhodes Offline
Hard, Fair, Play to WIN
Dusty Rhodes  Offline
Hard, Fair, Play to WIN
Member

Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,169
Southern Oregon
I'll give it a try, and thanks a bunch, again, for helping out.


Dusty Rhodes

Fight Fair! Fight to have fun! Fight to WIN!

Win 7 Pro, Intel i7 4790K OC'd to 4.6 Gigs, EVGA GTX Titan 6 GB Memory and ASUS GTX Titan 6 GB Memory, 32 Gigs Tri Channel Ballistix RAM, Thrustmaster HOTAS Warthog and HOTAS Cougar, TrackIR 5, Cougar MFD's, Saitek Combat Rudder Pedals
#1728866 - 03/12/06 07:07 PM Re: The Low Down Dirty on Anthology and My System?  
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,169
Dusty Rhodes Offline
Hard, Fair, Play to WIN
Dusty Rhodes  Offline
Hard, Fair, Play to WIN
Member

Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,169
Southern Oregon
WOW! You guys are awesome. It works GREAT and I am not even using the 2muchmem program. I am going to set up my Cougar file today and get to work relearning her. Griff gets his copy next week and we will team up for MP together and then once we get proficient we will prolly be joining the group for on line play, so you can add another flight team in training, on the way to helping win the war! Thanks again. The old girl is back and it was easy to do (if I can do it, well.......you know the rest).


Dusty Rhodes

Fight Fair! Fight to have fun! Fight to WIN!

Win 7 Pro, Intel i7 4790K OC'd to 4.6 Gigs, EVGA GTX Titan 6 GB Memory and ASUS GTX Titan 6 GB Memory, 32 Gigs Tri Channel Ballistix RAM, Thrustmaster HOTAS Warthog and HOTAS Cougar, TrackIR 5, Cougar MFD's, Saitek Combat Rudder Pedals
#1728867 - 03/12/06 08:47 PM Re: The Low Down Dirty on Anthology and My System?  
Joined: May 2000
Posts: 2,536
AV8R Offline
Senior Member
AV8R  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: May 2000
Posts: 2,536
Southern California USA
super...

another happy customer

and...

another resurrected Apache phoenix bird


AV8R
#1728868 - 03/12/06 09:52 PM Re: The Low Down Dirty on Anthology and My System?  
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 65
ID42928110 Offline
Junior Member
ID42928110  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 65
Toronto, Canada
Am I the only guy around here who's not getting back into LB2 but is instead getting into it for the first time? I feel so special hehe

#1728869 - 03/12/06 11:26 PM Re: The Low Down Dirty on Anthology and My System?  
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,169
Dusty Rhodes Offline
Hard, Fair, Play to WIN
Dusty Rhodes  Offline
Hard, Fair, Play to WIN
Member

Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,169
Southern Oregon
I am hoping to create a hunter killer team between Griff and I. One of us in the Kiowa, one in the Apache. If we can get Crash back into flight simming, we will have a full crew. Who knows, maybe even get Yoda going again.

Griff and I are looking forward to it big time!


Dusty Rhodes

Fight Fair! Fight to have fun! Fight to WIN!

Win 7 Pro, Intel i7 4790K OC'd to 4.6 Gigs, EVGA GTX Titan 6 GB Memory and ASUS GTX Titan 6 GB Memory, 32 Gigs Tri Channel Ballistix RAM, Thrustmaster HOTAS Warthog and HOTAS Cougar, TrackIR 5, Cougar MFD's, Saitek Combat Rudder Pedals
#1728870 - 03/13/06 03:10 AM Re: The Low Down Dirty on Anthology and My System?  
Joined: Oct 1999
Posts: 408
Griff Offline
Member
Griff  Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 1999
Posts: 408
CA, USA
Quote:
Originally posted by ID42928110:
Am I the only guy around here who's not getting back into LB2 but is instead getting into it for the first time? I feel so special hehe
Guess wer'e all just a bunch of seasoned sim rotorheads! Actually, Longbow 2 was a great sim back in the day and I quite enjoyed it. Beerdog started hinting about it again and I have had to a) grab an old copy and b)grab a pair of gameport pedals to use with my Cougar. I'm hoping I have success when everything arrives next week. Beerdog and I have the same system (he's a constant upgrader and makes me do it) so I should be okay. Just hoping for a positive MP experience. I never had the opportunity to fly Longbow 2 in MP until now.


Griff's Rig: Intel i7 4790K @ 4.4 Ghz, MSI Z97 MPower Max motherboard, nVidia GTX 780ti, 16 GB of Geil Trident 2400 MHz RAM, Windows 7, Warthog HOTAS, and Saitek Combat Rudder Pedals.
#1728871 - 03/13/06 03:28 AM Re: The Low Down Dirty on Anthology and My System?  
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 406
Franze Offline
Member
Franze  Offline
Member

Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 406
Quote:
Originally posted by BeerDog:
I am hoping to create a hunter killer team between Griff and I. One of us in the Kiowa, one in the Apache.
I wish that were as useful as we'd like to think, but as it stands you're better off packing away with two Apaches. You gain a lot more offensive firepower and the addition of a stronger defense if needed.

#1728872 - 03/13/06 03:43 AM Re: The Low Down Dirty on Anthology and My System?  
Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,169
Dusty Rhodes Offline
Hard, Fair, Play to WIN
Dusty Rhodes  Offline
Hard, Fair, Play to WIN
Member

Joined: Oct 2001
Posts: 1,169
Southern Oregon
Always nice to have eyes around, but you are right, you can do the same with the Apache really, just with a whole lot more offensive and defensive punch. We'll see how it goes. Where does everyone meet for LB2 MP'n?

Griff - I am a constant upgrader? \:D


Dusty Rhodes

Fight Fair! Fight to have fun! Fight to WIN!

Win 7 Pro, Intel i7 4790K OC'd to 4.6 Gigs, EVGA GTX Titan 6 GB Memory and ASUS GTX Titan 6 GB Memory, 32 Gigs Tri Channel Ballistix RAM, Thrustmaster HOTAS Warthog and HOTAS Cougar, TrackIR 5, Cougar MFD's, Saitek Combat Rudder Pedals
#1728873 - 03/13/06 05:27 AM Re: The Low Down Dirty on Anthology and My System?  
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 406
Franze Offline
Member
Franze  Offline
Member

Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 406
Generally, everybody right now seems to link up via TeamSpeak; nobody could really agree on any messenger proggy and TS was already in use. And unless there's something scheduled on a specific day, chances are there won't be anyone there!


Moderated by  RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
First PC... 1995
by F4UDash4. 06/13/24 05:56 PM
Scramble: Battle of Britain
by RedOneAlpha. 06/10/24 06:37 PM
Upcoming Games
by RedOneAlpha. 06/08/24 09:57 AM
Apollo 8 Astronaut William Anders was 90
by F4UDash4. 06/08/24 12:07 AM
ALIEN: Romulus first full trailer
by NoFlyBoy. 06/06/24 12:10 PM
D-Day
by F4UDash4. 06/06/24 09:58 AM
How many wet shave?
by RedOneAlpha. 06/04/24 03:05 PM
Seabee Operations in the Pacific During WW2.
by RedToo. 06/04/24 03:04 PM
Finally dumped Facebook
by PanzerMeyer. 06/04/24 10:46 AM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0