Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#1725910 - 04/15/05 05:10 AM To close the day ...  
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 5,462
Polak Offline
Hotshot
Polak  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: May 2001
Posts: 5,462
New York, NY
Just like in title of picture .READY_TO_MOD \:\)

Perhaps more accurately - just about .. because while we will be hard at work to ugrade those pits and maps HCl will need to figure out how to SHP and TRE this back so we can test it.

And enjoy it !


Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#1725911 - 04/15/05 08:25 AM Re: To close the day ...  
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,124
Shadow=ASP= Offline
Member
Shadow=ASP=  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,124
Norway
Quote:
Originally posted by Polak:
HCl will need to figure out how to SHP and TRE this back so we can test it.
Don't need to TRE them back, just delete the original TRE-file and leave the data-folder intact but place it in parallell to your Longbow 2 folder.

Nice pic. Found the Apache pits yet?

#1725912 - 04/15/05 10:41 AM Re: To close the day ...  
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 5,462
Polak Offline
Hotshot
Polak  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: May 2001
Posts: 5,462
New York, NY
Quote:
and leave the data-folder intact but place it in parallell to your Longbow 2 folder.
I did that, or something like that, but I must have done something wrong because Lb2 did not want to start. Tell me how to again please.

And we need HCl to open many things including DOBJECTS.TEX , because the aboves is only stuff found in Art folder right on the open. Spr2bmp applied and only with the right palette. Thanks to Mario for all those tools. Without them I would still be scratching my head.

#1725913 - 04/15/05 12:15 PM Re: To close the day ...  
Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 12,110
PositiveG Offline
Veteran
PositiveG  Offline
Veteran

Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 12,110
Originally posted by +G:


Wow!

Why am I getting Grand Prix Legends-ish, Deja Vu?!?

Is there a limitation on the color palette for the 2D Pits? Would sure be nice if we could get someone/or two from say the F4 crowd to adjust these pits. IMO, the work done on those, by that group is outstanding!

Here's what I did with the TRE files.

Extract every TRE file from the c:\janes\longbow2\ folder and the CDROMs to

c:\janes

It puts them into a folder called c:\janes\data

You LB2.EXE resides in c:\janes\Longbow2
(delete every *.tre file in this folder when done).

#1725914 - 04/15/05 02:18 PM Re: To close the day ...  
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 5,462
Polak Offline
Hotshot
Polak  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: May 2001
Posts: 5,462
New York, NY
Quote:
Here's what I did with the TRE files.

Extract every TRE file from the c:\janes\longbow2\ folder and the CDROMs to

c:\janes

It puts them into a folder called c:\janes\data

You LB2.EXE resides in c:\janes\Longbow2
(delete every *.tre file in this folder when done).
No separation here for any subfolders like \ART, \FONTS, \IFF - equivalent and representing names of old TRE files? Just all bunched up and crammed into \DATA?

#1725915 - 04/15/05 04:39 PM Re: To close the day ...  
Joined: Nov 1999
Posts: 1,524
Keithb77 Offline
Member
Keithb77  Offline
Member

Joined: Nov 1999
Posts: 1,524
UK
detre creates all the subfolders automatically
Cheers,
Keith

#1725916 - 04/15/05 10:31 PM Re: To close the day ...  
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 401
Blind Faith Offline
Member
Blind Faith  Offline
Member

Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 401
Québec
Polak, you could ask this guy to give you a hand





He was sure looking for a home for his 2D cockpits.

http://www.simhq.com/simhq3/sims/boards/bbs/ultimatebb.php?ubb=get_topic;f=30;t=003759#000000


#1725917 - 04/15/05 11:07 PM Re: To close the day ...  
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 5,462
Polak Offline
Hotshot
Polak  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: May 2001
Posts: 5,462
New York, NY
Howbout everybody giving a hand here?

3 sets of pits are ready for the repaint: Longbow, Blackhawk and Kiowa (one day we need a Cobra here too). I will make even a multilayered templates.

The question is and the major issue: where to go for some photo materials to make those Pits really better?

PS. That with exception of that linked BH pit that is. I PMed eyewave right now.

#1725918 - 04/15/05 11:35 PM Re: To close the day ...  
Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 12,110
PositiveG Offline
Veteran
PositiveG  Offline
Veteran

Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 12,110
Quote:
Originally posted by Polak:
Howbout everybody giving a hand here?
There's a couple PCX cockpit pics in
c:\janes\data\wart

SPLSHS13.PCX for example.


One question, will we be limited as to what we can adjust due to the display animations and locations for radars, etc?

#1725919 - 04/16/05 12:19 AM Re: To close the day ...  
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 5,462
Polak Offline
Hotshot
Polak  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: May 2001
Posts: 5,462
New York, NY
Up above I have updated pic with what I feel could be template for repaint of the LB cockpit by all and anyone who "dares".

It is not fuly ready as I believe there are more like 5 subfolders with sides and other views and details. Those I will add to template subsequently. But the idea is this that all is "pieced" up on one canvas in separate layers which are named as the name of the cockpit files really are.

If you say ... double the resolution now and overlay this with even new photo/drawing (with equally higher resolution) and cut into new "pieces" and name them same way as before - you end up with modded and new cockpit.

The other way is to metidicoulsly repaint and make better each and every piece, which of course can be done too but would take quite long. Quality accomplished this way can be very good though.

Someone here wanted modding....anyone?

#1725920 - 04/16/05 12:24 AM Re: To close the day ...  
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 5,462
Polak Offline
Hotshot
Polak  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: May 2001
Posts: 5,462
New York, NY
Before we go further into that we have to make sure that black windshields and MFD's areas are transparent (!) after we put the cockpit back to the game. It should, but unwelcomed surprises are usually always around the corner.

#1725921 - 04/16/05 12:25 AM Re: To close the day ...  
Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 12,110
PositiveG Offline
Veteran
PositiveG  Offline
Veteran

Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 12,110
Quote:
Originally posted by Polak:

Someone here wanted modding....anyone?
I'm no artist, but the potential you guys have unlocked here is amazing.

Is there a limit as to what colours one can use in the pit?

#1725922 - 04/16/05 12:48 AM Re: To close the day ...  
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,124
Shadow=ASP= Offline
Member
Shadow=ASP=  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,124
Norway
Quote:
Originally posted by +G:
Is there a limit as to what colours one can use in the pit?
I believe that would be 67K or 16.7M colours.
Enough anyway.

#1725923 - 04/16/05 12:49 AM Re: To close the day ...  
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 5,462
Polak Offline
Hotshot
Polak  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: May 2001
Posts: 5,462
New York, NY
Quote:
Is there a limit as to what colours one can use in the pit?
Very good question.
I am hoping that we could stay with true colors 32bit tga format (RGB + alpha for transparency), but I am afraid that we soon could be disapointed.

Then back to indexed format with ... again hopefully new palette which will be recognised (this I feel it WILL). 1st position of the palette will be reserved for transparency.

Many ifs, but slowly we may get all that peeled off. But we need to grow larger group, come on people ... don't you like to mod LB2?

#1725924 - 04/16/05 12:54 AM Re: To close the day ...  
Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 12,110
PositiveG Offline
Veteran
PositiveG  Offline
Veteran

Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 12,110
Quote:
Originally posted by Polak:
Many ifs, but slowly we may get all that peeled off. But we need to grow larger group, come on people ... don't you like to mod LB2?
I posted a message over at Frugals F4 forum.
Maybe we should spread the joy a bit around the boards. More LB2 fish may bite!

#1725925 - 04/16/05 01:23 AM Re: To close the day ...  
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 160
Evil Lurker Offline
Member
Evil Lurker  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 160
Oregon
Before you go too far, I've got a question. If you update the 2D cockpits, then go to "Virtual" mode (F4), won't the cockpit view revert to the file data used for the 3D cockpit model? That might look strange if you make changes in the cockpit layout, but might be alright if if you just double the resolution of the existing cockpit files and and make cosmetic changes. Or were you planning on developing new 3D cockpit files, too?


A7N8X Dlx., 2700+@3200 settings, 9700Pro, Sony 17" Trinitron, Altec Lansing 2.1 speakers. WinXP Pro.
#1725926 - 04/16/05 01:31 AM Re: To close the day ...  
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 448
rocky Offline
Member
rocky  Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 448
...parts unknown, way unknown....
Reporting for duty sir!...need a cockpit? no problem! Require a apache skin, no sweat. Want a modded terrain? never fear! looking for a male escort? you got him!(ermm, i take the last one back)

tell me what you would like?

i will help where ever i can as this title is where i began the my love for helo sims.

#1725927 - 04/16/05 02:39 AM Re: To close the day ...  
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 5,462
Polak Offline
Hotshot
Polak  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: May 2001
Posts: 5,462
New York, NY
To EL: I believe that 2D cockpit and VC cockpit both use different textures. VC texs, probable in Dobjects.tex and Fobjects.tex. So upgrade to VC would be another awaiting challenge, but only after HCl manages to unlock it.

To Rocky: On behalf of everybody - Welcome man! Try to come up with good reference materials for LB, Kiowa, Blackhawk pits.

#1725928 - 04/16/05 04:38 AM Re: To close the day ...  
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 160
Evil Lurker Offline
Member
Evil Lurker  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 160
Oregon
Polak, yeah I figured if the 2D model was modified, it would no longer match the Virtual view, just verifying. It might still look oaky, as long as not too much is changed.
There is one thing that came to mind: if you look at the screenshot of the cockpit that Blind Faith posted, towards the center bottom of the screen, that small green display divided into quadrants is an ECM indicator (and it looks pretty accurate, too) That's what you see missing from the empty instrument holes in most Apache pictures, it's classified stuff and/or not mounted for peacetime use. Now, if a scaled-down version of the ASE screen was to be placed behind that, you would have a more realistic sim, because the symbology/strobe lines/realtive threat position on the current ASE is pretty much what appears on an ECM display of that type (don't ask how I know that - LOL). Understand what I'm saying?


A7N8X Dlx., 2700+@3200 settings, 9700Pro, Sony 17" Trinitron, Altec Lansing 2.1 speakers. WinXP Pro.
#1725929 - 04/16/05 04:42 AM Re: To close the day ...  
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 28
f16falcon Offline
Junior Member
f16falcon  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 28
I come to this forum every day to read what you guys doing. Got to tell you all, I feel Useless.... I Wish I could help you guys more..
If there is anything I can do don't hesitate to say it... I will try my best to help make LB2 better.


Don't be ScAAred.
Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
HMS Northumberland
by RedOneAlpha. 02/26/24 09:01 AM
Eagle Cams
by NoFlyBoy. 02/25/24 07:20 PM
For us old farts
by oldgrognard. 02/25/24 02:03 PM
Forty Four Years Ago....
by F4UDash4. 02/23/24 02:40 AM
Live Moon Landing: NOW
by F4UDash4. 02/22/24 10:46 PM
Excalibur
by PanzerMeyer. 02/22/24 07:29 PM
SimHQ Formula 1 Fantasy League
by DBond. 02/21/24 05:48 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0