Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 4 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 6
#1725620 - 04/10/05 08:49 AM Re: LB2 modding - extracting files  
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 160
Evil Lurker Offline
Member
Evil Lurker  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 160
Oregon
Quote:
Not sure how values of 1893 and 3786 are derived unless there is a magic fractional number applied globally too?
That's the value of the bitmap data at my test point (FARP 1 with AZR map 6 loaded, I can see to the eastern border in NavMap view) X a 50 height multiplier, if I'm figuring this right. The question is, does the height data in your table span the range of 0 to 255, or does it start at some higher number? Give it a quick look at see what the range of the AZR maps are, if you would be so kind. I don't think a magic fractional number can be applied, or setting the multiplier to 0 would not give me an altitude of 0 in the game. See what I'm saying?


A7N8X Dlx., 2700+@3200 settings, 9700Pro, Sony 17" Trinitron, Altec Lansing 2.1 speakers. WinXP Pro.
Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#1725621 - 04/10/05 12:48 PM Re: LB2 modding - extracting files  
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 5,462
Polak Offline
Hotshot
Polak  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: May 2001
Posts: 5,462
New York, NY
Quote:
Not sure how values of 1893 and 3786 are derived unless there is a magic fractional number applied globally too?
I may be off here, but it looks to me that that 1893 is the length in meteres to one side of the horizontal grid. Generally in order to determine how "mountaneous" your terrain is going to be you have to relate it to the horizontal dimensions. Hight to area size ratio.

I believe each grid suppose to be representing 2km, but from some reason that 2km becomes 1.893 km. Someting to do with with nautical miles or else?

I really do not know here and just guessing which is no way it suppose to be.

#1725622 - 04/10/05 01:18 PM Re: LB2 modding - extracting files  
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 160
Evil Lurker Offline
Member
Evil Lurker  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 160
Oregon
1893 and 3786 are the altitudes displayed on the HUD while the Apache is on the ground at FARP 1 with TerrainHeight=50 (default) and TerrainHeight=100. I don't believe it would in any way be linked to the size of the tiles. Try it yourself and you'll see what I'm talking about, it's interesting. Set TerrainHeight=0, too, and look at the flat terrain. If we changed the graphics to ocean/waves we'd have a water mission (probably be pretty boring).


A7N8X Dlx., 2700+@3200 settings, 9700Pro, Sony 17" Trinitron, Altec Lansing 2.1 speakers. WinXP Pro.
#1725623 - 04/10/05 01:45 PM Re: LB2 modding - extracting files  
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 5,462
Polak Offline
Hotshot
Polak  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: May 2001
Posts: 5,462
New York, NY
I'll try EL as soon I am done with this below.

Thanks to Keithb and his ingenious program allowing extraction of the pictures of the terrain I made immediate use of it.

Below is the "lb2 terrain puzzle" on the left, at the moment in the lowres version. I am pieceing it together to see the sequence of the scramble. By reversing the proces I am hoping that ANY terrain photo material (as long as in scale) can be converted into new lb2 terrain and edited hightwise in grayscale as described in one of the earlier links. There is an issue of higher resolution maps, color palette and resolution of photo material for the new terrain to look at its best.

Again, thanks to Keith who made it possible.

It is yet early stage, but looks pretty (at least in my book). Progress and news are really unexpectedly rolling here fast at least at this stage. Sometime I feel, it would be well advised to take deeper breath and organise research and further digging in order for the important things not to get lost.

But in general .



#1725624 - 04/10/05 02:13 PM Re: LB2 modding - extracting files  
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 160
Evil Lurker Offline
Member
Evil Lurker  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 160
Oregon
That's the NTC terrain, right, not Azer terrain? I really need to load up NTC right now and see if I can get a handle on this. Good job, buddy! Keep in mind that the Nav map displays a 50X50 kM view, so that's the scale of what is loaded at any one time.


A7N8X Dlx., 2700+@3200 settings, 9700Pro, Sony 17" Trinitron, Altec Lansing 2.1 speakers. WinXP Pro.
#1725625 - 04/10/05 03:09 PM Re: LB2 modding - extracting files  

**DONOTDELETE**
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered


Quote:

I have a quick question Mario, what would cause the game to "hang" when you exit missions or exit to the OS?

I'm usually lucky and can ALT+TAB out, start
task manager, then kill the LB2.exe process.

Just wondering why it's doing this. Has anyone else seen this issue?
I haven't had this happen yet, i always can ALT+Q and ALT+X without any problems. Could this be related to the noCD patch? I have the ISOs on my hard drive and mount them with Daemon Tools on a virtual CD drive, so i never used the noCD patch. I will look into this further and see what i can find. Afterwards, i'll resume my work on OBJ and TEX files :-)

Mario

#1725626 - 04/10/05 03:09 PM Re: LB2 modding - extracting files  
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 5,462
Polak Offline
Hotshot
Polak  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: May 2001
Posts: 5,462
New York, NY
50 x50 km is covered by 12x12=144 tiles 256x256 pixels. So each tile 4166m /256pxls is of resolution 16.27 m /pxl. This is rather very low resolution, as MSFS uses 4.8 m/pxl and it is very blurry from close up. So for us to reach 4 would require to "pump up" each tile to 1024 pxls. That is too large size for the graphic memory even by todays standards.

And I was hoping for 2pxl/meter or even 1 pxl/meter because this is what is available nowadays in free satellite photography.

Perhaps we could come up with something later ...

#1725627 - 04/10/05 03:39 PM Re: LB2 modding - extracting files  
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 160
Evil Lurker Offline
Member
Evil Lurker  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 160
Oregon
I'm using the noCD patch and I can exit the program just fine, every time, running the Glide wrapper. When I exit I do get a screen showing credits and a Strike Eagle advert, I hit ESC a couple of times to skip those and it exits clean to the desktop. Maybe something to do with those splash screens not being supported? What exactly do you mean by "exit missions"? Doesn't it allow you to complete a mission and start another one, or do you mean exiting to the campaign screen?


A7N8X Dlx., 2700+@3200 settings, 9700Pro, Sony 17" Trinitron, Altec Lansing 2.1 speakers. WinXP Pro.
#1725628 - 04/10/05 05:49 PM Re: LB2 modding - extracting files  
Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 12,110
PositiveG Offline
Veteran
PositiveG  Offline
Veteran

Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 12,110
Quote:
Originally posted by HCl:
Quote:

I have a quick question Mario, what would cause the game to "hang" when you exit missions or exit to the OS?

I'm usually lucky and can ALT+TAB out, start
task manager, then kill the LB2.exe process.

Just wondering why it's doing this. Has anyone else seen this issue?
I haven't had this happen yet, i always can ALT+Q and ALT+X without any problems. Could this be related to the noCD patch? I have the ISOs on my hard drive and mount them with Daemon Tools on a virtual CD drive, so i never used the noCD patch. I will look into this further and see what i can find. Afterwards, i'll resume my work on OBJ and TEX files :-)

Mario
I'm using the CD (put away the No-CD exe).

I'll try LB2 on a second PC to see if it's just mine. Might get a Network trace of a good LB2 Multiplayer session. From there I can use that as a baseline while I try hosting behind a Firewall. This will be a good bug to fix, once you guys get the game "expanded" with new terrains, etc., we'll all want to start flying them! :-)

#1725629 - 04/10/05 05:56 PM Re: LB2 modding - extracting files  
Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 12,110
PositiveG Offline
Veteran
PositiveG  Offline
Veteran

Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 12,110
Quote:
Originally posted by Evil Lurker:
I'm using the noCD patch and I can exit the program just fine, every time, running the Glide wrapper. When I exit I do get a screen showing credits and a Strike Eagle advert, I hit ESC a couple of times to skip those and it exits clean to the desktop. Maybe something to do with those splash screens not being supported? What exactly do you mean by "exit missions"? Doesn't it allow you to complete a mission and start another one, or do you mean exiting to the campaign screen?
OK, let's say I'm in an "Instant Action" mission.
I put the helo on however hold. Press ALT+Q, select NO, game goes back into play fine (slight delay for the sound to catch up). ALT+Q select YES this time. Game goes to a black screen, doesn't move. I then have to ALT+TAB into task manager (running previously). LB2.EXE isn't responding, I have to "kill" it manually to get back to the desktop.

Now if I just start the game, and I'm at the BASE screen (which would be cool to mod by the way), and exit to the OS, it works fine.

It's like the game can't get to the locker/chalkboard screen on mission exit!

It used to work though, so I've done something.

I'll do a fresh install, and see what happens.

#1725630 - 04/10/05 06:03 PM Re: LB2 modding - extracting files  
Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 12,110
PositiveG Offline
Veteran
PositiveG  Offline
Veteran

Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 12,110
Quote:
Originally posted by Polak:

Is the one on the left upside down as well as jigsaw puzzled?

The picture on the left looks exactly like the extracted c:\Janes\DATA\ART\NTC.BMP image.

#1725631 - 04/10/05 06:44 PM Re: LB2 modding - extracting files  
Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,220
fng2k Offline
Member
fng2k  Offline
Member

Joined: Apr 2001
Posts: 2,220
US
Fantastic work, guys.

Very shortly, Keith and Polak will have light bulbs appear over their heads, and they will post remarkable things about the lessons learned from the terrain construction tools used for Gunship and Strike Fighters. In fact, TK's SF Terrain Editor and the Gunship height and tile maps may well be heading for a new home...

Carry on. ;\)

#1725632 - 04/10/05 07:02 PM Re: LB2 modding - extracting files  
Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 12,110
PositiveG Offline
Veteran
PositiveG  Offline
Veteran

Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 12,110
Incredible isn't it.

What map would people like to see if we're able to create them? What area could we build a new expansion on? Korea? Russia? North America?
China? India?

Longbow 2 may even get it's own forum soon on SimHQ!

;\)

#1725633 - 04/10/05 07:33 PM Re: LB2 modding - extracting files  
Joined: Nov 1999
Posts: 1,524
Keithb77 Offline
Member
Keithb77  Offline
Member

Joined: Nov 1999
Posts: 1,524
UK
EL,
I suspect the HUD readings are in feet, and the 'height map' file in Metres?

3786 feet would be 1154 M
1893 feet " " " 577 M

Next version of LBMap ready tomorrow, will display min, max and current heights.

Early test shows minimum of 28, maximum of 238 for demo map

Cheers,
Keith

#1725634 - 04/10/05 10:31 PM Re: LB2 modding - extracting files  
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 6,493
JoeyJoJo Offline
Wurkin' man
JoeyJoJo  Offline
Wurkin' man
Hotshot

Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 6,493
Colorado high-country
I think a map with more rivers/canyons; maybe central europe or afghanistan/packistan would be excellent! I still think that the current maps are kind of flat

#1725635 - 04/10/05 10:56 PM Re: LB2 modding - extracting files  
Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 12,110
PositiveG Offline
Veteran
PositiveG  Offline
Veteran

Joined: Sep 2000
Posts: 12,110
Quote:
Originally posted by No Use For A Name:
I think a map with more rivers/canyons; maybe central europe or afghanistan/packistan would be excellent! I still think that the current maps are kind of flat
Hmm, maybe a BC/Alberta map? :-)

Afghanistan/Pakistan might be good.
Bosnia?

#1725636 - 04/11/05 12:03 AM Re: LB2 modding - extracting files  
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 160
Evil Lurker Offline
Member
Evil Lurker  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 160
Oregon
Quote:
I still think that the current maps are kind of flat
Set the TerrainHeight in your CA.INI to 60 or 70 and it will be more mountainous. The down side is that the poor resolution of the height map starts to become apparent as the terrain begins to show some pretty sharp angles. At a setting of 100, I could still fly the mission, but it was starting to look like the Micro Machines version of Longbow. All of the vehicles were still able to navigate the terrain, but I saw enemy tanks sitting on 70 degree slopes, etc. Kinda humerous. \:D


A7N8X Dlx., 2700+@3200 settings, 9700Pro, Sony 17" Trinitron, Altec Lansing 2.1 speakers. WinXP Pro.
#1725637 - 04/11/05 12:09 AM Re: LB2 modding - extracting files  
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 160
Evil Lurker Offline
Member
Evil Lurker  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 160
Oregon
Quote:
I suspect the HUD readings are in feet, and the 'height map' file in Metres?
The HUD reading is in feet, I have no idea what the "height map" file is, I suspect it's neither feet nor meters.
Quote:
Early test shows minimum of 28, maximum of 238 for demo map
The AZR map, on the far right edge, has a piece of seawater, I believe. It may be interesting to see what the altitude of that is, both in-game and in the height map. My guess is, if it's ocean, the data = 0.


A7N8X Dlx., 2700+@3200 settings, 9700Pro, Sony 17" Trinitron, Altec Lansing 2.1 speakers. WinXP Pro.
#1725638 - 04/11/05 02:47 AM Re: LB2 modding - extracting files  
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 5,462
Polak Offline
Hotshot
Polak  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: May 2001
Posts: 5,462
New York, NY
Quote:
Fantastic work, guys.

Very shortly, Keith and Polak will have light bulbs appear over their heads, and they will post remarkable things about the lessons learned from the terrain construction tools used for Gunship and Strike Fighters. In fact, TK's SF Terrain Editor and the Gunship height and tile maps may well be heading for a new home...

Carry on.
Thanks Fng2k for the kind words. Most of the credit for my education about Gunship! and in fact SF:P1 goes to you, Sir. And guess what, just today in my mail to Keith I'd mentioned that it would be so cool if you could be around with us here.You are foremost Gunship! person but I know that you would never hesitate to help and generously share knowledge and information no matter where.

So if you can, then please try to be, because it looks it is going to be fun and quite interesting ride.

#1725639 - 04/11/05 08:15 AM Re: LB2 modding - extracting files  
Joined: Nov 1999
Posts: 1,524
Keithb77 Offline
Member
Keithb77  Offline
Member

Joined: Nov 1999
Posts: 1,524
UK
New version of LBMap is up at my web site

Includes height display,
optional vertical flip,
can display maps in other folders
stuff I've forgotten....

EL - assuming they used satellite data for the terrain, that will have been in metres.
Maybe height from data file * default multiplier in CA.INI = actual height in metres?

Matt - Hi, long time no see!

Cheers,
keith

Page 4 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 6

Moderated by  RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
HMS Northumberland
by RedOneAlpha. 02/26/24 09:01 AM
Eagle Cams
by NoFlyBoy. 02/25/24 07:20 PM
For us old farts
by oldgrognard. 02/25/24 02:03 PM
Forty Four Years Ago....
by F4UDash4. 02/23/24 02:40 AM
Live Moon Landing: NOW
by F4UDash4. 02/22/24 10:46 PM
Excalibur
by PanzerMeyer. 02/22/24 07:29 PM
SimHQ Formula 1 Fantasy League
by DBond. 02/21/24 05:48 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0