Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#2643164 - 12/29/08 08:43 PM More Realistic Labels  
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 40
schmeeling Offline
Junior Member
schmeeling  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 40
CYVR
I'm one of those who think labels are a necessary evil given the limitations of the sim, but I find the defaults too informative. I noticed in the GUI manual that these can be revised in "C:\Program Files\Eagle Dynamics\Ka-50\Config\View\labels.lua" file. Turns out things can be tweaked pretty thoroughly.

In an effort to get a little more balance I've adjusted the label defaults to achieve the following:
- reduced air label information and visibility distances; only the pilot name up close
- reduced ground label information and visibility distances, incl. no ground labels within 500m
- disabled weapon labels
- and set all labels the same color (green) - no God's eye IFF!

Make a copy of the file first (just in case), use notepad++ (as advised in the the FAQ) and cut+replace with below. Changed items in the file are bold

Your mileage may vary - tweak it further as suits your taste.

Cheers

------------- replacement .lua file begins ------------------------

-- Label parameters
-- Copyright (C) 2004, Eagle Dynamics.

-- schmeeling adjustments 30 Dec 2008
-- reduced air distances
-- reduced ground label distances, no ground labels within 500m
-- disabled weapon labels
-- set all labels the same color (green)


AirOn = true
GroundOn = true
NavyOn = true
WeaponOn = false

-- Label max distance depends on graphics visibility range option value
-- For low E40000.0 m
-- For medium E50000.0 m
-- For high E80000.0 m

---------------------------------
-- Label text format symbols
-- %N - name of object
-- %D - distance to object
-- %P - pilot name
-- %n - new line
-- %% - symbol '%'
-- %x, where x is not NDPn% - symbol 'x'
------------------------------------------
-- Example
-- labelFormat[5000] = "Name: %N%nDistance: %D%n Pilot: %P"
-- up to 5km label is:
-- Name: Su-33
-- Distance: 30km
-- Pilot: Pilot1

AirFormat = {}
AirFormat[1000] = "}%P"
AirFormat[2500] = "}%n%N"
AirFormat[10000] = "]%n%D"
AirFormat[20000] = "'"


GroundFormat = {}
GroundFormat[500] = ""
GroundFormat[2500] = "{%N"
GroundFormat[5000] = "~%n%D"
GroundFormat[10000] = "`"


NavyFormat = {}
NavyFormat[5000] = "{%N"
NavyFormat[10000] = "~%n%D"
NavyFormat[20000] = "`"


WeaponFormat = {}
WeaponFormat[5000] = "[%N%n%D"
WeaponFormat[10000] = "|%n%D"
WeaponFormat[20000] = "|"

-- Colors in {red, green, blue} format, volume from 0 up to 255

ColorAliesSide = {0, 255, 0}
ColorEnemiesSide = {0, 255, 0}


------------- replacement .lua file ends ------------------------

A couple of screenshots from the "battle" mission to illustrate:




Last edited by schmeeling; 12/30/08 08:46 PM. Reason: screenshots added

schmeeling
XP-SP3, E7300@2.66, 3GB, 9800GT
Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#2643213 - 12/29/08 10:14 PM Re: More Realistic Labels [Re: schmeeling]  
Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 810
Swordsman Offline
Member
Swordsman  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2003
Posts: 810
Dallas, Texas USA
More REALISTIC labels are "no labels at all". neaner


"The wisest mind has something yet to learn." - George Santayana
#2643273 - 12/30/08 12:33 AM Re: More Realistic Labels [Re: Swordsman]  
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 285
LA_Gunz Offline
Member
LA_Gunz  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 285
I prefer no labels as well, but you can customize when they show up as well as how much data they will give you. That should be helpful to those with less than average eyes/video cards/monitors.

#2643333 - 12/30/08 02:01 AM Re: More Realistic Labels [Re: LA_Gunz]  
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 40
schmeeling Offline
Junior Member
schmeeling  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 40
CYVR
LA: That was kinda the point of the original post actually...

SM: Don't disagree. I shoulda probably titled it "Less-Unrealistic Labels".

Just trying to find a balanced use of labels to make up for the limitations of the monitor without giving the whole game away and forcing more realistic use of the shval.


schmeeling
XP-SP3, E7300@2.66, 3GB, 9800GT
#2643343 - 12/30/08 02:14 AM Re: More Realistic Labels [Re: schmeeling]  
Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 421
Spyder512 Offline
Member
Spyder512  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2007
Posts: 421
Franklinville, New Jersey
Can anyone take a quick screenie of what the labels look like with this tweak?

#2643421 - 12/30/08 06:22 AM Re: More Realistic Labels [Re: Spyder512]  
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 40
schmeeling Offline
Junior Member
schmeeling  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 40
CYVR
screenies are beyond me right now, but in words: labels are exactly the same, but they just appear later (closer).

i.e. by default in BS a ground unit will appear as a "`" at 20km, identified with a distance within 10km, and fully described at 5km.

I've simply revised these distances to 10km, 5km and 2km respectively, and turned off labels altogether at 500m (should be easy to see by then). I made similar adjustment to air labels, and I've turned off weapons labels altogether (not needed at all imho). I've also set ALL labels to green, rather than red and blue by sides, so you have to figure out who's who on your own (i.e. a little fog of war).

My theory: In real life you could probably(???) pick out a "thing" at 10k, have a pretty good feel for distance by 5k, and get a pretty solid idea of what it is by 2k, but you'd never get IFF for free.

The BS defaults seem way too generous, however without labels I can't seem to find anything until it shoots me!

The real point of this post is you don't have to agree with me - just tweak away until it suits your needs. The text above is a straight replace of the original text of Labels.lua, so it's about a 2 min effort to cut+paste and see what you like. You can also edit the .lua file as long as you're not in the sim itself - i.e. you can alt-tab out from the mission page to make a tweak, save the .lua, and re-start the mission, see if you like it, exit, tweak, lather, rinse, repeat...

Cheers,


schmeeling
XP-SP3, E7300@2.66, 3GB, 9800GT
#2643455 - 12/30/08 07:31 AM Re: More Realistic Labels [Re: schmeeling]  
Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,876
Immermann Offline
SimHQ's resident fire enthusiast.
Immermann  Offline
SimHQ's resident fire enthusiast.
Member

Joined: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,876
Lule/Norrbotten/Sweden
Just press Print Scrn in the game. The screenshots are saved in a catalog called, whaddayaknow, ScreenShots. smile


"When I saw The Matrix at a local theatre in Slovenia, I had the unique opportunity of sitting close to the ideal spectator of the film - namely, to an idiot." - Slavoj Zizek
#2643511 - 12/30/08 01:09 PM Re: More Realistic Labels [Re: Immermann]  
Joined: Oct 1999
Posts: 1,268
Flexman Offline
Member
Flexman  Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 1999
Posts: 1,268
Leeds, England
Thanks for this schmeeling. There's some scope for customising labels it seems.


Richard - You Have Control
Tricubic Studios Ltd. (dev blog)
#2643670 - 12/30/08 05:43 PM Re: More Realistic Labels [Re: Immermann]  
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 40
schmeeling Offline
Junior Member
schmeeling  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 40
CYVR
dumb question: how does one actually attach a screenshot to a post?


schmeeling
XP-SP3, E7300@2.66, 3GB, 9800GT
#2643730 - 12/30/08 07:39 PM Re: More Realistic Labels [Re: schmeeling]  
Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 5,405
kramer Offline
Hotshot
kramer  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Apr 2002
Posts: 5,405
Ohio
you need an image host that you can upload your screenshots to. after uploading you will have a link for each screenshot and then you can add them to your post by clicking on the "Enter an image" icon in the toolbar above the window where you enter your text for a post. when you click on "Enter an image" a window will pop up where you enter the link from the screenshot you want to post. just copy and paste the link from the image host website into this window. i use imageshack.

read this for some info:

http://simhq.com/forum/ubbthreads.php/topics/2423932/STICKY_Image_video_hosting_sit.html#Post2423932

#2643775 - 12/30/08 08:48 PM Re: More Realistic Labels [Re: kramer]  
Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 40
schmeeling Offline
Junior Member
schmeeling  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Aug 2007
Posts: 40
CYVR
Thanks! See edited original post.


schmeeling
XP-SP3, E7300@2.66, 3GB, 9800GT
#2643852 - 12/30/08 10:54 PM Re: More Realistic Labels [Re: kramer]  
Joined: May 2008
Posts: 2
Jack_57 Offline
Junior Member
Jack_57  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: May 2008
Posts: 2
Thanks for the heads-up schmeeling - this a great improvement for those of us who still need some form of labeling but without the screen being cluttered with them. I now have my ground labels all set to "%X%" so I know something is there without knowing exactly what it is until I find it with the Shkval. I take my hat off to those who do battle without any labels at all!


Moderated by  Force10, RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Grumman Wildcat unique landing gear
by Coot. 04/17/24 03:54 PM
Peter Higgs was 94
by Rick_Rawlings. 04/17/24 12:28 AM
Whitey Herzog was 92
by F4UDash4. 04/16/24 04:41 PM
Anyone can tell me what this is?
by NoFlyBoy. 04/16/24 04:10 PM
10 Years ago MV Sewol
by wormfood. 04/15/24 08:25 PM
Pride Of Jenni race win
by NoFlyBoy. 04/15/24 12:22 AM
It's Friday: grown up humor for the weekend.
by NoFlyBoy. 04/12/24 01:41 PM
OJ Simpson Dead at 76
by bones. 04/11/24 03:02 PM
They wokefied tomb raider !!
by Blade_RJ. 04/10/24 03:09 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0