homepage

Router necessary ??

Posted By: rwatson

Router necessary ?? - 07/25/18 06:08 PM

Recently had my router/modem replace because my internet connection kept dropping out...The tech?/ put in a bare bones modem...Here I have one computer no wireless..I fly EAW on-line ,,Spectrum gave me a McAfee security suite that sticks blocks too many legitimate sites and seemed to block my on-line flying...So should i call them and get back my modem/router setup I had before??..It's was OK until it started randomly dropping my connection Thanks for any advice
Posted By: Bill_Grant

Re: Router necessary ?? - 07/25/18 06:25 PM

No sir, it is not necessary.
But a Router does add a layer of protection. It hides the devices behind your modem.

Re: Router necessary ?? - 07/25/18 09:37 PM

That's what I'm trying to figure out Bill..I'm a low ball tech guy ..just a P.C.and don't intend on anything wireless,,Spectrum has a McAfee security suite but screwed up my EAW on-line..I suppose I'm best off because all my bill paying and Amazon are done on line Just googling on=line most sites predict disaster if you don't use a router even with just one machine
Posted By: RSColonel_131st

Re: Router necessary ?? - 07/25/18 09:54 PM

Too many possible attack vectors if your system is online without NAT. Software Firewalls will not cover all you need and are easy to auto-missconfigure themselves. The most basic wired router will do the job and only cost you about 20-30 bucks. Your modem is USB or Ethernet?
Posted By: Raw Kryptonite

Re: Router necessary ?? - 07/26/18 02:25 AM

Uninstall McAfee, it’s firewall is most likely the issue. That wouldn’t change even if you went back to the old hardware.
Windows built in suite is fine, assuming you’re on Win 7,8 or 10.