homepage

Still Flying Version 1.5.8

Posted By: BadBud

Still Flying Version 1.5.8 - 06/27/18 04:24 PM

Because I would have to spend some big $ to upgrade my PC to be able to fly version 2.5 and hope it flies without problems, I have opted to stay with version 1.5.8 until all the bugs are worked out. Will DCS continue to maintain 1.5.8? For example: will the upgrade to the Spitfire IX (I think promised at end of June) be available to those that still fly 1.5.8?
Badbud
Posted By: theOden

Re: Still Flying Version 1.5.8 - 06/27/18 05:13 PM

As far as AJS 37 it will never get any updates in 1.5.8 but will stay early access forever and I am pretty sure that goes for all other modules too.
Posted By: Tom_Weiss

Re: Still Flying Version 1.5.8 - 06/27/18 05:29 PM

I should not have deleted mine either - which I did back in November last year, 1.5.8 ran very well,

At first 2.5 would not run at all, now it does but in slideshow fashion - great for taking screenshots. I'll wait until I buy a new PC before giving it a try again.
Posted By: Art_J

Re: Still Flying Version 1.5.8 - 06/27/18 05:45 PM

1.5.8 stays as it is after the last update for it and will not be expanded. Unfortunately that means no updates for individual modules either.

@ Tom - the version is still available on the ED servers for those who can't or don't want to play 2.x.x, so technically you can still download and install it.
Posted By: Tom_Weiss

Re: Still Flying Version 1.5.8 - 06/27/18 07:02 PM

Thanks - but the map I would be interested is Normandy and Nevada.

Originally Posted by Art_J
1.5.8 stays as it is after the last update for it and will not be expanded. Unfortunately that means no updates for individual modules either.


it is a stable build then - it is good that it is still available.
Posted By: BadBud

Re: Still Flying Version 1.5.8 - 06/27/18 07:19 PM

Rats!!
Really wanted the new Spit update.
BadBud
Posted By: Penshoon

Re: Still Flying Version 1.5.8 - 06/27/18 09:11 PM

I've reverted to 1.5.8 and will not go back again. It looks so much better with working AA and my old mods enabled again with no crashes.

In 2.5 I can hardly keep 45 fps with constant drops to 30 fps even with an empty map. 1.5.8 I can stay above 90 fps 99% of the time even with more demanding missions.
Posted By: BadBud

Re: Still Flying Version 1.5.8 - 06/27/18 11:22 PM

I think that it is sad that we flyers of 1.5.8 who paid the same as those able to fly 2.5, for modules and now may not be able to enjoy any fixes or whatever that are made to those existing modules. I for one, have most of the modules (no helos) and of course want to see any changes that should be available to all DCS flyers, both 2.5 and 1.5.8 users. I may never see the Nevada map that I pre-paid/ordered a long year ago if I decline to update to version 2.5.........................which is a real consideration. Luckily, I did not pre-order the Normandy map!
If true to opinions voiced here to my question, it is a bad decision for DCS!
Battle of Stalingrad will probably now be getting a lot more of my busine$$.

BadBud
Posted By: - Ice

Re: Still Flying Version 1.5.8 - 06/27/18 11:29 PM

Just curious about your PC specs, BadBud. Care to post the specs?
Posted By: BadBud

Re: Still Flying Version 1.5.8 - 06/28/18 01:56 AM

PC specs:

CPU Intel Core i7
RAN: 8 GB
VIDEO CARD: NVIDIA GTX 570 1.2 GB
Power Supply TT 750W TR2

BadBud
Posted By: Winfield

Re: Still Flying Version 1.5.8 - 06/28/18 08:38 AM

Originally Posted by BadBud
PC specs:

RAN: 8 GB
BadBud


Ah, there lies the problem....minimum specs require you to have another 120GB of ram
Posted By: theOden

Re: Still Flying Version 1.5.8 - 06/28/18 11:36 AM

Originally Posted by Winfield

Ah, there lies the problem....minimum specs require you to have another 120GB of ram

But that will only give you 30 mins of gametime, right?
Double that for a full hour that any reasonable mission should require.

biggrin
Posted By: Tom_Weiss

Re: Still Flying Version 1.5.8 - 06/28/18 11:58 AM

I have quite a good rig and run Il-2 and P3D at near maxed out settings and can't get (yet) DCS 2.5 to run - my guess (and that is all that it is) is that it is not a question of RAM or SSD but that DCS is still very much being tweaked and that in time it will run acceptably in most PC, it make take a couple of years to get there.

This is not unheard of - until P3D v2 I got used to very low FPS in FSX, took almost ten years for it to reach its full potential.
Posted By: bisher

Re: Still Flying Version 1.5.8 - 06/28/18 04:42 PM

Originally Posted by theOden
Originally Posted by Winfield

Ah, there lies the problem....minimum specs require you to have another 120GB of ram

But that will only give you 30 mins of gametime, right?
Double that for a full hour that any reasonable mission should require.

biggrin



Speaking of time played, is there any way to find out how much time we spend in game, I'd be interested to find out
Posted By: Art_J

Re: Still Flying Version 1.5.8 - 06/28/18 06:42 PM

I guess pilots' logbook is the only option for non-Steam DCS users. IF it works - I haven't looked at it for years so can't comment on its reliability, but there was a period long ago when it was bugged and was not registering flight hours.
Posted By: bisher

Re: Still Flying Version 1.5.8 - 06/28/18 06:51 PM

Okay thanks Art, I'll have a look
Posted By: - Ice

Re: Still Flying Version 1.5.8 - 06/28/18 08:36 PM

Which i7? And do you have an SSD? To be fair, another 8GB RAM should be needed as well as a GPU upgrade and an SSD if you don't have one yet, but these upgrades will benefit your entire system and other games, not just DCS, so might be worth considering. DCS running respectably on your average gaming PC might be a year or so down the line yet, so even with an upgrade, you may not see the results you were expecting for the money spent.
Posted By: Jetronic

Re: Still Flying Version 1.5.8 - 06/28/18 10:23 PM

Oh my god. 2.5.2 is out on the main branch so i took the plunge and updated.

How in hell can 2.5 be considered an upgrade at all.

The color palette is awfully cartoonish
The ground textures are utter #%&*$#, vastly inferior to 1.5
Jaggies everywhere
Horrible performance
Abysmal loading times
Stuttering

It's literally a downgrade over 1.5 in every single facet! (except finally they're doing something about the sound, small mercies)
Posted By: BadBud

Re: Still Flying Version 1.5.8 - 06/29/18 04:07 PM

-Ice:

Have INTEL Core i7 2600K 3.4 1155 unlocked
Have SSD, but do not have DCS loaded there.

BadBud
Posted By: - Ice

Re: Still Flying Version 1.5.8 - 06/29/18 04:14 PM

You may want to review the minimum/recommended specs for 2.5, Jetronic.
Posted By: Pooch

Re: Still Flying Version 1.5.8 - 07/01/18 05:09 PM

Guys, take a look at my screenshot post. That's on a 4 year old AZUS laptop. Only 8 GB's of RAMM. I did, however add a portable SSD drive. Major improvement. You do NOT need a NASA computer to run DCS. Admittedly, I don't really enjoy running missions with huge amounts of airplanes. I'll do a 4x4 dogfight or have a few planes going after ground targets...that sort of thing. But, I don't see how this is unplayable. And I'm running the Normandy map, now. With the Spitfire. Boy! am I enjoying it. For the last few days it's the only thing I've been playing on my rig.
Posted By: Tom_Weiss

Re: Still Flying Version 1.5.8 - 07/01/18 06:24 PM

I have a 1TB RAID SATA SSD with a 1080 GPU, 32 GB RAM

I had time to do it and give a try and updated today and it is still a slideshow.
Posted By: Nate

Re: Still Flying Version 1.5.8 - 07/01/18 06:33 PM

Was thinking of 1070 to replace my 670, think I better hold fire for now it that's the case. New cards are due in the next few months aren't they?

Nate
Posted By: Tom_Weiss

Re: Still Flying Version 1.5.8 - 07/01/18 06:55 PM

I paid US$600 for my GTX 1080 GAMING, 8GB GDDRX, they have become too expensive.
Posted By: Pooch

Re: Still Flying Version 1.5.8 - 07/01/18 07:35 PM

I have terrain set to low, but textures set to high. Pre set is medium. Visable distance is medium. I've turned off anything I think I don't need. Heat blur and civilian traffic. Just for the hell of of it, I put chimney smoke on zero, too. I'm playing at 1920 x 1080. Runs flawlessly. I don't know HOW you guys are geting slideshows if my weak ass rig is running this the way it is.
One thing I've also done is to set the games priority to high, in the task manager. I think that helps a lot.
Can't play with everything set to high, but I don't care. If you saw my screenshots, it still looks great . To me, anyway.
Posted By: Pooch

Re: Still Flying Version 1.5.8 - 07/01/18 07:38 PM

And i just picked up the Epsum campaign a few minutes ago. Looking forward to seeing how that will run with a whole lot going on.
Posted By: Tom_Weiss

Re: Still Flying Version 1.5.8 - 07/01/18 07:46 PM

Originally Posted by Pooch
I have terrain set to low, but textures set to high. Pre set is medium. Visable distance is medium. I've turned off anything I think I don't need. Heat blur and civilian traffic. Just for the hell of of it, I put chimney smoke on zero, too. I'm playing at 1920 x 1080. Runs flawlessly. I don't know HOW you guys are geting slideshows if my weak ass rig is running this the way it is.
One thing I've also done is to set the games priority to high, in the task manager. I think that helps a lot.
Can't play with everything set to high, but I don't care. If you saw my screenshots, it still looks great . To me, anyway.


doing that you take away all the eye candy


Originally Posted by Pooch
I don't know HOW you guys are geting slideshows if my weak ass rig is running this the way it is.


good question.

all things considered, I would not like to have to pay $100-150 for a module and terrain and have to "turn off all I don't need", I rather have 40-50 FPS and max out settings like I do in Il-2 and P3Dv4.
Posted By: Pooch

Re: Still Flying Version 1.5.8 - 07/01/18 09:51 PM

Oh yeah, I know, but really, I think it still looks great. Things like chimney smoke don't bother me.
Posted By: Pooch

Re: Still Flying Version 1.5.8 - 07/01/18 09:56 PM

"I would not like to have to pay $100-150 for a module and terrain and have to "turn off all I don't need""

Oh, and I got the Spitfire, Normandy map, and WW2 assets pack...all with a 50 dollar Steam gift card during the big sale going on, now. I wouldn't pay 150 bucks if I had to turn it all down, either. These sales are how I've gotten all of my DCS stuff.
Posted By: Pooch

Re: Still Flying Version 1.5.8 - 07/01/18 10:27 PM

[Linked Image]

No eye candy? Looks pretty sweet to me!
Posted By: Tom_Weiss

Re: Still Flying Version 1.5.8 - 07/02/18 01:11 AM

I haven't bought anything these past two years, but I used to buy the modules as soon as they came out, the $100-150 would be for the Homuz map and F/A-18.

Posted By: Haukka81

Re: Still Flying Version 1.5.8 - 07/02/18 05:16 AM

Originally Posted by Nate
Was thinking of 1070 to replace my 670, think I better hold fire for now it that's the case. New cards are due in the next few months aren't they?

Nate



I have I5 8400 (6core) 4.0ghz and 16gb DDR4 and 1070 ,

2.5 latest patch runs really smooth. High settings, in monitor i get 90-120fps easily even big missions.

And VR with Oculus runs great too.

Performance is now much better after patches.



And our Finnish flight group has about 100+ pilots and no performance problems. Even 1060 is enough if using only fullhd monitor. And lots of pilots with 8gb ram only (ssd drive helps) and no problems.
Posted By: Jetronic

Re: Still Flying Version 1.5.8 - 07/02/18 05:49 AM

Originally Posted by - Ice
You may want to review the minimum/recommended specs for 2.5, Jetronic.


They've not increase ram again have they? 64gb min now copter



Pooch, you're kinda proving my point, having to turn ALL they eyecandy off to get worse frames than 1.5 & have it look worse is NOT progress.

I don't have normandy, it's a pointless map, but PG has all the visual fidelity of Battlefield 2 circa 2006. ED appear to be trying to develop a screenshot simulator only.
Posted By: - Ice

Re: Still Flying Version 1.5.8 - 07/02/18 08:17 AM

I think what Tom's trying to say is that it doesn't make sense to turn down eye candy when his hardware SHOULD be able to handle it fine, as it can handle IL-2 and P3D very well. Just imagine having to turn down the sliders and decrease resolution just to play ONE game while all others run on ultimate graphics settings and 4K; it'll be like taking a step backward! smile


Originally Posted by Jetronic
I don't have normandy, it's a pointless map, but PG has all the visual fidelity of Battlefield 2 circa 2006. ED appear to be trying to develop a screenshot simulator only.

I thought that statement was going to be a positive for ED but then your last sentence seems to have turned it around.... what do you mean?
Posted By: Jetronic

Re: Still Flying Version 1.5.8 - 07/02/18 09:49 AM

Originally Posted by - Ice


I thought that statement was going to be a positive for ED but then your last sentence seems to have turned it around.... what do you mean?


Haha, i'm not sure if looking like BF2 is a complement or not!

The priorities and decisions on the graphics engine are just nutty. The overexposed color palette making everything looking Instagram ish. Having gauges go opaque white in sunlight. Massively overdone baked in reflections. I think they are trying to emulate a CAMERA in the cockpit rather than a human eyeball which adapts to these conditions. Defered shading seems to be worse but they've enforced it because they can't manage to get one shading strategy right, never mind two.

Then we have things like ultra high poly and texture trains, cows, grass that seems to consume resources all the time, but is seldom seen. I swear people take more time posting screenshots on H*ggit than they do playing the game!


And yes P3D runs a million times better on my machine whilst also looking much better.
Posted By: - Ice

Re: Still Flying Version 1.5.8 - 07/02/18 10:00 AM

Didn't play BF2 so had no idea smile Thanks for clarifying.

Oh, and I snub your P3D comment as XP11 is clearly superior! Hahaha!! Just kidding!
Posted By: IceecI

Re: Still Flying Version 1.5.8 - 07/02/18 12:17 PM

Originally Posted by - Jetronic
I don't have normandy, it's a pointless map, but PG has all the visual fidelity of Battlefield 2 circa 2006. ED appear to be trying to develop a screenshot simulator only.


Maybe we someday get proper camera screenshot tools in game, where you can choose from variety of angles and different effects then one could share the shots by clicking the facebook or reddit button on top of the screen. Honestly can't wait to get in game and shoot.. some selfies in cockpit.
Posted By: Tom_Weiss

Re: Still Flying Version 1.5.8 - 07/02/18 12:20 PM

Originally Posted by - Ice
I think what Tom's trying to say is that it doesn't make sense to turn down eye candy when his hardware SHOULD be able to handle it fine, as it can handle IL-2 and P3D very well. Just imagine having to turn down the sliders and decrease resolution just to play ONE game while all others run on ultimate graphics settings and 4K; it'll be like taking a step backward! smile


back in November I was running 2.0 beta quite well, not that I playing that much, but it was running fine.

The fact that with 2.5 I am not , means (to me) that this version was not tested across that many platforms so that similar rigs have different outcomes.

when the next version comes out, I'll give it a try, eventually or never, it will work.


Posted By: bisher

Re: Still Flying Version 1.5.8 - 07/02/18 02:30 PM

Glad to hear it's running well for you Pooch, I've never had a problem running this game so I've been lucky. Yes fairly sterile environment but runs well(have not even tried flying an actual mission yet), frustrating performance seems so inconsistent.

And it's nice to hear from the Water Cooler Jockeys wink
Posted By: Pooch

Re: Still Flying Version 1.5.8 - 07/02/18 02:55 PM

"Pooch, you're kinda proving my point, having to turn ALL they eyecandy off to get worse frames than 1.5 & have it look worse is NOT progress."

Well, I showed screenies at the screenshot section and I posted one here that I thought showed that I WASN'T turning ALL the eye candy off. I understand that people running super rigs are frustrated that they can't run this. That's why my point is, that, I'm surprised that I can run it it on my laptop, at all, and still have it look good and run well.
And I'm running this at 1920 x 1080. Oddly enough, when I first picked the Spit and the map up, I automatically turned down the res to 1600 x 900 because I fully expected not to be able to run at my screens resolution. It actually runs like crap at the lower setting, which doesn't make sense to me. Stuttering and micro-freezes. It seems to prefer the high res...which is good.
© 2019 SimHQ Forums