homepage

Derail Valley

Posted By: Mark Aisthorpe

Derail Valley - 04/05/17 07:15 PM

Just spotted this on Steam
http://store.steampowered.com/app/588030/
You can only get the Demo ATM and its VR only but its quite fun and has potential
If you have a Vive or Rift with Touch check it out.
Posted By: - Ice

Re: Derail Valley - 06/10/17 08:06 PM

I just installed this on my machine and using a Vive and O M G!!

Being able to crane my neck and look out the window, 1:1 head tracking, watching my train go around the bend... pity it's just a demo but I really, really like it!! I'm no train engineer but the physics doesn't seem very well done; I've not exactly tested the numbers but I expected a train with 6 cars to be much more sluggish. The train "cockpit" (is that what it's called?) is quite bare as well, would've loved it if they had some of the iconic diesel locos like the CSX loco in TSW...

Would be cool if there were more things to do in the demo.... I wonder if TSW or Train Simulator or Run8 supports VR?
Posted By: Leaf85

Re: Derail Valley - 06/21/17 02:15 PM

A VR version of TSW/Trainsimulator 20XX/Run 8 would be pretty fine indeed. No idea what the Run 8 devs are looking into. As for TSW, I found this Dev-reply to a query on the Steam forums

While TSW hasn’t been developed with VR firmly in mind and we have no official support for it - it is a very promising prospect for the simulation genre as a whole and something we are keen to look into as TSW continues to grow.

No promises, but we're not ruling anything out either!
The thread is here: https://steamcommunity.com/app/530070/discussions/0/133258092242009682/

VR or even fully supported TiR would be cool-- in any of the titles mentioned (what year is it?)...

Re: Derail Valley - 06/21/17 02:47 PM

Dont hold your breath for VR or TiR in TSW, just look at how long it took them to implement TiR in Train Sim despite the years of nagging by the community.