Comanche Gold on Windows Vista/7 - fixed!

Posted by: Flyboy

Comanche Gold on Windows Vista/7 - fixed! - 01/12/12 09:10 AM

Yes, it has finally been done!

Just yesterday, out of the blue, I got an e-mail from someone who I've never heard from before. The guy sent me some files and instructions on how to get Comanche Gold to run natively on Windows Vista and 7. After sifting through the rather lengthy and unsorted development notes he made, I was able to figure out what to do.

I tried it. It worked!

As some of you know, DavidC99 and myself tried to conquer this issue but never quite figured it out. I am currently hoping for the guy to reply back to my latest e-mail telling him of MY success with his fix, and then I can hopefully release it.

I did encounter a few issues with the fix, but I was able to figure out solutions and will write an easy-to-understand readme file to include.

Great news! Stay tuned!
Posted by: ufolev

Re: Comanche Gold on Windows Vista/7 - fixed! - 01/12/12 01:26 PM

I knew it - This game will NEVER die !!!

ufo :-)
Posted by: Rolim

Re: Comanche Gold on Windows Vista/7 - fixed! - 01/12/12 04:48 PM

Release it! Release it! Release it! Release it! Release it!
Pleeeeeeeeaaaaaaase!
Release it! Release it! Release it! Release it! Release it!
copter
Posted by: Flyboy

Re: Comanche Gold on Windows Vista/7 - fixed! - 01/13/12 09:33 AM

Hi Rolim, I haven't seen your name on here before!

Hopefully I will get full authority to release the fix from the author. I think he did intend for me to kind of release it on his behalf, but I would rather get confirmation first. However, if, after a couple of weeks I don't hear back from him, then I will probably release it anyway.

Just hold in there a bit longer! neaner
Posted by: Rolim

Re: Comanche Gold on Windows Vista/7 - fixed! - 01/14/12 07:37 PM

We will stay tuned!
I have the Comanche 2 CD-Rom also. That was really crazy.
I don't post here every month, but I read this forum (Sim HQ) every week for a long time. And your site also!
Posted by: ufolev

Re: Comanche Gold on Windows Vista/7 - fixed! - 01/15/12 01:28 AM

Hi FLYBOY,

I think that you must to offer the administrator/moderator/ of the SimHQ forum to
create a separated thread for Novalgic's Comanche series games
because the fans activity and custom development of the CG game have gone so far and
the innovations are enough big that this process deserves more attention.
All topics about the Comanche series games posted in SimHQ forum until now
and the future topics deserve to be in one place.

Are you agree with me ?


ufo :-)
Posted by: Flyboy

Re: Comanche Gold on Windows Vista/7 - fixed! - 01/15/12 07:04 AM

I guess I do agree, ufolev, but I'm not sure that the Comanche series has a big enough following on THIS forum to warrant a separate sub-forum for it. As you know, this forum has recently had an overhaul and even some more popular sim sub-forums on THIS forum have been merged.

Further note about the fix. I thought about it and have decided to release a 'bundle' fix where I will include the Windows Vista/7 fix, graphics mod and my new Comanche engine/rotor sounds. They will come in one package but they will be usable separately, so you can decide what to install. I could also add your campaign, ufolev?
Posted by: ufolev

Re: Comanche Gold on Windows Vista/7 - fixed! - 01/15/12 08:31 AM

Accept :-)
as you know More of the Comanche Gold innovations are created or assisted from you!

ufo
Posted by: Flyboy

Re: Comanche Gold on Windows Vista/7 - fixed! - 01/15/12 11:56 AM

Cool! I'll add your campaign as well!
Posted by: Flyboy

Re: Comanche Gold on Windows Vista/7 - fixed! - 01/23/12 08:26 AM

I will try to release the CG Windows Vista/7 Fix by the end of the week.
Posted by: RuhRoh

Re: Comanche Gold on Windows Vista/7 - fixed! - 01/24/12 01:28 AM

Originally Posted By: Flyboy
Just yesterday, out of the blue, I got an e-mail from someone who I've never heard from before. The guy sent me some files and instructions on how to get Comanche Gold to run natively on Windows Vista and 7. After sifting through the rather lengthy and unsorted development notes he made, I was able to figure out what to do.

I tried it. It worked!


Plus, now his computer is reporting all his activity to an obscure server in Romania! WinkNGrin
Posted by: Flyboy

Re: Comanche Gold on Windows Vista/7 - fixed! - 01/24/12 09:19 AM

Here it is!

I've included the fix in a new download I've put together called 'Comanche Gold Bundle (2012)'. Find all the details on the News page of my Comanche Gold website, and find the file on the Downloads page.

http://digitality.comyr.com/flyboy/cg/

Be sure to read each readme file for each mod in the bundle. smile

RuhRoh - The sender did in fact have an e-mail address that you get with a well-known British internet service provider. wink
Posted by: ufolev

Re: Comanche Gold on Windows Vista/7 - fixed! - 01/24/12 09:42 AM

THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU !!!

ufo :-)
Posted by: RuhRoh

Re: Comanche Gold on Windows Vista/7 - fixed! - 01/25/12 06:13 PM

Just to be clear, my previous post was meant as a joke . . . thus the WinkNGrin
Posted by: Flyboy

Re: Comanche Gold on Windows Vista/7 - fixed! - 01/27/12 07:52 AM

So was mine... thus the wink
Posted by: Rolim

Re: Comanche Gold on Windows Vista/7 - fixed! - 01/27/12 06:53 PM

Thank you! Veeeeryy muuuuch!
Already playing now!
copter
Posted by: Flyboy

Re: Comanche Gold on Windows Vista/7 - fixed! - 01/29/12 07:37 AM

Good news, Rolim!

Did you find my instructions clear enough?
Posted by: Rolim

Re: Comanche Gold on Windows Vista/7 - fixed! - 01/29/12 05:23 PM



Originally Posted By: Flyboy
Good news, Rolim!

Did you find my instructions clear enough?


Very clear and concise.
No doubts.
Thanks again!
Posted by: Flyboy

Re: Comanche Gold on Windows Vista/7 - fixed! - 01/30/12 08:15 AM

Thanks for the feedback, Rolim.
Posted by: ufolev

Re: Comanche Gold on Windows Vista/7 - fixed! - 02/23/12 03:55 PM

hello Flyboy ,

the MOD works on windows98 too and here
in the training flights appears a new option named HIDDEN TRAINING



leading to removed mission file




ufo :-)
Posted by: Flyboy

Re: Comanche Gold on Windows Vista/7 - fixed! - 02/25/12 11:53 AM

WTF!? dizzy
Posted by: Reticuli

Re: Comanche Gold on Windows Vista/7 - fixed! - 03/18/12 12:13 AM

Wow. Very nicely done. It's almost been a year since I've been able to run this off at grad school. My crummy little laptop with only integrated graphics runs this fast as snot. Working on a GlovePIE profile for an Xbox 360 controller to use with V-Hold thing. Two sticks would also work if anyone has a spare to use as a joy-collective. Try it. Kind of nice. Need to get my x52 shipped to me.
Posted by: Flyboy

Re: Comanche Gold on Windows Vista/7 - fixed! - 03/19/12 09:41 AM

Hi Reticuli, it's always good to see posts from you on here... especially as you don't visit much nowadays.
Posted by: The Punisher

Re: Comanche Gold on Windows Vista/7 - fixed! - 05/13/12 10:23 AM

Great ! Thanks!

I did a "Large Install" and followed the inrstructions but still getting "All files needed to run game not found. Insert CD and then re-run game."
frown

Ideas / suggestions?

Edit:

Go it! I always install games to a dedicated partition. I uninstalled it and re-installed to the default "C:\Program Files" folder and it worked!
Awesome!!!!
Posted by: Flyboy

Re: Comanche Gold on Windows Vista/7 - fixed! - 05/14/12 12:07 PM

Thanks for the feedback, The Punisher. I was not aware of any installation path issues.
Posted by: The Punisher

Re: Comanche Gold on Windows Vista/7 - fixed! - 06/23/12 09:43 AM

hmmm...I've been playing it without any problems until today...Today I fired it up and I can no longer play in single player mode even with the CD.
frown
Posted by: Flyboy

Re: Comanche Gold on Windows Vista/7 - fixed! - 06/23/12 10:00 AM

I don't know what's happened there then. Will it work again if you re-copy over the modified .EXE file? Or does it look like you'll have to do a full re-install?
Posted by: The Punisher

Re: Comanche Gold on Windows Vista/7 - fixed! - 06/23/12 10:48 AM

Hey Flyboy...hope everything is ok...

Repeated all post-installations stpes but didn't worked. iunistalled and re-installed and is working no again....weird.....
confused
Posted by: Flyboy

Re: Comanche Gold on Windows Vista/7 - fixed! - 06/23/12 11:50 AM

Hi Punisher, yeah things are OK and I'm still around here!

So you mean the game is running OK again now?
Posted by: The Punisher

Re: Comanche Gold on Windows Vista/7 - fixed! - 06/23/12 12:16 PM

yep...so far....
smile