homepage

memory problems with FSX

Posted By: Que

memory problems with FSX - 09/07/13 12:13 AM

FSX is giving me a headache. I've been flying FSX and sims for years. Even built a new rig last year to upgrade to better graphics and rates. All went well, until I upgraded my graphics drivers a little over a month ago. Don't know if that has anything to do with it or not. I have AMD Radeon HD 6850.

I'm finally learning to use the FMC and IFR flying. It always seemed daunting. But i started learning after seeing my son programming the FMC and using SIDs, STARs and routes. Figured I'd try. So I'm flying the Flight 1 Super 80 Pro from KSFO To KLAS. Got Sids, trans and routes lined up. But just as I begin my descent into Vegas, The pc freezes. FSX tells me: "Your computer has run out of availble memory." That never happened I have 8 gigs on the mb plus 2.5 TBs in 3 HDs. FSX is on a HD with 1 TB by itself. Got a 60 GB SSD for startup. Is there anyway to get more memory? The Mobo will take 32 gigs but the guy at Microcenter said I din't need more for FSX. I tried my Aerosoft Airbus Extended and same thing happened. ususally as I'm on approach to land. Anyone got any ideas. i'm stuck in a holding pattern right now.
Posted By: weeksy

Re: memory problems with FSX - 09/07/13 08:27 AM

Hi Que, this is a problem with FSX being a 32bit application, so it can only use a maximum of 4GB of memory (virtual address space). When the program reaches this 4GB VAS limit it will cause an out of memory error and stop working.

There are a number of things that increase the risk of OOM errors - running with frames rate limiter set at unlimited, using a setting higher than 4.5 for LOD radius, high levels of AI traffic, using HD textures (4096) for clouds etc.

This is becoming a more common issue in FSX as people have more powerful machines and can run the sim with all the bells and whistles. There is a lot of discussion on this over at Avsim so you might want to have a look over there. You can monitor VAS usage by FSX and see how adjusting your settings helps.

I hope this helps,

Steve
Posted By: Heretic

Re: memory problems with FSX - 09/07/13 08:09 PM

Back down on add-ons and settings.
Posted By: Legend

Re: memory problems with FSX - 09/08/13 06:15 AM

FSX was programmed for a different era. But there are a lot of tweaks you can do.

For example, check out this video. It helped me with a lot (but not all, unfortunately) memory errors. And to give you an idea of add-ons I have installed: my FSX folder is 266 GB plus I have a separate add-ons folder that is almost 43 GB.

Posted By: Que

Re: memory problems with FSX - 09/11/13 02:02 AM

Thanks for the suggestions guys. I turned down a few settings and was able to complete a flight this time. I would like to try that high fix, bufferpools edit as well. I may look up link. but if this works for now i may let it stand. I don't want to turn things down so far that it affects appearance. but... I do want to fly. I'll keep you posted. Thnks for the help.
Posted By: kilosierra

Re: memory problems with FSX - 09/12/13 06:04 PM

Do you have a 64-bit OS?

After upgrading from XP 32-bit to W7 64-bit, I never had a OOM again.
Posted By: Que

Re: memory problems with FSX - 09/17/13 04:44 PM

@Kilo Just got back from weekend trip to Little Rock. Yes, I upgraded to to 64bit OS with Win7. Also installed 120 gig SSD for startup. I want to try overclocking, but i think that i need a water cooling system for the cpu. Don't want it to over heat.
Posted By: Heretic

Re: memory problems with FSX - 09/18/13 11:18 AM

You don't need water. A good air cooler will suffice. (Don't ask me for a specific model though. I don't have an i series CPU.)


Also, since the trouble might have started after a video driver update, try this procedure:
http://www.aviationcafe.co.uk/Index/viewtopic.php?f=79&t=1995


Do you use any custom scenery for LAS?
Try flying without it.
Posted By: MTFDarkEagle

Re: memory problems with FSX - 09/18/13 02:01 PM

Regards to the CPU cooling: Heretic is correct, you don't *need* watercooling. Water cooled is just as good cooling wise as a good air cooler (water may be slightly better depending) and takes less space in the case and (maybe, I don't know about this one though..) maybe less noise. I've only had aircoolers on my PC's. Currently on a 4670k using a Noctua NH-D14 cooler and I'm very pleased with it, but at this point I don't have the CPU overclocked.
Posted By: kludger

Re: memory problems with FSX - 09/18/13 04:29 PM

Noctua NH-D14 air cooled here too and I've been running extreme overclocked for 2+ years with no heat issues (3.3Ghz running at 4.8Ghz).

This NH-D14 replaced a faulty Corsair H100 watercooler and it has been just as cool within a couple of degrees but much quieter, great air cooler.

As far as FSX Out Of Memory issues, I recommend checking on AVSIM or the FSDreamTeam site, there is a known problem with FSX when running some combinations of stacked high detail add-ons of region + airplane + airport, i.e. ORBX + 737NGX + FSDT KLAX or FSDT CYVR and the limitations of FSX being a 32bit app and all those details exceeding it's available memory on approach once FSX has to display the airport detail. Search for "OOM" on those sites.

I remember reading details there on how to diagnose the problem by checking how much memory FSX has in use before the crash and also some ideas to try to avoid it, I think FSDT provided lower res texture and detail options for the airports to help customers avoid the condition.
Posted By: Que

Re: memory problems with FSX - 09/20/13 03:00 PM

End of Week report:

So far, I've been able to complete several short hops, 1 to 1.15 hr.s duration.... 2+hrs w\ preflight. No OOM incidents. I have not tried the high mem fix or bufferpools adjust. Nothing other than the "viendo"?? adjust. Hope to try longer flight this weekend. Got to work around a wedding. Also going to Microcenter for the NH-D14st cooler. Want to get more out of the cpu. Will o'clocking help with performance in FSX? I'm already getting 25 - 45 frames in flight. However, i don't want to burn out my cpu. Hence the cooling concern.
Posted By: AggressorBLUE

Re: memory problems with FSX - 09/20/13 03:43 PM

Yup.

The reason I went with my Corsair Hydro 110 was that it's the largest pre-packaged cooling setup available. All the reviews were saying that that's the size where they started to see liquid cooling pull away from their top performing Air cooler (the notcturna that Kludger mentioned). Even then, it's performance just barely scrapes ahead of the nocturna. Plus, not all cases are drilled to except rads that big. (This means I "had" to get my awesome new Corsair C70 case, what a shame :D)

That said, Liquid cooling is popular because a smaller, lighter weight* cooler can do the work of a much, much larger and heavier air cooled radiator. It just costs more, and does carry the (often exaggerated) risk of leaking. LC setups also carry a shorter shelf life than AC setups. With an AC rad, all that can really fail is the fans, and those are cheap and easy to replace. This isn't a big deal to me personally though, as I plan to upgrade my cooling solution with my CPU anyway.

My advice would be to start with a Coolermaster Hyper 212 (link below). I used one on my AMD setup, and frankly you can't beat it without spending 3 times that much. See how much of a boost that gives you, and go from there.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835103065



*Important when shipping a pre-made PC. Big, heavy air collers put a lot of stress on the motherboard as that's where they are bolted to. LC setups put the bulk of their weight in the radiator, which can be bolted to the case itself.
Posted By: AggressorBLUE

Re: memory problems with FSX - 09/20/13 03:45 PM

Originally Posted By: Que
End of Week report:

So far, I've been able to complete several short hops, 1 to 1.15 hr.s duration.... 2+hrs w\ preflight. No OOM incidents. I have not tried the high mem fix or bufferpools adjust. Nothing other than the "viendo"?? adjust. Hope to try longer flight this weekend. Got to work around a wedding. Also going to Microcenter for the NH-D14st cooler. Want to get more out of the cpu. Will o'clocking help with performance in FSX? I'm already getting 25 - 45 frames in flight. However, i don't want to burn out my cpu. Hence the cooling concern.



I would DEFINITELY apply the high mem fix if you're getting errors (assuming you're reffering to the config tweak).
Posted By: kludger

Re: memory problems with FSX - 09/20/13 04:03 PM

+1 on the high mem fix, if you do nothing else this would be a key one.

Also overclocking definitely helps FSX even more than a GPU upgrade since FSX does most of it's graphics in the CPU, you might not get higher framerate overall but you will get more consistent and smooth framerate.
© 2019 SimHQ Forums