Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#4486064 - 08/13/19 04:35 PM Epic browser  
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 998
Chef Offline
Member
Chef  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2001
Posts: 998
North Carolina
Has anyone else had any experience with the Epic browser? I have been trying it out for the last few weeks and I really like it, So far it seems to block pop ups and auto videos very well. It has a built in VPN and you can chose the general location you are seen as coming from. Examples: Eastern US, Western US, Canada, UK, Germany, Netherlands, India & Singapore. I kind of have to stick to the English speaking countries as it defaults to the native languages, currency and news. Sort of using a Tor browser it is supposed to be the securest browser out there. One issue I have encounter is the local radar won't run but I guess that is the point of the browser not running auto play.

Epic Browser


The road less traveled is filled with fewer needy people.
Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#4486067 - 08/13/19 05:00 PM Re: Epic browser [Re: Chef]  
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 15,289
Nixer Online cool
Scaliwag and Survivor
Nixer  Online Cool
Scaliwag and Survivor
Veteran

Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 15,289
Living with the Trees
This should solve your radar problem Chef.

https://www.wjhg.com/templates/2015_Fullscreen_Radar


"I have but one lamp by which my feet are guided, and that is the lamp of experience. I know no way of judging of the future but by the past."
Patrick Henry 1775

I personally believe in the tooth fairy, Santa Claus and that deficit spending is sustainable forever. We really do need more Admirals in the Navy than ships and that millions of more poor immigrants will jump start the economy.

"There's a sucker born every minute."
Phineas Taylor Barnum

#4486073 - 08/13/19 05:24 PM Re: Epic browser [Re: Chef]  
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 998
Chef Offline
Member
Chef  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2001
Posts: 998
North Carolina
Oh...that's a nice radar and it will play on the Epic browser. Weather Underground radar gets stopped dead by the Epic browser. Thanks!


The road less traveled is filled with fewer needy people.
#4486133 - 08/14/19 02:19 AM Re: Epic browser [Re: Chef]  
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,378
vocatx Offline
Member
vocatx  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,378
Voca, Texas
I use Firefox with some add-ons and have no pop-ups, no video ads, etc. I haven't seen a commercial on You Tube in several years. My wife doesn't use Firefox and has to sit through the ads.


4H_V-man

System Specs:
MSI 870 A-G54
AMD X4 Phenom II @ 3.4 ghz
8 Gb DDR3 1333 RAM
1 Tb Western Digital
250 Gb Western Digital
320 Gb Seagate
Radeon HD 6970 graphics
Thermaltake 650 Modualar power supply
Thermaltake Element V full tower
#4486134 - 08/14/19 02:31 AM Re: Epic browser [Re: Chef]  
Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 10,134
JimK Offline
Veteran
JimK  Offline
Veteran

Joined: Aug 2001
Posts: 10,134
Spokane,WA
Works great in Firefox for me.
Bookmarked to. Thanks.


Erebus Full Tower:Windows 7 Ult 64bit:Intel� Core� i7
3930K Processor(6x 3.20GHz)32GB[4 GB X8] DDR3-1866:GPU
NVIDIA GeForce GTX Titan 6GB:1.5Kw PSU: 43" Sceptre 4k:
LG Blu-ray burner,: hd1/750GB,hd2/2TB,hd3/1TB,hd4/1TB,HD5/4TB

Youtube videos
Flickr Photos
#4486135 - 08/14/19 02:32 AM Re: Epic browser [Re: Chef]  
Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 18,506
piper Offline
Veteran
piper  Offline
Veteran

Joined: Jan 2001
Posts: 18,506
Raleigh,NC
I'd be a little suspicious of a "built-in VPN". Probably just me though..

To block ads/popups try 'privacy badger', it's a browser plug-in. Someone mentioned it here on simGQ and it's golden.

Last edited by piper; 08/14/19 02:34 AM.
#4486177 - 08/14/19 01:44 PM Re: Epic browser [Re: vocatx]  
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 1,720
Catfish Offline
Member
Catfish  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 1,720
Where the ocean meets the sky
Originally Posted by vocatx
I use Firefox with some add-ons and have no pop-ups, no video ads, etc. I haven't seen a commercial on You Tube in several years. My wife doesn't use Firefox and has to sit through the ads.

Hmm, which add-ons do you use with FF? I use several but commercials are still running wild on the tube sigh

#4486204 - 08/14/19 04:08 PM Re: Epic browser [Re: Chef]  
Joined: Apr 2015
Posts: 7,856
F4UDash4 Offline
Hotshot
F4UDash4  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Apr 2015
Posts: 7,856
SC
Tried to use Epic to connect to my Netflix account to see if I could spoof being in the UK and access programming not available in the US. No joy.


“Government has three primary functions. It should provide for military defense of the nation. It should enforce contracts between individuals. It should protect citizens from crimes against themselves or their property. When government-- in pursuit of good intentions tries to rearrange the economy, legislate morality, or help special interests, the cost comes in inefficiency, lack of motivation, and loss of freedom. Government should be a referee, not an active player.” - Milton Friedman
#4486206 - 08/14/19 04:13 PM Re: Epic browser [Re: piper]  
Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 15,289
Nixer Online cool
Scaliwag and Survivor
Nixer  Online Cool
Scaliwag and Survivor
Veteran

Joined: Mar 2001
Posts: 15,289
Living with the Trees
Originally Posted by piper
I'd be a little suspicious of a "built-in VPN". Probably just me though..

To block ads/popups try 'privacy badger', it's a browser plug-in. Someone mentioned it here on simGQ and it's golden.


wave


"I have but one lamp by which my feet are guided, and that is the lamp of experience. I know no way of judging of the future but by the past."
Patrick Henry 1775

I personally believe in the tooth fairy, Santa Claus and that deficit spending is sustainable forever. We really do need more Admirals in the Navy than ships and that millions of more poor immigrants will jump start the economy.

"There's a sucker born every minute."
Phineas Taylor Barnum

#4486221 - 08/14/19 06:46 PM Re: Epic browser [Re: F4UDash4]  
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 998
Chef Offline
Member
Chef  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2001
Posts: 998
North Carolina
Originally Posted by F4UDash4
Tried to use Epic to connect to my Netflix account to see if I could spoof being in the UK and access programming not available in the US. No joy.


Did you set the proxy to the UK? It's the icon in the upper right-hand corner beside the umbrella icon.
[Linked Image]

I tested it on Absolute Radio from my vivaldi browser i am blocked from listening live. When I go through Epic set to the UK proxy it gets me to the login screen to sign in.

With vivaldi I get this when clicking on Listen Live:
https://player.absoluteradio.co.uk/geo/

With Epic I get this after clicking Listen Live:
https://absoluteradio.co.uk/account/?action=rpregister&url=http%3A%2F%2Fplayer.absoluteradio.co.uk%2Far%2F


The road less traveled is filled with fewer needy people.
#4486225 - 08/14/19 07:37 PM Re: Epic browser [Re: Chef]  
Joined: Apr 2015
Posts: 7,856
F4UDash4 Offline
Hotshot
F4UDash4  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Apr 2015
Posts: 7,856
SC
Yes, set proxy to UK.


“Government has three primary functions. It should provide for military defense of the nation. It should enforce contracts between individuals. It should protect citizens from crimes against themselves or their property. When government-- in pursuit of good intentions tries to rearrange the economy, legislate morality, or help special interests, the cost comes in inefficiency, lack of motivation, and loss of freedom. Government should be a referee, not an active player.” - Milton Friedman
#4486226 - 08/14/19 07:58 PM Re: Epic browser [Re: Chef]  
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 998
Chef Offline
Member
Chef  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2001
Posts: 998
North Carolina
Oh well, it was worth a try.


The road less traveled is filled with fewer needy people.
#4486227 - 08/14/19 08:12 PM Re: Epic browser [Re: Chef]  
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,378
vocatx Offline
Member
vocatx  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,378
Voca, Texas
I use Duck Duck Go as my default search engine, and have Privacy Badger and Bluhell Firewall 2.7 running on Fire Fox. To get rid of You Tube commercials I have AdBlocker for You Tube.


4H_V-man

System Specs:
MSI 870 A-G54
AMD X4 Phenom II @ 3.4 ghz
8 Gb DDR3 1333 RAM
1 Tb Western Digital
250 Gb Western Digital
320 Gb Seagate
Radeon HD 6970 graphics
Thermaltake 650 Modualar power supply
Thermaltake Element V full tower

Moderated by  RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Peter Fonda passed at 79
by rwatson. 08/17/19 01:41 AM
Those "Beyond Burgers"
by PanzerMeyer. 08/16/19 10:39 AM
Isn't this just a bit silly?
by Nixer. 08/15/19 11:31 PM
What3words
by RedToo. 08/15/19 05:05 PM
USS Yorktown
by JohnnyChemo. 08/14/19 08:35 PM
Final Request
by Bill_Grant. 08/14/19 01:49 PM
Hi-Res Audio
by Red2112. 08/13/19 05:31 PM
Online gaming buddies
by PanzerMeyer. 08/13/19 05:08 PM
Epic browser
by Chef. 08/13/19 04:35 PM
"deep fake" video
by Tom_Weiss. 08/13/19 11:57 AM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0