Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#4479142 - 06/20/19 06:59 PM F/A-18 on Win10?  
Joined: Jun 2019
Posts: 1
schwack Offline
Junior Member
schwack  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jun 2019
Posts: 1
Juneau, AK
Hello, I've been trying to run Jane's F/A-18 on my Win10 laptop. Menus work fine (with sound), but I'm getting CTD when I try to launch flight. I've tried launching various Training missions and Instant Action, all fail.

Config:
  • installed @ C:\Games\Jane's Combat Simulations/FA-18
  • installed patch 1.01F
  • installed TSH 4.02; config'd to use mod
  • installed DXWnd v2_05_18; using DXWnd (as Admin) to launch F18.exe
  • Installed nGlide v2.10
  • Cyborg 3D USB stick (throttle, rudder, hat, etc.)
  • AMD FirePro M5100 (graphics)

In DXWnd, I tried importing the included Janes FA18 config; it didn't work, so I've also tried starting a new config from scratch with various tweaks. I installed nGlide after those attempts didn't work. Nothing I've done has worked to get this sim to fly. Can I get some advice / help? Has anyone had success getting this sim to work on Win10?

I've read lots of posts here and there, tried lots of things already; have uninstalled / reinstalled several times, tried various versions of mods and patches. Many of the posts I've read claiming success on x64 pertain to Win8, just a few refer to Win10; everything seems at least a year old or more, too. Did Win10 kill this game?

I'm running Falcon 4 (Steam) just fine, but this sim (F/A-18) was my all-time favorite back in the day, I really miss it; would love to get it working again. I do still have a couple older computers, I could resurrect one of them to install it elsewhere, but I'd like to make it work on my "main" machine, if possible.

Thanks in advance for any help / advice.


Last edited by schwack; 06/21/19 04:39 AM.
Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#4481503 - 07/05/19 06:35 AM Re: F/A-18 on Win10? [Re: schwack]  
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 119
Rhugouvi Offline
Member
Rhugouvi  Offline
Member

Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 119
I have been experiencing the very same situation.
So nothing to help you, unfortunately, but I too would really appreciate any hint to fix JF18 in W10 environment.


"We warned you, but you just wouldn't listen..."
#4481907 - 07/07/19 03:00 PM Re: F/A-18 on Win10? [Re: schwack]  
Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 84
Tcklbrry Offline
Junior Member
Tcklbrry  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 84
Czech Republic
Hi,
can I get CD images from game?

#4481931 - 07/07/19 06:15 PM Re: F/A-18 on Win10? [Re: schwack]  
Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 84
Tcklbrry Offline
Junior Member
Tcklbrry  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 84
Czech Republic
I already have. smile

#4482631 - 07/13/19 08:29 AM Re: F/A-18 on Win10? [Re: schwack]  
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 861
damson Offline
Member
damson  Offline
Member

Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 861
Hiding in the bushes
Is Tcklbrry working on a fix for F/A-18?

If you manage to make it playable on Windows 10 you should hit GOG with your fix (and with fixes for IAF and USAF too for that matter). Maybe they consider releasing the Jane's sims on their site. Just a thought wink

#4483684 - 07/22/19 06:20 AM Re: F/A-18 on Win10? [Re: schwack]  
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 119
Rhugouvi Offline
Member
Rhugouvi  Offline
Member

Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 119
A Tcklbrry fix for Jane’s FA18? Oh boy, that would be great! Well that WILL be great (just dreaming put loud).
Please please please Tcklbrry!

Last edited by Rhugouvi; 07/22/19 06:20 AM.

"We warned you, but you just wouldn't listen..."
#4485049 - 08/03/19 11:40 PM Re: F/A-18 on Win10? [Re: schwack]  
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 322
Agathosdaimon Offline
Member
Agathosdaimon  Offline
Member

Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 322
Melbourne, Australia
i would really like to get F/a-18 working too, i am at the momenbt installing it on a virtualbox version of win98se - i am curious to see if it will run there

#%&*$# it - i justt get the error at the start saying "could not find display driver list"

Last edited by Agathosdaimon; 08/04/19 12:38 AM.
#4485066 - 08/04/19 06:40 AM Re: F/A-18 on Win10? [Re: schwack]  
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 322
Agathosdaimon Offline
Member
Agathosdaimon  Offline
Member

Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 322
Melbourne, Australia
Okay so i dont know where anyone else is at with this - i applied the 1.01f patch and put f18 into dxwnd using the config file there in its exports folder already and the game starts and then the menu is not responsive, but if i click on the black window that the game creates behind the unresponsive one, then the menus are working well enough and i can get to the fly screen - cockpit, flying all looks good except that something is odd with the mouse or controls (maybe due to me not having a joystick plugged in) but the view just wants to keeping panning up on its own and if i go to an external view, then the screen view is just rotating around the plane.

also the game is still a bit unstable as i may crash here and there - so is this progress or is this everyone elses experience?

i feel like if i could get the view to stop panning/moving on its own then i could play it - is joystick mandatory for fa18?

#4485095 - 08/04/19 07:07 PM Re: F/A-18 on Win10? [Re: schwack]  
Joined: Oct 2013
Posts: 126
Andromedius Offline
I Love Camembert
Andromedius  Offline
I Love Camembert
Member

Joined: Oct 2013
Posts: 126
Nancy, North-East of FRANCE
Hi, the panning view is a common bug. I also suggest you read the FAQ for Jane's F/A-18 if you haven't done so already : http://SimHQ.com/forum/ubbthreads.php/topics/367924/janes-f-a-18-faq-updated-2013-feb-24#Post367924

How to solve view panning up
Remove the line JOY1_HATUP=CAM_ROTATE_UP from the f18keys.ini file. The change must be made for each mapping that is used in-game.

Honestly, it is quite necessary to use a joystick to have a good experience with this sim.

Not sure if this is still reliable but there"s a thread on reddit about Jane's F/A-18 and Windows 10 : https://www.reddit.com/r/hoggit/comments/8gkcl0/how_to_get_janes_fa18_working_on_windows_10/

Hope that helps.

Fly Safe,

Andro

Last edited by Andromedius; 08/04/19 07:11 PM.

'Au Royaume des aveugles, les borgnes sont mal vus'. Pierre Dac.
In the land of the blind, one-eyed men are badly looked upon.
#4485131 - 08/05/19 05:24 AM Re: F/A-18 on Win10? [Re: schwack]  
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 322
Agathosdaimon Offline
Member
Agathosdaimon  Offline
Member

Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 322
Melbourne, Australia
thanks - yes i will have to use a joystick ultimately i just wanted to see if i could get it working first at the very least

#4485276 - 08/06/19 02:25 PM Re: F/A-18 on Win10? [Re: schwack]  
Joined: Oct 2013
Posts: 126
Andromedius Offline
I Love Camembert
Andromedius  Offline
I Love Camembert
Member

Joined: Oct 2013
Posts: 126
Nancy, North-East of FRANCE
I might be wrong but I seem to recall that when I bought the sim in 1999 a joystick was mandatory and I experienced the rotating view bug right out of the box. rofl
Plus, being french and obviously running a french version of Windows, I had to set my system to US parameters in order to install and play Jane's F/A-18.

Good times and fun times

Last edited by Andromedius; 08/06/19 03:51 PM.

'Au Royaume des aveugles, les borgnes sont mal vus'. Pierre Dac.
In the land of the blind, one-eyed men are badly looked upon.
#4485403 - 08/07/19 05:49 PM Re: F/A-18 on Win10? [Re: Andromedius]  
Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 536
Doggie Offline
Member
Doggie  Offline
Member

Joined: Jul 2001
Posts: 536
Canada
Originally Posted by Andromedius
I might be wrong but I seem to recall that when I bought the sim in 1999 a joystick was mandatory and I experienced the rotating view bug right out of the box. rofl


I remember that !


Core i5 3570K, ASRock Z77 EXTREME4, 32GB RAM, RX 580 8GB, 256 GB SAMSUNG SSD x 2, 2TB Seagate SATA3 x 2, Samsung Blue-ray Drive, CORSAIR RM850x Power Supply.
#4485574 - 08/08/19 11:45 PM Re: F/A-18 on Win10? [Re: schwack]  
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 322
Agathosdaimon Offline
Member
Agathosdaimon  Offline
Member

Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 322
Melbourne, Australia
regarding getting Fa18 workign better has anyone experimented with the Windows Application Compatibility Toolkit for it? i saw elsewhere here how it was helpful in fixing F-16 Aggressor and i used it recently to get Nascar Sim Racing working at last too on windows 10


Moderated by  RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Peter Fonda passed at 79
by rwatson. 08/17/19 01:41 AM
Those "Beyond Burgers"
by PanzerMeyer. 08/16/19 10:39 AM
Isn't this just a bit silly?
by Nixer. 08/15/19 11:31 PM
What3words
by RedToo. 08/15/19 05:05 PM
USS Yorktown
by JohnnyChemo. 08/14/19 08:35 PM
Final Request
by Bill_Grant. 08/14/19 01:49 PM
Hi-Res Audio
by Red2112. 08/13/19 05:31 PM
Online gaming buddies
by PanzerMeyer. 08/13/19 05:08 PM
Epic browser
by Chef. 08/13/19 04:35 PM
"deep fake" video
by Tom_Weiss. 08/13/19 11:57 AM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0