Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#4478706 - 06/18/19 06:08 PM WOFF & G-Sync Frame Rate Limiter  
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 145
Mike Dora Offline
Member
Mike Dora  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 145
USA (transplanted Scot)
Can someone remind me please how one sets/disables the G-Sync Frame Rate Limiter with WOFF?

I'm asking because I used to have my "Combat Flight Simulator 3" NVidia profile Frame Rate Limiter set to 60 fps. For insurance, I also had my WOFF Nvidia profile set to the same value.

Recently though I've implemented (ie copied!) HarryH's NVidia profile settings, including Frame Rate Limiter = "off", for both CFS3 and WOFF (thanks Harry BTW, it looks great). But I'm still getting 60 fps.

I've confirmed that the NVidia profile Frame Rate Limiter thing is actually working, because when I set it to something low like 25.4fps in the CFS3 profile, I get an actual 25 fps in WOFF. However when I set it to something higher, like 75.6, I go back to only getting 60fps within the sim.

So it looks to me as if I've set a 60fps limit "somewhere else". Can someone please remind me just where that "somewhere else", is please?

Thanks

Mike

#4478709 - 06/18/19 06:16 PM Re: WOFF & G-Sync Frame Rate Limiter [Re: Mike Dora]  
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,648
JJJ65 Offline
Member
JJJ65  Offline
Member

Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,648
Czech Rep.
Maybe display limit?

#4478712 - 06/18/19 06:54 PM Re: WOFF & G-Sync Frame Rate Limiter [Re: JJJ65]  
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 145
Mike Dora Offline
Member
Mike Dora  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 145
USA (transplanted Scot)
Thanks, but maybe I'm being thick, where do I find "display limit" please?

#4478737 - 06/18/19 08:10 PM Re: WOFF & G-Sync Frame Rate Limiter [Re: Mike Dora]  
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,648
JJJ65 Offline
Member
JJJ65  Offline
Member

Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,648
Czech Rep.
Maybe 60 fps is your display's max refresh rate. Check your display properties.

#4478753 - 06/18/19 08:36 PM Re: WOFF & G-Sync Frame Rate Limiter [Re: Mike Dora]  
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 145
Mike Dora Offline
Member
Mike Dora  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 145
USA (transplanted Scot)
Don't think the display is limited. I'm using a GeForce GTX 1070 Ti card with a G-Sync compatible Dell monitor, posting framerates of the order 125-150fps in things like First Eagles 2 & Strike Fighters 2.

Whatever is constraining WOFF to 60fps is therefore probably WOFF-specific. It's also probably something I set myself, in an effort to eliminate the old micro-stutters. Problem is, I can't remember what/where the setting is!

#4478755 - 06/18/19 08:45 PM Re: WOFF & G-Sync Frame Rate Limiter [Re: Mike Dora]  
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,648
JJJ65 Offline
Member
JJJ65  Offline
Member

Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,648
Czech Rep.
That is strange then. I use non G-sync monitor with 75 fps in WOFF. Pobably it is locked to 60 fps somewhere else.

#4478787 - 06/19/19 01:03 AM Re: WOFF & G-Sync Frame Rate Limiter [Re: Mike Dora]  
Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 999
HarryH Offline
Member
HarryH  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 999
Hey Mike, only just saw this thread.... are you using the Nvidia Inspector?


..."I took the Stutter Challenge....AND WON!!!"

...”My PC’s been banned... for taking PEDs!!!”

...”The stutters only happen on Wednesdays when it’s cloudy. The rest of the time we’ll be just fine!!!”
#4478812 - 06/19/19 03:51 AM Re: WOFF & G-Sync Frame Rate Limiter [Re: Mike Dora]  
Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 999
HarryH Offline
Member
HarryH  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 999
Your monitor may be the same as mine and your Nvidia card is slightly more powerful than mine. What's for certain is, you can get 200FPS+ with WOFF with your monitor / Nvidia card smile

That said, my extensive efforts at optimizing for WOFF tell me that it's better to limit the frame rate with WOFF. Use my settings, downloadable here: https://drive.google.com/open?id=1E_AAnRjFN4DfOKM9CioShz4v2LlT2rIc

Feel free to ping me if you need help getting these working.


..."I took the Stutter Challenge....AND WON!!!"

...”My PC’s been banned... for taking PEDs!!!”

...”The stutters only happen on Wednesdays when it’s cloudy. The rest of the time we’ll be just fine!!!”
#4478846 - 06/19/19 10:26 AM Re: WOFF & G-Sync Frame Rate Limiter [Re: Mike Dora]  
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 145
Mike Dora Offline
Member
Mike Dora  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 145
USA (transplanted Scot)
Harry, I already copied your settings from your previous post here. My issue is specifically that something somewhere, other than NVidia Inspector settings, seems to be imposing a 60fps limit for Combat Flight Simulator 3 (and hence for WOFF, and I’ve discovered, for WOTR too). From the trials discussed above I know that the NVidia Inspector frame rate limiter is working for Combat Flight Simulator 3 for settings below 60fps, and that my G-Sync monitor is capable of high frame rates with other sims.

What I’m trying to discover/remember, is just where that other setting is, which is holding WOFF at 60fps (mind you it runs very smooth at that rate).

Mike

Last edited by Mike Dora; 06/19/19 10:31 AM.
#4478891 - 06/19/19 01:48 PM Re: WOFF & G-Sync Frame Rate Limiter [Re: Mike Dora]  
Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 999
HarryH Offline
Member
HarryH  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 999
I’ve done fair bit of work on them since my original post.

If you copied my settings and you have vsync on at half the refresh rate, you should be seeing 72FPS, which IMO is optimal for this ancient game engine smile

The other thing to check is to make sure WOFFs resolution is set to the highest. See my settings screen capture (it’s in the folder at the link above).


..."I took the Stutter Challenge....AND WON!!!"

...”My PC’s been banned... for taking PEDs!!!”

...”The stutters only happen on Wednesdays when it’s cloudy. The rest of the time we’ll be just fine!!!”
#4478893 - 06/19/19 01:51 PM Re: WOFF & G-Sync Frame Rate Limiter [Re: Mike Dora]  
Joined: May 2001
Posts: 1,651
Panama Red Offline
Member
Panama Red  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2001
Posts: 1,651
Irmo, SC, USA
Try setting your Workshop V-sync setting to "Use Drivers setting" versus "forcing V-sync" and that should do it.

P.S. WOTR does not do the same thing with "Use Drivers setting". In that game you must chose the setting of "force V-sync off" to get unlimited FPS in the game.


CPU = i9 9900K, GPU = RTX 2080 Ti, Monitor = 32" 4K G-sync
#4478895 - 06/19/19 01:55 PM Re: WOFF & G-Sync Frame Rate Limiter [Re: Mike Dora]  
Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 999
HarryH Offline
Member
HarryH  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 999
Alternatively you can disable vsync and get crazy fast FPS... but you may experience problems with WOFF at that speed. Another thing to try is Vsync Fast, but I prefer vsync 1/2 refresh rate, given a g-sync monitor running at 144Hz refresh rate.


..."I took the Stutter Challenge....AND WON!!!"

...”My PC’s been banned... for taking PEDs!!!”

...”The stutters only happen on Wednesdays when it’s cloudy. The rest of the time we’ll be just fine!!!”
#4478930 - 06/19/19 04:54 PM Re: WOFF & G-Sync Frame Rate Limiter [Re: Mike Dora]  
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 145
Mike Dora Offline
Member
Mike Dora  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 145
USA (transplanted Scot)
Problem solved chaps.

It was actually two things, the Vsync limitation as discussed above, plus (the simplest of things!) my monitor refresh rate was set to 60Hz, vs its full capability of 144Hz. A bit like buying a Ferrari, then driving it around in second gear..

Once I removed those restrictions I got frame rates in the 140-195fps region. So I've gone back to HarryH's Vsync= 1/2 refresh rate, and also applied a frame rate limitation of 120fps. So far so good!

Thanks

Mike

Last edited by Mike Dora; 06/19/19 04:54 PM.
#4478937 - 06/19/19 05:38 PM Re: WOFF & G-Sync Frame Rate Limiter [Re: Mike Dora]  
Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 999
HarryH Offline
Member
HarryH  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2014
Posts: 999
Originally Posted by Mike Dora
Problem solved chaps.

It was actually two things, the Vsync limitation as discussed above, plus (the simplest of things!) my monitor refresh rate was set to 60Hz, vs its full capability of 144Hz. A bit like buying a Ferrari, then driving it around in second gear..

Once I removed those restrictions I got frame rates in the 140-195fps region. So I've gone back to HarryH's Vsync= 1/2 refresh rate, and also applied a frame rate limitation of 120fps. So far so good!

Thanks

Mike


Awesome job Mike.


..."I took the Stutter Challenge....AND WON!!!"

...”My PC’s been banned... for taking PEDs!!!”

...”The stutters only happen on Wednesdays when it’s cloudy. The rest of the time we’ll be just fine!!!”

Moderated by  Polovski 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Underwater Official Trailer
by Red2112. 08/19/19 04:15 PM
Farmers Kid
by rwatson. 08/19/19 02:31 PM
Show us your guitars!
by piper. 08/18/19 11:30 PM
Peter Fonda passed at 79
by rwatson. 08/17/19 01:41 AM
Those "Beyond Burgers"
by PanzerMeyer. 08/16/19 10:39 AM
Isn't this just a bit silly?
by Nixer. 08/15/19 11:31 PM
What3words
by RedToo. 08/15/19 05:05 PM
USS Yorktown
by JohnnyChemo. 08/14/19 08:35 PM
Final Request
by Bill_Grant. 08/14/19 01:49 PM
Hi-Res Audio
by Red2112. 08/13/19 05:31 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0