Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#4475515 - 05/26/19 12:49 PM Longbow 2 Working On Windows 7!  
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,363
Flyboy Offline
Senior Member
Flyboy  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,363
England, UK
After finally getting back to LB2 today, I did some more experimenting. I've now got Longbow 2 running stable on Windows 7... with my USB joystick plugged in... and NO debrief screen crash/black screen!

I was successful after using dgVoodoo 1.50 Beta2, just like the old days. Newer versions of dgVoodoo, and any version of nGlide, crash the game. Here are the settings I'm using:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/4gvoqpgk9lnj7jf/lb2_win7.png?dl=0

I entered an Instant Action mission and a random-generated mission, and both times was so far able to exit to the debrief screen. The only side-effects so far are distorted base screen colors (which can be fixed by accessing the menu or another option and then going back), the helicopters being a bit too fast and responsive (even with forced vsync), and of course the slow yaw rate (again, even with forced vsync).

My system:
Intel Quad Core i7-4800MQ @ 2.7GHz
32GB RAM
WD Blue 500GB SSD
NVIDIA Quadro K3100M 4GB
Windows 7 Professional 64-bit, Service Pack 1

My setup:
CD images mounted using WinCDEmu.
My Windows 7 Fix.
GUI/sound loop compatibility fix.
dgVoodoo 1.50 Beta2 (just dgVoodooSetup.exe and glide2x.dll files in LB2 install folder).

More testing to follow... OK so far I've had one in-game freeze where I had to CTRL-ALT-DEL out of the game.

Last edited by Flyboy; 05/26/19 02:40 PM.
Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#4477992 - 06/13/19 08:13 PM Re: Longbow 2 Working On Windows 7! [Re: Flyboy]  
Joined: May 2010
Posts: 232
flightsimer90s Offline
Member
flightsimer90s  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2010
Posts: 232
I have
Longbow DOS
Longbow (flash point korea) PC
Longbow w official 3DFX patch

Longbow2

All working and patched to the latest

The only things that I can't get to load are

-the quick movies like captured and crashes.

-flight recorder after adding the 3dfx patch in Longbow 1

-training movies except news scrap book to load after 3dfx patch

Last edited by flightsimer90s; 06/13/19 08:16 PM.
#4478028 - 06/14/19 06:40 AM Re: Longbow 2 Working On Windows 7! [Re: Flyboy]  
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 4,555
Eugene Offline
Senior Member
Eugene  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 4,555
Oregon
WAIT!! FLYBOY????!!!! Alive and posting and flying LB2?? Lordy Lordy. Next you'll claim the CUBS won a World Series this century, or a Canadian team won the NBA Championship.
How the heck are you? And glad you got LB2 in the air again. Mostly, glad to see you,

Eugene

..


Eugene

CoreDuo G620
ASUS P8Z68-V PRO
GeForce 1060
Creative Z
Win10
16 gig RAM
Cougar
#4478055 - 06/14/19 11:10 AM Re: Longbow 2 Working On Windows 7! [Re: Flyboy]  
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,363
Flyboy Offline
Senior Member
Flyboy  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,363
England, UK
flightsimer90s - I never had any luck playing LB1 after applying the 3DFX patch. If your computer is powerful enough, I suggest running the game in software mode through DOSBox, then you'll get full functionality including all movies playing as they should.

Eugene - Hi! Good to see you're still around here. I had an e-mail exchange with Recluse fairly recently and I asked about you. Yeah I got a new laptop a few months ago so naturally revisited some old games. Right now I'm only playing one or two missions per session in LB2 and getting NO crashes. The game has shown itself to still be unstable at times, so am sure that a longer stretch would get me more crashes or freezes. One of the best things for me with the new laptop is the addition of a full-size keyboard with NumPad. I used to get terribly frustrated with previous laptops which didn't have a separate NumPad, because as you know, in LB2 a great number of vital functions are accessed there and key remapping is always an issue as there's not really any spare keys in LB2. I hope you are well and I do visit here maybe a few times a week right now.

#4478158 - 06/14/19 08:49 PM Re: Longbow 2 Working On Windows 7! [Re: Flyboy]  
Joined: May 2010
Posts: 232
flightsimer90s Offline
Member
flightsimer90s  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2010
Posts: 232
Originally Posted by Flyboy
flightsimer90s - I suggest running the game in software mode through DOSBox, then you'll get full functionality including all movies playing as they should.

.


Already have that version as well

#4478182 - 06/15/19 12:10 AM Re: Longbow 2 Working On Windows 7! [Re: Flyboy]  
Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 716
Viper1970 Offline
Member
Viper1970  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2010
Posts: 716
Bavaria, near Munich
Hello Flyboy,

I often visited your webpage some years ago to get Longbow 2 still running on a modern system.

After so many vain attempts to get my old collection of combat sims like the Janes series, Microprose games, Novalogic title and many more running on a new system with Windows 7, I finally decided to create a retro rig which is most powerful, but still compatible with Windows 9X and XP.

For this I used the system also listed in my signature. No problems to run any of the old simulators out of the box and you have also enough power to use nGlide, even with Windows 9X. I have two 3DFX Voodoo II cards in SLI mode in this system too (not listed yet in the signature) and they are running perfectly, but I prefer the use of nGlide if possible, cause you could run higher resolutions in some simulations. Yes, nGlide also runs with Win9X even if it isn't listed for compatibility. I tried to use a Phenom X4 at first (cause I had lying one arround), but this prevents Win9X from booting. So I used an dual core Athlon X2 with 3000Mhz. The ASRock board I used is one of the rare mainboards with an socket AM2 and an AGP graphics slot. With Windows ME it's no problem to run 2GB of Ram and I really prefer WinMe over W9X here, cause it makes less trouble, but is still fully compatible with the old 9X-titles.

As a gift you have the option to use DOSBox or better DFend Reloaded for your MS-DOS titles, cause the system has enough power to run it. I made a dual boot option, so I could use WME or WXP with this PC dependent on what simulations I would like to run.

I think this is the only way to further play those old beloved titles. I hope non of the hardware parts will get defect in the next years, because it's a real pain now to get old hardware, even at ebay.

Last edited by Viper1970; 06/15/19 12:19 AM.

Main Cockpit System: AMD Ryzen 7 2700X / ASRock Taichi X470 / 32GB Ram GSkill F4-2800C15Q-32GVR / Asus ROG Strix GeForce RTX 2080 OC

WSO Cockpit System: AMD Ryzen 5 2600X / Asus Prime B450 Plus / 16GB Ram GSkill F4-2666C15Q-16GRR / KFA2 GeForce RTX 2060

Retro System: AMD Athlon X2 3000Mhz / ASRock AM2NF3-VSTA / 2GB Ram / Gigabyte GV-N68T256DH GeForce AGP 6800 GT 256MB DDR3 / Diamond Monster 3D II 12MB SLI
#4478211 - 06/15/19 08:21 AM Re: Longbow 2 Working On Windows 7! [Re: Flyboy]  
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,363
Flyboy Offline
Senior Member
Flyboy  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,363
England, UK
flightsimer90s - That's good to hear!

Viper1970 - Sounds like you've got it all figured out! The only sims I used to play and still care enough about to still play are Comanche Gold and Longbow 2, the former playing flawlessly in native Windows 7 due to the cracked exe file available and LB2 playing more or less perfectly in short sessions, again on native Windows 7 with additions listed in my first post in this thread.

#4480801 - 06/30/19 10:51 PM Re: Longbow 2 Working On Windows 7! [Re: Flyboy]  
Joined: May 2010
Posts: 232
flightsimer90s Offline
Member
flightsimer90s  Offline
Member

Joined: May 2010
Posts: 232
yeap forgot all the videos and everything longbow gold works on dosbox

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

Last edited by flightsimer90s; 06/30/19 10:59 PM.

Moderated by  RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
CRPGs
by DBond. 07/22/19 03:19 PM
Well Godzilla KOTM didn't do so well:
by NickM. 07/22/19 01:27 PM
New scam
by KraziKanuK. 07/22/19 06:25 AM
Flight yoke question
by SpongeBob55. 07/21/19 09:17 PM
When Not To Use The Video Chat Cat Filter
by Arthonon. 07/21/19 08:28 PM
HBO’s «Chernobyl»
by semmern. 07/20/19 06:15 PM
Spacesuit Article
by Rick_Rawlings. 07/19/19 09:31 PM
Storm Area 51
by Chaz. 07/19/19 08:20 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0