Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 2 1 2
#4473128 - 05/06/19 09:27 AM Re: Panzer Elite Ostpak Redux 2.0 released - download links [Re: Daskal]  
Joined: May 2019
Posts: 5
kommando Offline
Junior Member
kommando  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: May 2019
Posts: 5
Scotland
Thanks for getting back so quickly.

On the install, all the exe's are set tp XP sp2 and to run as admin, the full folder structure has been set to readable and the files from earlier runs copied to virtual store deleted. That should in theory be the same as running outside 'program files' but will be doing a fresh install from my original disc to c:/PE later as Microsoft do do weird things..

3d Control reports

Videomemory 2055896KB available, 1800KB regd
Texturememory 2054096KB available, Texture detail highest

Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#4473248 - 05/07/19 04:42 AM Re: Panzer Elite Ostpak Redux 2.0 released - download links [Re: Daskal]  
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,398
Brit44 'Aldo' Offline
Every Human is Unique
Brit44 'Aldo'  Offline
Every Human is Unique
Member

Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,398
Then 3D config is working properly. "PE"/data/setting.HAL should match the time stamp for the last time you successfully ran 3D config.

I am not sure where to go from here. I do not have Win10 and I am done with hardware upgrades. I am still happy with Win98. You could try setting compatibility to Win98 as that was a pure 32 bit operating system.

I still suspect that the amount of ram you have is causing the negative number in the error log for required free texture memory. This would be the same type of error experienced with 3Dconfig and video cards with greater then 2 gigs of memory.

Last edited by Brit44 'Aldo'; 05/07/19 04:46 AM.

TPA who TWI
#4473509 - 05/09/19 02:17 PM Re: Panzer Elite Ostpak Redux 2.0 released - download links [Re: Daskal]  
Joined: May 2019
Posts: 5
kommando Offline
Junior Member
kommando  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: May 2019
Posts: 5
Scotland
Setting it to Win 98 and also Win 95 compatibility did not work. So will try a fresh install. The PC is Win 10 Pro so may try Hyper V and install a Virtual Win Xp 32 bit or similar.

#4474022 - 05/14/19 11:25 AM Re: Panzer Elite Ostpak Redux 2.0 released - download links [Re: Daskal]  
Joined: May 2019
Posts: 5
kommando Offline
Junior Member
kommando  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: May 2019
Posts: 5
Scotland
Well installing Hyper V has completely hosed my Win 10 install, it will not reboot even after using system restore and system repair gives up so last option is a full reinstall of Win 10. This is the last straw with Win 10 and may go Linux instead. Staying with 98 seems like a good idea.

#4474637 - 05/19/19 01:28 AM Re: Panzer Elite Ostpak Redux 2.0 released - download links [Re: Daskal]  
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 173
almccoyjr Offline
Member
almccoyjr  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 173
Austell, GA.
Sorry to hear PE Redux 2.0 isn't working.

Iv'e got W10 x64 and except for some external FOV's I'm still chasing, PE RDX is running fine. I installed on separate hd and followed the suggested setup guide; all .exe's @ XP Sp2 and didn't run the Control Center until after RDX was enabled.

plug_nickel

#4475148 - 05/23/19 10:58 AM Re: Panzer Elite Ostpak Redux 2.0 released - download links [Re: almccoyjr]  
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 50
postman Offline
Junior Member
postman  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 50
Cape Town
I have also had no issues and everything runs well on Windows 10 Enterprise ver 1803 on my dedicated Intel graphics card

postman


At Fiddlers Green, where seamen true, when here they've done their duty, The bowl of grog shall still renew and pledge to love and beauty.
#4475574 - 05/27/19 04:41 AM Re: Panzer Elite Ostpak Redux 2.0 released - download links [Re: Daskal]  
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,398
Brit44 'Aldo' Offline
Every Human is Unique
Brit44 'Aldo'  Offline
Every Human is Unique
Member

Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,398
FOVs are stored in PE/data/misc. They are stored as the view draw size. The original PE 1.2 stores the cone as CVL(size).DAT. PEx stores the cone as BVL(size).DAT. I forget which version MY's last code version uses. All versions recreate and save the cone if it is not found. The cone size is determined by the camera magnification. In PEx and MY mods (if I remember correct), the cone is also dependent on the weather.

So, you should delete the view cones if you suspect the stored version does not match the build of the game engine you are using.

3Dfx, Nvidia and AMD display the cone a little different. The view cone was one of the earliest code mods (extended view ranges). In the early days, we did not know that the cone used a stored version. Since then, moders did there best to adjust there code values to work on all available drivers.

The most common error from a mismatch is landscape polygons not being drawn at the left and right extents of the screen. If deleting a view cone does not correct the error, the chances are that the video card driver has changed there math.

Edit:
Note: the mod enable will only know of these view cone changes if the original creator of the mod knew of the stored .DAT file and supplied replacement versions

Edit2:
FOVs are a float value that is hard coded into the game engine. Screen resolution affects this value. If deleting the BVLs of Redux do not correct the error, delete the BVLs and try a different screen resolution (3DConfig).

Edit3:
Note! there will be a delay while the CPU (PE does not use your GPU) rebuilds any missing FOVs upon switching cameras. The the cameras are 1x (default), 2.5x (binoculars and most optics), and 5x (optic zoom). If you view all 3 cameras at the start of the mission, then you will not have a delay later in the scenario

:P I am starting to overthink this reply.

Last edited by Brit44 'Aldo'; 05/27/19 05:24 AM.

TPA who TWI
#4475774 - 05/28/19 11:22 AM Re: Panzer Elite Ostpak Redux 2.0 released - download links [Re: Daskal]  
Joined: May 2019
Posts: 5
kommando Offline
Junior Member
kommando  Offline
Junior Member

Joined: May 2019
Posts: 5
Scotland
Well I found a way to change the memory Win 10 sees without taking out the memory sticks so will give that a try.

https://windowsreport.com/system-configuration-windows-10/

Once you have system configuration up click on the 'Boot' tab and then on 'Advanced options' , you can then set the maximum memory Win 10 will see.

I have already tried deleting the BVL files but still got the same errors.

#4478790 - 06/19/19 01:21 AM Re: Panzer Elite Ostpak Redux 2.0 released - download links [Re: Daskal]  
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 105
Vox Offline
Member
Vox  Offline
Member

Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 105
Thanks Daskal, I'm really enjoying OstPak Redux 2. I had not played PE for years but I wanted to give this mod a try. So I bought PE-se from GOG installed it and the mod with no significant problems on a Win 7/64 bit build - The pdf instructions made it clear how to install. The only hitch was the "3D_Control_Center.exe" utility didn't allow me to select the resolution I wanted inially. I solved that by allowing win 7 to select the compatibility setting for the 3D utility. It selected Win Xp Service pack 3. I'm now running 1920x 1080 32bit ( GTX 1660) and it plays and looks great.

Last edited by Vox; 06/20/19 06:32 PM.
#4480206 - 06/27/19 02:26 PM Re: Panzer Elite Ostpak Redux 2.0 released - download links [Re: Daskal]  
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 105
Vox Offline
Member
Vox  Offline
Member

Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 105
FYI: TrackIR users . TrackIR 5's mouse emulation (TIRMouse.exe) works for PEse ( with OstPak Redux 2.0). Being an older game PE is not on the official list of enhanced games(btw steel beast pro is). However, it still can be used for mouse views in the x and y (yaw/ pitch) dimensions which is enough to view the PE battlefield.

Still very impressed with the updates, fine modeling, terrain, and new game engine programmed by Aldo. Wingmen and game logic also seems better.

Last edited by Vox; 06/27/19 09:17 PM.
#4480452 - 06/28/19 06:18 PM Re: Panzer Elite Ostpak Redux 2.0 released - download links [Re: Daskal]  
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 5,019
WangoTango Offline
Hotshot
WangoTango  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 5,019
Ontario, Canada
Are there any tutorials on how to play this sim ? preferably video ? There does not appear to be any ingame.


Aeon 3181 Gaming Tower
Nvidia GTX 1070 G1 8GB
AMD Ryzen 7 1800X 8-Core/16-Thread
16GB DDR4 Ram
250GB M.2 PCIe SSD/2TB HDD
Windows 10 Home 64
#4480539 - 06/29/19 03:54 AM Re: Panzer Elite Ostpak Redux 2.0 released - download links [Re: Daskal]  
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,398
Brit44 'Aldo' Offline
Every Human is Unique
Brit44 'Aldo'  Offline
Every Human is Unique
Member

Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,398
There used to be some game play videos, but I forget where
This thread covers the default controls, with a graphic that explains the "Mouse Tank".
https://www.tapatalk.com/groups/pedg/feeling-a-little-rusty-t1710.html

Aditional key commands are covered in my readme of the code changes.
Quote
Misc:

A fourth view range has been added. The default key is alt-F4. If a large enough memory block is not avalible, the view range will default to alt-F1

The commanders external view and binocular view can be toggled to lock on a specific target by selecting any object or position with the mouse. The option is off at the start of the scenario The default key to toggle the option is Ctl P. The option is found on the third tab of the key command options. The lock can be broken by clearing the target marker or toggling the option off.

Wingmen can be ordered to button and unbutton. The default key to toggle the option is Shft B. The option is found on the fourth tab of the key command options. Wingmen must be selected first before giving the button/unbutton command.

Infantry AI and AT AI ignore objects in their landscape grid for the purpose of fire line and spotting checks.

When debug mode is active, the outline of the mouse tank wingman box will change color depending on there movement mode logic.
Red if selected.
White if idle or in direct movement mode.


TPA who TWI
#4480541 - 06/29/19 04:02 AM Re: Panzer Elite Ostpak Redux 2.0 released - download links [Re: Daskal]  
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,398
Brit44 'Aldo' Offline
Every Human is Unique
Brit44 'Aldo'  Offline
Every Human is Unique
Member

Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,398
If the mod has a gunnery range listed in the single scenario selection, go there to learn the controls. PEDG first created this scenario to test the ballistics. It was released to all moders as a training aid for players.

If you have any problem setting up your platoon, click on the ADC ( the guy in the pre scenario screen not associated to a tank ) this will bring up a note pad that allows you to edit all of the clickable functions of the arming screen.

The menu code assumes you have closed any unwanted popup displays. If the popup images seem "odd" then go to that type of popup image and close the open popup.

If must hold a mouse button, or single click to toggle, to pan the camera is a setting within the player preferences.

If you have specific game play questions, please post a new thread in this forum or PEDGs. I do not wish to hijack Daskal's release thread.

Last edited by Brit44 'Aldo'; 06/29/19 04:21 AM.

TPA who TWI
#4480581 - 06/29/19 01:06 PM Re: Panzer Elite Ostpak Redux 2.0 released - download links [Re: Daskal]  
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 105
Vox Offline
Member
Vox  Offline
Member

Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 105
In the PE folder you should find the manual and original key code pdfs. There should also be a file labeled PE_Tutorial.Doc where the original developers give a "little tutorial".

I found this old article from Tanksim helpful for tactical and crew campaign tips.
http://www.tanksim.com/sherm1.htm

In PEse with Ostpak Redux 2 mod there are two single scenario's labelled "Brit 5 Firing Range" for both German and Allied equipment-Very useful for adjusting german optics.

A good video walkthrough would help bring in new players.

#4480679 - 06/30/19 01:34 AM Re: Panzer Elite Ostpak Redux 2.0 released - download links [Re: Daskal]  
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 5,019
WangoTango Offline
Hotshot
WangoTango  Offline
Hotshot

Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 5,019
Ontario, Canada
Thanks guys.


Aeon 3181 Gaming Tower
Nvidia GTX 1070 G1 8GB
AMD Ryzen 7 1800X 8-Core/16-Thread
16GB DDR4 Ram
250GB M.2 PCIe SSD/2TB HDD
Windows 10 Home 64
Page 2 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  Meatsheild, RacerGT 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
HBO’s «Chernobyl»
by semmern. 07/20/19 06:15 PM
Spacesuit Article
by Rick_Rawlings. 07/19/19 09:31 PM
Storm Area 51
by Chaz. 07/19/19 08:20 PM
Checking in from Spokane our new home
by JimK. 07/18/19 11:45 PM
Old Crow Mustang
by DBond. 07/18/19 08:42 PM
Trailer for you know what!
by archermav. 07/18/19 07:58 PM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0