#4475438 - 05/25/19 01:12 PM Lest We Forget: The Mission  
F4UDash4 Offline
Veteran
F4UDash4  Offline
Veteran

SC
Lest We Forget: The Mission

Artist Statement
Ever since my early childhood, I’ve been an artist. Fine art. Commercial art. You name it. This project, however, is special. It is my magnum opus… The most challenging from an artistic point of view, but more importantly, the most meaningful to me. I put my heart and soul into this work.

The narrative below describes the overall origins of this sculpture. Bear in mind, however, it is comprised of twelve individual figures. Each figure has its own story and its own meaning. I hope you’ll also take the time to read each of the twelve stories posted under the “Gallery” menu heading.

Here is the background behind this work of art: Of fourteen original members of my original group of Class 42-J P-38 fighter pilots, only two survived six months of combat: Jim Hagenback and me. Much of our survival was due to luck. Years later, we vowed to each other that whoever was left standing would do something to honor the twelve. Lest We Forget: The Mission stemmed from our deep gratitude to the twelve original members of our Group that didn’t survive to live their lives in peace.

At 94, I am the last man standing of my original group. Completing the sculpture in August, 2016 fulfilled my oath to honor my comrades. To my knowledge, I am the only commercial artist to live through combat as a US WWII fighter pilot in the North African theater of operation. Turning to my art, the idea of the sculpture grew out of an intense memory of the quiet bravery of my comrades attending a mission briefing as we recommitted to executing the day’s mission, even while flanked by the memory of our fellow pilots killed in recent combat.