Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#4472893 - 05/04/19 01:12 AM Quick Frame Rate Question  
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 678
CaptSopwith Offline
Barmy WingNut
CaptSopwith  Offline
Barmy WingNut
Member

Joined: May 2003
Posts: 678
United States
Hi Chaps!

Hope you're doing well. As I posted over in the WOFF forum, I've upgraded my graphics card to a 1050 ti with some great input of the chaps here. And I have to say, I am floored by the upgrade! WOTR, which honestly wasn't really playable on a 745 GTX is now much much better!

I only have one frame rate issue with the sim at this point, and that seems to arise when we attack enemy aircraft in a group. When my wingmen open up on German bomber formations the FPS takes a massive hit and will fall into single digits. It appears to be tied to mostly to the smoke and debris effects coming off the aircraft. I've dialed the effects down to 1 but it doesn't seem to really correct the issue. Any time there is a large engagement it runs decently smooth (25-55 fps) but once there is a lot of smoke, tracer effects, and damage effects, that seems to be the primary culprit of the frame rate hit.

Here are my workshop and nVidia settings. I'm running the stock sim, latest patch, no other changes. Any input would be appreciated. Love this sim!

PS: Just did a night mission over London and WOW - one of the most atmospheric moments I've ever had!

Cheers!

Attached Files WOTR Settings.pngWOFF - WOTR Settings.png
Last edited by CaptSopwith; 05/04/19 01:24 AM.
#4473100 - 05/05/19 08:32 PM Re: Quick Frame Rate Question [Re: CaptSopwith]  
Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 6,339
Polovski Offline
Polovski  Offline

Hotshot

Joined: Mar 2003
Posts: 6,339
You probably need to reduce some settings to help. Firstly you should, as per the FAQ, try CUSTOM setting for terrain quality.

See sections 13, 14 for a start.

http://www.wingsoverthereich.com/index_htm_files/WOTR-FAQ.pdf

There are of course many other tweaks in the FAQ that can help.

Glad you are having some immersive fun though!

PS maybe also set the GPU to use full power.

Last edited by Polovski; 05/05/19 08:33 PM.

Regards,

Polovski,
OBD Software, developers of immersive flight sims;
Wings Over Flanders Fields and Wings Over The Reich
http://www.overflandersfields.com
http://www.wingsoverthereich.com
#4474604 - 05/18/19 07:48 PM Re: Quick Frame Rate Question [Re: CaptSopwith]  
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 678
CaptSopwith Offline
Barmy WingNut
CaptSopwith  Offline
Barmy WingNut
Member

Joined: May 2003
Posts: 678
United States
Hiya Pol! Thanks for reminding me about the FAQ. I switched the Terrain setting to custom and then plugged in the settings you recommend. That has smoothed out my FPS quite nicely. Some dogfights still get a bit chuggy but overall I'm well over 60fps and I even cranked air activity up to medium. Here are my current settings. Cheers!

Attached Files WOTR Settings.pngWOFF - WOTR Settings.png
#4474657 - 05/19/19 05:01 AM Re: Quick Frame Rate Question [Re: CaptSopwith]  
Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,086
Blade_Meister Online biggrin
Member
Blade_Meister  Online Biggrin
Member

Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,086
Atlanta, GA, USA
CaptSopwith, you might try different numbers in the " Max Pre-rendered frames" . I am currently using "4" and my WOTR is running very smoothly. If you are running TIR 4 or 5 make sure to try lower "smooth" settings. I used to run mine at 50, but I have moved it back to 22 and it seems like I have even less stutters over London than I did. I noticed none to very l;little difference in my TIR movement, i.e. it is still very precise and smooth moving. I hope these may help you some. salute

S!Blade<><

#4474688 - 05/19/19 01:57 PM Re: Quick Frame Rate Question [Re: Blade_Meister]  
Joined: May 2003
Posts: 678
CaptSopwith Offline
Barmy WingNut
CaptSopwith  Offline
Barmy WingNut
Member

Joined: May 2003
Posts: 678
United States
Hi Blade! Hope you are doing well mate. I haven't tried the pre-rendered frames trick yet. I used to limit my old card back to 1 as a way of minimizing hiccups in the frame rate. I've also ticked the Trackir back down to I think 10 on smoothness and yeah, it prevents those moments when you swing your head and the trackir seems to get stuck. Definitely smoother!

I also have to thank Pol - that shift on the terrain settings literally moved the game from stuttery to playable. The other settings do not seem to have nearly the impact on my fps as the terrain option.

#4474758 - 05/19/19 11:10 PM Re: Quick Frame Rate Question [Re: CaptSopwith]  
Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,086
Blade_Meister Online biggrin
Member
Blade_Meister  Online Biggrin
Member

Joined: Apr 2013
Posts: 1,086
Atlanta, GA, USA
Good to hear you are getting good performance. I limit my frame rate to 59 or 60 as my monitor is 60Hz. "The terrain draw speed" is one thing that really hit my performance hard and gave me bad stutters. You might try "4" and see if it gives even better performance for you. See pic. salute

S!Blade<><

Attached Files Workshopa.jpg

Moderated by  Polovski 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
Old classic films
by PanzerMeyer. 06/18/19 01:31 PM
Toyota Supra: 1990 vs. 2020
by MarkG. 06/18/19 02:06 AM
Semmern is a *bleep*
by EAF331 MadDog. 06/17/19 07:28 PM
Monday Jokes...
by Bill_Grant. 06/17/19 04:25 PM
Happy Father's Day!
by Bill_Grant. 06/16/19 05:35 PM
Apollo 11 in Real Time
by F4UDash4. 06/16/19 04:51 PM
Star Wars Reimagined
by Timothy. 06/16/19 06:17 AM
A moving story
by NH2112. 06/16/19 03:44 AM
Copyright 1997-2016, SimHQ Inc. All Rights Reserved.

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0