Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#4460756 - 02/10/19 05:24 PM Activate Machine Guns After Engine Restart  
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 373
ARUP Offline
Member
ARUP  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 373
Kentucky
I landed behind enemy lines and shut off engine to wait for bad guys to show up at their nearby field. When they appeared and circled to land I re-started engine, took off for the attack and found myself in a bad position because the guns wouldn't work! Anybody else try this? I tried this at home field, too. I would take off then circle back and land. Re-starting engine gave same results... no guns! Is there a 'fix'? Also, when you land in enemy territory AA still shoots at you!!!

#4460770 - 02/10/19 06:15 PM Re: Activate Machine Guns After Engine Restart [Re: ARUP]  
Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 236
Burning_Beard Offline
Member
Burning_Beard  Offline
Member

Joined: Jun 2011
Posts: 236
Red Bluff, CA
Did you try the select weapon button?

Beard


More Scotch and Stogies for my Wingman!
#4460772 - 02/10/19 06:35 PM Re: Activate Machine Guns After Engine Restart [Re: ARUP]  
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,539
JJJ65 Offline
Member
JJJ65  Offline
Member

Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,539
Czech Rep.
Originally Posted by ARUP
...Also, when you land in enemy territory AA still shoots at you!!!

Try WOFF_Multimod and toggle the radiobutton "Disable flak shooting on landed planes".

#4461098 - 02/13/19 02:50 AM Re: Activate Machine Guns After Engine Restart [Re: ARUP]  
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 373
ARUP Offline
Member
ARUP  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 373
Kentucky
Thanks for the info everyone! I tried landing in enemy territory again to test some gameplay actions. Flying Pfalz D-IIIa in Jasta 4. After landing in enemy territory I shut engine down. Propeller had appearance of spinning but engine definitely off. Couldn't re-start. I will have to go back and try again to see if this anomaly is repeated. Also, I took off for a mission, fired a few rounds then circled back to field and landed. After re-starting the guns worked just fine so maybe it is only after engaging enemy some of these quirks appear. I'll re-try this, too!

#4461120 - 02/13/19 06:34 AM Re: Activate Machine Guns After Engine Restart [Re: ARUP]  
Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,539
JJJ65 Offline
Member
JJJ65  Offline
Member

Joined: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,539
Czech Rep.
I suppose it is the old CFS3 bug - if you land and shut down engine, you are not able to start it again. Try to change camera to outside/chase view, enable labels and check the color of your pilot's label. If it turns to black, that means, your pilot is considered out of sim - game over. That is why you are not able to continue.

#4461140 - 02/13/19 12:46 PM Re: Activate Machine Guns After Engine Restart [Re: ARUP]  
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,362
MFair Offline
Member
MFair  Offline
Member

Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,362
Arup, you could always leave the engine on but at idle a la “Aces High”.


Never approach a bull from the front, a horse from the rear or a fool from either end.
BOC Member since....I can't remember!
#4461270 - 02/14/19 12:15 AM Re: Activate Machine Guns After Engine Restart [Re: ARUP]  
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 373
ARUP Offline
Member
ARUP  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 373
Kentucky
JJJ65- I'll try those suggestions. Thanks!
MFair- I have done that but it seems the risk for 'system failure' is high for some reason.
All of this might not seem too realistic but it sure is fun to wait for the 'birds to come to roost'! I was able to get a 'Tail End Charlie' SPAD the other day! A lowly Pfalz clobbering a SPAD... whoopee! Just like Sgt. York picking off turkeys!

#4461622 - 02/16/19 12:37 AM Re: Activate Machine Guns After Engine Restart [Re: ARUP]  
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 373
ARUP Offline
Member
ARUP  Offline
Member

Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 373
Kentucky
I seem to be making a liar out of myself! I have tried landing my Jasta 4 Pfalz in enemy territory again, shutting the engine down then trying to restart. It won't. Maybe this problem occurred when I shut down on friendly field but I tried that and was able to restart AND the guns worked without having to do anything. I'll continue this investigation!


Moderated by  Polovski 

Quick Search
Recent Articles
Support SimHQ

If you shop on Amazon use this Amazon link to support SimHQ
.
Social


Recent Topics
For Phantom lovers
by KraziKanuK. 02/23/19 11:40 AM
Lots of Snow in Tucson, AZ
by Haggart. 02/23/19 12:23 AM
Google entering game hosting
by PanzerMeyer. 02/22/19 03:04 PM
Sheffield bomber crash: Flypast on 75th anniversary
by Patrocles. 02/22/19 02:15 PM
The Eye of Sauron - found in Israel
by Tom_Weiss. 02/22/19 12:47 PM
Go USAF
by RossUK. 02/22/19 10:44 AM
Tanks for the memories
by rwatson. 02/22/19 10:40 AM
Peter Tork was 77
by F4UDash4. 02/22/19 01:06 AM
Dirt Rally 2.0
by WangoTango. 02/22/19 12:41 AM
ACW naval battle - Hampton Roads
by KraziKanuK. 02/21/19 12:19 PM
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.0